Modded Mitsubishi Triton Quest, low rider possibilities

Frequent visitors to Thailand would have noticed that low rider trucks are quite a thing in the Land of Smiles. Most are being used as intended, as commercial load lugging mules, but there are some of the modded variety. It’s not so much a thing here as bigfoot style mods, but if the idea of a low riding truck (or a drag machine) with big wheels tickles your fancy…

At today’s launch of the facelifted Mitsubishi Triton Quest, Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia (MMM) also displayed an accessorised example of their workhorse truck, and it looks good. A lot of it is down to the Quest’s new Dynamic Shield front end – the previous face wouldn’t have been very sporty in any outfit.

It might look “slammed” but this modded Quest’s suspension is stock. The effect is brought about by the 18-inch Advanti double-five spoke wheels in two tone, wrapped with 235/60 Toyo Open Country AT tyres.

Elsewhere, there’s a roller shutter-style bed cover, black bumper frames for the tail lamps and a sizeable rear spoiler. Door visors complete the simple makeover. Not much in it, but what a big difference the few mods make, don’t you think?

Priced at RM79,890 on the road without insurance (and the aftermarket parts here, obviously), the Triton Quest is the most affordable pick-up truck in the market. For that, you won’t be getting the 2.4L MIVEC turbodiesel or a VGT engine, but a simple 2.5 litre commonrail turbodiesel with 110 PS and 200 Nm of torque at 2,000 rpm. The gearbox is a good old five-speed manual.

Not quite enough power to light up the rear wheels on demand (the Quest is now the only 2WD Triton variant on sale here, and the only one without the 2.4L MIVEC), but surely there’s a way around that. It’s sort of family friendly as well, with room for five and a very big boot, which might help some escape censure from the spouse!

GALLERY: The stock Mitsubishi Triton Quest

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• 4bini on Nov 14, 2019 at 6:05 pm

This could have been a Proton if we stuck to our agreement with Mitsubishi

Pity we were too greedy!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
    • Klu la dapat lowrider ni, bdk2 takraw konpom jeles

• Nasi kandar on Nov 14, 2019 at 9:24 pm

As I’ve said before, it is such a shame that Proton cut ties with Mitsubishi. Otherwise, this game changing pick-up is the next gen Proton Arena

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
        • Celup King on Nov 15, 2019 at 12:20 pm

No shame to cut ties with Mitsu earlier because they also needed to be saved.

• For what? Just t get the worst selling pickup? Even Haval sells more units.

• Copy Paste on Nov 15, 2019 at 12:12 am

Copy paste: “The only thing selling from Mitsubishi, even then it is not doing well. This brand will close shop any time.”
      Why stick to a brand that will close shop any time soon?

• Chris on Nov 15, 2019 at 11:02 am

Geely is better than Mitsu…

What world you are living in? Katak bawah tempurung

• Abu Bakar Awang on Nov 14, 2019 at 6:26 pm

I wish our Proton used Mitsubishi engines still….Campro really drinks petrol like a 6750 Bentley engine lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
    • Sounds like one who never drove a Campro-engined car before. Better just stick to your kapcai.

• There is no engine ‘beauty’ cover? All those wires and hoses just looks like a mess. This company cuts costs so much that even a cheap plastic cover is omitted from production. My dad’s Nissan Navara looks way better (even though it’s the same parent company…)

• CrazyMobilo on Nov 15, 2019 at 2:08 am

Why is it so hard for you guys to introduce an auto option for the low ride… Sales better n easier for young ladies to drive as well…

• Aikon on Nov 15, 2019 at 2:35 pm

They only target this to contractors and neglect the personal buyer who wants it but needs a bit more creature comfort.

• Aikon on Nov 15, 2019 at 9:09 am

How much more would it cost to the company and intended customer to spec it with the same engine as its other stablemates? I know the new engine would cost more but just how much more… Also, wouldn’t having the same engine in all variants lower inventory cost instead of keeping parts for 2 different engines? Just curious…

• redpilled on Nov 15, 2019 at 9:56 am

you know what would be nice? a VGT, rear drive only, low rider Triton.

• This is a game over brand, better stay away as you might not have spare parts if you buy this car. Better wait for my pickup truck instead.

• Drust on Nov 18, 2019 at 10:48 am

Only if the 18″ wheels are make standard or else the buff up front face looks kinda ugly for me. Just a personal taste.