REVIEW: 2019 Mazda CX-8 CKD in Malaysia, fr RM180k

The locally-assembled Mazda CX-8 was just recently launched in Malaysia, and it’s available in four flavours. Kicking off the range is the 2.5G 2WD Mid (RM180k), followed by the 2.5G 2WD Mid Plus (RM186k), 2.5G 2WD High (RM201k), and 2.2D 4WD High (RM218k).

Included in the price list are add-ons such as window tinting (RM2,000), illuminated sill plates (RM400), optional leather seat upholstery for the Mid and Mid Plus variants (RM4,500), as well as a RM3,000 option for premium metallic colours such as Soul Red Crystal, Machine Grey, and Snowflake Pearl White. Also standard is a five-year or 100,000 km manufacturer’s warranty with five-years free maintenance.

Just two powertrain options are available, starting with the 2.5 litre SkyActiv-G petrol engine whici makes 192 hp at 6,000 rpm and 258 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. The top variant gets a 2.2 litre SkyActiv-D turbo, making 188 hp at 4,500 rpm and 450 Nm of torque at 2,000 rpm. Petrol-powered models are strictly front-wheel drive, whereas the diesel is only available with all-wheel drive. A six-speed SkyActiv-Drive automatic transmission is standard across the line-up.

REVIEW: 2019 Mazda CX-8 CKD in Malaysia, fr RM180k

For equipment, all variants get auto-levelling LED headlights with LED daytime running lights (only the base model gets bulb-type DRLs), LED tail lights, keyless entry, powered tailgate, and 19-inch alloys wrapped with 225/55 profile tyres.

The cabin gets a seven-inch Mazda Connect infotainment system with Apple CarPlay and Android Auto support, three-zone automatic climate control with rear air vents, 10-way power-adjustable driver’s seat, and electronic parking brake. Only the most expensive pair benefits from a 360-degree surround view camera and windshield-projected colour heads-up display.

Safety-wise, there’s the usual three-lettered acronyms, six airbags, and Mazda’s i-ActivSense (level of features depend on variant). Items such as Mazda Radar Cruise Control (MRCC, active cruise control) remain unavailable, though it’s worth noting that the CX-8 was awarded five stars in the ANCAP crash safety test. So, watch the video, and let us know what you think!

GALLERY: 2019 Mazda CX-8 CKD at the Inokom plant in Kulim

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Hafiz Hisham on Dec 05, 2019 at 6:00 pm

Mahal macam haram!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • Apam balik (Not Kunta...) on Dec 05, 2019 at 8:33 pm

With RM180,000 pricing, I am sure that many people will cancel their X70 order and top up another RM60k to get this game changing elegant SUV. Why spend RM123k on a SUV that will breakdown a lot? You’ll end up spending more money on X70 than CX-8

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 63
      • Sambal udang on Dec 05, 2019 at 9:54 pm

Mazda is a game changing brand. Just look at their line up, all of them have a stunning design, abundant features, top quality, modern engine and fun to drive. This is why Proton need to learn from Mazda, Proton cars are just too boring and game over, survey also shows that Proton cars are problematic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 20
        • Unknown on Dec 06, 2019 at 10:50 am

Again with you and your dupe self-talk.

• (Like) KIA Sorento Rm160k.
            (Dislike) Mazda CX-8 Rm180k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
        • Down in australia … Mazda CX8 is similar priced as CX9, which selling for RM300K here.

RM180k for a premium Suv is too cheap

• Damon Lee on Dec 06, 2019 at 3:05 pm

Is that the reason why I hardly see Mazdas in Sydney whenever i go there? Cars are relatively cheap there so this kind of pricing is ridiculous considering they have many more choices to choose from.

• Edwin L on Dec 05, 2019 at 10:10 pm

Sorrylah. With that kind of money many would prefer to get an X70 and an X50 so everyone can travel in safety and comfort rather than being cramped in an CX-8 last row seats.

• john 27 Nov game over on Dec 05, 2019 at 11:42 pm

I’ve seen a lot of comments from game over P1 fanboys saying that the X70 quality is on par with Volvo. Sadly on 27 November, survey result have debunked such claims. Instead, it has proven that game changing Perodua Aruz has the least problem

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
        • Real LLort on Dec 06, 2019 at 4:42 pm

Yes! True! This date 27 November 2019 will be a significant mark in history because it changes everything! The education ministry already instructed the History text book for primary schools to include this historical event! OMG, our kids, their kids, their grandkids will know about how a survey company (JBL something) debunked the mystery of Proton X70!

• Nabil Dev on Dec 06, 2019 at 8:39 am

Damn son , didn’t know 60K is just small amount for you and others ..You’re a millionaire my friend

• Aura89 on Dec 06, 2019 at 9:32 am

Only you and you’re just talking out of the rear hole as you don’t have the money to consider either car. Nobody who is sane and likely buying would say topping up RM60,000 is something easily doable if they don’t have the money.

• redpilled on Dec 06, 2019 at 10:08 am

if youre reffering to the JD power figures, the X70 has the same PP100 figure as the BRV. if its a non issue for the BRV, then its a non issue for the X70. cant rag on one and not the other unless youre a mofo. and you are one.

• Msia driver on Dec 06, 2019 at 10:21 am

I rather not to pay such high tax to gov to get cx8
        X70 fly the way
        That why u can see proton is no.2 now

• Bosedangbercakap on Dec 05, 2019 at 6:15 pm

For less than RM160k and 7Seater SUV, is better to buy Nissan X-Trail 2.5L. Cuz itd 4WD.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 23
    • Chang FC on Dec 05, 2019 at 9:43 pm

Yea but looks like utter crap like all Nissan cars. Mazda is class.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • PlaySafeDriveSafe on Dec 06, 2019 at 11:12 am

Mitsubishi Outlander. Cheaper and more space for a 7-seater SUV. Basic 2.0 model also got 4WD, leatherette seats, security tint and 360 camera. Getting hot at the back due to lack of rear aircon vent is a myth. Kids are complaining it’s too cold like in Parliament.

• eeeriz on Dec 15, 2019 at 10:40 am

X-Trail is too small, and the 3rd row is meant for smaller kids. CX-8 can fit average size adults on the 3rd row. Cx-8 is also more powerful and bigger than X-Trail. I think RM180k is justified against RM155k X-Trail (both 2.5 litres). Plus mazda’s handling is so much better. Can go and ask for test drive.

• Ali Rustam on Dec 05, 2019 at 6:31 pm

I think many Proton X70 buyers will cancel their orders and just simply pay a bit more and get this luxurious CX8. Somemore, Mazda always gives big fat discounts, expect it to sell at RM160k.

At least they can drive a car that they can be proud of and has won numerous International awards. China car got no awards at all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 34
    • xem6861 on Dec 05, 2019 at 8:54 pm

Thats ridiculous! Thats not top up a little as 20-30k plus interest. Natural aspirated 2.5 petrol powertrain seems so much underpower.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • Error: Sorry, you are downvoting too often. on Dec 06, 2019 at 4:26 pm

Dear PaulTan,

Ali Rustam is one of the most loyal commentator here. Despite the very shallow intelligence that he show in each and every comment he post, I would like to nominate him as the candidate to receive the prestigious PaulTan Loyal Commentator Awards indefinitely!

• Ali Rustam on Dec 05, 2019 at 6:34 pm

I hope many who want to buy this car have the cash to do so and is wealthy to maintain this luxurious car. Don’t be like those who buy just to show off to Opah in the kampung that they have a new car and they have done well in bandar. Then, few months later, the car kena tarik balik or sambung bayar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
    • Work more and complaint less. Live your life not jaga tepi kain others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • redpilled on Dec 06, 2019 at 10:12 am

thanks for the heads up dude by sharing what you went through…

• Siam kap on Dec 06, 2019 at 10:52 am

I feel sorry for you. Next time you should buy X70 instead.

• Not Worth on Dec 05, 2019 at 6:36 pm

Bermaz service not good. Better buy X70

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 8
    • Worth more than China car on Dec 05, 2019 at 9:44 pm

Bullshait. I have no issue with my Mazda. Go home drunk Proton.

• 4bini on Dec 05, 2019 at 6:47 pm

This is a good car. I will buy it because at least I can park this car in front of the kenduri house. If I buy Proton, I have to park far far away and walk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 28
    • Amran on Dec 05, 2019 at 10:13 pm

Wow, really wow. Park in front of kenduri house? No wonder you never ever got invites when you are this selfish. Does that mean Proton owners are very considerate guests? Probably the reason why they get plenty of invites and not you.

• Nabil Dev on Dec 06, 2019 at 10:05 am

Bro bro , that was long time ago
      I work in Jalan Tun Ismail Menara Dion where the Rolex Service Center located.
      If you have time please come here one day and see how many X70 owners will come Rolex to service their watch and they park in VIP parking even some I`ve sen using driver for X70.

• ayzroll on Dec 06, 2019 at 11:39 pm

Bro bro , since long time ago
        People balik kampong to show their new rides.
        Civic tebo, CX5 sepet, Vellfire and Mustang…
        Proud owners when relatives peek at our car.
        X70 is only a Proton.

• redpilled on Dec 06, 2019 at 10:10 am

sad confession of a brand whore…

• Ben Yap on Dec 05, 2019 at 6:56 pm

Mazda is still in the same league as Honda and Toyota. It is far from premium. Raising the price alone doesn’t mean it’s premium. Customers have to perceive it as premium else it’ll just be an overpriced car with low value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
    • granny on Dec 05, 2019 at 8:02 pm

Mazda has gone premium? finally.
      so do Toyota and Honda.

They are matching to BMW Benz been years.
      Take Camry Accord Fortuner CR-V as example.
      easily beat C-Class 3 series quality and comfort.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 23
      • Siam kap on Dec 06, 2019 at 10:55 am

Pricing only premium. The rest is still Japanese cheap quality

• Sila tutupje on Dec 05, 2019 at 7:05 pm

Wow..top up bit get mecedes di…

• Xc90 or CX8 or Boyue on Dec 05, 2019 at 7:13 pm

This type of price gives buyers many options to choose from many brands

• rm180k with optional leathet seat. bravo

• Mason on Dec 05, 2019 at 10:08 pm

I dun understand y so many complain about the price expensive? This is 7 seater. Their ckd cx5 already 155k and popular, u can find it everywher u go. So, what do u expect the cx8 price? Rm170k????

I believe those afford to buy this car will not come n complain here n there.

• matt, baru start the braces?

can feel macam when u speak tak smooth sangat ni

what a shame. i like ur video

• Matthew H Tong (Member) on Dec 06, 2019 at 11:32 am

Nope! Have had them since early this year, but only a few more months to go before it comes off. Pardon the speech!

• Thank God it’s Matt this time, can watch a PT video for now.

• Mazda declare diri premium car maker.. I would say not yet. Being berjaya group, all their stuff is always overpriced considering that its ckd.
    Lowest spec at 165k, top spec at 185k makes more sense price wise.
    Besides the things that Matthew said, premium car should use clever usage of elegant colours in the interior, not just simply go all black like mazda. Thats just lazy.
    Also must have some kind of illumination lights like the vellfire or mercedes. Bigger screen etc.
    So many premium features thats not there.
    So, to mazda, hear this.

TAK PAYAH PERASAN PREMIUM

• Real LLort on Dec 06, 2019 at 4:29 pm

They feel that they are too premium and once they held a meeting just to figure out a new premium name for their brand, and someone had the audacity to suggest the name “Mazdades Benz”. lol

• People around here saying “Might as well topup another 60k for this one instead of 120k chinese SUV”, oh i didn’t know RM60k is as cheap as your children’s Choki-Choki

• Jason Goh on Dec 06, 2019 at 9:47 am

I wonder why you people comparing X70 with this Mazda CX8 well first look at the price range la ..and these who are claiming X70 is problematic car , will breakdown la .. this la .. that la .. First of all do you own a Proton X70?? I bought my X70 on 6th of March 2019 and travelling daily to to KL bukit Bintnag from Seremban ,I have never face any issue with the car till now .. wonder how come wonderful specialist who comments here about X70 claiming the car breakdown…

• Aura89 on Dec 06, 2019 at 11:49 am

Those who complain are actually Jap brand car salesman.
      Yes, there is only one guy.
      Yes, he is not doing a very good job because he spends most his time here.
      Yes, he is frustrated he earns so low because he isn’t bringing any sales (see above why).
      Yes, he is venting his frustration here using multiple fake names.
      Yes, he is a total jerkwad, but we love him for his comedic comments.

• Msia driver on Dec 06, 2019 at 10:27 am

For 180k, I can buy 2 biji x70
    X70 has more power and advance in term of handling and luxury same like Volvo
    Since when Mazda can compete Volvo by the way..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
    • Mason on Dec 06, 2019 at 2:28 pm

Those that can afford 180k will not buy x70. Is different class ok. Just like those can afford porsche will not buy 2 biji bmw, those can afford bmw will not buy 2 biji japs car.

I doubt x70 can compete wit mazda in handling. It may same like volvo but it is not volvo. It is proton/geely.

Again, x70 may compete wit cx5 not cx8, this is 7 seater.

• sohai on Dec 06, 2019 at 11:23 am

Better this than the overpriced Camry

• I know this is late but can Matt confirm the turning circle of this SUV? 11m or 5m? 11m is huge though.