REVIEW: 2020 Toyota GR Supra in Malaysia – RM568k

We finally get to grips with the A90 Toyota GR Supra, the car that has made for plenty of discussion among staffers at paultan.org, with no shortage of opinion about it. As is already known, the Supra and the G29 BMW Z4 were developed as part of a sports car collaboration involving both companies, and although the fundamentals of both vehicles are common, each supposedly has its own identity, in line with the different philosophies of each parent.

That’s the intent, of course, but the question begs, is it a BMW dressed as a Toyota, or has the Japanese automaker done enough to give the car its own character? No better way than to find out by driving it, which is what Jonathan Lee did. Watch the video to find out what the call on this one is.

The fifth-gen Supra made its Malaysian debut in September, and is available only in a single variant form for our market, a 3.0 litre GTS. The mill is the same BMW unit as seen on the G29 Z4 in its M40i guise, the B58B30 turbocharged straight-six developing 340 PS (335 hp) from 5,000 to 6,500 rpm and 500 Nm of torque from 1,600 to 4,500 rpm on the Supra. Paired with an eight-speed ZF automatic transmission, the Supra does the 0-100 km/h run in 4.3 seconds and gets to an electronically-limited 250 km/h top speed.

Standard fit items include an Adaptive Variable Suspension (AVS), Brembo brakes, an electronically controlled rear limited-slip differential and 19-inch five twin-spoke two-tone wheels shod with 255/35 front and 275/35 rear Michelin Pilot Super Sport tyres.

Kit includes black leather upholstery, carbon-fibre trim, eight-way powered seats with driver’s side memory, a dual-zone climate control system and a Toyota Supra Connect infotainment system with an 8.8-inch touchscreen, iDrive-style controller and a 12-speaker JBL sound system.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• as far as we’re concerned, the Supra line ended with the A80.

there’s nothing about this A90 that shows its Supra-ness.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • Ali Rustam on Dec 06, 2019 at 4:03 pm

This is so expensive. Can buy a 2009 Ferrari F430 now for RM280k. The balance you save, just buy extra 10 year warranty at RM5k per year.

A Ferrari is still a chic magnet. A Toyota is still a Toyota. No chic will look at you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 21
      • Crony on Dec 06, 2019 at 5:19 pm

Which is why I buy Ferrari and not this expensive Toyota. With a Ferrari, at least I can park in front of my clan home during CNY gathering. If I buy a Toyota, I have to park far far away and walk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 9
        • Crony MCA on Dec 06, 2019 at 5:27 pm

Sure or not? Then why so many rich people proudly drive their Vellfire/Alphard and anyhow park..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
          • Crony on Dec 06, 2019 at 6:01 pm

Sure wan! These cars very popular to block entrances even college grad minister have bought one to block his neighbour. Haven’t start working already got one, so even he knows this is a very good car for blocking.

• Ajibkor on Dec 12, 2019 at 12:29 am

Betui betui!! I loved my 2 Vellfire and my ex deputy himself angkat 3biji Vellfire :))

• Lao Yee on Dec 07, 2019 at 3:49 pm

When your cousin bought a new 812 Superfast while you could only afford a 10 years old F430, still you better park far and walk inside

• msia driver on Dec 06, 2019 at 5:34 pm

can buy 6 biji x70, everyday can drive a different color car to office.

• Price is expensive because greedy UMW need to feed their overbloated lazy staff. UMW needs the money to feed their overbloated staff, that is why our Altis and Camry so expensive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
        • Celup King on Dec 07, 2019 at 10:50 am

This is the same price in Thailand and Indonesia. I didn’t know our UMW is so powerful to dictate the pricing in these countries. Surely must be to feed their overbloated staff there yea.

• Mohd Shah Ibrahim on Dec 07, 2019 at 3:12 pm

you are right, got many GLCs in Thailand and Indonesia that get gaji buta. So yes, they need to get paid.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Dec 07, 2019 at 4:48 pm

Nobody is talking about GLCs. This ASB is talking about UMW here.

• 25yrsOld on Dec 06, 2019 at 7:01 pm

Dont buy entry level lexus and Beemers. Lousy and nearly rm300k.

• JOACHIM on Dec 06, 2019 at 2:59 pm

Why buy an overpriced cheapo knock-off when the ori BMW Z4 is so much cheaper and have badge prestige to boot?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 9
    • Dominic Toretto on Dec 06, 2019 at 8:35 pm

BMW not a movie star. Ride or die, remember.

• Crony on Dec 07, 2019 at 11:05 am

BMW got brand prestige and allowed to park in front of house during CNY gathering, Toyota got no brand prestige and have to malu park far far away.

• Nope. Vellfire, alphard and estima owners proudly park their car in front of kenduri house every time ,

• Nicholas Lee on Dec 06, 2019 at 9:45 pm

That is not cheaper than this, not the 6 cylinder version.

• Celup King on Dec 07, 2019 at 10:51 am

No rich person will bother to look under the hood.

• Brown on Jul 29, 2020 at 11:52 am

The 2020 Supra price is 568k and 2020 Mustang price is 565k. Is this a joke? 3k less than the Supra you can buy a Mustang with 8 cylinders.

• Veyron Owner on Dec 06, 2019 at 3:12 pm

Driven the A90 Toyota GR Supra, more organic and fun to drive than BMW sibling. A living legend.

• Brian on Dec 06, 2019 at 3:48 pm

Sori brah! But if you had a Veyron, you have tasted the best and you wouldn’t want to downgrade to a Japanese poor cousin of a Beemer.

• Rich man owns many car, not extremist as no cars are perfect despite costing millions dollar.

• Veyron Owner on Dec 07, 2019 at 10:27 pm

Rich man will pass Supra to his maid as a daily car. It is below his status to be seen in a lau-ya car

• Footie on Dec 06, 2019 at 4:15 pm

Ru pretty sure u tested the z4 6 inline m40i or the 4 cylinder version?? All toyota did was to redesign the interior, retune the engine and suspensions and how on earth would u call it a living legend mate and worst still organic drive than BMW!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • jibby on Dec 06, 2019 at 4:03 pm

habislah perodua, still copy paste

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • john is otak batu on Dec 06, 2019 at 4:25 pm

joke product…. waste of money

• Seen Toyota Japan website, alphard 3.5L (SC model) selling >5 million yen, Supra selling 4.9 million yen. In Malaysia, 3.5L alphard selling Rm443k, but supra selling Rm568K. Anyone know why the different so big?

• Malaysia have many land whales that are diehard Toyota fanboys. These early adopters that are willing to spend to be seen in the ‘latest’ Toyota, just like the CHR’s clientele. After the initial hoo-haa dies down, expect massive discounts to move inventory.

• Fell Asleep on Dec 06, 2019 at 8:58 pm

I wonder how u guys can tahan the 15 minute video. Anthony voice is so monotonous and I know he try hard but it shows so much that it gets annoying. And the way he described it is as if any car that handle like a BMW is a bad thing.

• Sunder Shanmugam on Dec 06, 2019 at 9:59 pm

Zupra

• 7yearsfd1 on Dec 08, 2019 at 3:34 pm

save 150k n get a nissan gtr n watch this a90 slowly back away when u drive close by

• In conclusion, it’s a good sports car whose shine has been dulled slightly by the Malaysian price. Just please don’t call it a Supra. That name is darned too hallowed to be used on this joint-ventured, BMW-dominated product. Kick yourselves in the rear ends you Toyota executives responsible for this project.