New Mercedes-Benz GLA shows off its practical seats

Mercedes-Benz is continuing to tease the second-generation GLA, which is set to make its debut on December 11. This time, we’re introduced to the compact crossover’s new rear seat layout, and it looks to offer better practicality than the outgoing model.

For starters, the new GLA will adopt a 40:20:40 rear seat layout instead of the previous 60:40 arrangement, providing owners with more configurability when it comes to boot space.

This setup is similar to the one you get in the larger GLB, and just like the SUV, the second-row seats in the GLA will also have sliding and reclining capabilities. The added flexibility is certainly welcomed, and should bring the Mercedes-Benz crossover closer to rivals SUVs like the BMW X1 and Audi Q3.

As revealed previously, the new GLA will be 100 mm taller than its predecessor, and this should translate to more room for occupants’ heads and possibly cargo.

The rest of the cabin should be similar to other Mercedes-Benz compact models like the A-Class and CLA, with the Mercedes-Benz User Experience (MBUX) infotainment system being the main highlight of the dashboard, as another teaser suggests.

We’ll only see exactly what’s new with the GLA when it makes its global debut on December 11, so stay tuned.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Ali Rustam on Dec 06, 2019 at 4:00 pm

Such a beautiful car. This is why Germans are proud of their own cars. Cause the Germans know how to design and build quality.

I wish Proton had married VW, at least we will be having German Protons around like the Proton Tiguan. Unfortunately, now we are stuck with China made cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
    • Nabil Dev on Dec 06, 2019 at 5:41 pm

Well interim design Proton was not outdated also , remember back in old good days when Proton launched Preve , That was the outstanding design with hightech compared with CIVIC FD and Altis.
      Preve was the first comes up with LED with front and rear , Design was way good compared with Japanese, There were no remote slot key , Auto Wiper, light in any Japanese in that segment but Proton Preve gave the best and tend to fail.
      At least they tried something.

• History Bender on Dec 06, 2019 at 6:10 pm

Why? Proton had co-married Mercedes Benz, isn’t that better than VW and didn’t you praised this Mercedes car right above?
      You don’t make any sense when you lalang your statement.

• Meh. Proton dun wan dieselgate, deswai.

• Mohd Shah Ibrahim on Dec 07, 2019 at 2:59 pm

Proton can have all the tech in their cars but sales are still bad. Only China made X70 is selling well. This shows poor quality of Proton cars and Malaysians have chosen well not to buy poor quality cars.

• Dredd on Dec 07, 2019 at 4:50 pm

Why bother lying here? Proton is set to break 10k monthly sales and this is all thanks to their locally developed models. X70 just gave them the boost but most of the sales are from their PIES.

• Hyundai hired german engineers and designers and went global. We kept it bumi only so stuck.

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 06, 2019 at 4:15 pm

That’s a lot of teasers just for the GLA. Looks like Mercedes plans to sell a lot of these compared to it A/CLA/B Class siblings.

• myvifan on Dec 06, 2019 at 4:43 pm

But but but myvi oso can do that wor, what so special about the seats?

• Dredd on Dec 06, 2019 at 4:45 pm

Proton X70 bigger, more spacious. Nappa seats,

• yeah but the H-RV can fold the seats up…

• msia driver on Dec 06, 2019 at 5:32 pm

haha, Japanese cars already got this kind seat 10 years ago.
    now Merc claims this is their latest technology, all must get “WOW” ..lolzzz

• Stephen on Dec 08, 2019 at 12:38 pm

As a previous GLA owner… I just hope they fix the gearbox annoyance beside getting MBUX and this improvement on rear seating space. It act strange when you are stuck in traffic