BMW Malaysia, Tian Siang Premium Auto launch two new BMW i charging facilities in Gurney Paragon Mall

Tian Siang Premium Auto, together with BMW Group Malaysia, recently launched two new BMW i Wallbox charging facilities in Gurney Paragon Mall. This further expands the BMW dealer’s network of charging facilities in the northern region, with other locations being The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, Iconic Hotel and WEIL Hotel.

“The new charging facilities here at Gurney Paragon Mall marks our first location on the island of Penang and the second in the state that is fully-equipped and ready to further power the future of mobility in Malaysia,” said Tan Ka Kin, managing director of Tian Siang Premium Auto.

“As we continue to expand accessibility to charging facilities, I am confident that the adoption of electromobility in the northwestern region of Malaysia will increase in 2020,” he said. As we are told, the BMW i charging facilities are configured for 11 kW three-phase operation, with a Type 2 connection.

The new BMW i charging facilities in Gurney Paragon Mall are now part of a network of over 20 charging facilities launched across Malaysia by BMW Group Malaysia and its dealer partners. Owners of BMW plug-in hybrid vehicles can find such facilities at Bangsar Shopping Centre, Holiday Inn Melaka, The Equatorial Melaka as well as at CityONE Megamall Kuching.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Engineer on Dec 16, 2019 at 6:02 pm

Pls lah, open the charging for all PHEVs to use, not just for BMW cars only. Don’t be stingy, be like ur competitor Mercedes that opened their charging facilities for ur customers to use.

• limpeh on Dec 17, 2019 at 9:10 am

The bmw charging facilities are indeed setup for all phev cars or customers to use. i have not seen any signage that says for bmw car usage only. i have seen merc and volve cars park and use the bmw charger too as long as the car come with type2 socket.

• vivizurianti on Dec 16, 2019 at 7:12 pm

Seems like every product launch today…..will always end with all-thumbs-up photo session.