2020 Perodua Bezza facelift – 2,000 units delivered since launch; 15,000 bookings recorded in total

The 2020 Perodua Bezza facelift was launched earlier this month, and is proving to be a hit among car buyers with over 2,000 units already delivered to customers and 15,000 bookings recorded. Of the 15,000 bookings, 7,000 were made in 2020, while the remaining 8,000 were for the pre-facelift model made at the end of 2019, which were automatically converted to the new model.

At the launch of the refreshed A-segment sedan, the company stated it was aiming to deliver 5,600 units by the end of this month, and a steady 4,000 units a month after that. It also revealed then that around 184,000 units of the Bezza have found homes over the past three and a half years, and that the car has consistently secured between 4,000 and 4,500 units of monthly sales.

The latest Bezza features a revised design and an updated kit list, with four variants – 1.0L G Manual (RM34,580 OTR without insurance), 1.0L G Auto (RM36,580), 1.3L X Auto (RM43,980) and 1.3L AV Auto (RM49,980). All 1.3L variants now benefit from Vehicle Stability Control (VSC), with the range-topping AV receiving Perodua’s Advanced Safety Assist (ASA) 2.0 suite of driver assist systems.

The national carmaker also said it is working hard to address unfulfilled bookings from last year, with Perodua president and CEO Datuk Zainal Abidin Ahmad saying, “we estimate that we have about 13,000 unfulfilled bookings (inclusive of other models) in total from last year. To our valued customers, we are fully aware of the matter and are addressing it as much as we can. We appreciate your patience and apologise for the wait.”

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Darren on Jan 21, 2020 at 11:36 am

Only 2,000 delivered while Proton is aiming to come out 5,000 Sagas in a month. That is really low, and may we know how many are really bought for use after deducting the vast majority used for Grab and other ride hailing services?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 22
    • Amarjie on Jan 21, 2020 at 11:55 am

Came on la Darren…

Proton also will take time to reach that 5000 expected delivery…Proton also start with small number what…

After all 2000 is the initial delivery for facelifted Bezza. Given times, it could be well more that Proton numbers for Saga…

Pfttt…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • Klangman on Jan 21, 2020 at 2:23 pm

P2 will show them who sell more in 2020. P1 need to learn from p2.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
        • Asam laksa on Jan 21, 2020 at 2:58 pm

You are right, this is why Proton still needs to learn a lot from Perodua as Perodua have been selling a lot of their Game Changers while Proton cars are always Game Over and being discontinued

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
          • Celup King on Jan 21, 2020 at 11:37 pm

I don’t know why you are so proud of your Perodua when they are just selling cheapened rebadged cars to the rakyat. Even that they had gone and removed all the safety features of the donor car and built it from rejected Milo tin metal.

And they do that with the aim to maximise profits that will be sent back to Japan. I don’t know whether Perodua staff should be ashamed for helping to enrich Japan further and not Malaysia. If I were working for Perodua like Mr P2, I too would be ashamed of their withholding all these technology from Perodua and only rely on outdated cars to sell.

Selling more Perodua cars don’t help Malaysia but only help Japan, and in return they only talk about giving us gamechanging hybrid and EV technology but since 2003 until today 17 years later, we only see them talking about this gamechanging technology which never comes. Perodua and their Japan bosses are only talk gamechanging but they are really gameover.

• bezzalina on Jan 21, 2020 at 3:11 pm

As Bezza with it’s 115km/h topspeed and it’s built-in ‘no acceleration feature’ is even safer than Volvo, it’s clear which model will sell best.

• Whatever it is, Malaysians are proud of Perodua, From Day 1, they have been making profits of billions per year.

Do you know since inception, Perodua has paid more than RM1 bil in company tax yearly to LHDN?

Proton pulak has been given tax exemption from LHDN. They have not paid a single sen of tax the past 20 years because loss making

Worse still, they have taken RM20 billion in bailouts. Perodua has never taken a single sen of bailouts.

So, in total, Proton losses are more than RM40 bil in past 20 years. No contribution to society at all.

Perodua has paid so much of company tax, over RM25 bil in total and this money has been used to build schools and hospitals for the rakyat

Thank you Perodua

• Dredd on Jan 22, 2020 at 1:09 am

Perodua has never declared a profit since Day One, so how would it paid any single sen of taxes to LHDN? As we all know, before their financial statement, they siphoned off all profits back to Japan so on paper they did not declare any profits.

This evidenced that Perodua is nothing more than a huge money laundering scam to cheat our money and siphoned it off to Japan.

MACC should check on Perodua’s unethical business relations with Daihatsu Japan, as they had never declared a profit which is highly suspicious for a company that had been selling so many cars.

• Logical Deduction on Jan 21, 2020 at 5:28 pm

Saga still outsold Bezza so logically Perodua need to learn from Proton right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
          • PityP1 on Jan 21, 2020 at 8:06 pm

Are u sure dude? Or ur logical mind already gila non sense? Bezza since 2016 vs saga bt3 since 2016, there are about 184k bezza found home while saga bt3 below 130k found home. So who outsold who? Unless u compare bezza vs 2008 bt1 saga til 2019 bt3 saga of cos la saga outsold bezza. Wat an idiot. U r very logical idiot.

• Calculator on Jan 21, 2020 at 8:16 pm

According to earlier p2 2019 sales performance, p2 sold 184,000 bezza since launch back in 2016. Which mean if u devided 184,000 / 36 months (3 yrs), p2 sold 5k bezza monthly.
            And then saga? Saga only reach 4k sales monthly since last 3 months only. Before that 3k 2k monthly. Lets gip face to saga la weiii, count from 4k monthly saga since 2016, 4000×36 mnths so only 144,000 saga sold, well it should be less than 144,000 for sure because saga sales only reach 4k since last 3 months only. So means bezza acrually outsold saga.

• History Bender on Jan 21, 2020 at 2:31 pm

Give it time? Sure…. problem is, Bezza was on sale for many years and still couldn’t beat Saga sales in the same period. Given the optimism of Proton in the forecasted sales volume, Bezza facelift won’t see this trend change anytime. Just face it….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • Habislah on Jan 21, 2020 at 11:56 am

Habislah saga!

• Ya, Saga habis deliver 42000 bookings later. We already knew, TQVM.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
        • We r champion on Jan 21, 2020 at 4:52 pm

42000 saga year made 2017-2018 u mean? Why only now can sell? Ohhh becoz facelifted. Hahaha. Kasihan.

• Vader on Jan 22, 2020 at 12:57 am

That tells us the rakyat still values old Proton cars, the same as even export markets continue to have demand for 1st generation Persona and Gen2 cars many years after they had been phased out of production. Proton engineering and designs are quite timeless and still commands demand from local and abroad. Kasihan Perodua could never get such love from their own customer base because the only reason to buy a Perodua is their cheap price.

• Apuiiii on Jan 22, 2020 at 10:45 am

Vader. Wat i know is alot user for persona and gen2 try hard to sell off their car becos minum minyak i go. But susah jual nobody want no value.
            Are u sure perodua car cheaper? Go and compare do research before talking here. Perodua high end model prices are all expensive than proton. Persona, iriz n saga all cheaper than myvi n axia. But why very less customer buy proton? Simply becos lousy quality and bad fuel consumption. Kesihan proton.

• Kahkahkah on Jan 21, 2020 at 11:59 am

Saga can delivered more sagas since newly launch becuz many old old stock 2018 junk saga cannot sell so facelifted lar and then sell off fast2 mahhh. Easy job.

• newme on Jan 21, 2020 at 12:05 pm

Proton also aimed for 200K a year before this.

• Chavez on Jan 21, 2020 at 12:05 pm

With more patriotic buys, P1+P2 gonna rule 2020!

• Ais kacang on Jan 21, 2020 at 12:27 pm

Fantastic sales! No doubt that Perodua Bezza FL is truly a Game-Changing sedan. With this marvelous record, Proton Saga FL will not stand a chance to Game the Bezza FL over this year

• History Bender on Jan 21, 2020 at 2:33 pm

Bezza 2,000 sales is fantastic so Saga sales at 4,000-5,000 must be super duper fantastico. Right?

• Tak payah pikir, taknak pening … Bezzaa aje.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
    • Which is why Bezza buyers aren’t the smartest of the bunch. Typically mostly are Grab drivers.

• Wow perodua very jujur can tell us 8k bezza was made in last December 2019.
      While proton never tell us that saga FL made in wat year. Most probably 2017 n 2018 made saga goes FL.

• Vader on Jan 22, 2020 at 1:01 am

Then why not Perodua jujur to admit majority of Bezza are bought for Grab and other ride hailing use. Are they worried Bezza is nothing more than a glorified taxi car?

• Ok la. Give muka kasihan to proton. Saga sales only reach 3k a month since last few months only. Before that all 1-2k a month. Give kesian la calculate all 3k a month for proton saga since past 3 years ya. 3000sagas X 36months = 108k or less only found home. Kesian.

• Norlia on Jan 21, 2020 at 12:22 pm

Tu sebab orang yang berotak beli Persona. Anda bagaimana?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • s.Ibrahim on Jan 21, 2020 at 11:52 am

2 ribu saja? Meanwhile P1 gearing up to produce 5k saga. Habislah Beza.

Takde beza dgn Beza low sales volume b4 facelifting….

• Saga lousy on Jan 21, 2020 at 2:22 pm

Gearing up to produce 5k sagas? Like usual lar, p1 dreaming alot. Will never reach 5k sales saga i gerenti.

• Sure yeah. haha. Just like you said Proton won’t break 100k sales whole of last year but now you have to eat humble pie and you still don’t learn. No problems, Saga sales will prove you wrong again and again.

• 184k bezza found home for the past 3 years. How about saga? How many found home for past 3 years? 60k? 80k?

• maslan on Jan 21, 2020 at 12:26 pm

Went to mauritius. bezza there selling Rm86k…

• Miyana on Jan 21, 2020 at 12:52 pm

Unfullfill order…old model 8000. 7000 unit only new order.. Hi3

• That 8000 bookings also count in January sales.

• Kasihan on Jan 21, 2020 at 4:56 pm

Tat old stock 8000 booking also count in p1 2019 sales figure. More to come 2017-2018 old stock from p1 junk yard.

• Datuk on Jan 21, 2020 at 1:33 pm

Congratulations to perodua. Sub usd $13k cars but equipped with ASA 2.0, R15, luxurious leather, etc.
    You deserve the bookings and sales.

Continue to work hard and serve rakyat well.

• MyNewToy on Jan 21, 2020 at 1:34 pm

Support P2 support Malaysian Industry.

The buck is stop here.

• Justice on Jan 21, 2020 at 1:47 pm

is bezza a proper car? should be banned in public roads

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • History Bender on Jan 21, 2020 at 2:34 pm

No. It is a milotin death trap which should be banned from public roads but then the multitude of Grab drivers with complain…..

• Sam KK Loo on Jan 21, 2020 at 10:26 pm

Not only coca-cola tin death trap, but still no bloody temperature gauge

• Yeah we know U & ur supporters can’t wait To Silently Laughing At Them While Driving.
      Pls have a Mercy & be patience to Those Shining new Bezza Drivers.
      They’re all UnInformed About the Good side of ChassisRigidity & HotPressForming/UltraHighTensileSteel Cabin Protections during High Impacts Collisions.

IndustryExps Reported that,
      Good Chassis + Ride&Handling Tuning will Contribute a lot for a short 1-2Sec OutManouever
      ability & efforts toward Avoiding the unexpected incoming of potential Accidents

• Mohamed Najib Haji Abdul Rahman on Jan 21, 2020 at 2:26 pm

Bezza drivers r one of the slowest drivers on earth.

Especially during peak hours, u can see many Bezzas hogging the fast lane!

These drivers should be banned!

• bezzalina on Jan 21, 2020 at 3:15 pm

Bezza took the lead with it’s speed limiting safety feature, now even Volvo follows the Malaysian safety design!