2020 Proton X50 SUV – better with a black roof or not?

2020 Proton X50 render with a black roof (left), without (right)

Last year, rendering wiz Theophilus Chin imagined what the Proton X50 SUV could look like, and he’s now back with another fresh set of renders of the upcoming B-segment SUV. If you haven’t heard, the X50 will arrive as a CKD locally-assembled model at launch, which is set to take place in 2020 after the X70 CKD.

One of the differences seen in these new renders are the sportier bumpers and side skirts that are found on the Sport variant of the Geely Binyue, the model on which the X50 will be based on. Referring to earlier spyshots of a camouflaged X50 test unit in Malaysia, this appears to be the look we will be getting, complete with the quad exhaust tips.

The “Infinite Weave” front grille, which was also seen on the mule, is still in place, but now features the latest Proton logo on it (also applied on the wheel hub caps). Other less noticeable changes that Theo has done include flipping the car from left-hand drive to right-hand drive, repositioning the fuel filler cap and changing the direction of the car’s wipers. Look even closer and you’ll see the spacing of the Proton script on the tailgate has been increased.

2020 Proton X50 render with a black roof (left), without (right)

Unfortunately, the camouflage applied on the spotted test unit makes it impossible to determine what colour schemes will be offered. In China, the Binyue is offered in a single body colour or a two-tone theme, the latter being with a black-painted roof.

Fortunately, Theo has provided examples of both to give some idea of what the X50 might look like in either configurations. Without the black roof option, only the B- and C-pillars are finished in black, which creates a “floating roof” look when viewed from the rear three quarter. The effect is more prominent with the black roof, as even the A-pillars are finished in the same colour to match.

Of course, looks are a subjective matter, and with that in mind, which of the two looks of the X50 do you like more? Let us know your thoughts in the comments below.

GALLERY: 2020 Proton X50 spyshots

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Dr. Strange on Jan 23, 2020 at 1:26 pm

Back in the days abang2 DRB as Proton CEO, unsold stocks are painted black roof to be Facelift.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
    • Apricot on Jan 23, 2020 at 1:42 pm

Finish Honda Malaysia, salesman will start crying. So called as “Power of Nightmare Cars”

As majority in Malaysia fed up of driving honda cars because too many quality issues on newer Honda models after bought for less than 1 year. When go to aftersales service, people also complaining most of the aftersales service dealer. Cannot solve. Shows that technicians are having half past six, lying, didn’t repair at all, never repair other peoples car at all.

Yet, some of them are still buying Honda cars with brainless. Also, come here hating kimchi cars with low resale value and hating mazda. Just look at safety specs, most of Honda models are really kosong spec. Compare to Mazda, Toyota and Hyundai Ioniq comes with blind spot monitor, AEB, land departure warning and others. No wonder, many mazda CX-5 and Proton X70 everywhere than looking Honda CRV is now rare.

Malaysians rather buy mazda. This comes with 5 years warranty as Honda. Bermaz service is better and they already improved their service than honda. Even CKD Mazda CX-5 looks so so but better than most Honda models. So Honda Malaysia is dead.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 16
      • Kuih lapis on Jan 23, 2020 at 1:53 pm

With CEO Li Chunrong in charge, Proton has the potential to beat Honda HR-V with their Chinese rebadged X50. So this is why we have to thank Game-Changing Geely for helping Proton to be better than Honda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 31
        • Thanks geely on Jan 23, 2020 at 2:14 pm

Tats y thank you alot alot to mr. Lichunrong and china geely for donating their boyue and binyue to proton for rebadge grill only. Proton should feel lucky geely china come and help. If not already bancrupt proton. Now geely so kind to let proton rebadge n design grill for their boyue n binyue. Oh ya, and so kind to let proton rebadge their own logo to x50 n x70 too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 45
          • lilytan on Jan 23, 2020 at 3:29 pm

Jerman brands oso outsource enjin+gb laa.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
          • Volvo XC40 or X50 on Jan 23, 2020 at 6:18 pm

X50 is more premium look and feel than Volvo XC40 and CX3. Wondering if Volvo can sell here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
        • Michael Gomez on Jan 24, 2020 at 10:59 am

Well done Proton. Lucky China came and helped you. Li Chunrong and Geely, within 6 months could identify all the leakages Proton had, what local CEOs could not identify in 30 years.

This is why we need more foreign CEOs from Mainland to come into Malaysia to help run our GLCs and even Putrajaya. We will see a 10 fold increase in productivity and we will become FIRST World soon.

Already 2020, our vision to be FIRST world tak jadi, nevermind, never too late to get brains and intelligence from Mainland to help us achieve this goal

Tak malu ke? Orang China dan Geely do all the work, and Proton fanboys claim the glamour and fame?

If someone sat an exam for me and got an A for me, i will be shy to tell the world I got an A for that paper because it is someone else who did all the hard work.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
          • English Teacher on Jan 24, 2020 at 1:46 pm

I would be more shy if someone that I had laughed at, now fast catching up and soon will overtake me.

Remember the Hare and the Tortoise? Remember who won the race?

• Sensei. School taught us if we don’t learn from history and moral stories, we will remain ignorant and repeat the same mistakes. Michael here skipped school to be a paid troll so he never learn his lessons and ignorantly continue to repeat them.

• So much hatred towards Honda, not even see other brands have similar problems. Such a hater, be objective, not biased.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 43
        • Nonsense comment from Dude and Fact. Both are honda salesman who are too free at the showroom now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
        • Much will preferred P2 Rocky JDM design.

• johnwhat on Jan 23, 2020 at 4:42 pm

i notice in every Honda or Proton news, there will be almost identical comment as yours and its always the first few comments.

im wondering are you actually a paid trooper?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 28
        • Exposing Wilson Khoo on Jan 23, 2020 at 5:51 pm

The guy used to troll under the name “Mario and Bros” bashing Nissan, and then Hyundai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
          • Troll Hunter on Jan 23, 2020 at 11:40 pm

But none as legendary at trolling as you Kunta

• Add A Comment on Jan 24, 2020 at 10:18 am

While I might agree with some of you points, but your yinglish buat saya ada brain cancer…

• Dr. Weirdo on Jan 23, 2020 at 1:42 pm

Back in the days kelisa limited edition black roof can sell so well. And even 2nd generation myvi advance black roof also sell so well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • Nasi kandar on Jan 23, 2020 at 1:51 pm

Lucky Geely China is willing to donate their Game-Changing Binyue to Proton. Otherwise, can Proton make a Game Changer that could beat the upcoming Perodua D55L SUV?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 32
      • Oh mai on Jan 23, 2020 at 2:18 pm

If china not come for help, p1 last card for suv only jack up iriz become suv. But sadly it will never happen cos p1 already bancrupt if geely not here to help. Even iriz sold less than 10k last year 2019. Oh maiii. Lastime bukan main say iriz very good very safe fuel very reliable and tank body, but sales figure show less than 10k in 1 year. Oh maiii…looks like rakyat know better than empty brain toking engineer p1 here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 35
      • Got money to double investment why not double our bonus? So ciku this year. We know our cars are not developed by ourselves so why bother doing investment? We all are grateful to Daihatsu & Toyota for donating their cars to us for rebadging during the past 30 years and we will continue to rebadge until we close shop. Thank you Daihatsu & Toyota. We only wish you wouldn’t throw us your old and outdated models to do the rebadging. Malu tau, when customers asking why Daihatsu have newer cars and we still rebadging old models.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 30
    • Dr Strange on Jan 23, 2020 at 2:24 pm

Sorry guys I made a mistake. My Eye of Agamotto corrected my false info from the past. In truth it was Perodua Japanese bosses that tried to fool customers with facelifted 2nd gen Myvi which was just painted black roof. it totally bombed in the market, causing them much panic that time. Once again sorry for the wrong error of history.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Celup King on Jan 24, 2020 at 5:38 pm

Doesn’t matter whether its a black roof or a red roof or a white roof, it will still gameover both Perodua SUV.

• romance on Jan 23, 2020 at 1:35 pm

(Like) Proton X50
    (Dislike) Honda HRV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 12
    • [Like] USA Foreign brand Honda Hrv $20k (with tax)
      [Dislike] MY local ProtonBinyue X50 RM75k

USA not protecting Ford, Ford surviving well with Mustang and F150s.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 34
      • Msia driver on Jan 23, 2020 at 6:36 pm

Because USA priority human rights, u protect Ford and restrict their freedom to buy cheaper other car brands, they will slash you kaw kaw like no tomorrow

• Better not to be launch here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 19
    • BTSH, if X50 launched on the market, no one willing to buy the D55L/XUV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
    • Ya. Will failed fast.
      X70 will slowly down month by month.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Pyraxle on Jan 23, 2020 at 1:44 pm

I prefer without the black roof.. Love to see the X50 in Mitsu Outlander black colour (kind of flakey black)

• please no black roof…
    or give the buyer the option body colour roof…
    black roofing is so yesteryear
    unless they want to mimic volvo xc40

• to this day, i still dont get suv hype. everything also want suv. ridiculous

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • 4G63T DSM on Jan 23, 2020 at 2:21 pm

What’s not to like?

Easy to get in and out
      Commanding visibility
      Higher ground clearance
      Short body but big load space

I went with a suv/mpv because it is so much easier to fit a CRS with the square door cutout and high flat roof. No more whacking your head trying to strap your kid in. Big space for. Strollers, kids stuff, etc

• Anonymous on Jan 23, 2020 at 3:11 pm

My mum and older relatives love the SUVs and MPVs because it is so much easier to enter and get out from because of the higher seating and head clearance.

And they love the higher seating which gives a better command view of the road ahead and all around.

• granny on Jan 23, 2020 at 1:58 pm

I Like Dual Tone, good car manufacturer make it as double paint, result = thicker paint.

• Gramma on Jan 23, 2020 at 2:25 pm

No such thing double paint.
      Under coat 2 layer
      Color paint 2 layer
      Clear coat 2 layer

• thepolygon on Jan 23, 2020 at 2:12 pm

Release normal roof first, special edition only release black roof. Then merdeka that time, release roof with Malaysia flag.

But personally I will want all same color. Wait a minute, I thought it’s moonroof?

• alessi on Jan 23, 2020 at 2:13 pm

Black roof is so yesterday

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Jan 23, 2020 at 2:18 pm

I prefer the red roof. Looks more like floating roof than black A pillar & roof which doesn’t stand out.

• Jason Lim on Jan 23, 2020 at 2:51 pm

Black roof or not put aside
    Please give two tone interior
    Enough of all black interior
    So dark n feel less roomy

• Anonymous on Jan 23, 2020 at 3:13 pm

Single colour or two toned… its just paint. Like… its not making your vehicle any faster nor safer.

• Pak Toh on Jan 23, 2020 at 3:35 pm

x70 is overpriced, slow and makan minyak
    x50 is better

• If this is around the rm70k mark, I would buy it for myself to run sales :)

• Msia driver on Jan 23, 2020 at 6:38 pm

I need buy 3 units , cash 250k is ready in my house under the bed…
      Fast launch la x50…Don’t wait so long, later rat eat my money notes under the bed…

• Ajibkor on Jan 23, 2020 at 8:19 pm

Double fist bump bro!

I keep Cash under the bed too… but cash 250k only can buy 1biji Birkin handbag. not enuf

• Racing on Jan 24, 2020 at 8:26 am

“,………….through Time”
      Capturing wind direction
      Young fashion sense
      Speed of movement

External designer & Lead #JamieLiamBarret
      Interior Designer by a lady #CongMeiChong

Someone’s up there is really high on giving approval for this Suv development,
      Global Shanghai Design studio, a younger team & aspiring Designers take the Conceptual arts seriously & turned it into a reality.

The design looks original, doesn’t look like a 100% rip-off from an existing European designs. I know some of you may and will say it’s a better version of Audi.

and i know some people will point out a few things that will seem the same, but that is true for all cars.

This is different and sporty and its curves are different and unique.

It looks elegantly aggressive but not overly aggressive as those japanese

The ‘Science-fictions & ‘Cosmos’ Inspired motifs & Seats upholstery are really uplifting.

I think this is a complete package.

Beat that lady that designed Ford Mustang Iinterior.

• Ben Yap on Jan 23, 2020 at 5:20 pm

in the form of convertible is better.

• Wee Hoo on Jan 23, 2020 at 7:12 pm

I like Black roof looks something difference from the competitors.

• While black roof might look funky it is not practical idea for our climate. Interior temperature will be higher, your AC needs to set higher and your fuel economy will be not as good. Black roof in cold countries will keep you warmer in winter and maybe a good idea there.

• Kipidap on Jan 24, 2020 at 7:59 am

It looks so good and it doesn’t matter in which configuration!

• Nagulan on Jan 24, 2020 at 8:13 am

With is look better

• Customer on Jan 24, 2020 at 4:03 pm

Please lunch faster la.. I am about to buy a new car now

• Yeah, basically i planning to switch from my current Civic to the new X50 once it is launched. Really feel conned by Honda, when they launched the new Honda Civic, is the US, they have all the full spec with blind spot camera and everything but Malaysia didn’t launch any of it until now 2020 face lift only comes out with the Honda sensing and blind spot camera..really unbelievable and their 1.5 turbo engine really got many issues.. some of my friends driving the same car can’t even solve the problem till now, and don’t forget we are still paying installment every month for the new car but we are unable to use the car as usual. So really disappointed on Honda. No more Honda for me. Time to go for X50.. or people ask for my comment to buy which japanese car, please go for toyota instead.