Customised Proton X70 delivered to Tengku Sulaiman

Proton has handed over a customised X70 to HH Tengku Sulaiman Shah Alhaj Ibni Almarhum Sultan Salahuddin Abdul Aziz Shah Alhaj, brother of HRH Sultan Sharafuddin Idris Shah, Sultan of Selangor. Familiar? The royal is also the owner of a customised Proton Perdana 2.4L, which was delivered in 2016.

As with his previous customised Proton, Tengku Sulaiman’s X70 here wears a custom shade of blue – a colour that isn’t part of the X70’s regular palette comprising Snow White, Armour Silver, Jet Grey, Cinnamon Brown and Flame Red. Rolling stock continues to be 19 inches in diameter with the same 225/55R19 tyre size, albeit on a different wheel design with a polished finish.

Elsewhere, chrome is used for the front bumper inserts and side sills. Additional LED strips have been added to the SUV’s exterior. Inside, the customised Proton X70 channels the theme from its owner’s customised Perdana in using grey leather seats with blue inserts, joined by a light grey headliner.

The theme continues from the customised Perdana, with wood trim for the centre console, rear tray tables and door inserts and like the Perdana, a multimedia player has been installed behind each front headrest. As standard, the Proton X70 is powered by a 1.8 litre direct-injection turbo petrol four-cylinder engine, producing 181 hp at 5,500 rpm and 285 Nm of torque from 1,700 rpm to 4,400 rpm, channeled to the driven wheels via a six-speed automatic gearbox.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Nice one Tengku Sulaiman. my X70 in JDT hues,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • Nasi goreng on Jan 31, 2020 at 8:43 pm

Thank you Geely, China and Li Chunrong for donating your Game-Changing Boyue to Proton. Without your Boyue, Proton have nothing to impress the royals

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
      • Andrew Ng on Feb 01, 2020 at 10:35 am

Malaysians will soon get angry because X70 CKD now uses the problematic dual clutch. Sure breakdown so much

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
        • Someone obviously failed to read
          https://paultan.org/2020/02/01/proton-x70-ckd-7-speed-wet-dct-more-efficient-than-vw-dsgs-350k-km-lifetime-meets-volvo-standards/

• Getoverit on Feb 01, 2020 at 9:56 pm

Aiyo. It is already 2020. Stop the dual clutch bashing, it just shows your ignorance.

• DCT Engineer on Feb 03, 2020 at 8:52 am

I wish our Protons were cheaper. It is still unaffordable to many

Proton X70 in Malaysia is RM123k

Proton X70 (Boyue) in China is RM60k.

Now, this is unfair. This is why we Malaysians suffer.

Our own National car by our National car company should be selling cheap for Malaysians.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Feb 04, 2020 at 11:36 pm

26,000 Malaysians are happy to afford it. If you cannot, then work harder and stop complaining.

• Kekekekeke on Jan 31, 2020 at 6:33 pm

Habislah proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • Datukship for Li Chunrong! on Jan 31, 2020 at 6:43 pm

Lu Chunrong should be given Datukship or Tan Sriship

And pls withdraw all the datukship from all the ex CEO of Protons in the past. They caused Proton lots of losses.

Give Li Chunrong titles because he transformed Proton to money making business finally

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 12
      • Turn M on Feb 01, 2020 at 2:48 am

Cannot! How to wihdraw Tunship for our PM. Later he marah how?

• Andrew Ng on Feb 01, 2020 at 10:33 am

I hope your highness be careful. This car uses dual clutch and it is prone for continuos breakdowns.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
        • Read-Betul-Betul on Feb 01, 2020 at 8:42 pm

Dungu.. pls read carefully. This customised car still using 6-speed automatic gearbox. While coming DCT were Wet Clutch type. NOT DRY CLUTCH.

• DCT Engineer on Feb 03, 2020 at 8:53 am

Prices of Proton X70 sure to go up with the dual clutch added

• Abang2 Sambung Bayar on Jan 31, 2020 at 6:34 pm

Lucky China and Geely finally gave us a good car that we can even impress the royals

Thank you China. Thank you geely and thank you Li Chunrong!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 12
  • Badrul on Jan 31, 2020 at 6:37 pm

Li Chunrong, in 6 months, found the leakages in Proton, what our local CEOs could not identify in 20 years.

This is why Proton is doing so well now. China has given us a good present finally.

And I am proud even HRH values a good product. For 30 years we Malaysians been waiting for a good car, finally, Geely and China has given us a good product!

30 years we waited.

Enjoy your car Royal Highness. Ampun Tuanku!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
    • History Bender on Jan 31, 2020 at 8:27 pm

Johore Sultanate had always enjoyed every launched Proton car since 1982. Thanks for his support throughout the decades of ownership and yes I hope he enjoys this Proton as much as he enjoys all the Proton cars in his garages.

• Andrew Ng on Feb 01, 2020 at 10:38 am

Because he knew it was the stock Mitsubishi. He never bought the Campro models because always oil leak and breakdown

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
      • Don’t come and lie. We can search here that HRH was one of the first to buy Satria Neo CPS Lotus Racing special edition.

• SALang on Jan 31, 2020 at 7:05 pm

Just wondering how the 360cam works..? The front camera had been blocked..

What a design…

• Very 80’s inspired interior . Maybe they hv never checked out carzone interior on facebook, those guys are dope

• Gentle on Feb 01, 2020 at 2:18 am

Oh god that is hideous. The polished wheels and chrome surrounds, the fake shiny wood finishes.. this is 1998 Perdana-style.

• Woody on Feb 01, 2020 at 9:59 am

Agree with this 110%. That fake wood finish is just so atrocious.

• why the Emblem still do not have neck?