2020 Proton X70 CKD to get 7-speed wet DCT – shared with Volvo, torque up 15 Nm, 7.5 litres per 100 km

Proton is gearing up for its first big launch of the year, the locally-assembled 2020 X70. Ahead of its impending unveiling, the national carmaker has confirmed that the CKD SUV will swap out its six-speed automatic gearbox for a seven-speed dual-clutch transmission, developed by Geely and Volvo.

The wet clutch unit is already found in the Volvo XC40 and the latest range of Lynk & Co and Geely models, where it is mated to the (also co-developed) 1.5 litre turbocharged three-cylinder engine. In the X70, however, the 1.8 litre direct-injected turbo four-pot will soldier on, although it is technically of a new iteration referred to internally as Generation 3 (the one in the CBU import is the Generation 2 mill).

Apparently, there are no major mechanical changes, but the addition of two clutches has freed up an extra 15 Nm of torque, bumping the total figure up to 300 Nm from 1,750 to 4,000 rpm; power remains identical at 181 hp at 5,500 rpm. The engine also features revised emissions equipment that allows it to meet new Euro 6d regulations if required, although of course it can still run on our Euro 4M petrol.

The new gearbox has also provided marginal gains in fuel efficiency, with the quoted combined figure going down from 7.8 litres per 100 km to 7.5 for a front-wheel drive model. Given that the CBU model was only capable of 9.8 litres per 100 km in our Driven Web Series, expect a similar discrepancy between the given number and what you can achieve in the real world.

Beyond the new gearbox, Proton has not revealed any other changes forthcoming for the X70, but we do know that the car will come with the new roundel badge up front. There will also be a smaller electronic gearlever to go with the DCT, similar to what you’d find on modern BMWs (and indeed, Volvos).

We can also expect a few additions to the equipment list such as a powered tailgate, and possibly even some chassis tweaks. Production units of the 2020 X70 are rolling out of Tanjung Malim as we speak, so the launch will happen sooner rather than later. We had a brief test drive of a Geely Boyue Pro in China with the same engine and gearbox combination, and you will be able to read about it shortly.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• lenny on Feb 01, 2020 at 12:11 am

im early so p2 fan are hypocrite
    dct are fun to use Dont know about the maintenance, but haven’t heard that much complain so I’m going to go for it
    if you want to buy boring car “cough p2” go for it
    broke boi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
    • Apricot on Feb 01, 2020 at 9:05 am

Finish Honda Malaysia and their arrogant attitude that gives a car with many issues on quality and aftersales services. Even upcoming City Turbo and other Honda models doesn’t have AEB, land departure warning and blind spot monitor. Nobody will touch this brand. Salesman will start crying. So called as “Power of Nightmare Cars”

As majority in Malaysia fed up of driving honda cars because too many quality issues on newer Honda models after bought for less than 1 year. When go to aftersales service, people also complaining most of the aftersales service dealer. Cannot solve. Shows that technicians are having half past six, lying, didn’t repair at all, never repair other peoples car at all.

Yet, some of them are still buying Honda cars with brainless. Also, come here hating kimchi cars with low resale value and hating mazda. Just look at safety specs, most of Honda models are really kosong spec. Compare to Mazda, Toyota and Hyundai Ioniq comes with blind spot monitor, AEB, land departure warning and others. No wonder, many mazda CX-5 and Proton X70 everywhere than looking Honda CRV is now rare.

Malaysians rather buy mazda. This comes with 5 years warranty as Honda. Bermaz service is better and they already improved their service than honda. Even CKD Mazda CX-5 looks so so but better than most Honda models. So Honda Malaysia is dead.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 122 Thumb down 24
      • Abe Lajak on Feb 01, 2020 at 8:25 pm

Brainless fanboya! always use copy paste comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 38
        • Royal Prince on Feb 02, 2020 at 10:20 am

Lol, look at his English. Broken like hell. I’m aware of Honda tanking quality issues but Apricot has an agenda. Bashing blindly. Then copy paste the comment into many posts.

• Lingkup on Feb 03, 2020 at 12:04 pm

Hundreds of owner, or might thousand by now, dct complaint in volvo car in china this few years. Now proton put more problem into their already problematic cars. Good luck.

• Initially is love and later turned into hate,
        2L relations on loop, Hide the first and magnify the later, pls put ur pov more into;
        “my personal Ownership experience”

• Nasi kandar on Feb 01, 2020 at 11:13 am

Syabas Geely for donating your Game-Changing gearbox to Proton. For 30 years, Proton couldn’t give us any good gearboxes and gave us Game Over punch CVT instead

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
      • Azman Malek on Feb 02, 2020 at 10:47 am

Punch CVT is problematic but DCT is even bigger problems and a money sucking machine. Always think what will happen outside warranty period.

• Troll Hunter on Feb 03, 2020 at 12:45 pm

Always complaining. Everything is not good enough. That’s why you still come here complaining.

• Helmy Khan on Feb 01, 2020 at 11:19 am

China is a super cold country. It even snows. So does Sweden.

So gearbox can tahan 350k km

But in Malaysia, after 50k kam at 40 degrees……..we will see the fun

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 16
      • China has super hot places too. There is even a desert. You think Malaysia hotter than the Gobi?

• Ken Yap on Feb 01, 2020 at 11:31 am

Wow!!!! 7 speed dual clutch! This X70 can smoke CRV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
  • Habislah CRV, CX5

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 8
  • 9km/L Proton X70 subang jaya drive.
    Wonder when they want to bring in MHEV and PHEV Binyue X50.

Petrol ‘good’ fuel saving only at eco mode highway drive.
    Irrelevant to normal spiritual highway drive nor klang valley city drive.

New gens 1.0turbo almera and city claimed combined FC 23km/L.
    Easily 18km/L city drive. RM60 go 500km. Pickup and cornering faster than X70.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 18
    • Helmy Khan on Feb 01, 2020 at 11:29 am

Ask any VW, Volvo or Ford owner….they will never return to the brand AGAIN

There is a reason why

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
      • Better just ask troll like you, right? The only brand that is good is the one you are selling.

• Lets See on Feb 03, 2020 at 11:56 am

To him, the best cars are dinosaur like Flintstone car, only got 2 gears: left and right foot.

• Afandi Azmi on Feb 01, 2020 at 2:12 am

Good luck guys, pada mileage yang ke 80,000km sila sediakan duit untuk rebuild balik gearbox dct itu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 26
    • Celup King on Feb 01, 2020 at 9:39 am

Pls read. This is wet clutch type unlike easy condemn dry clutch DSG.

• Habislah on Feb 03, 2020 at 12:10 pm

Wet or dry, both are easy to condem. There are so much info abt wet&dry dct in the internet, google around urself and dont be ignorant. Even PT here also have article abt dct problems.

“Is that trend signalling the eventual demise of the transmission? Aston Martin CEO Andy Palmer seems to think so. In an interview with Car and Driver, Palmer stated that the dual-clutch is set to lose ground progressively to the torque converter auto and may be living on borrowed time, no matter the configuration, wet or dry.”

• Lolwhut? on Feb 03, 2020 at 12:55 pm

Can Aston Martin CEO answer how this can happen if he was so trustable?
          https://paultan.org/2020/01/31/aston-martin-in-final-talks-with-geely-and-stroll-new-investor-may-get-20-stake-announcement-soon/

• Autodriver on Feb 04, 2020 at 8:07 pm

WET clutch has NO ISSUE (or very little problem), those dual clutch with problem one 99% is DRY clutch. The wet clutch reliability is on par with AT and yet more fuel efficiency, greater power delivery and smooth gear shifting. Otherwise why so stupid Geely moving from AT to DCT which actually cost higher and more sophiscated system

• Pakaibuang on Feb 01, 2020 at 10:28 am

Which will be paid by the 2nd hand buyer. This logic already been used by Honda fenbois for their hybrid battery.

X70 for weekend car, 80k mileage in at most 9 years until finish loan, kancil/axia for daily car 80k mileage in 3 years pakai buang like toyoi’s aX1a.

No problem

• https://paultan.org/2020/02/01/proton-x70-ckd-7-speed-wet-dct-more-efficient-than-vw-dsgs-350k-km-lifetime-meets-volvo-standards/

• Mulutcyber on Feb 01, 2020 at 2:05 pm

80k still got warranty la.. whats the problem.. ayooo.. please keep your stupidity for your next generation..

• No, he better not have next generation. We don’t need more idiots.

• Wet OilCooled on Feb 01, 2020 at 7:04 pm

Youre Referring to VW/Ford (Dry) Unit (InThePast).
      This is Oil Cooled so it’s Wet – Controlled Temperature.
      P1 might Suggests Fluid Change Interval at 60k

• Wow…superb job proton…dual clutch is waaayyy much better than those sushi’s cvt…so far only geely & kimchi has this option other than those conti …superb

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
    • seancorr (Member) on Feb 01, 2020 at 2:02 pm

Driven Web Series had 9.8l/100km which is considered good for the X70 due to mixed driving on highways as well as in the city. Try full city driving and expect it to go up to around 12l/100km.

As for the DCT setup, one can only tell if this durable or not over time. Potential owners better read up on how to use a DCT properly as it is technically different from conventual auto transmissions that Malaysians are so used to. If I were to get a DCT, it will be for a weekend car and not my daily car as DCTs are designed for quick shifting and they don’t perform well in our traffic jams.

• Something is not right so the China version of the same DCT managed to get a full 1L savings while the Malaysian version only managed a tiny 0.3L savings ?

The standard transmission with the 1.8T engine is now a seven-speed wet dual-clutch automatic rather than a six-speed automatic, with Geely claiming the DCT has an efficiency of 97%, helping reduce fuel consumption by one litre per 100km when compared to the original Boyue.
    https://paultan.org/2019/07/10/geely-boyue-pro-introduced-for-china/

• Darren on Feb 03, 2020 at 9:50 am

Savings of 0.3L per km is a huge improvement over the previous 1L per 100km dude. A testimony to the continuous refinement by Volvo & Geely team.

• Bro what are you talking about?

The article clearly states that the China Boyue Pro managed to achieve a full 1L savings compared to the original Boyue meaning if the original Boyue fuel consumption is 7.8L the new Boyue Pro will be able to achieve 6.8L while the similar version of the Malaysian X70 only manages 7.5L? How come?

• Einstein on Feb 03, 2020 at 12:50 pm

Aisey man. You linked the article, you even copypasted the sentence and yet you failed at either reading or maths.

If you read ‘helping reduce fuel consumption by one litre per 100km when compared to the original Boyue’, that is 1liter per 100km. This iteration is going to save 30liters per 100km. Go brain that a little bit will ya. It doesnt take an Einstein to figure it out.

• Lolwhut? on Feb 03, 2020 at 3:23 pm

Facepalmed Bob.

• Dear Einstein, think about it in your calculation how would you be able to save 30L/100km? (ie. if a car can drive 500km in a full tank will you be saving 150L/500km)? This is beyond logical where no commercial car is equipped with that fuel tank size + you get free top-up petrol while driving – Please enlightened me about your special formula E=mc2 (Empty = magic x carbon)2.

Reduction of 1L is mention per 100km for the China Boyue Pro while the Malaysian CKD of the same spec is only 0.3L reduction per 100km. That is that unless something is wrong with the article.

• I concur with Darren’s calculations, so may I ask if you have difficulty with multiplications?

• vivizurianti on Feb 01, 2020 at 10:16 am

If the DCT GB goes kaput, prepare lots of money for rebuild. This is the respond from GB repair specialist I know in Kelang Valley.

• ionlaw on Feb 01, 2020 at 10:30 am

I think proton just not able to pass geely QAQC, thats why they keep delaying the launching date…

• How did this question pass your brain’s logic before you type it out? Since when did Proton promise an exact date for the CKD X70 launch?

• potato on Feb 02, 2020 at 12:48 pm

This is not the 1st car Proton used DCT like gearbox. Proton already had that in Proton Savvy, so Proton should have lots of experience with DCT. So when Proton says dry DCT issue is in the past, it is. if you can’t be confident with local company, at least have some confident with China’s biggest car company.

• LOL and we know how that original Savvy ended with close to 100% reliability issue and close to none seen on the road today.

• AZAMIRUDDIN AHMAD on Feb 03, 2020 at 8:14 am

Finally, a proper gearbox.. not an antique and outdated 4 speed auto..

• Faizal on Feb 03, 2020 at 8:18 am

What about the entertainment system? Apple car play and android car?

• Amran on Feb 03, 2020 at 11:15 am

Trump don’t allow Google to work with China anymore. Will take time until its ready.