2020 Proton X70 CKD – 7DCT vs 6AT servicing costs

If you haven’t heard, the 2020 Proton X70 CKD was recently launched in Malaysia, now packing a new seven-speed wet dual-clutch transmission instead of a six-speed torque converter automatic that was found in the previous fully-imported CBU units.

Pricing starts from RM94,800, and you can find out everything that’s new with the popular C-segment SUV in our comprehensive launch report. We reckon many of you will have questions about the new 7DCT, particularly how it feels, so there’s also our written and video review to look at.

Another question that is probably on the minds of potential buyers is just what impact the new transmission will have on the X70’s maintenance cost, considering it is technically a more complex piece of kit than the 6AT. Well, we’ll answer that question right here.

Pulling the figures from Proton’s official service schedules for the CKD and CBU versions of the SUV, and putting it into neat tables, you can see that the locally-assembled model is comparatively cheaper to maintain over 100,000 km or five years.

Going into detail, the serviceable items for both versions are largely identical, but the X70 CBU requires a transmission oil change much sooner at the 60,000-km/36-month mark. By comparison, the X70 CKD’s change comes at the 90,000-km/54-month mark.

The difference in maintenance costs is largely due to the cost of the transmission oils used, with X70 CBU owners needing to pay RM500.96, while it is RM353.45 for the X70 CKD. The latter requires four litres of Shell Spirax S5 DCT10 transmission oil, while the former uses eight litres of Geely ATF 3292 by Fuchs Petrolub.

2020 Proton X70 CKD – 7DCT vs 6AT servicing costs2020 Proton X70 CKD – 7DCT vs 6AT servicing costs

Proton X70 maintenance costs: CKD (top), CBU (bottom)

On a year-to-year basis, the maintenance costs between the CKD and CBU models are largely identical, with the exception of the third and fifth year. In the third year, X70 CKD owners will pay less but this is reversed in the fifth year due to the delayed transmission oil change for the 7DCT.

In any case, owners of the X70 CKD will no longer have a service bill above RM1,000 every 10,000 km/6 months from now on, so it is less likely you’ll be surprised by a huge bill at the service centre. But anyway, all scheduled service costs are available on the Proton website and MyProton mobile app.

There you have it, the new X70 CKD is cheaper to maintain compared to the previous CBU model despite being equipped with a more advanced transmission, even if the difference isn’t by a huge margin for those in the market for such a model.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Granny on Feb 14, 2020 at 9:49 am

Delayed transmission oil change for the 7DCT.
    now the Gear Oil to be changed after 90,000km mileage.

Good luck to 2nd hand Proton X70 CKD 7DCT buyers…Good Luck selling off it too..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 51
    • Relax bro, it is a structure of manual transmission just automated. For manual transmission, it is advised to change every 100,000km, something I don’t even go and change, only change it when it starts getting sticky. DCT use same gearbox oil as manual, the way how they change the gearbox oil also the same as manual, it is a basically a manual gearbox. It is not a CVT or torque converter gearbox.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
      • Mustafa Habib on Feb 14, 2020 at 4:13 pm

Nothing beats DCT gearbox. After 5 year warranty, anything goes wrong, be prepared to lose RM70k.

The gearbox is memang problematic and most Volvo owners can afford to replace it because they are rich

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 14
        • Lolwhut? on Feb 14, 2020 at 5:43 pm

Honda City hybrid owners must be very rich then, according to your logic. Lol!

• DeliriousYou on Feb 17, 2020 at 10:08 am

you sure 70k? If it’s 70k Yuan then makes sense, but definitely not 70k RM. if RM20k +- labour, more logical, but if you can’t afford that amount when you can get 100k+ car, then you are over your head buying it at the first place.

• Honda and proton kb warrior caught by MCMC on Feb 14, 2020 at 11:04 am

The hatters of honda and proton who gave fake and copy paste stories all time missing. Now the blog is more peaceful

• More advanced, cheaper maintenance, better reliability. Apa lagi mau?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 6
    • John Dungu on Feb 14, 2020 at 12:32 pm

“comparatively cheaper”

• MHK I on Feb 14, 2020 at 12:36 pm

Better handling please

• tokmoh. on Feb 14, 2020 at 7:43 pm

Some people cannot win one.

Sudah explain wet DCT is as reliable as normal torque converter auto, nooo, some still wanna argue as long as DCT, confirm will fail early. Pluck from the sky figure.

I think they’re butthurt myvi owner. With such poor mentality, they’ll never graduate from it because anything more modern is endless money pit to them. They wanna stay that way, none of my business, but to spread fake news as if it costs rm70k to replace DCT is unforgivable. Just because you’re a lousy sore loser, doesn’t mean everyone else is too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
      • Fist bump bro! To these pipu I would suggest they get horsies as their ride. Will never suffer mechanical breakdowns and will never have power window or gearbox problems they keep bringing up.

• Mr Visionary on Feb 15, 2020 at 11:01 pm

That’s where you are wrong, perodua and Japanese car owners just think they deserve better like Japanese quality for the money, they dont want to pay to suffer, why pay so much if all ur parts kong here and there then RV drops endlessly because a Japanese cars serves you forever ya

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
      • Kambing Melawati on Feb 15, 2020 at 3:06 pm

XC70 is any time more premium than Volvo. It is a good car. Why buy Others?

• Agnes Ng on Feb 14, 2020 at 9:54 am

Why don’t you make a comparison with other car makers of the same class.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • Nasi goreng on Feb 14, 2020 at 9:55 am

Service cost may be cheaper than CBU version but once the DCT is Game Over, prepare to be shocked and you’ll find out DCT repairing cost are 3X more expensive than regular AT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 37
    • I think best to have option of Manual transmission, as it will last forever and very very very low maintenance…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • Showroom empty on Feb 14, 2020 at 11:03 am

1st Quarter of the new year,
      Normal day at ……..3S Jln……
      Sale&Mktg Head just finished a short, weak
      and unmotivated briefing
      9am – 12pm
      No one coming, showroom empty as yesterday
      Checking online prospecting ads, no call-In
      Still zero reply, just one message, a punter asking for a crazy 25k Discounts
      It’s slow and much harder now – hate my job.
      Break for Coffee/Sandwich – 10.30am
      Think again, Less commission, a bill to pay
      Headache, tension, Monthly Target, Boss yelling, Oh too much pressure – oh God!
      Lunch : 12.30 – 2.00pm
      Eatmore to cool it all down,
      so putting more weight now,
      Back to 3S – 3 – 6pm
      Still no call, no potential buyer to Goreng,
      empty as usual, Why nobody coming?
      Hate my Job even more.
      scroll online automotive sites,
      See what other competitors are doing
      The same thing comes to mind
      Compare to the fist time doing it and now,
      It’s easier, faster, ya experience ease into it,
      Just repeat and don’t feel ashamed of it
      Silence Attacks Begin….
      Pick the least best point or something new unproven part/feature of the car,
      amplify and projecting it as bad as it can.
      Just attack the Brands profusely, highlight the unproven decade old negative history, fake it and portray it as weak, unreliable and untrustworthy.
      Create another new fake multiple acc/username, compose a fake believable storyline into it, as someone in the real life is having a really bad car ownership experience.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 9
      • Not Toyota Fan on Feb 14, 2020 at 3:38 pm

Normal day at ……..3S Toyota/Honda/Nissan/Naza/Haval/Cherry/Hyundai/…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 10
      • You hit the spot on Kunta’s daily life! Hahaha!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 15
    • John Pokai on Feb 14, 2020 at 12:42 pm

Next article should tell us the cost of DCT replacement parts after warranty period lapsed.

Or why not Proton offer 20 years warranty for peace of mind.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • snake on Feb 14, 2020 at 10:05 am

Cheaper servicing cost than CBU X70

• azrai on Feb 14, 2020 at 10:07 am

Next: Comparison with Aruz. Haha..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
    • Aikon on Feb 14, 2020 at 11:50 am

I think you’re not thinking straight…

• MHK I on Feb 14, 2020 at 2:42 pm

Why would they compare it to a basic family hauler?
      I believe P2 wouldn’t even produce a comparable contender to X70

• Proton salesman on Feb 15, 2020 at 11:06 pm

Stop tumpang glamour, proton just builds the car based on geely’s standards, proton doesn’t even create the x70 itself, tak malu ke?

• Veneno on Feb 14, 2020 at 3:39 pm

Different segment, dude.. Tak adil nanti..

• SALang on Feb 14, 2020 at 11:49 am

Try to table in year 6 maintenance cost. CBU cost will peak again.. need gear oil change for 2nd time.. CKD still got long way to go..

• Ben Yap on Feb 14, 2020 at 11:53 am

i’ve been staying away from proton since i bought my first Proton wira. the car has problems with the power window, central locking and rattling sound. after i change to my honda civic 1.5 TCP, i never want to look back at proton again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 35
    • SK Lim on Feb 14, 2020 at 1:00 pm

Somehow despite your criticism of Proton, that wira has served you very well for decades before changing to Civic TCP. You are just an ingrateful person that didn’t appreciate the servitude of that wira.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 3
    • Civic 1.5 TCP vs Wira?

• Ex King of Road on Feb 14, 2020 at 1:35 pm

15years after last Wira sold, there are more than 100K wiras running around malaysia.

Wira Pilihan Pertama Pencuri Kerata

Honda Turbo got RV? Less than 1000 lagging around

• Bob_B78 on Feb 14, 2020 at 12:49 pm

Can paultan breakdown the cost of replacing the gearbox? It will give future buyer what they are up against when warranty over

• Dct unreliable on Feb 14, 2020 at 1:24 pm

The dct reliable or not, it is most annoying when the car died on the road. Causing jam and all people looking at you

• Tse Tung on Feb 16, 2020 at 3:44 pm

Yes, when an Alza loses it’s rear axle again, people at least come and take selfies. Much better!

• Theory vs Actual on Feb 14, 2020 at 1:29 pm

if X70 100% Zero parts defect then the maintenance Ownership cost list is correct.

what if u encounter the most critical parts spoilt after 36months?
    Fans, pumps, sensors, controllers?

• John Rugi Teruk on Feb 14, 2020 at 2:02 pm

Hopefully it will not cost you arms and legs.

• Raja Kamarul on Feb 14, 2020 at 2:33 pm

You’ve heard of the warranty, I presume?

• John Gelisah on Feb 14, 2020 at 3:00 pm

At least give 15-years warranty (unlimited mileage) for DCT gearbox.

Bolehlah saya tidur lena jiwa tenang setiap malam.

• pakatan rakyat on Feb 14, 2020 at 1:30 pm

don’t need to compare lah, now no more mood after seeing the car pricing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • 30k booking already

• Azlan & Horbury on Feb 16, 2020 at 4:52 am

Pls spend some time to come to the showroom to get the feels of it.
        Once you enter the Cabin,
        all your worries will quickly disappeared
        into the thin air.
        It is best to experience all of it by yourself.
        Pls take your time to run through all the touchpoint and all its material,
        Once you’re in, First of all, the Gear Lever will caught ur eyes immediately, the satisfying luxury Clicks, once you touch and turn the gear lever, it is designed to impress and it does.
        It is surrounded by the beautiful metallic satin finished waterfall centre console with Arch’s designed Handle.
        The Flow seamlessly continue to the door card, to complete the cabin landscape.
        Then your focus will continue to the Seats, finest Nappa’s leather, Stylish designed with comfort and safety In mind.
        Quality workmanship continue through the mix of dual white colors stiching contrasted with the dark brown finished leather.
        Designed with attention to details, Elements of the River, Waterfall, Bridge, Mountain, Sky and Life fused with modern interpretation. Imagine you’re looking at the beautiful scenery through the designer lens.
        You will be speechless from this amazing experience and the thought of technical and pricing will be the least of ur concern

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • dong gor on Feb 14, 2020 at 1:50 pm

spark plugs every 20k KM? i think that is overkill. just use Iridium, u can do more than 100k km. Brake fluid, fuel filter is also an overkill schedule when compared to other cars like Japanese makes

• Feel the same, for the spark plugs, even it is a turbo charged engine, a iridium or platinum plug could easily last 60k to 100k km. Engine air filter schedule is also abnormal too. Will the car get attracted more dust during first 10k km? Normally, a Japanese car did schedule the engine air filter replacement around 40k km, some European car scheduled the air filter change at 80k km. Just curios?

The DCT fluid change schedule sounds normal.

• Honda is scheduled replace filter every 20k km. Mana ada 40k km bro. Only conti cars have such long intervals.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 14, 2020 at 8:13 pm

old mitsu engine. dont expect too much.

• HK Pang on Feb 14, 2020 at 1:57 pm

What about dct clutch pack replacement on year 6? Volkswagen charges RM4K https://paultan.org/2014/09/12/vgm-clutch-rm1888/ after discount RM1888. How much does Proton charge including parts labour? Then comparison is more fairly presented. Sure manual transmissions need clutch replacement as well but not likely in year 6 & not so costly.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 14, 2020 at 4:27 pm

proton actually has a lot of hidden costs, like to reset the TPMS but they never tell. During service, tell you to do tyre alignment there, whereby they will reset ur tpms for free. If not, charge you rm 200 to reset the tpms. no such thing from other carmakers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
  • Saladin on Feb 14, 2020 at 9:04 pm

Last time car like vw, ford, audi, volvo, nissan gtr, evo x, all got problem with DCT. Did you know every 100k km u need to overhaul the gearbox clutch plate. If not before u reach 150k km it will kaput. The problem is always it cannot tahan hot weather traffic jam. Imagine going back kampung during raya or cny 8 hours crawling. hahaha good luck.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • syukiro on Feb 15, 2020 at 2:05 pm

hello bro, this is wet clutch. All models u mentioned used dry clutch.

• Bayee on Feb 15, 2020 at 10:36 am

False comparison, how much to replace the dual clutch pack? Dont forget it is an auto manual gearbox with 2 clutch plate. You need to change the clutch pack (wear and tear item). Auto gb will be much cheaper to maintain as compare to dct.

• Syukran on Feb 15, 2020 at 2:02 pm

One of the rule of buying a newly released car. Never buy tge first batch, lets see where it goes.

• carlust on Feb 16, 2020 at 1:58 pm

I went and tested the car today. First showroom no car to test drive, I guess old habits/mentality die hard…vintage Proton. 2nd showroom thankfully has…overall, thanks to Geely and Volvo, a much better showing in terms of features, accessories and most important, quality. Thumbs up here…BUT

checked the warranty terms and conditions…1st alarm bell…3 years/60,000km warranty for gearbox, turbo and the critical components etc. and what is worse…2nd alarm bell…clutch friction plate not covered after 3 months/a mere 5000km?

Long story short…no point trying to tell us its Volvo quality, made for the US market, tested more than 300,000km, tested in MY conditions, cheaper to maintain etc etc.

Proton, please put your money where your mouth is…if the gearbox is so good, have the guts to give us a 5 year warranty/150,000km. Talk is cheap! Your warranty for the DCT seriously does not inspire confidence.

I rest my case….

• One thing for sure Dct is more fun than auto. I have 3 autos. 1 wet dct & 1 dry. So far only the autos has broken down but they’re like 10 years old toyota & kia. I like dct more because it doesn’t need a high rpm to be fast. Very economical driving 100kmh vw 1.4 tsi. Cvt cannot keep up with dsg. At first it’s faster but then dct goes.The wet dct is not economical but it’s an amg

• camtakpro on Feb 17, 2020 at 6:40 pm

As if DCT only need oil change… let see how long that clutch pack could last.

And how long is the warranty given for the DCT?

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 05, 2021 at 11:04 am

careful on the so called free labour, if “expire” they will charge u for it. which almost everyone will kena due to mco last year.