2020 Honda Civic facelift debuts in Malaysia – three variants, 1.8 NA and 1.5 Turbo, RM114k to RM140k

Honda Malaysia has officially introduced the 2020 Civic facelift, the refreshed tenth-gen FC finally making its debut today five months after it went on preview and the order books opened for it, the delay in the FC’s arrival having being put down to issues related to pricing.

The mid-life update for the Civic contains minor styling changes to the car’s exterior – the front end now features a piano black “wing” on the grille in place of the chrome trim seen previously, and the bumper has been redesigned, with the lower section now integrating the black trim into a single piece running across the width of the unit. At the back, a new rear bumper garnish piece and a boot spoiler make their way on.

Three variants are available for the Civic facelift, a base 1.8 S, a mid-spec 1.5 TC and range-topping 1.5 TC-P. No change in engines, or output – the 1.8 S is powered by a normally-aspirated 1.8 litre SOHC four-pot offering 141 PS and 174 Nm, while the L15B7 1.5 litre VTEC Turbo four-cylinder engine, with 173 PS and 220 Nm of torque, features on both turbo versions.

A new 18-inch alloy wheel also goes on, but that’s only for the 1.5 TC-P, and it’s dressed with 235/40 profile Michelin Pilot 4 tyres. The 1.5 TC sits on 17-inch units and 215/50 series tyres, while the 1.8 S is equipped with 16-inch alloys, wrapped with 215/55 rubbers.

Both engine options continue to be paired with an Earth Dreams continuously variable transmission (CVT), which directs drive to the front wheels. The major inclusion is Honda Sensing, with the Civic becoming the third locally-assembled (CKD) Honda model to come with the suite of safety and driver assistance systems after the CR-V and Accord.

Components available in the system are Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC) with Low Speed Follow (LSF), Forward Collision Warning (FCW), Collision Mitigation Braking System (CMBS), Lane Keep Assist System (LKAS), Road Departure Mitigation (RDM) and Lane Departure Warning (LDW).

There ís also an Auto High-Beam (AHB) feature and a LaneWatch camera side-camera system, and other safety equipment includes six airbags, front parking sensors, Vehicle Stability Assist (VSA), ABS, EBD, brake assist, Emergency Stop Signal (ESS), Hill Start Assist (HSA) and a reverse camera.

New equipment being introduced with the facelift include front parking sensors, automatic wipers and 60:40 split-folding rear seats (previously, a fixed bench). Elsewhere, the seven-inch Advanced Display Audio head unit now features a rotary on/off and volume control knob as well as physical function buttons to provide faster easier, faster access to functions.

The 1.5 TC will now come equipped with LED headlamps and fog lamps (previously, halogen units) as well as LaneWatch. As for the 1.5 TC-P, aside from Sensing and the 18-inch alloys, it is the only variant to feature the black grille and boot spoiler as standard.

Five colours are available for the Civic facelift – Lunar Silver Metallic, White Orchid Pearl, Modern Steel Metallic, Crystal Black Pearl and a new shade, Passion Red Pearl.

Finally, pricing, and the 2020 Civic facelift variants are priced, all on-the-road without insurance, as follows:

• Civic 1.8 S – RM113,600
  • Civic 1.5 TC – RM129,600
  • Civic 1.5 TC-P – RM139,600

Compared to the pre-facelift, this is an increase of RM5,435 for the 1.8 (RM108,165, pre-FL), RM8,745 for the 1.5 TC (RM120,855, pre-FL) and RM10,969 for the 1.5 TC-P (RM128,631, pre-FL).

There is also a number of optional accessories packages available for the Civic. Two are Modulo packages – the 1.0 package consisting of front, rear and side under spoilers and the rear wing that is standard on the 1.5 TC-P, priced at RM4,868. This is essentially meant for the 1.8 S and 1.5 TC. The next Modulo package omits the rear spoiler, which reduces the price to RM3,241.

Additionally, there’s an Urban package (RM1,575), which is made up of door visors, illuminated side steps and aluminium sports pedals, as well as an Utility package (RM621), which consists of a trunk tray, trunk organiser and sun shades. Also available is a Protection package (RM3,007), which consists of ultra glass body/window coating and wheel lock nuts.

Read our review of the refreshed C-segment sedan, and you can compare the new Civic’s specifications with its rivals on CarBase.my.

GALLERY: 2020 Honda Civic 1.5 TC-P facelift

GALLERY: 2020 Honda Civic 1.5 TC facelift with Modulo accessories package
GALLERY: 2020 Honda Civic 1.8 S facelift

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Reader guy on Feb 26, 2020 at 11:40 am

So pointless with higher price.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 8
    • Mario 2nd account on Feb 26, 2020 at 1:21 pm

From x70 top up 18k can get this game changer with turbo powered engine which actually make the car fast unlike the x70 with turbo but still slow as snail yet drink fuel like a jet engine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 102
      • Unknown on Feb 26, 2020 at 2:14 pm

Only a fool who has more money than sense would think topping up RM18k is nothing to them. Don’t talk about X70 drinking fuel, the RM18k is plenty to cover for that. Spin as you want but you’re making that comparison, an X70 makes more sense.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 8
        • azm1n on Feb 26, 2020 at 3:00 pm

Power, brand, fuel, space. Civic checkmate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
          • Civic Turbo 2018 on Feb 26, 2020 at 5:49 pm

More expensive than Altis 1.8G

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
          • X50 lover on Feb 26, 2020 at 7:08 pm

Time to change your model name bro.

• Kerajaan Pintu Belakang Gagal on Feb 26, 2020 at 9:21 pm

Prices are crazy. Why prices are crazy? Very simple. In Malaysia, Honda is DRB and DRB is a lembap GLC that is overbloated in staff.

So, DRB needs to keep prices high to make sure they get the money to feed these overbloated GLC staff of theirs.

Look at how China can do things, so efficiently and fast. Until they can turnaround dying PRoton to be profitable. Li Chunrong, in 6 months, could identify all the leakages that our local abang abang CEOs could not identify in 25 years.

Make sure Geely buys up Honda in Malaysia and run it efficiently. We need more Mainland people to come into Malaysia to make things run more efficiently.

You will see Civic will come down in price to RM99k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 17
          • Muafakat Nasional on Feb 27, 2020 at 8:54 am

Harga kereta macam kerajaan….huru hara

Tak tentu arah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
          • Frozen on Feb 27, 2020 at 9:14 am

Honda is still making money, if Geely were to buy up a Japanese brand failing because of their incompetence, they would do better to buy up Nissan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
        • X50 Pls on Feb 26, 2020 at 6:52 pm

Ammm…. will keep the money for X50….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
          • Kerajaan Pintu Belakang Gagal on Feb 26, 2020 at 9:25 pm

When you have abang abangs fighting amongst themselves, they have no time to ensure we consumers get reasonable car prices.

Time to kick all these people out and bring in Mainland people who can run MAlaysia better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
          • Fake News on Feb 27, 2020 at 9:16 am

Agreed. Time for MN to kickout DAP and replace them with Mainland people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
        • Taik Muafakat on Feb 27, 2020 at 9:46 am

Hope our greedy politicians learn to obey laws in the country and not destabilise the country because of greedy and wanting easy life

• Syerin on Feb 26, 2020 at 2:15 pm

Wait. Did you imply you buy an suv to drive 440kmh? Your intelligence is something. Something questionable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
      • Ol Skool on Feb 26, 2020 at 3:31 pm

RM18k is almost 3.5 years worth of fuel assuming re-fueling RM100 every week without fail. X70 fuel consumption is on average, not that good but far from bad. So yeahh, only a moron would topup 18k to get a Civic, when they originally aim for an SUV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
        • Mr Suka Syukur Selalu XIX on Feb 26, 2020 at 4:52 pm

Mesians free to buy any cars we like. Syukurla

• English Teacher on Feb 26, 2020 at 10:52 pm

A fool and his money are soon parted, and I just spotted a willing fool.

• Mr Visionary on Feb 26, 2020 at 1:24 pm

Better pay 1k less to get the game changing Toyota Corolla with ultimate chasis engineering and real double wishbones with almost same set up as the AE86, this means can go Taiwan or Japanese race around maintains unlike this civic will only loss control and end up in the longkang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 28
      • Who in the world can/will go Taiwan or Japan to race around with a Corolla from MLY? What do you mean by game changing? From racing become flying is it?
        You sound like you’re high on something…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 3
        • Civic, Corolla, Mazda3 vs X70… exciting

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
        • Celup King on Feb 26, 2020 at 4:25 pm

Toyota fanboys and ketum berpisah tiada. Always high on something wan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 18
          • Low Vision on Feb 26, 2020 at 4:42 pm

Aiyooo….Honda Fanbois always badmouthing about proton, toyota, mazda, hyundai, bmw, mercedes and etc, without any their honda salesmen knowledge. Seems like honda salesmen also didn’t read the article as well

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
          • Lowyat on Feb 26, 2020 at 10:22 pm

u sound like u’re from /k LOL

• Reality Check on Feb 26, 2020 at 2:53 pm

Reality is, that’s beyond reality for MY racer wannabe with Corolla. You know those car clubs, they made it pass Thailand border, but that’s how far they can get, lol.

I still prefer that double wishbone tho.

• David on Feb 26, 2020 at 5:49 pm

Joker statement

• Terry on Feb 26, 2020 at 11:43 am

Price is very important! Like maintenance and purchasing car. So don’t ignore it. As long as it is very expensive. Don’t buy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
    • Mr Visionary on Feb 26, 2020 at 6:24 pm

At least i know where the price hike went, it is justified because we need to feed the overbloated gov servants, it is for a reason

• Lets See on Feb 27, 2020 at 9:20 am

Under BN, got 1.6mil government servants but no price hikes and cars remain affordable.
        Under PH, got 1.6mil government servant but price hikes macam haram jadah.
        Why so big difference? To feed the overbloated PH servants, it is for a reason the difference between BN government and PH government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • (Like) Honda Civic FL.
    (Dislike) Mazda3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 102
  • Denzel Denzel on Feb 26, 2020 at 11:46 am

Forget it. I will book mazda 3 or corolla altis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 7
  • Dangerous on Feb 26, 2020 at 11:52 am

Don’t buy Honda. Make you very stress when going to workshop again and again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 6
  • Sohai on Feb 26, 2020 at 11:53 am

Pui, for this price HONDA can close shop

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
    • Bob_B78 on Feb 27, 2020 at 9:02 am

Not really. The lowest spec corolla starts from 128k++ while mazda 3 starts from 139k

• Civic is Completely Dead on Feb 27, 2020 at 10:20 am

But people will rather buy other C segment car time corolla and mazda rather than this. So honda will sure close shop.

• Honda Regret Owner on Feb 26, 2020 at 11:54 am

My civic always problem but sell off like faulty part plus for some Honda models. EPS (Electonic Power Steering) got problem. Also when I drive at the low speed, I heard that there is a crackling noise from Drive Shaft and also Relay on/off for more than 10 times in 1 second which gives problem. Therefore, as I went in to the Honda showroom, Honda people didn’t greet me. This shows that Honda Customer Care is very terrible as well. This is actually why Malaysian is cheated by Honda Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 8
    • Neutral on Feb 26, 2020 at 3:56 pm

As a current Civic 1.5 TCP owner, the car has given me a lot of driving pleasure. My 20-month old Civic didn’t give me any problem so far, but once in a while, I did hear crackling sound from the engine. The mechanic couldn’t find the problem. I must say that the workmanship of local Honda assembly plant leave much to be desired.They did a shabby job. One more thing, the Honda service centre I went to really sucked.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
      • The engine isn’t assembled by Honda Melaka. Your problem is purely Honda part problem, not from the local assembly.

• Rosman on Feb 26, 2020 at 11:57 am

Diamond headlights, backside baru menggiurkan.

• sunidha on Feb 26, 2020 at 11:57 am

D.O.A (Dead On Arrival)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • Honda fake news keyboard warrior on Feb 26, 2020 at 11:59 am

The front looks fierce. Car in front will feel pressure. Will see less keyboard warrior since some are minum kopi at mcmc now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
  • The pricing… total FAIL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • Sanjay on Feb 26, 2020 at 12:29 pm

Only honda sensing that haves for 1.5 TCP but overpriced. Compare to other variants like 1.5 TC and 1.8 all kosong specs

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 26, 2020 at 12:44 pm

So now HM has so many units on the road they decided to bump up the price up to 11k extra. Sounds a lot like UMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
  • Ben Yap on Feb 26, 2020 at 2:07 pm

“Honda Malaysia has officially introduced the 2020 Civic facelift, the refreshed tenth-gen FD….” it’s called FD meh? it’s FC la.

the price bump for the TCP is way too expensive. Also since people paying extra 10K for the TCP, at least give bodykit for free la. so cheapskate.

• vivizurianti on Feb 26, 2020 at 2:08 pm

Honda civic has the cutest rear spoiler!
    Even cuter than my pink teddy bear at home.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
  • thepolygon on Feb 26, 2020 at 2:17 pm

I think they just crossed the fine line of affordability for this car segment.

• Landozawa on Feb 26, 2020 at 2:35 pm

earned 8k monthly but still not affordable for me..how come u guys salary below 5k but still eager to own this monster..hehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 13
    • That’s because your wealth management got problem. You can’t afford because you dont have saving, you keep calculate your installment base on 0%downpayment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
      • Lookman on Apr 24, 2020 at 11:24 am

How do you know he has wealth management problem? maybe he has other commitment such as invest the money somewhere, own a big house and good education for children. Morons are buying expensive car but sewa at rumah flat.

• Lol kesian earn rm8k saje and still complain cant afford.
      For that meagre salary go to Perodua/Proton showroom saja la

• kenot on Feb 26, 2020 at 3:57 pm

price is increase, but quality is still the same. how?

• Wow…. Very very very beautiful….. Showgirl standing beside

• not sure if it is indeed true that this car is plugged by many quality issues, but, i heard from my mechanic fren that it has a too many sensors and they tend to breakdown easily. But the RV for this car is still high, perhaps bcos is still new and hot relatively!!

• shumaker on Feb 26, 2020 at 4:27 pm

love my 1997 wira!

• Rulered on Feb 26, 2020 at 4:42 pm

I know its not in the same segment but I noticed Civic driver like to tailgate Passat. Why?

• WTF….
    The 1.8S, 1.5TC and 1.5TCP tires are made in year 2018..

• C.P. MOHAN on Feb 26, 2020 at 5:47 pm

The “headache” or comparison too me is between premium modals of CRV and X70, the X70 have becomes a value proposition against the CRV, personally thinks X70 won.

• mengembek on Feb 26, 2020 at 11:22 pm

If u talk about pricing yes. If u talk about design, fuel economy, cabin size, boot size, performance, handling the answer is no. Price is not a proper gauge to determine how good the product is. The reason u choose the lower price becos u want a bargain not better product.

• For up to RM10k bump in price I dont see what the extra value is..its like H is hiding/blending the CKD recalculation price increase into a new “facelift” model

• Been waiting for this ‘facelifted’ Honda Civic. But after reading the comments and all the complaints, I’ll just go with my instinct, Mazda 3 instead. Not worth it la this Civic :/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • Once again the authors here disappoint me with no mention of the number of cupholders.

• RM140k for a CKD C segment car with a lot of questionable quality. Hahaha…

• Stone23 on Feb 26, 2020 at 8:08 pm

Better buy wildtrak 2.0 than range topping spec civic..can carry 1 ton of things

• Honda Power of Dreaming on Feb 26, 2020 at 8:37 pm

Wtf civic also reached RM140k, Jap cars these days try to match conti prices but quality remains static. Tuna Sing….

• the original pre-facelift civic already have all these honda sensing thingy…malaysia now only have it and make it excuse to price it higher?

• Skip…
    Holding on to my money and wait for Proton/Geely version of C-seg sedan…

• Country at stake… Hope diminishing… Economic slump.. cease the nonsense hike n hope we pull thru this turmoil. Else all foreign plant can shift out

• Goodbye accord. Farewell honda

• Allan on Mar 28, 2020 at 3:05 am

Good Day Car guys, based on history that a new civic is released after # of years, are you able to guess on which year will the NEW arrives?

• Honda have improve their quality

• Civic fc owner on Jul 19, 2020 at 1:28 pm

10k km fuel pump problem…20k km petrol lid problem…40k km steering rack problem.60k km tensioner problem…90k km gearbox problem..all within 20 month usage…be prepare to have rm 16k for gearbox repair.no warranty .think twice to buy honda.

• I have been using my Honda City since 2010 . The new Honda City is now slightly cheaper than the price I paid for during that time. It also comes with leather seats. So price can vary down as well.
    I intend to go for a Honda Civic TC as I feel that all those accessories are not necessary, but it is my own opinion. I test drove it and I found it very comfortable and easy to drive. I find other manufacturers either more expensive or less comfortable; I also read reviews and watched videos including the ones from this website (paultan.org) which I would trust.
    It is a free market out there and no one can stop anyone from buying what her/she wants. Honda did not cheat on the price as they have labelled everything in front of our eyes and so did other brands.
    Reading the reviews/ testing the cars and looking at the price is very important. The rest; as the making and model would depend on the affordability and the tastes of the person.
    Thanks.