Gov’t allocates RM60 mil to help e-hailing drivers during Covid-19 – RM500 each to 120k individuals

Prime minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin has announced a massive RM230 billion economic stimulus package, of which RM25 billion will be channelled to ease the burdens of the rakyat and businesses in light of the ongoing Covid-19 pandemic.

Among the several initiatives listed (and there are many of them), RM60 million will be directed to 120,000 e-hailing drivers in the country, who will each receive a one-off payment of RM500. This is to assist them during the movement control order (MCO) period, which has seen a significant reduction in ridership as a result.

The move builds upon an earlier stimulus package worth RM20 billion that was announced in February, which will see taxi drivers be given a one-off payment of RM600 each from April 1, 2020.

Prior to this latest announcement, Bank Negara Malaysia ordered all banks to grant an automatic six-month moratorium (deferment) of all loan/financing repayments – including car loans (hire purchase agreements) – from April 1 to ease the burdens of customers who have been affected financially by the health crisis.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• azrai on Mar 27, 2020 at 4:31 pm

According to our PM, the biggest beneficiary is Makcik Kiah! She will get RM8k++.

• Mek Kiah on Mar 27, 2020 at 4:49 pm

TQ PM^^

• Mari Minum Air Suam Basmi Covid on Mar 27, 2020 at 5:39 pm

I really hope it does go to Mak Kiah. Like before, RM10 bil given, RM5 bil will go into pocket.

Pls be honest this time yeah. People are suffering. This is an appeal to you guys thinking of songlap the money.

Don’t become like the solar project for Sarawak schools where duit hilang. Poor people, already so poor, had to suffer

I hope all RM250 billion goes to help the people in need.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
      • Reality Check on Mar 27, 2020 at 5:44 pm

I hope Malaysians also try to live within their means. Many are complaining that jual sirap bandung but got 8 kids to feed.

This itself will tell you, it is time to learn family planning.

For those who deserve the bantuan, by all means pls use it. But for those who do not live within their means and drive kereta mewah and rumah besar with 10 kids, pls recheck your lives.

• I haven’t seen yet any Grab driver comes to pick me up with his “kereta mewah”. Maybe your term of kereta mewah is a Proton Preve but that shows how low you are. Better to recheck your life right?

• Covid on Mar 27, 2020 at 4:31 pm

Your info is totally incorrect la dude. Its RM500 for ehailing drivers! The one that drive cars and fetch people around. Not ehailing riders which are the grabfood riders. Get your facts right first before confusing people

• Gerard Lye (Member) on Mar 27, 2020 at 4:48 pm

Yes. We’ve clarified with Grab and it is indeed only for drivers and not riders.

• Gabriel on Mar 27, 2020 at 4:39 pm

Thanks PM.
    And for the rest of the rakyat, stay home and stay safe.

• 500 Only? Not even enough to buy groceries for a week on Mar 27, 2020 at 5:01 pm

As above

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • Ben Yap on Mar 27, 2020 at 5:46 pm

when 1st april come, these drivers see no money in their account because it’s april fool’s day! once awhile we need some prank for some cheer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
  • Dylan Ch'ng on Mar 27, 2020 at 5:49 pm

I love the cover picture. Perfectly shows that GrabTaxi and GrabCar both exist in this together.

• C.P. MOHAN on Mar 27, 2020 at 6:39 pm

See the logic considering that during the MCO period passengers are few (staying home) that will effect livelihood. My only concern is that future reserves will be depleted.

• vivizurianti on Mar 27, 2020 at 7:55 pm

Govt PN give money here, give money there. (to help the poor and needy is fine), but do you guys know where the money comes from? Most likely there will be more borrowing. Hutang negara will be bigger than ever.

Since PH govt, the country is already in huge debts. and now……

Pinjam duit, dapat duit, guna duit very easy, everyone surely happy.
    When bayar hutang, surely pening kepala, sakit hati, etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • postivity on Mar 28, 2020 at 1:56 pm

Stop being so negative at times like this! We Malaysian need to stand together to counter this covid-19, if you’re not helping then covid-19 could also destroy your life.

• When govt tak tolong pun bising, bila dah tolong pun bising.. Belajar la bersyukur govt try to help people. STFO

• azrai on Mar 28, 2020 at 7:15 pm

So what are GRAB as the company do for their so called ‘partner’ aka the driver? Not even a 1% cut on their commission? Real capitalist, just like Tan Chong.

• C.P. MOHAN on Mar 29, 2020 at 5:20 pm

Capitalism is an ideology while Grab, in this case, is a company within the ideology. Without Grab there will be no ‘partners’. The role of government is to use OUR money to enable this ideology to thrive so that promises in their manifesto are fulfilled eventually within the mandate of the people/voters e.g jobs and prices.