REVIEW: 2020 Hyundai i30 N in Malaysia – RM300k

Korean car brands have truly come a long way, as evidenced by the success enjoyed by Hyundai and Kia. The fact that Hyundai is now the third largest passenger car manufacturer in the world – behind Toyota and Volkswagen – is a testament to its accomplishment, but now is not the time to be resting on its laurels.

With former BMW M boss Albert Biermann on board to lead the new N division, Hyundai is aggressively expanding its high-performance vehicle portfolio, even going as far as to host a BMW M-like N Festival. But the cars, like this i30 N, prove that there’s actual substance beneath all the marketing talk.

Powering the i30 N (available in Malaysia as the fully-specced i30 N Performance) is a 2.0 litre Theta T-GDI turbocharged four-cylinder engine, producing 275 PS and 353 Nm (378 Nm on overboost) of torque. It’s paired with a close-ratio six-speed manual transmission which drives the front wheels. The century sprint is done in 6.1 seconds, and tops out at 250 km/h.

According to Hyundai Sime Darby Motors, only 20 units will be sold in Malaysia (imported from Czech Republic), and they are all kitted to the brim. The only thing that’s apparently omitted from the spec sheet is the panoramic glass roof. And oh, there’s just one colour on offer, which is the Performance Blue you see here. Is it worth RM300k, then? Find out what we think in our video review. Enjoy, and stay safe!

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Mario and Bros on Mar 30, 2020 at 11:48 am

I like designs from the designers like Hyundai & BMW. But don’t know why some of honda fans say hyundai not good. Hyundai is now at third position in worldwide while honda is at 7th position. So why Hyundai is making successful cars unlike previous years. These Hyundai r&d and their designers makes more tech and more equipment and safety features. Plus making better design for latest Hyundai models too. Moreover, even though Hyundai is very powerful cars like bmw, they are also ensuring that Hyundai is more reliable too.

Now compare to honda, it is now opposite way. Honda is becoming more and more lousier. So honda fans shouldn’t badmouth about mazda & hyundai. Look at Honda and why Honda is getting worst. Their design is getting worst and inside as well. Even there are many quality issues too, especially for honda gearbox too. Like in here, these Honda Malaysia are not doing checking properly which honda owners have to pay so much for replacement gearbox. And they are not giving more advanced safety features. But only blind supporter and Ah Beng will buy honda. That’s why everyone boycott honda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 9
  • Nice.. but too bad most ppl are buying into brands with Heritage, History or unique sports car centric startups

• salgoodguy on Mar 30, 2020 at 1:48 pm

this is awesome

• XXX :P on Mar 30, 2020 at 1:58 pm

Why the driver seat wear down like a old car ?
    Corners too hard to keep big thigh drivers intact ?

• The will get the same cold reception like Kia Stinger.

• hmmm..i dont think it’s worth to get a Hyundai costing 300k. again, malaysian are brand-snobbish and this hyundai won’t even make people twist their head if one passes by. ..and only available in 1 colour ?? it’s not catchy at all.

• Sek Munn on Mar 30, 2020 at 4:08 pm

At the asking price, the German options from the four major German marques are a lot more compelling that this left-winged offering from Kimchi land. Even the new Toyota Yaris three door hot hatch which is unfortunately not available here will beat it just on looks alone. It will be a tough sell given the long term maintenance costs for many such vehicles from this firm. And the thing for Malaysians from my observations, looks sells more than raw performance capabilities.

• t333son on Mar 30, 2020 at 5:54 pm

At RM300k not likely going to sell. It is underpowered, slow and boring to look at. Notice the bog standard speedo and head unit? At 300k I expect full digital and wide-screen. Golf, Merc A classx BMW 1 and 2 series, Audi A1… So many better alternatives at this price point.

• Bmw merc on Mar 30, 2020 at 10:14 pm

300k? 6.1sec? Even the mammoth 528i is 6.3 sec and it is very large and heavy family executive car. Dream on. Manual? Who buy? Bmw 330i at 288k before discount 0-100 in 5.8 sec with 400 torque can eat it alive. C300 too can smoke it. Those are prestige sport saloon with comfortable interior, roomier, more high tech, more safety, and chick magnet compared to what Hyundai what i90? N n what? Lastly, a front wheel drive sure will torque steer and spin a lot. Lol. At 200k maybe. Still no one will buy. 150k at most.

• Ben Yap on Mar 30, 2020 at 10:56 pm

RM300K for a korean car that’s still slower than the civic and golf, forget about it. i will put my money to where the performance and batch is. trying to be different is not something wise here when you don’t get the return for the money plonk in.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • Ben Yap Super Rv low on Mar 31, 2020 at 12:19 pm

RM330K with expensive for jap car that still slower than 330i & S60. Forget about civic type r lolz. I will save my money to where my car is cheaper even though continental car has greater performance, acceleration and also where service condition are still tip top condition. And I also don’t need to pay for problems for civic type r

• GG Hyundai on Mar 31, 2020 at 10:11 am

Wth! 300K for this lousy car… nothing exciting. Just look normal… i guess Malaysian car look better than this for very cheap price. I rather buy a 5 series or E class than buying this… i30N… you are going down… i will see this in a year!

• guestjer on May 04, 2020 at 2:03 pm

wonder how much this junk will worth as 2nd hand car after 5yrs?

• seancorr (Member) on May 12, 2020 at 1:59 pm

300k to blow? It’s gotta be the Golf R or the Megane RS. Look East for Type R.

• Ho How Wei on Jun 13, 2020 at 6:55 pm

300k for a Hyundai? Not in this life!

• 300k? The first car that come to my mind is Volvo S60 T8.
    Speed? faster
    Brand image? Better
    Built quality? Better
    Safety? Better
    Who will buy this car with RM300k and not the S60?