MCO extended or lifted? Malaysia to know on April 10

Malaysia’s daily dose of movement control order (MCO) news this morning kicked off with the mainstream news outlets carrying a Bernama piece saying that Malaysians will know if the MCO will be extended or not on April 10. That’s around 72 hours from now, now that we’re in Wednesday. Are you still keeping track of the days or have you lost it?

Anyway, there are no quotes in the piece from the national news agency, and it’s not based on something the authorities just said. However, on April 4, which was last Saturday, health ministry director-general Datuk Dr Noor Hisham Abdullah mentioned “April 10” in his daily press conference.

“The data will tell us if we need to extend (the MCO). Now, I can’t predict but the reality is that we have to base it on science and facts. We hope that by April 10, the data is available for us to make a decision on whether we need to extend it or not,” our tireless health DG said then. The government has also consistently said that the MCO decision will be based on recommendations by the health ministry.

Even though thankfully, Malaysian’s Covid-19 trendline hasn’t seen an exponential increase such as those seen in Italy, Spain and now the US – meaning we’re doing a decent job at flattening the curve – the cases keep on coming as known clusters grow in generation and sporadic ones emerge. Sporadic cases are where the source of infection cannot be traced.

As of yesterday, official figures put Malaysia’s total Covid-19 cases at 3,963, with a total of 63 deaths. Yesterday’s addition was 170 new cases and one death. So, we’re not out of the woods yet, far from it. Based on (virtual) office pantry chatter and the many “insider info” WhatsApp messages, I think most won’t be surprised should there be an extension.

Yesterday, senior minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri hinted at what’s to come regarding the movement of people in the days of Covid-19, for both the remainder of the MCO as well as post-MCO, when the blanket nationwide order eventually lifts. The current restriction order ends on April 14.

It will be based on zones denoting how many Covid-19 positive cases in the area, and the standard operating procedure (SOP) will be tabled by the National Security Council (NSC) together with the home ministry at a special cabinet committee meeting tomorrow.

Ismail Sabri, who is also defence minister, said the SOP will address people movement as well as business operations without jeopardising the measures in place to stop the coronavirus from spreading. “The SOP is also for post MCO to prepare us for the days ahead after April 14,” he said.

Now, not all realise this, but the MCO, while necessary to halt the coronavirus spread, has been very damaging to businesses, and the economy in general. And for the work-from-home average employee, and their kids, cabin fever has set in for most. The government knows this, and the minister acknowledged this.

“All this will have to be studied. We know that the people are restless after being confined to their homes for a month. But we don’t want to allow people to move freely and later have to reverse the decision and impose a longer MCO,” Ismail Sabri said.

On the other hand, the government will continue to ensure that the good work of the MCO will not go to waste, so to speak. It will be a balancing act, and the SOP is needed so that Malaysia doesn’t go the way of certain countries that have seen Covid-19 cases taper off, before a second wave of infections surfaced. Hong Kong and Singapore were mentioned as examples.

What will likely happen when the MCO lifts, as hinted at by the minister, is that the government will retain some sort of movement control based on zones – green, amber and red.

The Bera MP gave some examples. For instance, the NSC’s SOP will determine if it’s wise to allow residents in green zones (areas with no Covid-19 positive cases) to go out of their area, as this might introduce risk to the green zone. How about those who live in a green zone but work in a red one? There might be some loosening based on zones, he said, without elaborating. Green aside, the other zones are amber and red, the latter being those with over 40 Covid-19 cases.

Will this make much of a difference for most of us? Well, most of the Klang Valley is red, so perhaps we shouldn’t be raring to go out, which in any case would be dangerous for ourselves and the community.

This unprecedented “quarantine” has introduced many challenges to Malaysians – singles watching their lives disappear, some struggling to balance work and family duties (while all the kids are at home), business owners sweating over finances and job uncertainties, among other issues. Many would be hoping for it to end ASAP, for life to go back to what it was before Covid-19. But how, when the virus is still around?

Let’s brace ourselves for more movement control, for greater good.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Apr 08, 2020 at 3:31 pm

So either people comply and stay indoors or remain stubborn and make the rest of us suffer somemore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
    • Most Malaysians are complying, but it’s these small portion of stubborn idiots that are making things harder for all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
      • donut-trunk on Apr 08, 2020 at 5:24 pm

what races ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
      • Dr Strange on Apr 08, 2020 at 5:47 pm

We need everybody to comply as there is no vaccine yet, so even 1 stubborn person can be the carrier and experts predict 1 carrier can infect up to 3,000 more, exponential on that will lead to failure on the MCO. We need everyone to stay at home NOW.

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 08, 2020 at 6:05 pm

ONE bad apple is enough to destroy all the apples in the same basket.

• Ben Yap on Apr 08, 2020 at 4:13 pm

the longer government extend the MCO, the more people going to break the law. everyone is going to get restless and will start to do their things.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
  • dong gor on Apr 08, 2020 at 4:18 pm

With current phase 2 MCO there is still a lot of movement. If it’s lifted, there is no way we/ enforcement able to control it efficiently no matter how good or sensible it looks on drawing board. And we will be on our way to see 3rd wave sooner than we thought.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • If army enforcing with M16s don’t put the fear in these cretins, perhaps high time they man roadblocks with heavy armour, rocket launchers and big ass machine guns.

• Gabriel on Apr 08, 2020 at 4:27 pm

I hope that it is extended.
    Duit boleh cari, but there is no way to replace a life.

• Jeghung on Apr 08, 2020 at 4:45 pm

Covid19 cases expected to peak around mid April. Common sense will reluctantly force us to admit that MCO will not be lifted at such time.

• applegreen on Apr 08, 2020 at 6:00 pm

Klang valley covid19 cases more than singapore already. Dare government to lift up MCO?

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 08, 2020 at 6:12 pm

We will need another 2-4 weeks to fully stop the chain reaction. Took Wuhan 76 bloody days before the lockdown is lifted so you basically have to stay in for that much time for the virus to subside. I’m all good if the MCO continues because it will suck big time if people start coming out again and create the biggest wave of covid infection known to Malaysians when May arrives and we will need to repeat the bloody process AGAIN. When that happens then you can kiss your jobs and businesses goodbye because the economy will start collapsing.

• Extend it for greater good!

• Best if the MCO continues for a bit longer. Otherwise we’re going to be the Italy of South East Asia

• Gabriel on Apr 08, 2020 at 7:15 pm

I hope the MCO stays.
    Duit boleh dicari, nyawa hanya satu…
    Stay safe, stay home.

• GrammarNazi on Apr 08, 2020 at 11:03 pm

Who even wrote this article? I think PT team needs to improve on quality of writing.

• DisgruntledEmployer on Apr 08, 2020 at 11:06 pm

Those of you saying “don’t lift the mco” – You don’t care about your employers as long as you get your gaji at the end of every month. Wait until your employers don’t have any more money to pay you and you are not employed because other employers can not afford to hire more employees. Then we see if you want the mco to continue or not.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
    • vivizurianti on Apr 09, 2020 at 11:14 am

Please look at the BIG picture, and think of people’s real LIFE at stake. They entire world pun sudah susah and suffering. Some companies are in worst shape than yours, some even folded. Think not just your own company.

Life, livelihood, or employment? Your pick.

• DisgruntledEmployee on Apr 09, 2020 at 11:55 am

No rainy day funds? Then please close.

• Just don’t pay your employee bonuses anyway bonuses equate to more or less 2 months salary jobs done. People will understand during this time.

• Oh Disgruntled Employer, tell us what good it will do if your workplace become hotspot for spreading the Covid? You can think you will not get infected, but remember this, so did the 50k+ people that died from Covid.

• Paul Montiero on Apr 10, 2020 at 6:07 am

Im a long term employment pass holder that has been living in Malaysia for 7 yr. I have bought a house in KLCC. When the first MCO started I was offshore working in Indonesia. Now im stuck in The USA with my family. As im not allowed back in Malaysia until the MCO is lifted
    It would be nice to be able to return to my home being in the states I don’t have access to my bank and cant paid my bills
    Under the MCO long term pass holders are not allowed back in Malaysia. If the government extends the MCO beyond the 14th of Apr thay should look at letting long term pass holders back in

• Hard place on Apr 10, 2020 at 9:05 pm

You should seek out the related government agencies and let them know about your situation. I believe the the non-return clause can be reviewed on case-to-case basis.