Malaysians are “okay” with possible MCO extension

The Malaysian prime minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin is set to go live on TV today at 4 pm, with many expecting the premier to extend the duration of the movement control order (MCO). This sentiment is further echoed by the Selangor police, which had hinted that an extension is likely, The Star reports.

Selangor police spokesperson on Covid-19, assistant commissioner Ismail Muslim said “the MCO will probably be extended. All mosque and sure will continue to be closed. However, any official announcement will be made by the prime minister,” he told reporters at a press conference yesterday.

The MCO began on March 18, before the government extended it to a stricter second phase that will be in effect from April 1 to 14. In a bid to slow the spread of the novel coronavirus, the number of essential services have been trimmed down to 10, residents are not permitted to travel more than 10 km from their homes, and food delivery service can only operate from 8 am to 8 pm daily.

To discourage people from flouting the MCO advisory, the police force has mobilised 94 roadblocks in key areas, introduced road closures in Petaling Jaya, and even began making rounds in residential areas to make sure people stay at home. Those in defiance of the MCO will be slapped with a RM1,000 compound which must be paid within two weeks, otherwise they risk being hauled to court.

In light of the possible MCO extension, a survey conducted by international agency YouGov Omnibus found that nearly half of Malaysians are willing to abide by the MCO, as long as it helps combat the spread of the virus. A quarter of the respondents said they could weather two more weeks of self-isolation, while 15% of them had no issue with an additional month-long extension.

Furthermore, one in seven respondents, or 14% said they were agreeable should the MCO get extended for three to six months. The survey also showed that individuals aged between 35 and 44 were most likely to disobey the MCO, and about 59% of Malaysians said their incomes were unaffected by the MCO.

Asia-Pacific YouGov Omnibus chief Jake Gammon said although a significant number of Malaysians had their income affected by the MCO, “it appears that most are cooperative and in support of it.” Now, on which side of the divide do you stand? Leave your thoughts in the comments section, below.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Am I not a Malaysian?

• An Employee on Apr 10, 2020 at 2:15 pm

I’m OK with MCO also, but my boss is affected badly by it. If he becomes desperate, I will desperate also.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Habislah kena buang kerja... on Apr 10, 2020 at 4:28 pm

More extension puts even greater tension to bosses and CEOs… Good luck finding job in our dire economic situation now. Be positive (corona) XD

• Lantim on Apr 11, 2020 at 8:55 am

Businesses rise and fall. You can find employment elsewhere, and new businesses can also be started.
      Not saying it is good or ideal, but that is the fact.
      Lives cannot be regained. Neither the employees’ lives, or the bosses’ lives.

• vivizurianti on Apr 10, 2020 at 7:45 pm

Abang abang can rileks at home for another 2 weeks…..Main main with anak2, tolong cucui rumah, and be romantic with dear wifey. Rumahtangga surely bahagia and selamat.

• Concern citizen on Apr 11, 2020 at 8:29 pm

Cases are still up, even though there are patient recovering from covid-19 everyday. People are still disobeying for going out without good reason & yet the Government is putting some non essential workers to start work next week. Plus people that recovered from covid-19 still have risk of getting it back.

A total lockdown should continue longer until there is no new cases emerge.

I can live eating only rice & eggs everyday for months to survive with the only saving we have. But i dont want to die in vain just because of some reckless people. You cant live twice.

• JJ Tom on Apr 12, 2020 at 5:52 pm

I agree with you but not everyone willing to adjust themselves. Malaysians will suffer from huge loan such as house, car, academic loan.. They can eat only rice and egg but can’t pay off their debt without work. They will want to sell off their real estate but the bubble will explode. No exit no solution without vaccine. I am sorry to say this Malaysian economy (World economy) will bankrupt unless vaccine comes out.