Malaysian vehicle sales data for April 2020 by brand

As reported earlier, the month of April saw what was the worst performing month ever in terms of new vehicle sales, with the country right in the thick of the fight against Covid-19 with the movement control order (MCO).

According to data from the Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA), just 141 cars were shifted in April. This represents a drop of 22,337 units or a 99.37% decrease from the 22,478 units in March, which was already 44% lower than the February total.

How then was it possible that 131 passenger vehicles and 10 commercial vehicle registrations were carried out during a period where all car showrooms nationwide were shuttered and road transport department (JPJ) offices remained closed? According to industry sources, with new vehicles not needing Puspakom inspection, all that was needed was registration, and it remained possible to do so online during the MCO period.

The sources said that in many of these instances, the registrations that were carried out were for vehicle purchases in which car loans had already been approved pre-MCO and a Letter of Undertaking (LoU) had already been issued, and the completion of the registration was so there would be no lapse in the agreement, which would entail needing to go through the whole process again.

However, the registered vehicles would not have physical documentation or road tax, and with no PDI and facilities closed, owners would have had no avenue to collect the vehicles, making them mere statistics in the system.

Specifics-wise, only 10 brands had anything to shout about in a month completely full of red arrows, and market leader Perodua again led the way with 57 units, which was a massive drop from the 8,601 units it did the month before. Honda, which is third in the overall standings this year, was the second best performer last month, achieving 27 units.

It was followed by Proton, which managed 22 units, and Toyota, which recorded 13 units for the month. The fifth-best performer for the month was Nissan, which racked up eight units, while Mitsubishi chipped into the grand total with six units.

The best performing European brand was Volkswagen, its five units clearly outstripping Peugeot and Volvo, which each recorded one unit. Rounding off the list is Hyundai, which also achieved one unit, which was still better than everyone else on the list. If there’s any consolation to this tale of woe, it’s that May must surely be a better month.

Click to enlarge.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Amran on May 22, 2020 at 11:06 pm

Yes i bought my Volvo S90 T8 during PKP …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
    • Helen Ang on May 22, 2020 at 11:56 pm

Good luck. Nice car but shall be at least price like accord or Camry. Then you see more sales

• Victoris on May 27, 2020 at 4:57 pm

THEN the Camry and Accord should both be price again much much lower than current price so that they can sell even more too…

• means u r the only buyer for Volvo on April, u just save Volvo from having 0 sales, haha

• Mohd Ralzan Asmudi on May 23, 2020 at 10:23 am

Volvo will be the first company to go bust because of Covid. Already sales of Volvo was so bad before Covid. With Covid sure close down. Geely will cry and might close down even Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 44
      • Celup King on May 23, 2020 at 4:18 pm

Volvo & Proton haven’t requested for bantuan and tongkat unlike your Toyota, Honda, Mitsubishi, Nissan & Mazda.

• Shaun on May 27, 2020 at 5:01 pm

Honda, Audi, Nissan, Mazda will go bust much faster before Geely Proton and Volvo

Perhaps Subaru , Peugeot and Perodua too will also close shop due to financial problems much faster than Honda and Mitsubishi

that the analysis due to covid 19 or so call CCP VIRUS .

• Keiran on May 27, 2020 at 5:08 pm

The Proton and volvo sales were better than Peugeot, Audi , Hyundai, Land rover ,jaguar, Lexus < Mini before Corona virus .

So won't be surprise if the Audi , Land rover ,jaguar, Lexus , Mini are the very first to go BUST and CLOSED SHOPS IN MALAYSIA since these were not selling before Covid 19 and way below Proton and volvo sales.

• lenny on May 22, 2020 at 11:33 pm

even during a pandemic proton cant beat perodua

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • Sarmad Tahi on May 22, 2020 at 11:54 pm

Buy sushi will never be wrong. Buy Honda Toyota Mazda with status to balik kampung. If can afford, get a German lagi gaya.

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 23, 2020 at 12:09 am

amazed still got car sales now

• Sick & Tired on May 23, 2020 at 7:55 am

Ekonomi gawat, rakyat susah. ini smua salah PN

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 121 Thumb down 85
    • jom duduk kat rumah main GTA V on May 23, 2020 at 12:04 pm

Perodua is trully our amazing National Carmaker! Whether the situation is bad or not, Perodua will always be at the top at the list as Malaysians fully trust and support Game-Changing Perodua’s quality

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 19
      • Jeremy on May 24, 2020 at 3:36 pm

Only Perodua cars can safely reach kampung.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
      • Safety First on May 24, 2020 at 10:28 pm

Nirvana is also Game-Changing. Thanks to Perodua for filling in empty plots, business is booming when Perodua is at the top.

• IGP Mom on May 25, 2020 at 9:09 pm

my family sedara balik kampung this raya, really by hook or by crook ….finally they all made it home. we can all celebr8 together, like yesteryears..feeling so syukur. but dropped by miami beach, Seberang Takir many luar negeri cars there. my son’s low rank staf go car to car. screamed and give good scoldings;

Berapa kali nak cakap…degil sangat ni !

• Norlia on May 23, 2020 at 4:16 pm

Takpe, ekonomi boleh diperbaiki. Nyawa orang takleh dibawa balik. Usaha PN utk membanteras covid19 memang betul.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
    • Copy Paste on May 24, 2020 at 9:05 am

Copy paste: “This showed how effective is our MCO, now our cases are continually on a downward trend. This unlike poorly done MCO in USA or Britain or half hearted called Circuit break-something that made cases spike instead. Now we have saved Malaysia from a devastating 2nd wave, it is time to reopen Malaysia for business with equally Game Changing countries like Korea and HK. Well done our Gomen!”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
    • Logical Deduction on May 24, 2020 at 11:05 pm

Economy is bad in all countries around the world. Ini pun semua salah PN? Oh my logic!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 8
  • Marcus on May 23, 2020 at 8:07 am

Never have i seen the chart this RED before…:/

• vivizurianti on May 23, 2020 at 9:43 am

New cars aint selling. World economy uncertainty, COVID19 lingers, employment goyang-goyang, bankruptcy, sizing-down of business, layout, etc. Must be suicidal to buy new car with heavy commitment.

Buy new car if you have discovered a large suitcase full of cash in your backyard.

• Ku Nan RM1 bil - Rm 2mil small change on May 23, 2020 at 9:57 am

PDRM and other Government organisations are buying Civic nd non Proton cars because they see Geely quality giving so much of headaches and problems. Last time still using Mitsubishi block engine so no masalah but now, with Geely China quality, half way chasing criminals, the car breakdown lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 59
    • Copy Paste on May 23, 2020 at 4:26 pm

Copy paste: “Come on Nissan. Just cut your troll sales team that are borderline incompetent to properly do any sales. All I see is them lurking here, posting undeserved praises to Nissan, and create fake news about other brands. Do what is right, Nissan. Cut your losses with them and cut them out of your staff.”

• SuckMat on May 23, 2020 at 7:00 pm

Car sales men especially those who are selling low quality cheaper cars will suffer. Most of buyers at this category will suffer most during mco since they are low income group. May be Proton needs to get more premium buyers but first they have to have at least a Japanese car quality .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
      • Frozen on May 24, 2020 at 9:03 am

The issue with Proton isn’t the car quality, which is on par or better than Japanese, but it is the perceived branding.

• Edwin L on May 26, 2020 at 10:04 am

Fully agreed! Abang2 muz sapot and buy proton… it is just perceived branding. why muz we mengidam2 balik kampung, riding the shiny black Vellfire Alphard …. it is just proud feeling when we alone b4 we sleep, we’ve made it in Bandar. family so proud

• Ppl soon die of hunger, not becuz of Covid. Sob

• Support Sarmad on May 25, 2020 at 12:23 pm

Proton needs to catch up with at least 30% korean quality first before talking about Japanese lah. At least the car sales men quality also need to improve first b

• Ku Nan RM1 bil - Rm 2mil small change on May 23, 2020 at 9:59 am

Proton sales are so bad, how they going to get money t pay their overbloated 12,000 workers? Mitsubishi in Thialand only got 6000 workers but produce per annum 350,000 cars.

Our Proton got 12,000 workers but produce about 60,000 cars.

Geely also boring want to pay these workers from the coffers of China since now Geely also badly hit by low sales in China

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 38
    • Western Star on May 23, 2020 at 11:14 am

Geely is paying these workers so why you bother? They are keeping their jobs meant Geely valued their continuous support. So why you bother?

• B-Yourbapak on May 25, 2020 at 12:20 pm

Honda toyota mazda mitsubishi suzuki are much better than all korean made. While korean better than china made. Perodua is smart, using japanese engine. Thats why it is always more reliable and having much better resales value than proton. Boyue shall drop price by another 20% in order to capture perodua buyers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • Where did you get the information that honda sales are dropping worldwide?
      According to statistics online, global honda sales –
      2015 – 4.3mil
      2016 – 4.7mil
      2017 – 5.0mil
      2018 – 5.2mil
      2019 – 5.3mil
      Is your maths really bad or are you just lying to people to justify your weak argument.

• silence on May 23, 2020 at 10:04 am

Booked before MCO, deep regret now.
    No choice, accepted delivery.

Eat ron97 turbo makan minyak lagi, tyre mahal lagi.
    Maintenance?

Just keep first, moratorium kan ada… tmr will be better

• Mohd Ralzan Asmudi on May 23, 2020 at 10:20 am

Car Salesman all crying. Already workers like DRB manning the Proton showrooms are so tidak apa attitude before MCO, now, even worse. They terus tidur

Time to get some Mainland people to replace all the DRB salesman in Audi, Proton etc so that they can produce some results.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 44
  • Mohd Ralzan Asmudi on May 23, 2020 at 10:22 am

Car sales will be depressed until 2023. Rakayt now have priority towards food and family.

All the car companies will face a hard time. But healthy companies no problem because they got savings. The poor car companies will feel the suffering. Like our Proton, during good times of the 2000 era, never save and like to be happy and merry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 26
    • Copy Paste on May 23, 2020 at 4:32 pm

Copy paste: “Come on Nissan. Just cut your troll sales team that are borderline incompetent to properly do any sales. All I see is them lurking here, posting undeserved praises to Nissan, and create fake news about other brands. Do what is right, Nissan. Cut your losses with them and cut them out of your staff.”

• Ice Milo on May 23, 2020 at 11:05 am

Time to get a bulk order for big discount, anyone interest?

• Herman Low on May 23, 2020 at 1:50 pm

I think May sales might be several thousand units due to Jpj fully opened on 18 May. Most buyers are from essential services personnel.

• Rakyat Malaysia on May 23, 2020 at 4:20 pm

This showed how effective is our MCO, now our cases are continually on a downward trend. This unlike poorly done MCO in USA or Britain or half hearted called Circuit break-something that made cases spike instead. Now we have saved Malaysia from a devastating 2nd wave, it is time to reopen Malaysia for business with equally Game Changing countries like Korea and HK. Well done our Gomen!

• Ikmal on May 23, 2020 at 5:22 pm

“How then was it possible that 131 passenger vehicles and 10 commercial vehicle registrations were carried out during a period where all car showrooms nationwide were shuttered and road transport department (JPJ) offices remained closed? According to industry sources, with new vehicles not needing Puspakom inspection, all that was needed was registration, and it remained possible to do so online during the MCO period.”

This registration happened the 1st few days of MCO where JPJ still open. After they realised people were swarming the JPJ centers, JPJ shut the door and offline even for online mysikap registration is not possible.

• Stay Strong Automotive on May 23, 2020 at 6:47 pm

SCANIA & BISON be like: first time ka 0 sale in one month?

• seancorr (Member) on May 23, 2020 at 9:45 pm

Lol as usual P2 leading the pack no matter the circumstances. Would be interesting to see sales in May considering everyone lack of cash at the moment.

• panjang on May 24, 2020 at 7:26 am

I cant agree more.
    Went to Honda showroom in Alor Gajah to see the HRV and nobody layan. Ended up buying from a guy who is not at the showroom as he entertain cust better even thru whatsapp.

I know not all of them are bad. Funny thing, i went to a local make showroom and the young salesman layan me and my friend like we are confirmed buyer despite we arrived at the showroom in kapchai when we can see an older salesman quickly walk away.hahaha. Good job young man, wish u all the best.

Guess its down to what kind of heart the salesman got without looking which brand they represent.

RIP my favourite salesman in Tampin for making the purchases myself and all my family member soo easy and pleasent.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • kecoh kecoh bodo ape. worlwide sales mmg teruk kan. tak kisah brand apa pun, mmg semua teruk. bodo piang kecoh mcm2.
    rindu zaman2 pt dulu2..tak silap start zaman sam loo terus bangang je ruangan komen ni

• Newme on May 24, 2020 at 4:40 pm

Its not surprising to see proton below honda despite getting preferential treatment. With most of their target market being daily wage workers, they are putting food ahead of car.

• Worried man on May 24, 2020 at 7:25 pm

If the government is not going to start reducing some taxes on cars to stimulate buyers, eventually the car industry will collapse. I hope the govt can do something as this segment plays a big role in the internal economy. Lets see what this smart govt can do.. i doubt no plan for car sector

• Worry what? on May 27, 2020 at 2:19 am

Why always want to judge gomen here n there, better question yourself what you can do to help the rakyat….tau mintak tongkat saje ke?

• sila patuh MCO basmi Covid-19 on May 24, 2020 at 8:23 pm

This is trully an unfortunate news for Proton as the so claimed problematic Honda has overtaken Proton’s 2nd place this month. How come a problematic carmaker can overtake Proton? This means that people have lose their support for Proton. With this terrible performance and economic crisis, Proton is high-likely heading towards Game Over as Geely might sell-off Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
    • Vader on May 25, 2020 at 7:33 pm

Its obvious now… this gahmen not capabled & competent to save our country with this terrible performance and economic crisis. Rakyat lost jobs, go bankrap, hutang card kredit, pajak gadai brg kemas nenek Opah & even food rationing during Raya. they are not helping the rakyat, They are helping themself to jawatan2 tinggi @ GLCs.. high paid job & makan2… poor Msians go hungry & jobless, this is Msia.

• Civic Turbo 2018 on May 26, 2020 at 4:32 pm

Our trade ministry sure know to counter job lost and boost the economy…. increase fuel and car prices

• jom minum teh Halia anti Covid-19 on May 24, 2020 at 8:30 pm

Absolutely correct Mario, this is why during MCO 57 people have chosen Game-Changing Perodua because Perodua’s quality have been proven. Everyone knows Perodua quality has the least problems

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 18
    • Lets See on May 25, 2020 at 6:33 pm

You sure love to reply your own comments, don’t you? So lonely your life issit?

• Amiruddin on May 25, 2020 at 9:16 am

People are more concern abt what to eat to stay alive n have a place to stay.cars are not a prioriy at this time ..it also gives the gov time to study and upgrade public tansports to cater for the public..we can rely more on public transport in the future and follow the footsteps of developed countries to curb air pollution which has become hazardous to the public..live a heathy life..and hopefully electric vehicles will be more available to the public..more focus on public transportation such as electric buses and trains

• Ongtk on May 25, 2020 at 10:58 am

1. What happened to the Toyota Corolla the government purchased for the PDRM? Now PN government contract with the company rescinded?
    2. Those planning to purchase cars would be wise to hold on for now – surely we can expect firesale from the car distributors soon to clear stock!

• Ben Yap on May 25, 2020 at 5:55 pm

Proton and Toyota salesman cannot hit target and no income so come to paultan website and rant and criticized other automakers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • raya pkpb on May 26, 2020 at 6:21 pm

minus the handful, it’s virtually zero sale for april. wow guess reality sinks in. even if no MCO, guessing the sales would still have dropped by at least 60% yoy.
    recession is here habis lah we all die (except abang2 kakak2 in gomen).

• Support Potong Salesmen on May 26, 2020 at 8:35 pm

Low class comment, better stick to your Persona and its 9’years loan. One day, you can afford a Japanese car.

• John Doe on May 27, 2020 at 9:21 am

One of the many issues of Honda Malaysia is their 3S centers do not know the difference between Scheduled and Un-scheduled service. They can blatantly lie to your face and tell you your service is RM800 when it is supposed to be RM300+. And this happens every service!!!!!

Honda Malaysia needs to urgently buckle up and regulate its own operations.