Enforcement of child seat rules delayed in Malaysia – but do we really need a law to protect our own kids?

Wow, 2020 has been rough, huh? We hope you’ve all been keeping yourselves safe during this difficult time. The coronavirus outbreak has affected livelihoods throughout the country, and the government clearly believes it has had a particularly significant impact on families. That’s because it has just announced that it would postpone the enforcement of its mandatory child safety seat ruling indefinitely.

Of course, it’s understandable that the authorities would want to keep citizens from being vulnerable to a ravaging pandemic and a steepening global recession, and that in itself is commendable. But this decision also exposes a faulty line of thought that is all-too-common in Malaysia – that the lives of our own children play second fiddle to our wealth.

Time and time again, our officials give the excuse that low-income families cannot afford to buy child seats, but let’s be real – talk of a child seat law has been in the public consciousness since at least 2015, so we’ve had five years to get ready for this eventuality. Postponing the enforcement of this vital ruling doesn’t solve anything regarding the economics, it just kicks the can further and further down the road.

(Also, the failure to use child seats is just as prevalent in middle- and upper-income families as it is in poorer families, so it’s evidently a moral issue rather than a financial one.)

So yes, it’s disappointing, but it’s a move we’ll have to accept. But that doesn’t mean that we can simply let our guard down, and drive around with our kids free to roam about in the car. Because – at the risk of sounding like Captain Obvious – an accident doesn’t wait for a pandemic to be over, or for a child seat rule to be enforced, to take the life of your child.

We’ve warned multiple times about dangers of leaving a child unsecured in a moving vehicle, so much so that they really don’t need to be repeated – but here they are anyway. The forces involved in even a moderate accident are severe enough to throw a kid straight into the seat in front of them, the dashboard or even out the windscreen. And yes, that’s even if you’re holding onto them as tight as humanly possible. We don’t need to remind you that this poses a very real risk of your child being severely injured or killed.

These are exactly the circumstances that a child safety seat will prevent, with the specially-designed seat and harness working together to keep the child secure. Crucially, this protects them from any hard surfaces, the outside of the vehicle and, if you place the seat in the recommended position at the rear, a potentially life-threatening impact from an airbag.

So the benefits of using a child seat are obvious. But we knew that already. The question is, why do we need a law to force us to protect our own children? We don’t have a law telling you to prop your baby’s head up, to hold their hand when crossing the road, or to make them wear shoes outside, but you’d do them anyway. Why? Because it’s for their safety – and it’s also just plain common sense.

Please share for public information

Posted by Richardt Piek on Sunday, 14 December 2014

And we’ve said this time and time again – child seats do not have to break the bank. Just from quickly browsing through Lazada, we could find proper, ECE R44/04-certified seats for well under RM200, and while ISOFIX versions were a little more expensive, they were still fairly affordable.

Remember, an ISOFIX mount simply makes installation easier – a child seat is just as safe in a crash when installed with a seat belt, just as long as you follow the instructions correctly. Nobody is forcing you to buy an expensive, Recaro-branded ISOFIX seat when a cheaper unit does the same job just as well.

And while now might not seem like a good time to spend money, the government’s six-month moratorium on car loan instalments means that this is actually the perfect time to invest in a child seat. At the very least, it’s better than wasting your money on bodykits and bigger wheels, which are nowhere near as important.

So parents, please, please use a child safety seat in your car. Fine or no fine, you’d want only the best for your child, and a proper child seat is the only way to guarantee their safety while you’re driving.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Typical Malaysian on Jul 02, 2020 at 9:43 pm

A average msian family got 7ppl, all fit in a Saga.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • azrai on Jul 03, 2020 at 3:02 pm

All fit in Viva. In Terengganu, add 1 more person become ‘lapang’ inside the car.

• This is really (80%) ‘true’… root cause

• panjang on Jul 02, 2020 at 9:50 pm

Its like saying ‘why do we need law to punish people whom jump red lights’.
    I dont see this law being postponed, low income family will also cant afford to pay the summon, yet the law is there and at least sometimes enforced.

• Copy Paste on Jul 02, 2020 at 11:16 pm

Copy paste: “Animal kingdom don’t need politician and regulations for them to know what they must do to protect their offsprings.

Only humans are this incapabled to care for their young, needing laws to teach them that and when the laws are found wanting, they go blame others.

Only humans can think to “clean” their hands of any responsibility that our animal kingdom does by instinct.”

• Upset reader here ! on Jul 02, 2020 at 11:42 pm

If Paultan can subsidize the child seat price, then we’ll talk. Until then, just shut up. You don’t know the status income of many Malaysians family. Some of them ready to “trade” the lives of their children in order to end the misery… Please don’t bother to be the “polis rakyat” when you can do nothing about it (subsidize or giving discounts) >:(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 29
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jul 03, 2020 at 11:30 am

In 2015 and 2016, us at paultan.org together with Mercedes-Benz Malaysia gave away 350 units of ECE R44-compliant child seats (worth over RM300,000) to Malaysian families.

2015: https://paultan.org/2015/06/12/free-child-car-seat-rental/
      2016: https://paultan.org/2016/06/12/please-use-child-seats-to-balik-kampung-this-hari-raya-get-free-child-car-seat-rental-from-paultan-org/

We have done our part, and will continue to do so.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
      • Safety First on Jul 03, 2020 at 12:59 pm

I will repeat again as the message should get through as much heads possible so people can start to think. Here goes.

Unlike ESP, traction control, 6 airbags, AEB, lane keep assist, BLIS, rear camera, pedestrian cross detection, etc which are built into the car – childseats are more like an accessory item similar to in-car DVRs.

Yet I cannot fathom why people are open to installing DVRs into their cars (some even front and back) without being coerced by any laws (like in some countries) and yet they are reluctant to invest for childseats and even come complain that when there’s a law to enforce childseat usage only then they will comply. The good ones can even be pricier than a functional childseat!

The problem I see stems not from bad policies or lousy politicians but just bad parenting.

Safety First mean you taking care of yourself, not expect others to do it for you.

• stupidbrain on Jul 03, 2020 at 2:02 pm

Its people like you that made this world a screwed up place. Easy, no money, don’t have so many kids. Think smart(er).

• I’ve seen so many souped up Aruz, Axia, Myvi with infants or toddlers in the mothers’ arms sitting in the front seat.

They are ready to trade their kids’ life for fake TE37 rims and body kit.

• ur mom on Apr 22, 2021 at 7:08 pm

Go do some part time job. Deliver food or something. Dont always expect people to “sedekah” u. have some fking dignity

• Brian on Jul 03, 2020 at 12:57 am

I am guessing those who complain about the postponement are typically those parents who would forget to feed their kids because there is no law forcing them to do so.

• masuda on Jul 03, 2020 at 7:17 am

We don’t need the law for this..we need the law for the drunken driver…driver potong que, super silau headlamp, no licence, not follow traffic light especially delivery motor, speedy driver. But most important to enforce the law…

• azrai on Jul 03, 2020 at 7:19 am

The law is very ‘cantik’ on paper. Come to enforcement…

• Wally on Jul 03, 2020 at 7:30 am

Question is need to buy 7 seats car not the price to pay the child seat.

• Summon those who don’t use the child seat. Then use the summon money to buy a child seat for the offender. After this, there’ll be no more repeated offense.

• dwade on Jul 03, 2020 at 8:37 am

Whether the law ready or not, the car seat is the only means to keep the kids safe! It’s the parents responsibility to look after safety of the kids – better be safe than never!

• Child seat is a must on Jul 03, 2020 at 8:49 am

Like what successful people always say don’t spend beyond what you earn, if you can’t afford then don’t have so many kids. If you want to have kids then be responsible and take care of their safety. Stop using excuses of low income…

• vivizurianti on Jul 03, 2020 at 9:12 am

There has been plenty time (again and again) given before rules and enforcments are set, as for as I am concerned.

The govt just lack willpower and typically give-in (aka u-turn) to certain people that claim they couldnt afford car seats, etc. Perhaps such ppl need handouts, handouts and more handouts from govt?

I hope we will not come to a point child safety is the responsibility of Govt, not parents anymore.

• Isobel Chin on Jul 03, 2020 at 12:43 pm

Err but we have come to that point. Arent you people angry at the gahmen being irresponsible for not enforcing the law to force parents use childseats? So basically you people are passing the responsibility to gahmen and if there is no laws, you people dont care about your children kan? kan? kan?

• autodriver (Member) on Jul 03, 2020 at 10:22 am

It is sad to heard the postpone the childseat mandatory indefinitely. This encourage people to “not control” the choldbirth even though they are living in poverty.

Why there is a need of childseat, it is to prevent happen of accident and bring severe injury to baby or child. The seatbelt and airbags are designed according to “adult” size, not cater for baby or child.

How often we seen rich families gave birth more than 4 childs, super rare. But it is common for poor family comes with 5 childs or more. So if government loosen this childseat rule enforcement the news of children suffer severe injure will never end or never reduce. Poor family will likely driving old car with less safety feature, overloaded of passengers and without childseat. An accident happen it gonna be bad, very bad for the family.

Childseat rule should inforced, this will indirectly educating citizens give birth according to their raising kid ability.

• Chris P. Bacon on Jul 03, 2020 at 10:35 am

Jonathon,

Your comments are warranted and commendable but unfortunately they will fall on deaf ears.

As long as we have people in the general public who either cannot understand, or more to the point, are not willing to understand the need for child restraint seats, then the only course of action is to make it a law for road usage.

We can all clearly see see all the road rules that get flaunted each and every day on our roads with usually very minimal consequences to the perpetrator and this is yet another case of the authorities giving yet more excuses for their inaction.

They repeatedly talk of change, yet the simple fact is nothing has been done to ensure our roads are safer.

To be very blunt, each time any of us get behind the wheel of our vehicle, it is akin to having a lottery ticket in hope that we return home alive.

Are you all feeling lucky? Because facts prove that some of us wont be home tonight with our family.

Apparently all governments in Malaysia, past and present, seem to believe this is acceptable.

Thanks again, Jonathon, for a concise and well written article.

• BOYRACER on Jul 03, 2020 at 11:24 am

One of those rare very sensible comments here.Btw I agree with you.

• Ben Yap on Jul 03, 2020 at 11:56 am

Return home alive is akin to lottery ticket? are u sure? if the number of times i return home safely equals the number of times i win a lottery, i will be richest man on earth!

• Chris P. Bacon on Jul 03, 2020 at 12:15 pm

In my remark, I plainly meant the “lottery ticket” was for the opposite reason, that being that you may be chosen one who DOES NOT return home safely.

Point taken but I hope most understood the underlying meaning.

Have a great day, Ben.

• Darren on Jul 03, 2020 at 10:04 pm

People should stop passing the buck to the gomen. Responsibility of parenting ends with, no big surprise, THE PARENTS.

• Ben Yap on Jul 03, 2020 at 11:21 am

lower income family knows how to reproduce but in the end their cost is higher to raise the kids. when they cannot raise those kids, they ask for welfare. ironically, they don’t see the need to spend some money for rubber protection and childseat which cost way much lesser than raising the kid.

• azrai on Jul 03, 2020 at 3:04 pm

They rather bought basikal lajak for their kids instead the child sest.

• most of them simply stupid & kedekut. they can change bigger wheels but install 2nd hand tyres. now u expect them to buy carseat?