2020 Perodua Myvi – now with ASA 2.0, Electric Blue

The Perodua Myvi has received a reboot for 2020, and now comes with enhanced safety and a fresh new colour.

Safety first. The Myvi now gets the latest Advanced Safety Assist (ASA) 2.0, and while ASA was only available on the range-topping 1.5 AV before, ASA 2.0 is now standard on the AV and 1.5 H, and is optional on the 1.3 X. So, standard on two variants and also available in the 1.3L.

ASA debuted on this third and current generation Perodua Myvi in 2017. It includes Pre-Collision Warning (PCW, up to 30 km/h), Pre-Collision Braking (PCB, up to 30 km/h), Front Departure Alert and Pedal Misoperation Control.

ASA 2.0 first appeared on the Aruz in 2019, adding Pedestrian Detection (up to 50 km/h) to the suite and upping the operational speeds of PCW and PCB to 100 km/h and 80 km/h respectively. ASA 2.0 then found its way into the 2019 Axia and 2020 Bezza, so it was a matter of time before before Malaysia’s best-seller received it.

“With the inclusion of ASA 2.0, the Perodua Myvi takes advanced safety to a whole new level at this price point, and it’s now more widely available within the line-up. The latest Myvi carries on the Perodua tradition of bringing advanced safety technology to the people by making it affordable and accessible to all,” said Perodua president and CEO Datuk Zainal Abidin Ahmad.

The next change is in the colour options. As you can see in these official images, the Myvi now comes in Electric Blue for all variants. Perodua started rolling out this shade of blue on the rebadged Indonesian-market Daihatsu Sirion in March this year.

Granite Grey, which was previously exclusive to 1.5L variants, is now available across the range except for the base 1.3 G. The other colours are Ivory White, Glittering Silver and Lava Red. Note that Peppermint Green, the bright hue that was previously a 1.3L special, is gone. Also gone is Mystical Purple. There are no other equipment or mechanical changes.

The 2020 Perodua Myvi range starts from RM41,292 (unchanged) for the base 1.3 G MT (the sole manual in the range) and RM43,029 (unchanged) for the 1.3 G AT, rising to RM44,959 (unchanged) for the 1.3 X. As mentioned, ASA 2.0 is now an option for the 1.3 X, and if you tick it, the price is RM2k higher at RM46,959.

Moving up, the 1.5 H now goes for RM50,530 (RM2k higher) and the top 1.5 AV is yours for RM52,697 (RM500 higher). These prices are on the road without insurance, with the 2020 sales tax exemption. Open for booking now. For the full list of specs and to compare the Myvi against other models, head to CarBase.my.

GALLERY: 2020 Perodua Myvi 1.3 X with ASA 2.0 in Electric Blue

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Safety First on Jul 15, 2020 at 10:10 am

Still too overpriced and only optional WTF!. Perodua should have made it standard for all variants. Safety mana???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 55
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jul 15, 2020 at 10:38 am

This is a good move in the right direction. Perodua should be given credit for this.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 113 Thumb down 18
      • Double fist bump bro! Kudos to Myvi ASA 2.0

• Me Asking on Jul 15, 2020 at 1:32 pm

Is ASA optional for myvi manual too?

• When even commercial trucks such as Gran Max has: ‘autonomous emergency braking with pedestrian detection, lane departure warning, erroneous start prevention with brake control, front vehicle departure alert and an automatic high beam function. This is standard for both models, along with Vehicle Stability Control (VSC), traction control…” It is pitiful for a popular Perodua car to have only 1 item on that listing and not even standard to all specs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
      • Indeed it would be, if they were just a startup or a player trying to regain market leadership.

As it is, they are leading the pack and they have a responsibility to their customers to make their safety a priority as Proton did many moons ago. This extra 2k is smacks of making money from those who could only afford the base variant.

Does it tell me, those who cannot pay, their lives only worth 2k?

• alldisc on Jul 15, 2020 at 10:55 am

Do you know in Europe VW Passat and Mercedes using steel wheels at the the entry level and alloy wheels are optional?

It’s called optional for a reason. That means.. If you feel you want it, you pay more for it. Simple.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
      • Jeremy on Jul 15, 2020 at 1:11 pm

Neither steel nor alloy wheels affects safety mate. @Safety First does have a point. Safety shouldn’t be optional, it should be MANDATORY.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
    • Rakyat First on Jul 15, 2020 at 11:57 am

So are you comparing with Persona or Saga that don’t equip with AEB?

• syukur, Saga Persona Iriz Mid spec only 2 airbags.
        Myvi low spec already 4 airbags, VSC, LED lamps

• Copy Paste on Jul 15, 2020 at 1:29 pm

Copy paste: “as one of the market leader, P2 should lead as an example to make these safety features as a standard across the line given it’s already proven technology and commonly available from oversea (Malaysia still selling 2 airbags only car/truck…what a shame!).
        Safety features of a car should not be a luxury option but a compulsory requirement!”

• So are you comparing your 4 airbag Myvi with Persona that has 6 airbags? Your safety spec pales in comparison bro.

• Adam Najmi on Jul 16, 2020 at 6:05 pm

Lol.. Myvi low spec has 4 airbag and h and av model has 6 airbag

• LOL. Myvi only tops out at 4 airbags for all variants. Read again bro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 20
    • Its a good move by perodua.
      U want cheaper u go buy proton iriz or persona la. Sont komplen kuat minyak after.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • Safety shouldn’t be classed as a luxury. OP is 100% right.

• milo4is on Jul 15, 2020 at 10:14 am

It seems like the Iriz is the better choice here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 37
    • In 2019 p1 sold 100,821 cars.
      X70 – 26,331
      Saga – 38,144
      Persona – 21,876
      Iriz – 97% growth from 2018 (no figure mention)
      Exora – 40% growth from 2018 (no figure mention)

So after minus 100,821 from the number of x70, saga n persona are 14,470 left. So means iriz n exora sold less than 10K for whole year 2019. Proton malu to say out the number. Only mentioned iriz growth 97% from 2018 means p1 sold less than 1k iriz in 2018. Very poor poor poor sales iriz n exora.

Oppsss, take note, 100,821 number is domestic+imported model, means p1 sold less than 100k domestically 2019.

So u still think iriz better than myvi? Let give u muka kesian la, give iriz sold 8k unit in 2019 vs 80k myvi. Hahaha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 14
  • syukur.. Myvi Dual VVt-i with ASA2.0 AEB Stability Control 6Airbags only 50k range
    Spacious interior, recline-able 2nd row and practical 277L boot for young man.

Led headlamp front and rear for good visibility push starts are basic essential complied.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 7
    • Maybe on Jul 15, 2020 at 11:18 am

LED headlamp for good visibility?
      Thats a yes and no.
      Some manufacturer focus too much on design and this makes the car looks good but causes the light reflector to be not efficient in shining the road. HRV is a good example.

Then, we are living in a country blessed with rain. Good headlight + focus adjusted be it LED or halogen or HID will greatly improved visibility at night. However, when it rains LED lights or any white colour lights are useless.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
      • Jonathan Khan on Jul 15, 2020 at 1:22 pm

I am satisfied. LED Reflector for Myvi and HR-V also very good.

for raining, most headlamp quality drop as much as 40%. Recommended to re-coat water-repellent monthly basis for improved raining shine. Try check out Soft99 Glaco Blave.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
      • Most people know that white light cant get through fog and during heavy rain at night. It must be slightly yellow then will get through well, or full yellow like those hella brand 4×4 install on their car.
        Btw who wants and ask for white light??? Well its from dem human being also, request manufacturer for it, complaint online says white better lar, so manufacturer too much listen to people and put safety aside. Drive at nite if pass by white light car is more annoying, normal yellow light is ok.
        White light is good for normal non rainy day, but problem is, ur eyes annoying.

• ASA 2.0 is now an option for the 1.3 X, and if you tick it, the price is RM2k higher at RM46,959.
      RM47k also can get ASA 2.0

• as one of the market leader, P2 should lead as an example to make these safety features as a standard across the line given it’s already proven technology and commonly available from oversea (Malaysia still selling 2 airbags only car/truck…what a shame!).
    Safety features of a car should not be a luxury option but a compulsory requirement!

• Kancil on Jul 15, 2020 at 11:37 am

Then what are the differences in term of spec between H and AV?

• Dylan Ch'ng on Jul 15, 2020 at 12:11 pm

Thank you Proton for bringing much needed competition

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
  • fiulpam on Jul 15, 2020 at 12:15 pm

Ya sure can have ASA or ASAM PEDAS or whatever. Main question for P2 is fuel pump dah recall belum? Honda sudah anda bila lagi?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
    • Honda cars many fuel pump issue despite only several thousands car sold per month.

Perodua selling over 100,000 cars per year, only a few kena. just go to claim if you get the <0.1% units.

Perodua Protect Plan – Free Towing, Free Service.
      https://paultan.org/2017/04/20/perodua-total-protect-insurance-programme-launched-10-year-coverage-on-excess-loading-and-betterment/

• Pak Toh on Jul 15, 2020 at 6:34 pm

https://paultan.org/2020/01/21/perodua-sold-record-240341-cars-in-2019-40-market-share-myvi-remains-bestseller-flat-target-for-2020/

Perodua sold 240,341 cars in 1 year – 2019.

• xoxox on Jul 16, 2020 at 9:11 am

where u get the figure <0.1%? try go research first before posting "inaccurate" figure.

• They started to use fuel pump from Japan to solve the issue.

• Perodua Sudah ASA 2.0 PCW PCB, AEB for Myvi. Honda Jazz, anda bila lagi?

• fiulpam on Jul 15, 2020 at 4:07 pm

Funny argument. Without ASA you can still drive the car. So you’d rather your breakdown tepi jalan with faulty fuel pump instead of having instead. Also, ASAM PEDAS is for an idiot who like to multitask and for drivers who lack of awareness, logic and common sense on the road. HAHAHAHHA

• No wonder I saw several Myvi parked on the side of the road giving out double signals and waiting for towing.

• Adam Najmi on Jul 16, 2020 at 6:09 pm

A.s.a dh banyak membantu dlam menghindari kemalangan terutamanya waktu jam..and fuel pump myvi dh guna fuelpump dari japan dn bukan dari indo lagi

• I still see many Myvis with frontal collision, so I wonder does the system works as advertised? It appears not.

• hadi75 on Jul 15, 2020 at 7:40 pm

Actually, perodua already do the recall la bro…mine already change

• The question is, why Myvi didn’t get facelft like new bezza and Axia?

• What a disappointment ! I’ve been waiting for this update & hoped that they would add LED DRLs, improved suspension, improved transmission or even improved noise isolation. It is no surprise that they were going to adopt ASA 2.0 on the updated model. I’m glad that they added a new color, Electric Blue which makes the car look more premium so to speak. Unfortunately, Perodua has removed two of its colors one of which is exclusive to the 1.3L variant & the other is available for all variants. Not only that, since Perodua has made both Electric Blue & Granite Grey available to most variants, now there are technically no exclusive colors for both the 1.5L & 1.3L variant which is a bummer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • Almighty Snack Bar on Jul 15, 2020 at 1:03 pm

Best car. The only thing that needs to improve is its suspension. Whenever the car is fitted with heavier bags or big sized humans? Its back will go downwards. Very very bad.

• Bieight on Jul 15, 2020 at 3:03 pm

At least make asa1.0 standards on all 1.3 models

• Maria on Jul 15, 2020 at 4:16 pm

On 2nd generation myvi, it was not value for money being paid with such a super low spec with only 2 airbags and no abs on lower spec on that day. Now I would like to give 5 thumbs up for p2 for trickle down ASA 2.0 for 1.3x and 1.5 variant albeit it is weird why p2 did not made 6 airbags with asa on 1.3x. Then it should be nice. The crown for safety leader for this segment should be given to p2 from p1. Good job perodua.

• Michael on Jul 15, 2020 at 5:07 pm

Hey, has any tall person driven this generation of myvi before? I am 191cm, seat has been adjusted to lowest and steering has been adjusted to highest, but the steering wheel still brushes my knee when turning. I felt this car ergonomic is designed by a shorter than average guy, don’t you think? I also driven previous gen myvi (seat height not adjustable) but ergonomic is perfect! Is it just me or everyone felt the same? This car is not ergonomic for a person > 180cm!

• The Bright Side on Jul 15, 2020 at 6:42 pm

USA average male height = 176cm
      Malaysia average male height = 165cm

you are super tall at 191cm, good gene you have, hahaha

• I agree bro. Im 188cm. I have the same problem until my neck now have ocassional pain due to the poor ergonomics.

• Myvi G3 owner on Jul 16, 2020 at 12:31 am

Is that my current Myvi 2018 with ASA 1.0 can upgrade it to ASA 2.0 version?? Any idea for this??

• Myvi Lover on Jul 16, 2020 at 8:05 am

I think this is lazy. Should’ve tweaked a little bit on the tail lamp make it slimmer for a facelift. Or change the bumper design if this is a facelift.

• Adam Najmi on Jul 16, 2020 at 6:10 pm

This is not facelift.. Just upgraded version of myvi

• papaya on Aug 28, 2020 at 5:22 pm

Slimmer tail lamp reserved for next gen Myvi. See VW Golf MK6 > MK7 tail lamp difference, lol.

• Safety important la on Jul 16, 2020 at 3:47 pm

Can ASA 2.0 be retrofitted on existing Myvi 1.3X?

• Does the 1.3X now have the integrated toll reader? The website is rather ambiguous on this… Unlike the previous iteration, the website does not specify which models get the integration.

• Nicolai on Jul 29, 2020 at 12:35 pm

I wonder if ASA 1.0 can be upgraded to 2.0. I don’t mind paying it

• papaya on Aug 28, 2020 at 5:19 pm

Means with ASA 2.0 on Federal Highway traffic jam no need to step on brake it will automatic brake itself? since speed 10-20km/h saja…

• Eh Hello, your father company ah on Sep 20, 2020 at 11:15 am

Hello, safety comes at a price. Meanwhile, education is free. Increased feature will increase the production cost. Sure they can load the Myvi with shit load of features and items but will you be able to afford it by then ? Most of you cannot even afford the Bezza, somemore want complain.

As much as it is a company providing affordable car services, they still need to run on profit. Also if your driving need safety feature to prevent mishaps then I suggest you either start learning how to drive properly or stop driving entirely.

Sincerely,
    A netizen with common sense