2020 Honda City open for booking in Malaysia – new 1.5L NA DOHC, world debut for RS i-MMD, Q4 launch

Now here’s a genuine surprise. After some teasing, Honda Malaysia (HM) has opened order books for the new Honda City. As expected, the fifth-generation City does not come with the Thai-market’s eco car spec 1.0 litre turbo engine, but there will be an Intelligent Multi-Mode Drive (i-MMD) hybrid version to go along with the 1.5L naturally-aspirated engine. In all, there will be four variants.

The City RS i-MMD will be the flagship of the range, and when it debuts here in Q4 2020, it will be a world debut of sorts. No other market has the new City with a hybrid powertrain, and we’ll be the first. More on this later.

“The City has proven to be an important model for HM, a favourite among many Malaysians for its spaciousness, practicality and safety features. Since its introduction to the Malaysian market in 2001, the model has an accumulated total sales of 351,000 units, with the most sought-after fourth-gen City which was launched in 2014 contributing more than 205,000 units and upholding its No.1 position in the B-segment,” said HM’s MD and CEO Toichi Ishiyama.

“The launch of the all-new City RS with new powertrain in Malaysia will be the world premiere and being introduced for the first time ahead of other countries. We believe that this new model will excite the market with its advanced styling and engineering as Honda continues to lead the way in pioneering benchmarks and introducing Next Generation Advanced Technology that is ahead of its time,” he added.

The new i-MMD powertrain, globally known as e:HEV, is claimed to provide high efficiency electrification combined with direct and smooth response. As you’ll see in the video above, HM is pushing “superior acceleration” as a main selling point, with the City RS seen outgunning a 2.5L Toyota Camry.

Responsible for this is 253 Nm of torque via the 109 PS electric motor, with the 1.5 litre petrol engine functioning as a range extender of sorts. The e:HEV is new and made its debut in Japan this year in the all-new Jazz – more details here.

Of course, if you prefer a more regular experience, there’s the 1.5L NA engine, which is now a DOHC i-VTEC unit (current car is SOHC). In India, the new 1.5L DOHC i-VTEC unit churns out 121 PS and 145 Nm, and is paired to a CVT gearbox, like today’s car.

As for features, RS and V trim levels get LED headlamps, while LED daytime running lights and taillights are standard across the board. Also RS and V-only are 16-inch two-tone alloys, while black door mirror caps are reserved for the sporty-flavoured Road Sailing range topper, which also gets black exterior trim elsewhere. Also, there’s a Honda LaneWatch camera (RS and V) and electric parking brake (RS only).

With this new lineup, HM has repositioned the hybrid as the flagship of the local City range. Previously, the petrol-electric model was a mid-range variant with middling specs (largely matching the petrol-powered E trim level), but the hybrid has finally taken its logical place at the very top, dressed in the sportiest-looking and most well-equipped RS version.

Those who book the new model under the “All-New City Special Early Booking Programme” will get a RM1,000 service voucher with a one-year validity. The new City will be going on a nationwide tour starting August 24. Stay tuned for more details. What do you think?

GALLERY: New Honda City 1.0L Turbo RS, Thai-market

GALLERY: New Honda City, India-market

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Small tayar on Aug 14, 2020 at 12:18 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 162
  • 4G63T DSM on Aug 14, 2020 at 12:20 pm

Waiting for Honda salesmen to bad mouth turbo cars without realizing all their other new cars now have turbo. Would like to see how they do this.

Hahahaha

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 13
    • They will bad mouth about 3-cylinder cause lots of vibration.. lol

• Untung Manyak Wang on Aug 14, 2020 at 4:35 pm

Motor only 109ps 253 nm or total power 109ps 253 nm? :)

• wow, you seems concern about honda salesmen and quite happy seeing other people in difficulty. Get a life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 38
    • Engineer on Aug 14, 2020 at 5:48 pm

Toyota trolls also used bad mouth turboed cars because Preve was outselling Vios. Now everyone is going for turbo, Toyota is the only left hanging onto dinosaur lumps.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 67
  • Honda on Aug 14, 2020 at 12:20 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 146
    • Spin Too Much on Aug 14, 2020 at 3:46 pm

Manyak smoke keluar bila fuel pump mati wei!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
    • Your life is just about smoking other cars?
      Then you better get a life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • No AEB no Buy on Aug 14, 2020 at 12:21 pm

still no advanced ADAS ASA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 15
    • honda salesman on Aug 14, 2020 at 3:33 pm

without these you dont know how to drive is it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
      • JpJ New on Aug 14, 2020 at 6:40 pm

Hahaha i know right! It’s like you cannot drive at all ke if your car doesn’t come with this safety suite. The easiest way to be safe without this safety suite are keep your eyes in front & focus on the road, bukan enjoy makan ice cream with your girlfriend, frequently look in your rear/side mirror and the most important thing, be super ALERT at all time when driving.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • hentaimaou on Aug 14, 2020 at 8:17 pm

saving it for facelift two years later when the sales drop, we all know the trick hahahahaha

• Xx2xx on Aug 14, 2020 at 12:28 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 146
  • 25yrsOld on Aug 14, 2020 at 12:34 pm

Finally get dohc, kesian jazz still sohc dinasaur

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • Bieight on Aug 14, 2020 at 12:49 pm

No diesel and manual version??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 14
    • jonbb on Aug 14, 2020 at 5:13 pm

you want manual? get the Axia base specs.
      you want diesel? get a pickup truck.

• Pyraxle on Aug 14, 2020 at 6:31 pm

Go to India lah bro if u want diesel & manual, you know yourself the low demand for manual cars here, just look at iriz back then (full spec some more), mazda mx5 & bmw 2 series tourer just to name a few. You guys only said no manual ke no manual ke but at the end of the day people like you will still buy auto. So please don’t comment here acah2 cool asking no manual ke. It’s like you want the world know that you can still drive a manual. Okay boss you can still drive a stick, pfffttt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 9
  • siti dashboard on Aug 14, 2020 at 12:50 pm

Even Persona dashboard looks better than Siti

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 18
    • jonbb on Aug 14, 2020 at 5:14 pm

Why just compare persona only? Is it your current drive?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 21
    • Ghialzi on Aug 14, 2020 at 6:54 pm

But i got both new persona (’20) & current city (’19) at my house now and i think you need to add more power to your specs. Both feels plasticky & cheap but i think city’s dashboard feel & look a bit better than persona. And city’s CVT are much smoother & always gives stable acceleration when you hit the accelerator compared to persona IMO where it can be unstable sometimes, if you drive both you will know the difference.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
  • Honda Turbo fanboys will be crying on the bed..
    While VW would be relief as Vento TSI is still the only B-segment sedan turbo around..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
    • Almera 1.0T is coming mate

• jonbb on Aug 14, 2020 at 5:17 pm

I just do not understand why honda turbo fanboys would want to cry? They are many other Honda models with Turbo what?

And why VW would be relieved?
      You can see the sales chart between City and Vento and you will know who is the big brother at least in this country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
    • Tun F on Aug 14, 2020 at 5:20 pm

Dude.. Almera 1.0 turbo is about to launch in malaysia

• Fariz on Aug 14, 2020 at 12:58 pm

What an M3 wannabe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
    • jonbb on Aug 14, 2020 at 5:08 pm

This City’s design came out earlier than the current G20 or G30. I thought bimmer copied this City’s design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
  • I can’t believe that they actually compare their City RS with other segment cars like Perodua Bezza and Toyota Camry in this teaser. Also, game changer?? More like this car is a game over to me

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 14
  • Exciting stuff. Didn’t see a new hybrid powertrain coming. I think most of us were expecting to get the regular 1.5L setup. Hope they put this through comprehensive local testing like the previous generation City Hybrid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 25
  • PitStop on Aug 14, 2020 at 1:33 pm

Quite disappointed with the engine variants. The current Honda City will be a much better choice, it seems.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 14
    • Lollll on Aug 14, 2020 at 2:10 pm

What are you talking about? There is also a new Dohc ivtec 1.5 engine if you don’t want hybrid. And that engine is way superior than the current sohc engine..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 33
  • vivizurianti on Aug 14, 2020 at 1:35 pm

Er, petrol pump issues settle ka?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • Like new city , booked

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 42
  • Silthice on Aug 14, 2020 at 2:00 pm

I wonder on the fuel ⛽ consumption and the battery capacity.

• Guys
    Engine output + no battery = (*”dead weight motor”*) & <253 nm
    Think again lah bro
    Before you buy…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
  • seancorr (Member) on Aug 14, 2020 at 2:06 pm

Hmmm the normal engine would do fine. That new hybrid system since it’s a brand new setup it’s definitely gonna be expensive to repair or replace in the long run. Look at the current 1.5l engine with it’s issues and you know why.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • It is under warranty for 5 years. All repair cost taken care of.
      You can sell the car after 5 years and let other people who is willing to repair the car to purchase it.

• Best selling B segment? Fake news

Wira and Myvi both sold more than 1millions unit
    Even Toyota Vios already hit 200k sales in 2011, in 8 years.
    Now easily 400k units cumulated too
    Don’t forget proton persona also hit 250k sales in 2015, almost 100k more than city in 2015.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 9
  • Can’t wait to test drive dat, shubbe very interesting, the next HRV might come with that powertrain

At least it doesn’t use heavy battery which will take up space in the boot

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
  • This promotional video memang cari pasal ==”

• maria on Aug 14, 2020 at 2:50 pm

Just suprised that we getting the hybrid. I though most car brand hesistate to sell hybrid car again as undertermined tax incentive by goverment. Sure harga close up to 100k. As for look sorry 4th gen city miles ahead and futuristic than new one Plus no honda sensing at top spec.

• Siti Car on Aug 14, 2020 at 2:52 pm

Its a misleading advertisement video.

Honda Jazz 2020 e:HEV 109PS 253Nm motor
    zero to 100 km/h in 9.4 seconds before reaching a top speed of 175 km/h.

https://paultan.org/2020/02/13/2020-honda-jazz-goes-on-sale-in-japan-ehev-hybrid-and-1-3l-petrol/

• Kenny on Aug 14, 2020 at 2:53 pm

Toyota will sue Honda since they talk bad about Camry and show Toyota logo to the public

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
  • azrai on Aug 14, 2020 at 2:57 pm

Hatchback variant?

• Honda Kaki on Aug 14, 2020 at 2:58 pm

No more Honda product especially Honda City – Rear Axle 2 times changed (under warranty – else over RM3K) – Pump – Start Button – Rear Absorber – harddwire (under car)… lucky all this issues still under warranty … after warranty period – no eyes to see repair bill.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 3
    • autodriver (Member) on Aug 14, 2020 at 4:58 pm

My colleague who got his new City less than a year need to change rear axle. This surprise me because City is using the most simple torsion beam layout yet still it gives problem.

• Fixie on Aug 14, 2020 at 7:02 pm

How ganas you drive your car bro? Had mine since 2014 clocking in almost 220k km & the only issue i have is the hose at the rear door and it’s a very quick fix.

• Karam Singh on Aug 14, 2020 at 3:05 pm

Why need 1.0 turbo when the output is same with 1.5 NA? Thailand and Indonesia is different since they have eco car scheme.. Tax rebates etc.

Worse even.. 3 cylinder.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Kenny on Aug 14, 2020 at 4:02 pm

Correct. 3 cylinder is not recommended. Not balance and a lot complain on 3 cylinder engine

• autodriver (Member) on Aug 14, 2020 at 5:00 pm

Those who desire for 1.0T because they are waiting to remap for higher horsepower. If NA or hybrid it is very hard to modify to increase 10ps but turbo easily get over 20ps with mapping ecu.

• Haidi on Aug 14, 2020 at 3:19 pm

Hybrid power! You deserve a big clap HM!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 29
    • autodriver (Member) on Aug 14, 2020 at 5:01 pm

Second value is bad for hybrid and battery will cost at least RM6k for replacement.

• johnweak on Aug 14, 2020 at 3:34 pm

interior looks like persona…ewwww

• tricycle on Aug 14, 2020 at 3:57 pm

Really disappointed. HM should offer the turbo version.

• bobbieboo on Aug 14, 2020 at 4:10 pm

Great exterior but wish the interior was more inspiring…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Sarat Kumar Mohanta on Aug 14, 2020 at 6:01 pm

Wonderful

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • GG Honda on Aug 14, 2020 at 7:22 pm

Low spec 99K, High Spec 123K. Goodbye Honda!

• GG Toyota on Aug 14, 2020 at 8:09 pm

I think the realistic number are 83k for low spec, 90k for mid spec, 96k for high petrol spec & 105k for hybrid full spec. Why would they want to sell same price as HRV? It’s like HM trying to kill the City if the price same price as HRV full spec. they are not that stupid i think.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
  • Hafiz on Aug 14, 2020 at 7:30 pm

Why no turbo? At least give option for the turbo….the low rpm max torque of the turbo is what we want for day to day driving…no need to rev the engine above 2,500rpm…it’s effortless driving like the civic turbo

• autodriver (Member) on Aug 14, 2020 at 7:40 pm

I believe many readers have comment on VW 2.0tsi 190ps 320nm is “low output”. But this 1.5 hybrid 109ps 253nm is great. If using direct calculation to convert this 1.5 to 2.0 by then the 2.0 will only have 145ps and 337nm. If the ps is the most concern then this engine is consider “low output”.

But in real torque is more meaningful, just like diesel torque is always much higher and ps is low.

• turbo lover on Aug 17, 2020 at 9:52 am

bring turbo…advertising like crazy bt nothing at the end… so disappointing !!!

• Lawson on Aug 26, 2020 at 10:31 pm

If the new almera having 1.0 litre turbo engine end up taking 3000 to 4000 units of sales per month then Honda will jump in and bring in their 1 litre i-vtec turbo. Did Honda ever have 1.2 litre i-vtec turbo engine?. Hmmmmm…..!

• JaiLoga on Aug 18, 2020 at 10:03 am

Very disappointed with the stupid decision by Honda Malaysia. Is this another agenda to protect ”PLOTON”?? . Hey..PLOTON is no longer of our proud National car maker…its belong to GGly now ok.
    MIROS might have thought, if the New City turbo unit allowed on Malaysian road… All New City turbo owners will drive like idiot… which is such a stupid thinking though.
    I am very disappointed,,,, disappointed ,,,disappointed.
    Such an idiot decision by Honda Malaysia.

• Citi Hybrid Price? on Aug 25, 2020 at 7:08 pm

Honda Jazz Hybrid 109PS 253N.m only RM81k/2,068,000yen Japan 2020 spec & price.

Current Honda Citi Hybrid only RM84k
    https://www.carbase.my/honda/jazz/mk3-facelift/1.5-hybrid-2018

• Turboboy on Sep 10, 2020 at 12:46 pm

Anyone know how much is the confirmed price range for this new honda city?

• Fitfreak US on Oct 09, 2020 at 2:09 pm

1.5L DOHC Engine has been used in USA since June 2015, it is rated in USA at 130HP & 114ft/lbs(155Nm). Redline is 6800, Bore & Stroke (mm) 73×89.6, Compression ratio 11.5:1, Will this be the same engine used in Malaysia?