Proton X50 SUV previewed – 4 variants, 6 colours, 1.5TGDi and 7DCT, Level 2 semi-autonomous driving

News surrounding Proton’s new B-segment crossover is swirling pretty quickly these days. Having teased the car in a Merdeka ad, the national carmaker revealed it in full on Saturday, a few days shy of Malaysia Day. Now, the company is giving us members of the media our first look at this crucial new vehicle, ahead of its official launch. And yes, just as we’ve all expected, it will be called the Proton X50!

UPDATE: The Proton X50 has been officially launched, and it’s priced from RM79,200 to RM103,300. Full report here.

Proton has also announced that the order books will open starting tomorrow on Malaysia Day, September 16, with a booking fee of RM500. No pricing information has been released so far, but we do know that the lineup – which will be CKD locally-assembled from launch – will consist of four variants, including Standard, Executive and Premium; the cars you see here are of the range-topping model, aptly called the Flagship.

The car itself is as we’ve expected from the start. The X50 is a near note-for-note recreation of the Geely Binyue, or the Coolray as it’s known in other markets (it even shares the same SX11 codename). Let’s quickly run through the changes that Proton has made – the “expanding cosmos” grille has been replaced by a gloss black “Infinite Weave”, and there’s now the Proton roundel on the grille, wheels and everywhere else. Oh, and there’s the Proton script on the tailgate chrome garnish and on the headlights – a neat touch.

Otherwise, it’s identical – which isn’t a bad thing, given that the Binyue is a handsome car on its own. The grille is flanked by sharp headlights, tied together by a large, sculpted chrome trim piece that somehow doesn’t look overwrought. Interestingly, the secondary trim lining the grille has a little divot in the centre like on the X70, making it ever so slightly different from the Geely.

The Chinese brand’s pronounced front fenders are to be found here again, this time flowing into a shoulder line that doesn’t look quite as derivative of the Range Rover Evoque as on the X70. Just like its bigger sibling, the window line kinks upwards towards the rear, where you’ll find a glazed D-pillar that gives the X50 the all-important floating roof look.

Rounding off the stylish design is the pert rump, which sports slim tail lights with triple light guides, tied together by the aforementioned chrome garnish. On top of that, all models will also be fitted with almost the entire Sport look found on the Binyue/Coolray in other markets.

The kit consists of a more aggressive front bumper with a larger centre air intake and slimmer corner inlets, plus red grille trim, a more ornate side skirt design, lots of faux carbon fibre trim and a large rear diffuser. The latter hides a very sporty quadruplet of chrome exhaust tips, which are actually connected to the tailpipes that sprout out from the central muffler. Take that, Mercedes-Benz.

However, we won’t be getting the Geely’s fake carbon fibre door mirrors nor the massive rear wing – apparently, Proton thinks they’re overkill, even in our bodykit-obsessed market. The spoiler we’ll receive is still large and has twin slots.

At launch, there will be six colour options to choose from, including Snow White, Armour Silver, Jet Grey, Ocean Blue, Citric Orange and Passion Red – refer to the chart above for colour/variant availability. Buyers of the Flagship model will receive a two-tone paint scheme, and they’ll be pleased to know that – unlike the X70 – the X50 has been designed for a black roof from the get-go, with the shutlines to match.

Size-wise, the X50 is quite a bit smaller than the X70. Measuring 4,330 mm long, 1,800 mm wide and 1,609 mm tall, it is 139 mm shorter, 31 mm narrower and 85 mm lower than its bigger sibling, while its 2,600 mm wheelbase is 70 mm shorter. Against its main rival, the Honda HR-V, the Proton is a scant four millimetres shorter, 10 mm wider and just four millimetres taller, and has a 10 mm shorter wheelbase.

As on the outside, the interior sets new standards for the class in terms of design. The futuristic dashboard features a “stitched” upper panel, lashings of metal-look trim, a tall centre console “bridge” with a Porsche-like passenger grab handle, and even some jet fighter-inspired air vents at the corners. Underneath the centre console is a large storage space with a USB port and a 12-volt socket.

To amp up the visual drama further still, Premium and Flagship variants are kitted with a full red-and-black colour scheme, which finds its way not only on the seats but also on the dashboard and door cards. The upper parts of the dash and front door panels are made from soft-touch materials.

In terms of technology, Premium and Flagship models get a 10.25-inch widescreen infotainment touchscreen (other models receive an eight-inch touchscreen) and a seven-inch digital instrument display. Running these screens is the latest version of the Geely Key User Interface, GKUI 19, which is said to be more responsive – it has an E01 64-bit quad-core processor and a dedicated graphics processing unit (GPU).

The interface has also been revised, with cleaner tiles and permanent menu, back and home buttons (that last button is in the middle and features the Proton logo). The “Hi Proton” voice control system is present and correct, of course, as are the navigation and weather apps and the Joox music streaming service.

The navigation system, by the way, now uses Here Maps instead of Baidu Maps. There’s still no Apple CarPlay or Android Auto to be found, but there is a QDLink smartphone mirroring function that is said to be compatible with iOS and Android devices (the X70’s MirrorLink only worked with Android phones).

Standard and Executive variants get 4G connectivity through an eSIM in the head unit, while the eSIM in the Premium and Flagship models is built into the telematics box. The latter enables an extended range of “Hi Proton” controls such as window and climate control operation, just like on the X70.

And just like the X70, Premium and Flagship models can be controlled remotely through the Proton Link app. The functionality of the app has been expanded to include the standard-fit dual-zone automatic climate control, with users able to set the temperature and duration of the system’s operation. You will also be able to start your car remotely for a maximum of ten minutes before the engine turns itself back off.

With the engine switched on this way, you can simply jump into the car with the key and drive off without having to press the engine start button. Speaking of which, keyless entry and push-button start are fitted as standard, as is a new Honda Civic-style remote engine start function on the keyfob.

Proton has yet to reveal the full list of standard equipment, but the Standard variant will be fitted with 17-inch alloy wheels, full-LED headlights, fabric upholstery and a reverse camera. The Executive adds automatic headlights, LED fog lights, a leather-wrapped steering wheel and faux leather upholstery.

Stepping up to the Premium model nets you the sharp-looking 18-inch alloy wheels and red brake callipers you see here, together with a six-way power-adjustable driver’s seat, a 360-degree camera system, a tyre pressure monitoring system and the upgraded infotainment system. Finally, the Flagship throws in a panoramic glass sunroof.

One change for the local market is the addition of twin rear air vents, along with two USB ports instead of just one on the Binyue. What we won’t get are paddle shifters, reclining rear seats or a powered tailgate – evidently, Proton wants to save those features for the X70.

On the safety front, the X50 comes as standard with four airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist, stability control, hill start assist, hill descent control and rear ISOFIX child seat anchors. The Executive model gets six airbags, but the one you’ll really want is the Flagship, which gets Level 2 semi-autonomous driving features.

The list of driver assists include autonomous emergency braking with pedestrian detection, adaptive cruise control with stop and go, lane centring assist, lane keeping assist, auto high beam and blind spot monitoring with a door opening warning. There’s even a parking assist system that enables autonomous parallel and perpendicular parking manoeuvres. This is a big upgrade over even the most expensive X70 Premium.

Technical details have yet to be released, but Proton confirms that the Flagship will be powered by the 1.5 litre turbocharged and direct-injected three-cylinder petrol engine, co-developed by Geely and Volvo. This 1.5 TGDi mill should make the same outputs as in other markets – 177 PS at 5,500 rpm and 255 Nm of torque from 1,500 to 4,000 rpm – and should also get from zero to 100 km/h in the same 7.9 seconds.

Unique to Malaysia is a port-injected version of the three-pot engine in the other variants. This is its first application globally and outputs are rated at around 150 PS and 226 Nm. Whichever model you pick, drive is sent exclusively to the front wheels through the X70’s seven-speed wet dual-clutch transmission, also developed in conjunction with Volvo.

The X50 is built on Geely’s B-segment Modular Architecture (BMA) and as such features MacPherson strut suspension at the front and a torsion beam at the rear. Proton claims that the car features a total of 406 unique parts compared to the Binyue, as a result of the switch to right-hand drive. The company says it is capable of delivering 8,000 units this year, which will be exempted from the sales and service tax (SST).

Buyers will be advised on their car’s date of delivery and whether or not it will be tax-free – deliveries made after December 31 will be levied the full 10% SST. So, without further ado, let’s get into the spec breakdown between the four variants.

2020 Proton X50 1.5T Standard
Gets as standard:

• 1.5 litre turbocharged three-cylinder MPI engine
  • Around 150 PS and 226 Nm of torque
  • Seven-speed (wet) dual-clutch automatic transmission with manual mode (no paddle shifters)
  • Four airbags (front and side)
  • LED headlamps and DRLs
  • 17-inch alloy wheels
  • Quad exhaust pipes
  • Full carbon fibre-print bodykit
  • Fabric seats
  • Rear air con vents
  • Digital instrument cluster
  • Eight-inch touchscreen infotainment unit
  • Reverse camera
  • Electronic parking brake with auto brake hold

2020 Proton X50 1.5T Executive
Adds on:

• Six airbags (front, side, curtain)
  • Leather-wrapped steering wheel
  • Automatic headlamps
  • Front fog lamps
  • Leatherette seats

2020 Proton X50 1.5T Premium
Adds on:

• Tyre pressure monitoring system
  • 18-inch alloy wheels with red brake callipers
  • Powered driver’s seat
  • 10.25-inch touchscreen infotainment unit
  • 360-degree camera

2020 Proton X50 1.5 TGDi Flagship
Adds on:

• 1.5 litre turbocharged direct injection three-cylinder engine
  • 177 PS and 255 Nm of torque
  • Advanced Driver Assistance System (ADAS)
  • Dual-tone exterior (black roof and pillars)
  • Panoramic sunroof

So, what do you think of the Proton X50 – will it be competitive against its competitors and similarly-priced B-segment sedan rivals, and are you planning to buy one? Sound off in the comments after the jump.

GALLERY: 2020 Proton X50 1.5 TGDi Flagship

GALLERY: 2020 Proton X50 colour options

GALLERY: 2020 Proton X50 official images

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• M & B on Sep 15, 2020 at 5:09 pm

Nice!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 115 Thumb down 4
    • Mee Hailam on Sep 15, 2020 at 5:16 pm

This is amazing. I am so glad Li Chunrong, Geely and China has given Malaysians a good product finaly.

Thank you guys. We are utterly grateful to you guys. We have been waiting for an affordable safe car for over 30 years. Finally it is here!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 13
      • Civic Turbo 2018 on Sep 15, 2020 at 7:30 pm

1 engine or 2 engines variant? Why both also 3 cylinders

• Yee sang on Sep 15, 2020 at 8:09 pm

I play everyday during my childhood, I struggle a lot when I am old. I study everyday during my childhood, I am a successful person when I am old. This statement interprets Proton and Geely today. Proton does not learn anything with Mitsubishi, today Proton became a rebadger. Geely learns a lot during old days, today Geely became a leader. If only Proton learn many things from Mitsubishi, Proton could have created a true masterpiece for all Malaysians with own technologies. Sadly, today Proton needs Geely help to survive, Geely is leading Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 28
          • Michael Chong on Sep 16, 2020 at 11:25 am

This car will be a hot seller. Thank you Geely for telling us that SUV is the trend now. Infact, the Koreans knew this 20 years ago

• Steven Ong on Sep 16, 2020 at 11:44 am

I wonder why foreign car magazines never review any China cars like the X70 or X50?

I read so many car magazines…..why nobody reviews these cars?

• Joe Crisse on Sep 17, 2020 at 2:47 pm

Mitsubishi itself had to be saved in 2004. Mercedes refused to buy it before it finally got bought over by Renault.

In a part of the world that did not have capabilities to build cars(thanks to the Japs), Mutsubishi built ok cars riding the tails of Toyota and Honda mostly.

Proton should learn that playing the racial card works well within Malaysia but at the same time puts other races from buying Proton.

• Merchant on Sep 15, 2020 at 5:22 pm

Sayonara to Civic, HRV, CRV, City, BRV, Jazz

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 153 Thumb down 9
      • Copy and Paste II on Sep 15, 2020 at 5:54 pm

Copy and Paste: “ Buying Honda Hybrid or Earth Dream CVT, later go to workshop and wasted lot of money“

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 4
      • Joe Crisse on Sep 17, 2020 at 2:59 pm

Honestly, Japanese cars are nothing to boast about. They were bare bones, basic, utilitarian cars which were reliable because they were built to be functional.

When things go wrong, they were quick to point the finger at Takata, Borg Warner, etc. to preserve the Japan quality image.

Hondas? They have shitty gearboxes, tiny aircon compressors. Mitsubishis become rubbish after 200k kms… starter, alternator, welsh plugs, electrical wiring all fail.

• Nostologic on Sep 15, 2020 at 5:27 pm

Most hrv owners will be upgrading to X50

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 7
      • It considered downgrade thou. haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 24
        • TiredOfIt on Sep 17, 2020 at 3:54 pm

So.. you must be a HRV owner then?

• Bruh... on Sep 17, 2020 at 8:38 pm

Please tell me objectively how it’s a downgrade?

As far as I know X50 got much more powerful engine for it similarly sized body, more features, nicer interior, probably priced lower than HR-V.

• IBuyX50 on Sep 18, 2020 at 2:56 pm

That’s the mentality of people who prefer popularity over quality. However in this case, it’s clear as day which one is better.

• Sense on Sep 15, 2020 at 8:06 pm

Now please starting price 60k+ myvi n aruz can bungkus

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • Chow Wei Zhen on Sep 15, 2020 at 5:11 pm

Looks beauty design. Keep it up

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • Mee Hailam on Sep 15, 2020 at 5:20 pm

Quote: The Chinese brand’s pronounced front fenders are to be found here again, this time flowing into a shoulder line that doesn’t look quite as derivative of the Range Rover Evoque as on the X70.

Question: Why do we refer this as a Chinese brand? Isn’t it our homegrown Malaysian brand Proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 18
      • Jonathan Lee (Member) on Sep 15, 2020 at 5:33 pm

That design characteristic is a trademark of Geely, which is why I wrote it as such.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
        • Mee Hailam on Sep 15, 2020 at 5:38 pm

But we Malaysians want this as our local product. Pls refer to this as a Malaysian car. Otherwise, we will always be known as a rebadger.

I think we have to start calling this car a Malaysian car for a start.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 39
          • Malaysian car? What are you smoking every night lah? LOL!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
          • seancorr (Member) on Sep 15, 2020 at 6:57 pm

Malaysian? The only Malaysian stuff I can find on it is the grill, the emblem and the rear AC vents. Everything else is designed and engineered by Geely in China. Please comment with facts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 11
          • BenStealer on Sep 15, 2020 at 7:15 pm

I see what u’re trying to do: Troll.

U want the reader to indirectly highlight the fact that this car is essentially a re-badge. So u play dumb.

I could almost guarantee you’re a P2 fan/salesman. U wanna return the criticism, yes? U can see that P1 can become no.1 again, kan?

The thing is, Malaysians already knew the car’s origin and we do not think it’s a bad thing. Not when it genuinely try to give us *safer*, beautiful and feature-packed car for reasonable money. And challenge those spec-kosong japs car or coffins on wheels.

Anyway, Proton already announced they’ll have 2 homegrown models in 5 years time. Don’t get me wrong, P2 has also progressed leaps and bounds.

So chill, compete like gentlemen and give us consumers the best value for our money, ya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 10
          • Copy Paste on Sep 15, 2020 at 11:28 pm

Copy paste: “So much fear from a rival brand salesman. Pity.”

• driver on Sep 16, 2020 at 10:02 am

Conversion from left to right driving is serious engineering works. To consider it mere rebadging is not quite accurate.

• Michael Chong on Sep 16, 2020 at 11:24 am

It has been confirmed that Geely did the RHD for Proton. Geely sent their engineers to Malaysia to do it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
          • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Sep 16, 2020 at 11:34 am

Nope. Don’t spread lies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
          • Michael Chong on Sep 16, 2020 at 11:28 am

I see the same troll with many names have come out. He loves to say “Dont get me wrong….”

So many people with different names like to use this phrase.

Ha ha. Spotted!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • “We”? Sorry bro, there is no “we” in YOU except your multiple personas.

• We are so exciting to see this. It is fun

• azrai on Sep 15, 2020 at 5:15 pm

Price tag? Bye2 Almera, Vios, Yaris, City, Civic, Jazz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 32
  • sakaisphere on Sep 15, 2020 at 5:17 pm

haha…takut trump later ban Google and apple mapps….

• The variant specs are huge let down. Shld hv follow the x70 scheme. Premium get only std engine. AEB only for flagship is just sucks. Even with such promising product proton is back to square one. Same old same old.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 22
    • seancorr (Member) on Sep 15, 2020 at 7:03 pm

What you smokin bro? X70 also get all the toys on the top spec variant. The std variant has nuts.

• Fanboy perhaps u wanna read back the brochure for x70 before selling. Every variant of x70 gets TGDI engine unlike x50. Premium x70 gets AEB n the top spec premium x adds only sunroof. But not premium x50. Proton is upselling the x50 via the flagship variant. U ppl think u are now Apple?

• So much fanboyism for a chinese car. LOL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 21
    • Donkey Kong on Sep 15, 2020 at 6:31 pm

So much fear from a rival brand salesman. Pity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
      • James on Sep 15, 2020 at 7:31 pm

DK has been around since 2016. No need to accuse old members of being rival salesmen.

• NoseBleeds on Sep 15, 2020 at 10:32 pm

Does being a member since 2016 means he/she is not a rival salesman? I am not proton fanboy or anything, I never bought one proton model my entire life but I sure am interested in this particular model since its been revealed in China. So does makes me a fanboy? You see, SUV here is either too pricy for the nicer ones and too unreliable for the cheaper ones – and it seems pricy by its unreliable standard. Proton bringing X50 slightly having the nicer SUV features with slightly priced above the cheaper ones is just what I need. Thats why I’m buying it.

• Vader on Sep 15, 2020 at 11:30 pm

DK writing style of the past is totally different than this nick today, and our resident Proton-hater is well known to steal nicks from past commentators.

• Kunta and his many fake names have been the resident P2 salesman here since 2017, and til today he is still going on spewing hate at rival brands. So what difference does it make him and DK? None.

• Michale So on Sep 15, 2020 at 7:34 pm

Boycott China

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 25
  • azrai on Sep 15, 2020 at 5:33 pm

A handsome car design by women.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • chiakc on Sep 15, 2020 at 5:36 pm

if the excutive spec is priced strategically, it should sapu most of the B seg sedan sales

well done proton n geely

i will be very happy to see proton emerge again as top car manufacturer in malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • Syerin on Sep 15, 2020 at 6:15 pm

Will it be competitive? What did you guys mean by that? This thing crushes the competition.

• Obamama on Sep 15, 2020 at 6:25 pm

Thumbs up: Proton 1.5 turbo 177hp
    Thumbs Down: BMW 2.0 twinturbo 180hp

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 19
    • Helixman on Sep 15, 2020 at 6:46 pm

Thumbs up: Proton 1.5 turbo 177hp
      Thumbs down: Honda 1.5 iMMD Hybrid 109hp & 1.5 I-VTEC Turbo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 7
    • seancorr (Member) on Sep 15, 2020 at 7:01 pm

Aww crap la you just had to go compare a rebadged vehicle to a true blue car with over 40 years of heritage. Why don’t you put it as BMW 2.0 twinturbo 258hp since you are comparing the top spec engine outputs?

• Obamama on Sep 15, 2020 at 7:45 pm

Don’t get me wrong. I still love beemer, the ride handling is still superior than Geely. But with this x50 price per hp, it looks very tempting.

• Michael Chong on Sep 16, 2020 at 11:29 am

I see the same troll with many names have come out. He loves to say “Dont get me wrong….”

So many people with different names like to use this phrase.

Ha ha. Spotted!

• Passat cc on Sep 17, 2020 at 2:37 am

Bmw ride is like shiate, vw rides better

• RTruth on Sep 18, 2020 at 3:02 pm

BMW = Big Man’s Wuss

• Bolster on Sep 15, 2020 at 6:55 pm

Hopefully no more honda SA to talk fake feedbacks about proton spare parts problems. Honda drivers should work harder to own X50 instead of being spending free time and always come to this website to talk badmouth about P1 and other brands. Enough is enough of giving fake info, honda SA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Why no powered tailgate?

• I'm impressed on Sep 15, 2020 at 9:45 pm

Aftermarket kan ada….just swing by brothers after you collect your car

• CHOONG on Sep 15, 2020 at 7:13 pm

Where is my paddle shifter and interior 7 colour ambient light?

• Gerald on Sep 15, 2020 at 11:56 pm

Wish had power tailgate fitted. Love the blue. Simply wow to have autonomous parking at this level.

• Proton X50 car really looks beautiful and just the right size. Much more balanced than Proton X70. Seldom seen a car with such design lines for a SUV. There’s a saying “Does it run as well as it looks? Can it go off mild off-road?” Road tests, thank you in advance.

• Gerald on Sep 16, 2020 at 1:21 am

I’d rather power tailgate than sunroof.

• Gerald on Sep 16, 2020 at 1:22 am

I’d rather power tailgate than sunroof. Hope Proton can retrofit it.

• have been wondered about the effect of announcing the price today or a couple of days/weeks/months later

as Proton is competing against Honda and based on the pricing of x70 and CR-V
    the premium variant (not the flagship variant) will probably be around RM 88k mark (15% off from the standard HR-V)
    n they like 8 so much, quite likely to buy one variant for RM 88,800

• Nasreen on Sep 16, 2020 at 4:11 am

Looks like a Japanese marrying European and their child is born Chinese…..who wants to risk their hardly earned money for a Chinese junk….buy a local car and live happy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
    • Troll slayer on Sep 17, 2020 at 12:05 am

Haha, you think salesman talk like that can still work? You forgot about how the more expensive X70 defied all the naysayers (you included, of course) trumpeting it will be dead on arrival? Nowadays, internet-savvy generation do their online research way before going to a car showroom.

• Local car? What local car are you talking about?

• MadKeddy on Sep 16, 2020 at 8:24 am

nice one. proton/geely should introduce X30 to wipe out all competition

• HappyFeet on Sep 16, 2020 at 12:50 pm

Is it not true about the spare parts problem? I’m very concerned about the X50 spare parts to be honest, although I’m seriously thinking about this car. I’ve read many negative comments about X70 spare parts problem.

• Li Peng on Sep 17, 2020 at 5:04 pm

I read that many X70 owners were surprised how cheap and easily available spare parts are.

• kairys on Sep 16, 2020 at 1:31 pm

So cruise control only available on Flagship model?

• Blur2 on Sep 17, 2020 at 8:38 am

“Proton has also announced that the order books will open starting tomorrow on Malaysia Day, September 16, with a booking fee of RM500. No pricing information has been released so far” – How to book if donno the exact price? KPDNKK should look into this matter. More and more companies are doing this now. Take people’s money first, then talk.

• Robinhood on Sep 25, 2020 at 2:12 pm

You have only yourself to blame if you place the booking. Proton never force you to do so. Proton is taking advantage of those who love to have an earlier taste of owning it. If you are not desperate, then keep your money first. By the way, also remember most of the problem will appear in the first batch of vehicles!!! Lol

• Local car? What local car are you talking about?

• Daniel on Sep 17, 2020 at 6:35 pm

Is there a 12V socket in the boot?

• Peter on Sep 18, 2020 at 11:30 am

can anyone confirm that standard or executive variant will have seven-inch digital instrument display?

• Proton user on Sep 18, 2020 at 3:42 pm

Usually hidden at center console. X70 like that.

• Chris P. Bacon on Sep 28, 2020 at 1:48 pm

It has a nice look and enough features to attract plenty of potential buyers to take a test drive.

If it has a smooth, rattle free ride, then I think Honda will see a big dent in their HRV sales.

• Gurdave Singh on Oct 02, 2020 at 1:27 pm

Hi PaulTan,
    2 questions.
    1. How is the sound system of the car? Does it get the Kenwood or equivalent system in the X70?
    2. The boot space? can you comfortably place large luggage bags or even golf bag – do believe golf enthusiast would like to know?

Appreciate your update on this.

• Takakuta on Oct 06, 2020 at 6:11 pm

Any stock sound system will sound good if properly tuned its EQ settings.

• Farah on Oct 29, 2020 at 10:41 am

X50 has the potential to become the next Myvi or Axia when you can see so many of them on the road