DRAG RACE: Proton X50 vs Honda HR-V vs BMW X1

There has been a slew of new information regarding the Proton X50 during the exclusive media drive at the Sepang International Circuit yesterday. Among those announced is the Flagship 1.5 TGDi’s century sprint time of 7.9 seconds, which is respectable.

To test those claims, Proton pitted the X50 against the most popular B-segment SUV in Malaysia, the Honda HR-V. This is not the hybrid variant, so power comes from a 1.8 litre four-cylinder SOHC i-VTEC engine, offering 142 PS at 6,500 rpm and 172 Nm at 4,300 rpm. A CVT drives the front wheels.

As a bonus, the F48 BMW X1 sDrive18i was also part of the line-up, and is perhaps closer to the X50 in terms of powertrain. Motive power for the Bavarian is the B38 1.5 litre three-cylinder turbocharged engine, offering 140 PS and 220 Nm of torque. Drive is sent to the front wheels through a seven-speed Steptronic dual-clutch transmission, good for a 0-100 km/h sprint of 9.6 seconds.

So, with the X50 having the upper hand in terms of output figures (at least on paper), how will it stack up against the competition? With 177 PS and 255 Nm and a seven-speed wet DCT, is it the fastest kid on the block? The answer might surprise you, so have a watch, and let us know what you think, below.

GALLERY: Proton X50 drive preview, Sepang International Circuit

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Troll Hunter on Oct 01, 2020 at 9:47 am

Desperate trolls incoming in 3…2…1..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • Jaguh kampung on Oct 01, 2020 at 10:50 am

tq proton and local proton handling and parts, syukur
      Job oppurtunity

• Syukur proton x50 din pick civic 1.5 187HP,

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Oct 01, 2020 at 2:37 pm

0-100 in 9.8s LOLOLOL much slower than my car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
          • Is a joke to compare with Japanese and German on Oct 01, 2020 at 4:03 pm

It show what ah beng and ahmad always like to talk about straight line sprint from 0-100. May be they do not know the engineering of the car where china still miles away to catch up even korean.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
          • Wkaka on Oct 02, 2020 at 5:24 pm

There will always be a faster car, like how my A3 1.8T (Stage 1) and 330i smokes pathetic boy racer Type-R-wannabe body kit Civics. PS at least change the rims, and those small brakes won’t be fooling anyone

• Sleepless night on Oct 01, 2020 at 3:30 pm

For sure these familiar trolls & their handlers/fixers from Rawang & Pagoh plantations are having an urgent meeting, all night long chatters & sleepless night to create a new diversion, fake story etc,
        However none of that will put a dent on X50.
        It really hurt – demoralized & borderline defeated to be their kind right now

• Jeremy on Oct 01, 2020 at 9:54 am

If Hafriz says this car is really honestly that good, I believe him.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • Sleepless on Oct 01, 2020 at 2:58 pm

Agreed wholeheartly Bro!
      He’s the first to book one and choose to do the full review soon on that unit itself.
      his own money, owner review POV.
      Zero Doubt pointing to Sir. Hafriz words.
      Every statements comes from him – legendary
      The best auto journalist and the Best Team in SEA
      The Production & writing Quality – Worldclass

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • Kipas, kipas, kipas lagi.

• Celup King on Oct 01, 2020 at 2:25 pm

Hentam, jangan tak hentam. Kalau tak hentam, jelaskan cepat-cepat.

• madmoz on Oct 01, 2020 at 10:04 am

Didn’t watch the video but cannot help wondering if Proton is overpaying their hand here? The X50 is already the most hyped up SUV for many a years, so is there any real need to milk it further with the slow drip of information. At this rate, anything but stellar drive reviews will be a let down.

Give us the price already Proton!

• Avenger on Oct 01, 2020 at 2:28 pm

It isn’t proton that decided to split their review here point by point. Proton doesn’t own PaulTan fyi.

• madmoz on Oct 01, 2020 at 5:09 pm

Ah but I didn’t mean these articles. I meant the previews and track day with nary a confirmed pricing given.

• Celup King on Oct 03, 2020 at 9:34 am

I am guessing it was a one day preview event with Proton demonstrating each new technology function on the X50. If PT chooses to write them individually, that is their prerogative. Like it or hate, you still have a choice to pick and choose which topics interest you, or skip X50 articles altogether, or see other automotive reviews that are more concise to your liking. PT has their way of doing things, doesn’t make them wrong if it disagrees with you.

• Jajabah on Oct 01, 2020 at 10:04 am

May I know the price please? Isn’t this a bit unethical?

• vivizurianti on Oct 01, 2020 at 10:13 am

Thanks for organizing the drag-race.

Now, how about comparing various car-handling situation, braking distance, and other comparative criteria? Real-world driving is much more than just acceleration in straight line, right?

• pomen on Oct 01, 2020 at 10:22 am

hahaha…no comment later proton fans butthurt

• Avenger on Oct 01, 2020 at 2:29 pm

No worries. Plenty of proton haters butthurting now. It hurts so bad, they are in too much pain to continue whacking. :-)

• Glad that Proton included BMW X1 in the test. I went for a test drive in BMW X1 last month and found it quite good except that there is some noise from the left back seat. The SA said probably the board behind not fitted well. Now with the info on X-50 and more importantly this test, I will give the X1 a skip and go for X-50.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • Delusion on Oct 01, 2020 at 3:16 pm

Totally no one cross shops a bmw with a proton except delusional ones

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
      • Pity Indo on Oct 01, 2020 at 4:04 pm

From German to China, may be you dont have budget at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
      • I beg to differ. Have you watched a review by 3 reputable motoring journalists who are existing BMW owners? If not, please go to Youtube and watch it and hear their comments on X-50. Not delusional about it. I tested the new BMW X-1 1.5 3 cylinders engine and know how it feels based on my preference. Now these 3 motoring journalists are giving first impression of X-50 vs BMW X1. I rather believe them than soemone that can’t that X-50 is a better product.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
  • Sleepless night on Oct 01, 2020 at 1:28 pm

The message from this video is :
    Bmw to Proton = upgrade (green)
    Proton to Bmw = downgrade (red)

• Pakulupapito on Oct 01, 2020 at 1:55 pm

Honda was great but lately the quality have gone down a little bit. My 3 year old hrv just send for inspection yesterday, 3 things needed to be replaced. A wheel bearing, and 2 lower arms. Thankfully the sc i go was quick and easy to give warranty replacement. But this is the second time i went for warranty claim. The first one is for the door hinges and side mirror motor or something. 2 times claim in 3 years. Thats not good at all. But at least my car doesnt have the fuel pump issue. Back to proton, nowadays H fans have have no right to bash proton car over quality because most mass produce car have almost the same quality level.

• Vious Tan on Oct 01, 2020 at 2:08 pm

Proton will or already have spare parts problem as they are in no direct control over it. What happen if their collaboration with Geely broke upon years to come? Then the car owners here will be hang in between!!

• Calvin on Oct 01, 2020 at 4:32 pm

Proton is half owned by Geely. Highly unlikely their relationship will turn up antagonistic to the extend of Renault/Nissan schism. Even at their lowest point did customers ever complained on hard to get spareparts from either Renault or Nissan?

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 01, 2020 at 5:26 pm

Proton already got spare parts issue la plus their technicians don’t even fully understand the X70 yet and here comes another one for them to learn. I understand if Nissan didn’t keep an extra AC cooling coil in their inventory but it’s unforgivable if Proton doesn’t even have engine oil or spark plugs stocked up for their X70. I can’t wait for more Proton owners to complain about the after sales coz right now it’s just the X70 owners bitching about the shock absorbers and the DCT overheating errors and some CBU owners ranting about the 6AT jerking even after software upgrades.

• X70 Owner on Oct 01, 2020 at 7:31 pm

Exactly bro.. DCT overheating and CBU owners ranting about the 6AT jerking. Its VW nightmare DCT all over again. Spare parts isu plus proton their technicians no clue fixing X70. We thot DRB alredi learned VW lesson well

• Fake News on Oct 03, 2020 at 9:36 am

No engine oil or sparkplugs? That sounds like fake news or perhaps some other backstory that lead to this happening….

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 01, 2020 at 10:03 pm

good, can show those stupid idiots who buy bmw x1 and damn proud of themselves

• Ah beng on Oct 01, 2020 at 11:27 pm

That drag race was so underwhelming bro lol, why do Malaysians get sick with the tiny eco engines

• Good review.. much better than the one posted by another car review mag, that fella just ‘f’ off bmw ?? Did proton pay him well ?

• Really? Haters here are accusing PT have been bought by Proton. If these jerks read what that car review mag wrote, they would wretch themselves over and over.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 03, 2020 at 11:09 am

btw, the 0-100 times tested by the reviewers is way different to those achieved