2020 Proton X50 launching in Malaysia on October 27

The Proton X50 will be officially go on sale in Malaysia on October 27, with a virtual launch set to take place at 10.50am next Tuesday. This was confirmed by a posting on the carmaker’s official Facebook page, which was accompanied by a short video that showcased parts of the B-segment SUV.

UPDATE: The Proton X50 has been officially launched, and it’s priced from RM79,200 to RM103,300. Full report here.

Even before its launch debut, the X50 appears to be a popular choice among car buyers, with over 20,000 bookings received in just two weeks after the order books were opened on Malaysia Day (September 16). The X50 is available in four variants – Standard, Executive, Premium and Flagship – with all of them being powered by a 1.5 litre turbocharged three-cylinder engine.

On the Standard, Executive and Premium variants, the engine features port injection and produces 150 PS (or 147 hp) at 5,500 rpm and 226 Nm of torque from 1,500 to 4,000 rpm. Meanwhile, the mill in the range-topping Flagship uses direct injection and serves up 177 PS (or 174 hp) at 5,500 rpm and 255 Nm from 1,500 to 4,000 rpm. Both direct- and port-injection versions will be paired with a seven-speed wet dual-clutch transmission as seen on the CKD X70.

Available equipment for the X50 include LED headlamps, automatic air-conditioning with second-row vents, an eight- or 10.25-inch touchscreen infotainment unit with GKUI 19, fabric or leather seat upholstery, an electronic parking brake with auto brake hold, 17- or 18-inch wheels, and a powered driver’s seat.

On the safety front, the X50, which has already received a five-star ASEAN NCAP rating, comes as standard with four airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist, stability control, hill start assist, hill descent control and rear ISOFIX child seat anchors. The Executive model gets six airbags, but the Flagship is the only one that gets Level 2 semi-autonomous driving features.

The list of driver assists include autonomous emergency braking with pedestrian detection, adaptive cruise control with stop and go, lane centring assist, lane keeping assist, auto high beam and blind spot monitoring with a door opening warning. There’s even a parking assist system that enables autonomous parallel and perpendicular parking manoeuvres.

We’ve already had plenty of time with the X50 during past media preview events (including one in Sepang), and you can find out everything you need to know about the compact SUV in our X50 info hub, here. Any guesses on pricing for all four variants?

GALLERY: 2020 Proton X50 1.5 TGDi Flagship

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Jeremy on Oct 22, 2020 at 11:32 am

I was right after all! They were going to launch it within these 2 weeks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
    • Danny Tay on Oct 22, 2020 at 11:53 am

wow. amazing. now predict the price pls.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
      • Anonymous on Oct 22, 2020 at 12:55 pm

I was right too! They were going to launch it within this year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
        • DPcraft on Oct 22, 2020 at 1:24 pm

book now can collect before deepavali?

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Oct 22, 2020 at 4:28 pm

20+K bookings can go early-XMAS already

• Booking cancel kuat on Oct 22, 2020 at 8:10 pm

After price announce at RM75k. Expect 50% cancellation. RM60k is more reasonable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 28
        • XHubby on Oct 22, 2020 at 1:42 pm

I was right too! They were going to launch it sooner or later.

• CMCOCO Tan on Oct 22, 2020 at 6:05 pm

Shall consider getting a city or vios. Add a little bit more to get a car that is more reliable and better RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
      • Jeremy on Oct 22, 2020 at 6:06 pm

I predict… from RM 1 to Rm 99,999. Ta – dah!

• macampondam on Oct 22, 2020 at 6:20 pm

betting

flagship 105k
        the rest sub 100k

• ABTguy (Member) on Oct 22, 2020 at 1:02 pm

Actually many only need the price information and delivery date of their orders. With or without launch event, online or offline does not matter. Proton could have used the current Covid19 situation to save some marketing money, instead of hiring some cyber ppl to create the media content.

• Vader on Oct 22, 2020 at 1:17 pm

Who are these cyber ppl creating media content you referring to?

• MagnaRS on Oct 22, 2020 at 2:32 pm

They still ve to hire the most creative & engaging digital contents provider to help them to capture the attention and relaying relevant information of their products to mass potential customers.
        From the short teaser clip, its probabbly still using the similar company, the CyberbangTV

• Ghani on Oct 22, 2020 at 3:10 pm

Trying times now, many applied bank loan payment assistance. So many jobless, bisnes lingkup, bangkerap, putus makanan… lagi2 x50.

• newme on Oct 22, 2020 at 1:15 pm

Yup you are right… but it still a china car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 19
      • TiredOfYou on Oct 22, 2020 at 3:27 pm

Same like your clothes, TV, smartphone, face mask, hand sanitizer.. basically everything that you have are all from China. Even your house is also made from materials from China. Better take everything off and live in the jungle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
        • newme on Oct 22, 2020 at 4:09 pm

Yes I do have China branded product but only cheap products like phone case. Btw, people are prefer Malaysian-made face mask over china made. And even China people prefer milk formula from overseas than China-made.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
          • Zahid on Oct 23, 2020 at 12:46 pm

You sure everything you have bar the phone case isn’t made in China? That’s a laugh, when even branded stuff are made in China. The phone/computer you used to type in this shit are most likely made in China. No way you can escape from China products.

• rider on Oct 22, 2020 at 4:09 pm

corona also!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • Manofwao on Oct 22, 2020 at 3:24 pm

See here
      https://paultan.org/2019/08/26/2020-proton-x50-suv-everything-we-know-so-far/

It says:
      “When will the Proton X50 be launched here? Will it be a locally-assembled model?

The question on everyone’s mind, to which no one has a clear answer until Proton officially gives a date. According to AmInvestment, the X50 is slated to arrive in October 2020 as a locally-assembled (CKD) model.”

Its not the only article that have mention about X50 possible launch date but this is the most accurate so far. I remember reading about this and I always kept in mind about the possible launch date/ or month. So I think you’ve subconsciously remember this possible launch date and assume that you’ve predicted it.

• Jeremy on Oct 22, 2020 at 6:09 pm

Nope. I mentioned it in this article https://paultan.org/2020/10/20/proton-x50-suv-production-not-affected-by-covid-19-outbreak-launch-to-happen-virtually-report/#comment-4987122

• DonkeyKong on Oct 22, 2020 at 11:35 am

Quick question before the launch – are Proton service centers up to standard now, and do they have sufficient spare parts for repairs? Is the X50 assembled with sub-standard components that fail within months with no parts to replace?

Proton has just proven in recent weeks that they are still maintaining their track record of lackadaisical service centers, sub-standard parts and lack of spare parts that were the hallmarks of Proton Preve and Suprima ownership and now, X70 ownership. Will the same fate happen to X50 owners?

Let’s face it. Li Chunrong is still focused on increasing market share instead of improving customer satisfaction. His China-made mentality is turning Proton into yet another high-volume “disposable product” manufacturer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 38
    • dont like it dont buy then as simple as that

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 7
    • Exactly.

Give and Take bos. Those are typical continental cars issue.
      Want pay cheap but more features, you get what you want already. Enjoy the new car, some say better than BMW and Benz brand new one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • Reborn Proton Fan on Oct 22, 2020 at 12:30 pm

Hope its not beli pakai buang proton again. Resale value mantap tiptop,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
    • Munche on Oct 22, 2020 at 12:54 pm

I just call up to the SA from Proton 4s center near me.
      He don’t even know about the news.

Don’t put too high expectation on Proton will improve with X50 over X70.
      X70 is already the premium car in Proton today.

• JOACHIM on Oct 22, 2020 at 2:27 pm

Cant say I blamed them, not everyone got so much free time to follow each new FB postings all day. They will surely be informed in due time when the official date is firmed.

• Ahcong on Oct 22, 2020 at 1:21 pm

Dont like dont buy loorr..nobody force you

• TiredOfyou on Oct 22, 2020 at 3:31 pm

“Proven” is such a strong word. Do you even know the total population in Malaysia? In that population, how many of them are Proton owners? In all the Proton owners, how many are Preve, Suprima, X70 owners? In all that how many of that owners experiencing the “happening” that you mentioned? You don’t have the statistics and yet you say it’s “proven”?

• FutureHere on Oct 22, 2020 at 5:58 pm

Since China became a Share Holder of Proton ………… Proton has Befitted tremendously from a “TIE UP” with Geely. OUR Tax payers MONEY are NOT WASTED to bail out incompetent CEO, managers,etc who came and when. And still has the “tongkat mentality” even after pouring BILLIONS of TAX payer money. WITHOUT Geely Partnership….. PROTON will be LIKE MAS now !!!

• Jeremy on Oct 22, 2020 at 6:11 pm

“Proven” when?

• ayayay on Oct 22, 2020 at 11:41 am

Niceeeee

• 20,000 owners waiting

• And for those who had just cancelled booking for city are also waiting for x50.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
      • Ex VGM staff on Oct 22, 2020 at 3:56 pm

Then later decided to go for all new turbo Almera.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
        • Yup thats the only when for those who also cancelled booking for City and decided either book for Almera or X50

• No,City was a bestselling car in malaysia.I heard 9,000 people buy this City.Bye2 Proton X50 and Almera

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 28
          • Only imagine yourself. But I heard that a lot of bookings have cancelled booking for City.

• Guardian on Oct 22, 2020 at 8:58 pm

Lol! So sad to see when pre-city booking buyers have decided to switch X50 and Almera. Sounds like you need to take Vaseline Cream to reduce your pain

• 4 airbags? No turbo? No 360 degree camera? Confirm your city will be DoA longer?

Once again to honda fanboys: time to change your job soon.

• Edwin L on Oct 22, 2020 at 11:44 am

Just booked Flagship model, excited giler siot!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • PlainBS on Oct 22, 2020 at 11:46 am

I thought half of the booking is canceled.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
  • lilytan on Oct 22, 2020 at 11:50 am

Those cars better be sanitized..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • Dong gor on Oct 22, 2020 at 11:52 am

What an auspicious date. Woohoo!

• My guess price starts from RM75,800 to RM93,800

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Oct 22, 2020 at 11:56 am

Can expect a lot more tailgaters on the road. Will the X50 steal the “Raja Jalan Raya” crown from the MyVi…?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
  • After leading the pack all the way, final lap on home stretch, fall face down….haiya

• kobid naiting on Oct 22, 2020 at 12:40 pm

sooo..just wonder if proton will reveal price for all variants or will keep the flagship price until next year..just like what H did..if yes just launch next year lorh..heard the flagship buyer will get their car next year if not mistaken.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • alldisc on Oct 22, 2020 at 1:24 pm

With Hafriz becoming 1st batch owner, paultan.org should have a long term test report.. Involving
    A. Ownership experience
    B. Invite readers to participate and give opinions.. Especially those who owns and drive cars in similar segment (CHR, HRV) or similar price (those between 90-110k).
    C. Comparison costs of FC when car is new versus at 10k and 30k
    D. Ownership experience especially running costs and also to include faults at delivery and other faults arising.
    E. Different dealership service experience. Easy parking, customer level of service, got nasi lemak or not, got pick up/delivery services, any extras offered or forced to pay eg oil treatment.
    F. Warranty claims process and parts availability.

In my knowledge
    Toyota will give free wheel alignment during first 1k service.
    Proton charge owners, but this was several years back.

Toyota will also entertain brake judder complaints during warranty period (10 years ago up to 3 yrs 100k, now not sure).
    Proton will absorb brake judder problem under warranty if mileage is below 20k km, or else it will treat as normal wear and tear. Customer pay.

This way… You will help Proton to improve its after sales service. They will appreciate – they also do it and naming it as Mystery Shopper programme.

You may also make coverage of the dealerships.. Which I believe will help promoting them.. And hopefully they will take it on a positive note (free marketing).

After some time.. Proton may want to offer giving you more cars as long term test.

Many car companies may also follow, who knows?

• Proton will be giving 3 years or 60,000km free maintenance – incl parts and labour for first 10,0000 customers :-)

• Jeremy on Oct 22, 2020 at 5:13 pm

Proton X50 class rival is premium crossrider.
        Benz GLA, Lexus UX, Audi Q2, Mazda CX30…

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 24, 2020 at 3:39 pm

proton still charge u for alignment and balancing, only then will they reset the tpms on the x70

• Jonnie on Oct 22, 2020 at 1:30 pm

Nowadays, more and more brands are launching new cars for Malaysia market with built in Android Auto/Apple CarPlay feature. I’ve got a Persona VVT and have long switched the player to Sony for the mentioned feature, really happy with it. Eventhough now most Proton cars come with GKUI, its still lacking in terms of UI and user’s options, the system is fixed with only Alibaba map service, and Joox Music. I’ve been an active subscriber for Spotify Premium, and I wouldn’t wanna pay to subscribe for yet another music service provider, not to mention my preference for Spotify over Joox. Really hope that Proton would design the next gen Persona/Saga with AA or Carplay built in.

• 25yrsOld on Oct 22, 2020 at 4:42 pm

Yes, what a frustrating screen.
      I rather invest for 3rd party. Lazy to service those features not to Malaysian taste.

Rather buy China made Android HUD.

• autodriver (Member) on Oct 23, 2020 at 11:10 am

Proton is owned by Geely and it is from China. None of the China brand comes with Android Auto or Apple Carplay. In China there is no Google service and Android is under Google, so the chances of getting Android Auto in Proton is ZERO. Apple Carplay is possible but it also subject to the China and US political issue.

• tyuris on Oct 24, 2020 at 11:43 pm

Umm, I think you’re partially incorrect. Its not China brand that won’t come with Google service. Its particular to a few certain brand and future models. Some old models from the brand that being banned still have Google service licenses and still can use it as long as its a variation from the same model even if its being announced after the ban being placed. Also its very possible to sideload the service (with ample tutorial from the web). Furthermore, does the ban for Google service is for the whole China, any android device made by any Chinese company or just for a few major (and telecommunication) companies?
        Also, DRB-HICOM have a 0.1% more shares over Geely so you can’t say Proton is owned by Geely.

• Ouh okay

• Amran on Oct 22, 2020 at 3:51 pm

Aku gaji rm7000 pun pakai saga flx je..

• Predict on Oct 22, 2020 at 5:40 pm

It will cost Rm100k up

• msia driver on Oct 22, 2020 at 6:25 pm

even if starting price above rm100k, this super hot car ( best in Malaysia since history), it still no problem at all that can sell at least 9-10k units per day here

• Imran on Oct 23, 2020 at 12:12 am

My wife company car x70 dct less than 7000 km used .transmission is jerky and rough gear changes slow and at times hessitant. Complain service center no difference. Dont think this car will be reliable post warranty

• Zahid on Oct 23, 2020 at 12:42 pm

Nice try competitor salesman. Thumbs up fr yr effort but thumbs down on the way you go about.

• autodriver (Member) on Oct 23, 2020 at 11:00 am

Wrong strategy applied by Proton marketing team. Spent so much on advertisement and media test drive but end up “virtual launching” and it is likely without media presented due to CMCO. Proton should have launched is earlier and after launching surely people will pay visit to showroom and even more orders will be collect on the spot.

This suppose to create a high impact during the launching but now it has to be silent and the launch must happen. No way to delay as no one can predict what will happen on this pendamic period. Of course Proton didn’t expect CMCO again but the delay just pay the price.

• With the current C19 spike, lots of people will probably think twice about spending hard earned money on new cars while job security is so uncertain…..

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 24, 2020 at 3:38 pm

exciting times ahead