2020 Nissan Almera Turbo vs Honda City 1.5L, Proton X50 – we compare maintenance costs up to 100k km

In Malaysia, there are currently three models that are likely to be on the watchlist of most car buyers looking for a B-segment car. These include the Proton X50 and Honda City, which were launched back in October, and joined by the Nissan Almera Turbo that went on sale earlier this month.

While the City and Almera are direct competitors, the X50 caters towards those who favour SUVs instead of sedans. Nonetheless, these are the “hot” cars in the current climate, with prices that somewhat overlap one another: Almera (RM79,906-RM91,310); X50 (RM79,200-RM103,300); City (RM74,191-RM86,561).

Deciding between the three is largely dependant on what you prefer and your budget, but that’s not the focus of this post. Instead, we’re comparing the servicing costs of the models mentioned here, so you are well informed before putting your money down on any one of them.

Before we begin, some disclaimers. Firstly, we’ve already made a comparison involving the City and X50 before, so the only thing new here is the addition of the Almera to the picture. Secondly, the Almera’s service interval is shorter at 7,000 km/six months, compared to the other two that have an interval of 10,000 km/six months.

Given that we typically compare service costs up to 100,000 km or five years, the Almera over 98,000 km (the closest to 100,000 km) runs up to seven years, two more than the City and X50. We’ll also mention service items that are required beyond that point, or are recommended by the carmaker.

Referring to the total maintenance cost over five years alone, the Almera is significantly cheaper than both the City and X50. The reason for this huge discrepancy is because the Almera comes with five times free service that covers parts and labour, applicable to the 7,000-, 21,000-, 35,000-, 49,000- and 63,000-km mileages.

This isn’t offered with the other two, although they do come with five times free labour service – only applicable to the first 30,000 customers for the X50. This omits the labour cost for major services, which helps the keep ownerships cost down, as the Almera’s free service only covers engine oil changes, windscreen washer refills and cabin filter replacements.

So, over five years, the Almera is certainly cheaper to own, but if we compare costs over mileage, things are a little different. Up to 98,000 km, the Almera is costlier to maintain compared to the City, but is still cheaper than the X50.

Both the Almera and X50 use fully-synthetic engine oil, while the City gets semi-synthetic lubricant as standard. However, Honda customers can request for fully-synthetic oil for their City, which brings up the price to RM130.80 (including drain plug gasket), to a grand total over 100,000 km/five years to RM3,830.81. Even with that, the City is still the cheapest of the lot to maintain, although by a smaller margin.

Looking at the individual tables, the City requires fewer engine oil filter changes compared to the Almera and X50, which require a replacement at every service interval. The X50 sees its engine air filter changed the most at five times, but it’s only three times for the Almera and City, with the Nissan sedan having the lowest part price.

Similarly, over 100,000 km, the Proton SUV requires the cabin filter to be swapped out five times, compared to four times for the Almera, and three times for the City – although the overall difference in cost is just a few ringgits.

As for transmission oil, Nissan recommends new CVT oil every 84,000 km or 48 months, whichever comes first. Meanwhile, the X50 only replaces its DCT oil at the 90,000-km/54-month mark, whereas the City’s CVT needs new lube at the 40,000-km/24-month intervals. At a cost of RM413.75 (including the plug washer and before labour), the Almera is the priciest when it comes to transmission oil replacement, followed by the City and X50.

Of the three cars, the Almera and X50 are powered by turbocharged three-cylinder engines, but the latter uses regular spark plugs – three of them – that are changed more frequently every 40,000 km/24 months. The Almera’s platinum spark plugs cost more, but are only changed at the 98,000-km/84-month mark, while the City uses four iridium spark plugs that are swapped out at the 100,000-km/60-month mark – the costliest out of all.

Other notable mentions include fuel filter changes, which happen every 20,000 km for the X50, but the City only gets a new one at the 140,000-km/84-month mark, with nothing of the sort for the Almera. Nissan also recommends a coolant change for the Almera at 98,000 km/84 months, while the City does this at 200,000 km/ten years, and the X50 at 60,000 km/36 months.

Other service items not stipulated in these tables include the Almera’s drive (serpentine) belt – the engine uses a timing chain – which Nissan recommends to be replaced (if necessary) every 28,000 km or 24 months at a cost of RM151 (including RM14 labour). Other recommended services include wheel alignment (RM30) and balancing (RM35) every 21,000 km or 12 months.

Nissan also quotes RM387 (including RM42 labour) for front brake pads and RM412 (including RM63 labour) for rear brake shoes, although these items will only be replaced upon inspection and if deemed necessary. The City uses a timing chain and the maintenance schedule doesn’t include a drive belt, while the X50 needs a new timing (RM195.16) and drive (serpentine) belt (RM112.89) at 110,000 km/66 months.

As usual, servicing costs are just one aspect of vehicle ownership, and there are plenty of other things to consider. General wear and tears items like tyres are a good example, which would be cheaper for the sedans mentioned that have wheel sizes ranging from 15 to 16 inches, while the X50’s alloys are between 17 to 18 inches in size.

The braking system on the Almera and City also employ two discs at the front and drum brakes at the rear, which would be cheaper to maintain compared to the X50’s four disc brakes. There’s more, as given their differing body styles, the cost of tinting and coating is typically less for sedans, and this also extend to car washes, which is something that follows you throughout ownership. The frequency and distance of travel will also impact how much fuel you use.

Looking at the tables, the City is indeed the cheapest of the three to maintain over 100,000 km, but there’s more to add to the conversation. Yes, if you own an Almera and use it heavily (high mileage user), you’ll be visiting the service centre more frequently given its shorter mileage service interval.

However, if you’re the the sort that usually services your car based on the time interval (every six months, as in you drive less than 7,000/10,000 km in the time), the Almera will prove to be the cheaper to maintain by quite a margin, up to the five-year mark.

It’s also important to keep in mind that these costs are spread out over the years, so in the end, the difference isn’t that significant. Be that as it may, it’s good to have some understanding of maintenance costs and their importance when buying a new car.

Learn more: , ,

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 23, 2020 at 5:23 pm

Wow that’s a big plus coming from the Nissan camp.

• Edwin L on Nov 23, 2020 at 6:40 pm

Nice Almera. but is still better to get Mazda2 since is zero maintenance costs for 5years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
    • Smart Graduate on Nov 23, 2020 at 8:22 pm

Always trust the proven Japanese quality and reliability.

Forget anything else, thank you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
      • Trust this with our lives? How many lives we need to lose before we lose trust?
        https://paultan.org/2020/10/30/toyota-fuel-pump-recall-grows-to-5-84-million-vehicles/
        https://paultan.org/2020/06/18/honda-malaysia-recalls-55354-units-over-fuel-pump/
        https://paultan.org/2020/01/17/nissan-recalls-345700-cars-in-latest-us-takata-batch-10-million-inflators-recalled-for-14-automakers-report/

• Li Peng on Nov 24, 2020 at 2:00 am

Yes. A Nissan driven 70,000km is cheaper than a Honda or Proton driven 100,000km. What a miracle!

• Shafrul on Dec 11, 2020 at 9:06 pm

70001 – 100000 (30 k) what is the cost than. If you want to compare.

• newme on Nov 23, 2020 at 5:33 pm

This is why turbo is not as preferred as it thought. Apart from more expensive maintenance, it is more likely to breakdown especially when it is designed by companies that does not have strong technical department but relying on copying other brands like Landwind X7, Geely GE & Geely Merrie 300.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 16
    • Aura89 on Nov 23, 2020 at 7:27 pm

Turbos are less problematic than faulty fuel pumps which could seize suddenly without warning.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • Hong Yee Hong on Nov 23, 2020 at 8:24 pm

Give a five!

• Bruh... on Nov 23, 2020 at 9:22 pm

Still living in a cave don’t ya, stuck to pre-ww2 era. Turbo has been very reliable since the 90’s, pretty much maintenance-free. Provided the engine is left stock factory specs. The maintenance requirements has never been far off any N/A engine. Notice the article above didn’t mention any turbo servicing whatsoever.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
      • newme on Nov 24, 2020 at 9:16 am

Turbo is only reliable with companies with good legacy
        of technical knowledge, not on company yang baru berjinak2 ngan turbo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
        • john is otak batu on Nov 24, 2020 at 10:52 am

Agree brader! Reliability is much less than a natural aspirated engine. Break down not even 8 years. until today cars like VW using turbo charge engine r hard to maintain & much costly. RV also drop like flies. Ppl avoid them like plague.

• Hmmm... on Nov 24, 2020 at 2:53 pm

Seems you have ever own a turbo only from VW. Other manufacturers have been really good with their turbocharged engine. The japs, hardly any problems with turbo whatsoever. I myself own a turbocharged from 98′ already pass 450,000 mark, that’s over 20 years. Only regular maintenance just like any other N/A. I’ve only recalibrated(balancing) the turbo once it pass 200,000 and still running fine today. People believe too much into the myths.

• taknakjepunis on Nov 24, 2020 at 12:41 pm

Jepunis turbo slower, needs 4 stroker but output like 3 stroker rival

• Bruh... on Nov 24, 2020 at 2:42 pm

The Japanese and German’s for their mainstream cars are using a turbo from selected manufacturers mostly sourced from Japan, europe and US, not created in-house themselves. Why would newcomer create a new turbo when they can sourced it cheaply like others? It probably have the same turbo inside the Civic or Beemers. Reliability pretty much nailed there.

• newme on Nov 24, 2020 at 5:06 pm

Well, just like the infamous turbo bocor from Proton.

• Bruh... on Nov 24, 2020 at 8:14 pm

I take that as an isolated case cherry picked by you since there’s no huge uproar over the internet like how they failed their power windows or cheap interior.

• Do you even know what are you talking about? Even Chinese brands that are guilty of plagiarising others have sound engineering with reliance on various established technical partners, an example is this recently posted https://paultan.org/2020/11/20/maxus-t60-4wd-automatic-debuts-rm99888-otr/

• Choices on Nov 23, 2020 at 5:47 pm

Is it normal for less servicing interval?

Of cuz, its good and healthy for long term, even short term.

Any turbo car that service less than 10,000km mileage interval right now?
    Other than Almera Turbo

• Gabriel on Nov 23, 2020 at 8:44 pm

Honda Civic, Honda CRV…just to name a few.

• Ollie on Nov 25, 2020 at 10:51 pm

400rm difference over 5 years, if you drive even a low 50,000km over that 5 years, is RM 0.01 per Km. Don’t be obsessed over these silly numbers. Total cost of ownership is key. See Below

• azrai on Nov 23, 2020 at 6:44 pm

And the reality now is more and more people want to let go their rides only after 2 years.

• dong gor on Nov 23, 2020 at 6:56 pm

Same segment and price range means their schedule maintenance cost is also abang adik lar.i don’t think this will be a factor for consumer to chose between the cars at all! what is more important is the untold tales of product reliability after warranty period which will cost the owner the bomb. an easy projection of this is based on the new technology being incorporated to the car.

• Ollie on Nov 23, 2020 at 7:33 pm

Always divide by km driven. Then you’ll realize the per km difference is a few cents. Total cost of ownership is a sum total of insurance, tax, fuel consumption, maintenance and normal wear and tear items and depreciation. Only then you’ll know what you’re actually spending. All the above is able to be obtained through Google and some basic assumptions.

• Hong Yee Hong on Nov 23, 2020 at 8:23 pm

The Alemra is more handsome in my opinion. While the City is more reliable in this competition (for sure), and nicer driving experience in overall (if you are a real car guy, cause that 1.0L turbo engine + Nissan CVT is just SUCKS!)
    Is there another car here? No right?

• X50 sweeps the floor off them all.

• Sure... on Nov 24, 2020 at 1:00 am

Neither of them are for real car guy. Beside, city handling like a boat. In fact, both of them are.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 23, 2020 at 9:18 pm

beware of the hidden costs

• Amran on Nov 24, 2020 at 6:24 am

Price of tyre also bro..

• tricycle on Nov 24, 2020 at 6:44 am

Almera n x50 awesome, got turbo.

City boring, no turbo no fun

• Pierre on Nov 24, 2020 at 7:30 am

are your serious? compare with not same segment cars?

• Unknown on Nov 24, 2020 at 8:58 am

Why compare with other segment? Why not nit compare same segment & same cc? Like CRV or other else SUV..? ITS LOOK NOT FAIR..& OF COZ CUSTOMER WILL LOOK FORWARD TO ALMERA & CITY IF YOU DONE LIKE THIS. ARTICLE LIKE IDIOT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • Sensible on Nov 24, 2020 at 10:24 am

It’s simple really, Malaysian are cost minded, people who can afford a CX-3 or a top spec HRV for example are not swayed by what X50 offers (some of them might, but Malaysians are also “badge” sensitive). So a lot of people who eye the X50 are those who actually don’t mind an SUV but initially only able to afford B-Segment sedans. But after seeing the price of X50, they see more value for the money they’re spending on it and they usually only consider the initial cost, not the maintenance. So basically different segments, but same target market.

• Lebih on Nov 24, 2020 at 9:45 am

All this 3 cars price not much different. No need compare too much, go test drive and see which you like that all.

• Sensible on Nov 24, 2020 at 10:25 am

Test

• Ben Yap on Nov 24, 2020 at 10:41 am

Honda city is cheaper to maintain than both almera and proton x50. honda badge also more sought after. so a wise man spends his money where the cost is lower but still given u better brand image.

• Im Just Here To on Nov 24, 2020 at 3:12 pm

What badge? What RV? For a wise person, the choice is pretty obvious, right? Although Almera is appealing, (I couldn’t say the same for it’s sedan counter-part) But X50 is a no-brainer among these three. Reason? although its compact, its the closest to anyone who desire an SUV .. to own an SUV.. and packed with a lot more features than those two.. period.