G01 BMW X3 xDrive30i M Sport updated: AEB, RM324k

2019 BMW X3 xDrive30i M Sport shown

The G01 BMW X3 xDrive30i has quietly been updated in Malaysia with a new M Sport model that replaces the 2019 version. It costs an additional RM20,000 over the unchanged RM304,235 Luxury variant, bringing the price up to RM324,235 on-the-road without insurance or the sales and service tax (SST). That’s an increase of just RM70 over the outgoing model for what is a significant jump in safety equipment.

As per 2019, the car comes with the M Sport package, consisting of a more aggressive front bumper design, deeper side skirts, a grey rear bumper insert and body-coloured cladding and wheel arch trim. The car also rides on 20-inch double-spoke style 699 M alloy wheels in a two-tone finish and comes with gloss black exterior trim, including the window trim and Air Breather vents.

Inside, you get a thicker M steering wheel, metal pedals, brushed aluminium trim and M-badged side sill scuff plates. Also fitted are passive M Sport suspension and M Sport brakes with blue callipers.

2019 BMW X3 xDrive30i M Sport shown

The extra kit goes on top of everything offered on the Luxury model, such as LED headlights, a projected Welcome Light Carpet, keyless entry, push-button start, triple-zone climate control, powered front seats with driver’s side memory, Vernasca leather upholstery, a 12.3-inch digital instrument display, a 10.25-inch centre touchscreen, a 12-speaker, 205-watt sound system, a reverse camera and a hands-free powered tailgate.

Both X3 models also receive auto high beam and the Parking Assistant. However, the M Sport is the only one to get the Driving Assistant package, incorporating autonomous emergency braking, lane departure warning, blind spot monitoring, rear cross traffic alert and rear collision prevention. The Luxury still doesn’t come with any of these vital active safety features, so make sure you know what you’re buying.

As before, the X3 xDrive30i is powered by a B48 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder petrol engine, producing 252 PS from 5,200 to 6,500 rpm and 350 Nm of torque between 1,450 and 4,800 rpm. With an eight-speed ZF automatic gearbox and all-wheel drive, it gets from zero to 100 km/h in 6.3 seconds and is capable of a combined fuel consumption figure of 7.6 litres per 100 km.

GALLERY: 2019 BMW X3 xDrive30i M Sport

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Dec 02, 2020 at 3:00 pm

X1 and X2 all KO by X50 already.
    X3 above still survive as premium

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 34
    • Not really KO at all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
      • Sour Rakyat Malaysia on Dec 02, 2020 at 8:14 pm

Advise current x50 buyer to upgrade next car to HRV and after that upgrade to harrier then X1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
    • agreed if and only if you are referring to the x1 sdrive 18i with its less powerful engine cuz that’s only thing the x50 has over the x1sdrive18i , but still, the x1 sdrive20i is still a compelling package, not to mention the xc40 with its 252 hp and more elaborate safety features compared to both the x50 and this 300k++ x3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
      • Asura on Dec 02, 2020 at 6:04 pm

Meh? Are u saying that x1 sdrive 18i is less powerful? I drove x1 sdrive 18i, just few months ago, can feel something got more power. Come with 7 dct. And also with more package like autonomous emergency braking under driving assistant package. Even this x3 m sport already just have but not luxury x3 variant. And also not for x1 sdrive 20i where still didn’t come with driving assistant package at all, despite more powerful.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • (Dude) on Dec 02, 2020 at 4:22 pm

I sell see lots of new X1 on the road (including the sDrive18i)
      But X50?? I hardly seen one even tough 20k bookings. Only a few who are owners in the neighbourhood.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
    • KO? Wait X1 and X2 next gen….then see who K.O….just GLA and GLB Now

• German> japanese> korean> china on Dec 02, 2020 at 8:15 pm

Hahahahahaha. Nice comparison of Bmw and Cina X 50.

• M & B on Dec 02, 2020 at 3:00 pm

Good job BMW. Kudos

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 02, 2020 at 3:26 pm

Better to phase out the Luxury model since it’s no longer relevant to BMW’s new lineup.

• blardy on Dec 02, 2020 at 4:29 pm

Should call it Essential package rather than Innovation.

• Bieight on Dec 02, 2020 at 5:34 pm

Passive suspension…

• Jia Ren on Dec 02, 2020 at 6:13 pm

Bring it on

• heybadigol (Member) on Dec 02, 2020 at 8:57 pm

Actually, the Driving Assistance Package can actually be retrofitted by some car accessory shop, for those who brought BMWs before the AEB was added. The innovation package does appear like a good deal though. Those 20 inch rims and rather fat P Zeros (on an SUV) are rather expensive. Just curious, does this new package include rear seats that can recline further back? Overseas X3 has this function, but not sure why in Malaysia, was omitted.

• Scotta on Dec 03, 2020 at 8:55 am

Geting Driving Assistant Package from car accessory shop for non-AEB BMWs? I think it is impossible. The most possibly you only can get is from showroom/original dealers since Optional of Driving Assistant Package is already available like New BMW M4 Competition

• Semi-Value (Member) on Dec 02, 2020 at 11:06 pm

proton x70 can do much more for a much lower price. ini bmw harga yahudi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 17
  • James on Dec 02, 2020 at 11:35 pm

Why do people keep taking x50 and compare to luxury car? It’s like comparing the cheapest iphone to a high end android phone.

• Because those who intuned with iphone ecosystem will appreciate more the lowest iphone than uber expensip android. Just like those who prefers X50 will appreciate their cars more than uber expensip BMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Good