Toyota GR Yaris launched in Malaysia – WRC special with 261 PS 1.6L turbo, AWD, 6-speed manual, RM299k

Nearly a year on from its reveal at the Tokyo Auto Salon, the most hyped hot hatch of the past decade has finally arrived in Malaysia. The Toyota GR Yaris has been launched, making it the second Toyota Gazoo Racing product to make its debut here after the GR Supra.

UPDATE: The GR Yaris is now priced at RM286,896 on-the-road without insurance, inclusive of the sales tax exemption that will be valid till June 30, 2021.

Less than 200 units will be made available locally, priced at RM299,000 on-the-road without insurance. For that, you get the top-of-the-line Performance Pack which, as the name suggests, adds a whole host of performance-enhancing goodies, which we’ll come to in a second.

For a limited time, buyers will also receive an Early Bird Package that includes a helmet bag, a GR Yaris scale model and a GR Yaris Driving Experience next year. The pack is said to be worth RM5,000, which presumably makes up the saving you get from a 50% reduction in the sales and services tax (SST). The three available colours are Platinum White Pearl, Emotional Red II and Precious Black.

The GR Yaris is a homologation special of sorts, enabling Toyota’s World Rally Championship (WRC) team to bake in some crucial hardpoints for the what was supposed to be next year’s rally car. That car was unfortunately cancelled due to the coronavirus pandemic, but the GR Yaris is still no less fascinating.

The pocket rocket is the only variant of the European and Japanese Yaris to come with three doors, and its bespoke body is 45 mm lower than the regular five-door. More importantly, the trailing edge of the roof is a whopping 95 mm lower, allowing for the fitment of a larger and more efficient rear wing on the WRC car.

Pronounced fender flares give the car a thuggish stance and add 60 mm in width. The massive rectangular lower grille feeds air into the engine, radiator and intercooler, while the vertical air intakes on either side cool the brakes. At the rear, you’ll find a large lower diffuser and twin round exhaust pipes. The front splitter, bumper corner lips, mostly flat underfloor and rear spoiler help increase downforce and reduce drag.

The dashboard has been largely carried over but with a few detail changes. The 4.2-inch multi-info display gets a screen that shows the workings of the all-wheel-drive system, the setup of which can be manipulated using the rotary controller ahead of the gearlever. Speaking of which, the shifter has been raised by 50 mm, putting it closer to the driver’s reach and allowing for faster shifts.

Also fitted are sports seats with increased cushion padding and thinner backs, a three-spoke GR steering wheel and specially-positioned sports pedals. As for practicality, the GR has a much smaller boot at just 174 litres, though you can still fold the 60:40 split-folding rear seats for more luggage space if you so wish.

The bespoke componentry extends to the engine, a G16E-GTS 1.6 litre turbocharged three-cylinder. Touted as both the largest and most powerful three-cylinder in production as well as the smallest and lightest 1.6 litre turbo around, it comes with D-4S port and direct injection, as well as a single-scroll turbo integrated with the exhaust manifold.

We get the European-spec engine that produces 261 PS at 6,500 rpm and 360 Nm of torque from 3,000 to 4,600 rpm – 11 PS and 10 Nm down on the Japanese one. Even so, it gets from zero to 100 km/h in just 5.5 seconds on its way to an electronically limited top speed of 230 km/h.

In what will be music to the ears of purists, the GR Yaris is only available with a six-speed manual gearbox, complete with a rev-matching function. The GR-Four all-wheel-drive system has been developed specifically for the car – Toyota’s first such system in 20 years – and ditches the heavy centre differential in favour of a multi-plate clutch in the rear differential to distribute torque to the front and rear wheels.

Drivers have three different settings for the torque split to choose from. In Normal mode, the car sends around 60% to the front wheels and 40% to the rear, whereas Sport mode has a 30:70 split to add some rear-drive handling characteristics. Track mode dials it back to a 50:50 split for maximum performance. The system also comes with a rear-axle disconnect function that allows drivers to yank the manual handbrake (instead of the electronic parking brake in the standard Yaris) to slide into a corner.

This all-wheel-drive system is the reason why Toyota has spliced up two of its platforms for the GR Yaris. The front end retains the same GA-B underpinnings as the standard car, but the rear end uses the C variant from the Corolla and C-HR instead. This allows the fitment of double wishbones at the rear, making space for the differential and half shafts.

At the front, the MacPherson strut suspension has been retained but sports reinforced hub bearings, lower arms and their associated bushings, plus revised anti-roll bars and redesigned knuckles that increase negative camber and optimise the car’s roll steer characteristics. The bespoke dampers have increased response, while the steering has been retuned for greater alacrity and feedback.

Going hand-in-hand with the uprated chassis, the body shell has been stiffened and lightened for this application, with increased spot welds and structural adhesive and a reinforced rear end. A forged carbon roof and aluminium doors, tailgate and bonnet shave around 27.5 kg and enable the body to weigh around 38 kg less than the previous Yaris. All-in-all, the GR Yaris tips the scales at 1,280 kg.

Remember what we said about the Performance Pack goodies? Get some tissues to wipe up your drool, because our GR Yaris gets Torsen limited-slip differentials at the front and rear to shuffle torque from side to side. Also fitted are lightweight 18-inch BBS ten-spoke forged alloy wheels and Michelin Pilot Sport 4S tyres, along with stiffer springs and anti-roll bars, retuned dampers and tweaked power steering settings.

There are also GR-badged, red-painted brake callipers – the four-piston front stoppers clamp on 356 mm discs (even larger than the Supra’s), while the two-piston rear callipers are matched to 297 mm discs.

Standard equipment includes LED headlights, daytime running lights, fog lights and taillights, keyless entry, push-button start, dual-zone automatic climate control, a head-up display, a front dashcam, an auto-dimming rear-view mirror, a display audio system with a seven-inch touchscreen, Apple CarPlay and Android Auto connectivity, a reverse camera and six speakers.

Despite the performance bent, the GR Yaris doesn’t compromise on safety, as it’s fitted with the full Toyota Safety Sense suite of driver assists. These include autonomous emergency braking with oncoming vehicle detection, daytime cyclist detection and nighttime pedestrian detection, adaptive cruise control, lane centring assist, lane keeping assist and automatic high beam. Six airbags and stability control also come standard.

GALLERY: 2021 Toyota GR Yaris

GALLERY: 2021 Toyota GR Yaris official images

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Datuk R on Dec 17, 2020 at 8:23 pm

This is a steal,
    Crafted at Lexus LFA, motomachi Plant,
    Only 25,000 will be crafted bespoke as TNGA-GRfour (Yaris WRC homologation, turbo AWD)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 57
    • Civic Turbo 2018 on Dec 18, 2020 at 10:48 am

Both 300K. Big VS Small
      (Like) Civic Type-R 4pots C-Seg 2.0T
      (Dislike) T Yaris GR 3pots B-seg 1.6T

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 42
      • Copy and Paste II on Dec 18, 2020 at 12:53 pm

Copy and Paste II: “ Yaris anytime. Roadtax rm120 only”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
      • Rabbit on Dec 18, 2020 at 1:38 pm

Yo, Civic Type R cost RM330k, more expensive than Yaris GR cost RM300k

• passion on Dec 18, 2020 at 3:32 pm

Volvo S60 T8 cost RM290k, 408HP 670NM.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 12
          • 25yrsOld on Dec 30, 2020 at 9:10 am

Masuk track, terus battery kong.
            Cornering pun masuk rumput.

Not good for track racer.
            Only good for 0-400m emotional race.

• 10% more expensive but better at every single corner. i choose type-R

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
    • This car is not about Hp vs Hp to Nm vs Nm. It’s a TOYOTA hot hatch with rally kit. It’s about excitement. It’s for a person with passion. Trust me it will sold out fast and hold its resale value well.

• Kanapiah on Dec 17, 2020 at 8:30 pm

RM364k in Thailand. We saved a whopping RM65K here!! Tengkiu toyota… you loved Malaysia! we love you too!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 6
    • Ethan on Dec 17, 2020 at 8:58 pm

RM 121k in Australia! We save a whopping -RM178k!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 10
      • Logical Deduction on Dec 18, 2020 at 12:32 am

But someone once said Malaysia have highest car prices in the world. So either Thailand is not part of this world or Australia is not part of this world. He should clarify which is which before he continues to spin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 5
    • 25yrsOld on Dec 17, 2020 at 9:04 pm

Buy 1 LFA plant produced TNGA-GR Yaris for RACE, Free 1 Yaris for daily.
      Malaysia vs Thailand

• Bringbackmanual on Dec 17, 2020 at 10:17 pm

How much we save compare to singapore?

• Ghani on Dec 18, 2020 at 10:35 am

In Sinkie you pay 10X of car price for COE so expect to pay Rm 1.2mil or SGD400k for this car. In terms of value still cheaper here.

• M & B on Dec 17, 2020 at 8:34 pm

I love 6 speed manual

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • habislah golf gti owner ^^

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 6
    • 25yrsOld on Dec 17, 2020 at 9:37 pm

golf gti owner, finally has a race car for upgrade

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
      • Well they cant. Bcoz this is manual only. Golf GTI only can only operate paddle shifters. Not a foot operated real clutch pedal.

• Golfer on Dec 17, 2020 at 11:01 pm

Fren, with that price can buy Golf R with some pocket change to go Stage 1 which will smoke this Yaris GR to kingdom come.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 33
      • Ding Dong on Dec 18, 2020 at 8:31 am

Hahahaha!!!!! Ding Dong bro. Never test drive before. XD

• HalfM BMW on Dec 18, 2020 at 9:41 am

Like that not worthiness, ruined the manufacturer standard,

Just random ah beng standard. The air intake is reduced to more damaging air filter?

One should buy VW’s made porsche to smoke the TNGA-GR.
        Shows your capibility to handle, at cornering with the heavy output.

Most drag races are for amateur, blowing the engines

• autodriver (Member) on Dec 17, 2020 at 9:22 pm

The spec is rather high but it is not practical for daily usage. This GR Yaris can go WRC but how many people buy this car and drive in rally. If I got this budget I will rather spend on Golf R. Many people feeling enthusiast in manual but end up when comes to purchase 90% of them will choose the AT. Subaru WRX STI with manual is fail in Malaysia and yet it was priced at RM 271k in 2014 while this GR Yaris is smaller in body with higher price tag. SUBARU WRX is proven a great rally car while GR Yaris remain unknown.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 46
    • the reason why only 200unit are available in MALAYSIA for manual enthusiast

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • Lee Cun Giler on Dec 18, 2020 at 3:44 am

This car is limited volume so the value only goes up. Also it’s small and handle much better than Subie

• Rizal on Dec 18, 2020 at 7:36 am

Please Search on Toyota WRC Rally . U must be on coma for too long. Tommy Makinen was the head of Toyota Rally team and now have been promoted to be involved in design development. How many season Toyota Gazoo Yaris on WRC ? Some no brainer just comment without fact

• Karol on Dec 18, 2020 at 7:53 am

Did you really try GR Yaris? Or you just talk only?

• kebal on Dec 18, 2020 at 11:01 am

1. This car is not for the mass market. It’s for enthusiasts. That’s why the low production volume. The Subaru is a fail because it’s a mass-produced sedan and the hype has died down over the years.

2. Toyota have proven record in WRC for years now. Guess you’re not up to date. They also have numerous track record in other off-road racing.

• AkooIm on Dec 17, 2020 at 9:31 pm

After reading this, I need the tissues not only for my mouth, but also for the other part of my body…

Dayyumm…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • Jemoohi Khan on Dec 17, 2020 at 9:37 pm

the mid range racing competitor:

RM 299k TNGA-GR-Four (yaris AWD) (Thailand RM 369k)
    RM 450k Benz AMG A45S, A35 overpriced compared to A45S
    RM 550k Toyota A90 Supra GR
    RM 650k BMW M3

Entry level racing competitor:
    RM 150k TYT Vios GR
    RM 170k RNT Clio Cup
    RM 160k VW Polo R
    RM 115k Satria LotusR
    RM 250k TYT 86, BR-Z

Other are not worthy, chasis from last generation
    Racers race for speed, cornering and face value
    Collections, the more the merrier

They are races where only limited to thier stock engine, transmission.
    1 car is not enough for maximum racing fun.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • I- isn’t the fully loaded version £34k in the uk???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Hodder on Dec 18, 2020 at 8:49 am

This is fully loaded version. 4WD, GR Kits, ADAS and everything

• Max Soar High on Dec 17, 2020 at 10:27 pm

Like: Golf R
    Dislike: GR Yaris

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 69
    • Copy and Paste II on Dec 18, 2020 at 7:41 am

Copy and Paste II: “ Yaris anytime. Roadtax rm120 only”

• Levin on Dec 20, 2020 at 1:11 am

Dude, if u could afford a 300k car… roadtax be it RM120 or even RM500 is not an issue. Please get out of the “roadtax” mentality for few hundred K cars.

• RACE, ready on Dec 18, 2020 at 9:13 am

2 car participate in different RACE category.

In open race category, TNGA GR-four yaris will smoke these 2.
      And you can say Mc Laren or 911 can smoke TNGA GT-four too

• SeRiOuSlYiSaL on Dec 17, 2020 at 11:13 pm

Do Malaysians know how to drive a stickshifter? LOL

• Lee Cun Giler on Dec 18, 2020 at 3:47 am

You kidding right? Malaysian is more stubborn from moving past stick shift. We got different license from manual and auto.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • Rizal on Dec 18, 2020 at 7:45 am

I still drive stickshifter in KL. And I know How to do heel and toe when down shifting prior to reach the apex of a corner.

• Green Dog on Dec 18, 2020 at 7:47 am

Malaysians know how to use stickshifter. Heard that some malaysians racer wanna use manual gear to jalan.

• End anti-consumer protectionist policies on Dec 18, 2020 at 1:33 am

75K USD for a 3 cylinder …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 8
    • Lee Cun Giler on Dec 18, 2020 at 3:48 am

Look past the cylinder la. Don’t be such an old man.

• Rizal on Dec 18, 2020 at 7:48 am

How about Harley or superbikes.. no roof and cannot ride during winter

• Honda will come with the facelifted Type-R soon ..

• kanazai2001 on Dec 18, 2020 at 8:34 am

Cannot afford this ..
    Where is the vios MT opinion?

• Gunaseelan Rajoo on Dec 18, 2020 at 8:41 am

Would love to drive it

• Darth Solo on Dec 18, 2020 at 9:04 am

power output aside…….I may need to think again paying 299K for a high strung 3-potter engine.

Personally, I better use the money to buy a proper tried and tested V-engine (or inline 6) car that sounds more “ahem” macho and has more grunt. 2nd hand car oso can.

Anyone wanna tembak me. please do so now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 24
  • fahmi on Dec 18, 2020 at 10:10 am

sorry to say, for 300K++ price – same level with e-class & 3 series…. interior like old version perodua or mira car with lcd screen on top dashboard.. hurmmmmmmmm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 24
    • kokoroach crunch on Dec 18, 2020 at 1:13 pm

but e-class or 3-series dont have the WRC reputation.

Anyway, buyer decide becoz buyer’s money.

• Lol what type of pricing is this?

• nonama on Dec 18, 2020 at 3:55 pm

still looks like dugong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Dec 18, 2020 at 3:56 pm

why no blind spot monitor?

• 4G63T DSM on Dec 18, 2020 at 8:06 pm

……..299k? Toyota feeling generous??

Why so cheap?

The rarity itself is worth the price of admission.

How much again for the half baked BRZ/86?

• alvin on Dec 23, 2020 at 9:38 am

BRZ/86 was an expensive arts in 2012, with good acclerations at 8s. Faster yet handle better than any same pricing range passenger cars. Its was an oustanding handling cars, drift-easy sport car.

Today it just get less meaningful. TNGA GR-four AWD 50:50/RWD 70:30
      Is more fun today. Today – its a race car.

• ggvios on Dec 19, 2020 at 6:06 am

Any test drive unit?

• Baroque on Dec 19, 2020 at 8:34 am

Now looks more younger and powerful with AWD

• Coca Pepsi on Dec 19, 2020 at 8:37 am

Super amazing

• I want this.

• Tiger Golf on Dec 19, 2020 at 9:25 am

Well, Toyota have managed to improve their issues for mechanical and adding more safety features. Well done

• i have placed booking, i want this car just to enjoy the performance…..

I dont care what Type R or even Golf Gti can offer because my car always Toyota and Lexus.

I first saw this model in Osaka during MESSA autoshow. Then fall in love :)….

• Kazoo Racing on Feb 16, 2021 at 1:07 pm

already driving mine down under. you will fall in love with yours just like i did with mine :)

• kopi o kao kao on Dec 28, 2020 at 9:23 pm

If I buy this, I tipu my mom and wife say it’s a Toyota Vios…they can go Pasar buy vege in GR…GR…GR… :)

• Do half the commenters have experience on racing or drifting?

• 300K got tiny creature?!! Cmon uou could get a A45 Mercedes 2016yr with 381horsy..at Rm270k or even lower at some places..Bang for buck.

• I want this car, seeing some of the review, it feel like the right car for “me”. I can see other people’s argument about this car but it is a “feeling” type of car.