Toyota GR Yaris: Malaysian demand “overwhelming”

Distributor UMW Toyota Motor has announced that it has received “overwhelming” demand for the new GR Yaris, which was launched in Malaysia last month. The news is a hurry-up call of sorts to potential buyers who have yet to decide whether to purchase the über-hot hatch, with just 127 units earmarked for the local market (the company’s official figure is “under 200 units,” which suggests an option of importing more).

No indication of how many have already been snapped up, but UMW Toyota says the units have “shot out of the showrooms with unprecedented speed.” President Ravindran Kurusamy said the company knew the GR Yaris had potential in the Malaysian market ever since it was informed about the car, given the increasing amount of motorsport activities it was organising locally.

“The enthusiastic fans were eagerly awaiting the launch of the model and wasted no time booking one right after we launched the car on December 17, 2020. And now, just over a month since its launch, we have been receiving such overwhelming response. We thank customers for their enthusiastic support,” he said, adding that while the take-up rate has been fast, customers were still encouraged to register their interest.

Deputy chairman and Gazoo Racing Malaysia chief motorsports officer Akio Takeyama said, “The GR brand harnesses the experience gained by pushing the limits in motorsport and applies it to a whole new generation of high-performance cars from Toyota. The result is models like the GR Yaris that are fine examples of how we are making ever-better cars that are rewarding and fun to drive. Further to that, we are also more than pleased that we will be introducing even more GR models to the in the near future,”

To recap, the GR Yaris is a World Rally Championship-inspired three-door hot hatch, coming off the back of a manufacturers’ title and two consecutive drivers’ crowns. Based on the Japanese- and European-market five-door Yaris but with the double-wishbone rear suspension of the C-HR, it’s powered by a bespoke G16E-GTS 1.6 litre turbocharged three-cylinder engine, delivering 261 PS and 360 Nm of torque.

Those outputs are routed through a six-speed manual gearbox and a unique all-wheel-drive system with a multi-plate clutch to apportion torque. We get the coveted Performance Pack that adds front and rear limited-slip differentials, 18-inch BBS forged alloy wheels, Michelin Pilot Sport 4S tyres and retuned suspension.

Initially priced at RM299,000, the GR Yaris was given a price drop of over RM12,000 thanks to the extension of the sales and services tax (SST) exemption, now retailing at RM286,896 on-the-road without insurance. The car is only available at selected showrooms with the GR Garage, which also offers the GR Supra and the new Vios GR Sport.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• ccy7218 on Jan 19, 2021 at 7:42 pm

Thought covid people no job no money buy car but now “overwhelming” such expensive means covid no effect people still lot of money or umw lying…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 47
    • Ex VGM Staff on Jan 19, 2021 at 9:00 pm

Buyers mostly imigresen and kastam officers, after ford mustangg…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 45
      • Really? Majority of normal people will buy this. So only you assume that mostly imigresen and kastam officers buy Yaris GR

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 8
        • Civic Turbo 2018 on Jan 20, 2021 at 12:09 pm

Normal pipu buy MYVI and install GR kits la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
          • Katil on Jan 20, 2021 at 2:51 pm

But only for those who are not very rich people, poor people will buy Myvi.
            But yet even normal people will buy GR Yaris as they will not buy Myvi when the power engine is slower than this sport car, even though swapping from ori Myvi bumper to GR bumper

• Lolwhut? on Jan 20, 2021 at 2:22 pm

Imigresen and kastam officers can get them for free …? how come we marhen kenot get free aduihh

• Dredd on Jan 20, 2021 at 11:01 am

Imigresen and kastam officers can get them for free laa… why would they need to buy them from official distros here??? Stupid lazy way to instigate hatred. Try better laa…

• alldisc on Jan 20, 2021 at 11:17 am

betoi bro. SPRM gerak khas… perlu ambik tindakan tegas serta-merta JPJ, imigresen, kastam, maqis… selamatkan msia tercinta.

• YB Albert on Jan 19, 2021 at 9:39 pm

When the price is like the price of a Merc,this YARIS is not meant for ordinary folks who can afford a Myvi only.
      So,these buyers I believe are hardcore Toyota fanboys who are still loaded and have plenty of spare cash.
      This car is like a toy to the rich.Covid economics does not dictate their purchasing power.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 31
      • PigaPumbu on Feb 05, 2021 at 11:24 pm

Not really. Im not working in any government where have “handouts”. Not a toyota fanboy. Never owned a toyota in my life or generations before. Not filthy rich either.

Instead i am taking a loan to buy this thing without ever testing it. The way toyota made it… we can wait another 20 years if at all before we see another great piece of old school car again.

Cars like this come about once a generation. I want it to enjoy what driving used to be unlike whats coming down the pipeline. And thats why i paid a deposit for this car back in nov 2020.

I can’t wait for it. Hope it doesnt disappoint.

• M40, B40 and below got no money, others they got tons of money up to 7 gens of their family and still ok …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
      • True. especially the rich. when interest is low many invest in shares last year and make tons of $$. Rich become richer while the poor suffer more.

• Frozen on Jan 20, 2021 at 10:33 am

M40, B40 and below got no money, cannot afford to pay car monthly instalment and apply moratorium. But so hadap used the same car jalan2 sini sana… balik kampong lg.

• ccy7218 on Jan 20, 2021 at 6:37 pm

Especially no.7, dun say 7 generations, maybe 70 generations pun money not habis…

• UMW lying meh?? Did you read any news and said why Yaris GR sold out in Malaysia for just a month ago? Think about it.

• Eagle on Jan 20, 2021 at 12:57 am

Some rich helang buy this
      Money can songlap

• Everyman on Jan 20, 2021 at 6:42 am

By putting the word overwhelming within double inverted commas, it could mean that the could not be 100% confirmed…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 21
  • no review? I guess they dont have a press car do they

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
    • Are you sure no review? There is certain reviews from any website about this Yaris GR. Even other Malaysian car blogs including paultan have

• Clarkson on Jan 19, 2021 at 11:40 pm

i’m spot on all along there huge market for sub-rm80k Proton Iriz turbo 200hp manual, when they gonna start listen

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
  • GR-Race Garage on Jan 19, 2021 at 8:52 pm

The price saving compared to Thailand RM 370k.
    Really can make a kitted personal Garage to kick start

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • M & B on Jan 19, 2021 at 9:53 pm

Nice

• Calvin on Jan 19, 2021 at 9:55 pm

1 more than 3 units allocated for this month sales quota is considered “overwhelming”?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
    • Not really, after a month, 125 units already sold out

• 127 units is reserved for this calendar year, that meant 127 being distributed throughout the year, that just shy of 11 units per month total.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
        • 11 units per month total? Hmmm….they didn’t said it from the news. The news tells you that why Yaris GR already sold out

• Venza on Jan 19, 2021 at 10:05 pm

Impressive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • stick on Jan 19, 2021 at 10:20 pm

that’s why malaysia has one of the highest road traffic fatality rate in the world

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
  • Jia Ren on Jan 19, 2021 at 11:12 pm

Bring it on

• Chow Wei Zhen on Jan 19, 2021 at 11:19 pm

UMW Toyota should bring more Yaris GR to Malaysia by assembling this as well, since it is selling well

• Dinkin on Jan 20, 2021 at 9:06 am

Cute car

• Drinker on Jan 20, 2021 at 9:10 am

Handsome looker

• Ah Man on Jan 20, 2021 at 9:41 am

Worthy every sen, better value than Toyota 86 RM 269k!

With WRC homologation, this is a certified rally race car, better endurance ready.
    Good buy, for so much racer craftmanship effort for the TNGA GR-Four.

I am impressed with the Nurburging record done with stock tyre, wet roads yet with mild traffic. Designed for challenging WRC rally road, at track – it has become too easy to handle.
    Continuous Western awards, not missing out Top Gear, recognized it to be a preferred sophisticated race car now.

• Chong KL on Jan 20, 2021 at 9:48 am

Good strategy. Thank you for your kindness. Just keep for others. I am going to book Volvo S60. Waiting for my money to drop from sky, then I will buy it from you.

• question of the day

Cik B got buy this Yaris or not?

• MyViBeng on Jan 20, 2021 at 10:50 am

can it fly like the king of the road MyVi?

• King and Prince on Jan 20, 2021 at 2:36 pm

Obviously can jer. Yaris is going to be king of the road

• scalpers they are.

• Dong gor on Jan 20, 2021 at 12:00 pm

When the target is set low, it’s easy to be ‘ overwhelmed’ and get headlines. Malaysian saying is siok sendiri

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
  • Ben Yap on Jan 20, 2021 at 12:38 pm

when no numbers are given, the term overwhelming sales is not accurate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • very nice

• azrai on Jan 20, 2021 at 2:07 pm

Myvi now can get the look by swapping a new GR bumper.

• Lolwhut? on Jan 20, 2021 at 3:25 pm

Like this? BengVi GR
      https://paultan.org/2021/01/15/perodua-myvi-seen-with-gr-yaris-style-front-bumper/

• Koala on Jan 20, 2021 at 2:34 pm

Feel better and comfort

• kanazai2001 on Jan 20, 2021 at 2:40 pm

If umw put a 6spMT in their vios n ASEAN yaris, demand will b overwhelming too…

• Jameson on Jan 20, 2021 at 3:26 pm

10 speed CVT also good enough. Which will be better by improving more speed and better throttle response

• yusry kru on Jan 21, 2021 at 10:41 am

homologation + performance + special case (covid hampers toyota attempt at wrc in 2020) means its a memory etched, one-year make = this car is no liability but an asset, if toyota dont water it down bt mass producing it which i hope they dont, leave this one alone as it is. this car is really 2020 in a nutshell from a motorsports POV