FIRST LOOK: 2021 Perodua D55L SUV – 1.0L 3-cyl Turbo, CVT, ASA 3.0, AEB, ACC, priced from RM62k

The biggest car launch of 2021 is upon us – the new Perodua D55L SUV! This has been an open secret for a while now, that Perodua will be launching a new compact B-segment SUV, based on the Daihatsu Rocky and the Toyota Raize. Now, finally, it has been confirmed, and we have the preliminary details!

We’ll just list it out first – 1.0 litre turbocharged engine, CVT, an all-new DNGA platform, ASA 3.0 with AEB as standard across the range, Adaptive Cruise Control, Lane Keep Assist and Level 2 semi-autonomous driving. All in a Perodua! As for the price, it ranges from RM62,500 to RM73,400.

First of all, it’s not actually going to be called the D55L. That’s just the internal codename for it, just like the Myvi is the D20N and the Aruz the D38L. The new SUV will get a proper name when it is launched, but as usual, Perodua likes to keep it a secret until then.

There’s plenty of rumours saying it’s going to be called the Perodua Ativa – a play on the word “Active.” That’s unconfirmed for now, but if it’s true, what do you think of the name Ativa?

UPDATE 1: The Perodua Ativa name has been confirmed, along with the first few official pics of the new SUV.

UPDATE 2: We’ve driven the new Perodua Ativa! Read our first impressions review here.

FIRST LOOK: 2021 Perodua D55L SUV – 1.0L 3-cyl Turbo, CVT, ASA 3.0, AEB, ACC, priced from RM62k

Perodua D55L render

For me, I think it doesn’t really matter. We’ll all get used to it soon anyway. Those of you old enough will remember a time when the name Myvi sounded really weird, almost alien, even. But now, hey, it’s a household name!

Having said that, I personally think it’ll be fun if Perodua pulls a surprise and calls it the Kembara again. If that happens, I might just have to buy one for myself. The original Kembara was my very first car almost 20 years ago, so it’ll be cool to have a new one again.

Anyway, let’s talk about the car itself. Again, there’s no secret that it is based on the Daihatsu Rocky. Perodua even flew our own Senior Editor Danny Tan to Japan to see its debut at the 2019 Tokyo Motor Show. Since then, the Toyota version of the SUV, the Raize, has become the best-selling new car in Japan in 2020, beating its own Corolla.

All the photos and video clippings featured in the video above are of the Rocky or the Raize – some are even digital renders based on the pair. We don’t have any real photos of the actual Perodua model yet, but it’s safe to say it won’t run very far from the base model. It will perhaps have slightly different lights or bumpers, but by and large, this is what the Perodua D55L will look like.

Perodua D55L render

The interior may not be exactly the same as the Daihatsu, because remember, Perodua completely redesigned the Toyota Rush’s dashboard for its own Aruz. We’d like for the interior to remain largely the same, because the Rocky’s interior looks pretty darn good!

Perodua has already confirmed that the D55L will offer a full digital instrument cluster, plus a generously-sized nine-inch touchscreen head unit with voice recognition.

Now, before you say that Perodua is simply rebadging Daihatsus again, that’s not exactly true. Perodua was involved in the designing process of the new SUV in Japan from the very beginning. There are no less than 30 Perodua employees based in Daihatsu’s design department in Japan, so if you see that the Daihatsu Rocky’s styling looks a bit similar to the Perodua Myvi, well, that’s no coincidence.

The D55L will be built on Daihatsu’s brand new DNGA platform, which stands for Daihatsu New Global Architecture. It’s essentially a derivative of the Toyota New Global Architecture (TNGA), and it is really all new. No carry-over parts here, folks.

Size-wise, it’s actually very close to the Myvi, so you can say that this is basically the Myvi SUV. The D55L, or at least the Rocky is only 100 mm longer and taller than the Myvi. In fact, the Myvi is actually slightly wider than the SUV, by about 40 mm. Wheelbase is also similar, but the Rocky is longer by just 25 mm.

Now, the Proton X50 is quite a fair bit bigger than the D55L, despite both being technically B-segment SUVs. The Proton also has a bigger engine (1.5L vs 1.0L), but we’ll take a more incisive look into the whole Perodua D55L vs the Proton X50 topic in another video (watch it here!).

What is deeply in favour of the D55L is pricing. Perodua has essentially confirmed that pricing will start from RM62,500 for the base model, going up to RM73,400 for the range-topping version. So, even the most expensive D55L costs about RM6,000 less than the X50 1.5T Standard. And that’s before you even look at the specs!

The main highlights are obviously the advanced safety specs. The usual six airbags and electronic stability control is standard, of course, and that’s already better than the base X50’s four-airbag count. Perodua’s Advanced Safety Assist (ASA) is also standard across the range, so every variant gets AEB as standard. With the X50, you’ll have to spend over RM100k to get AEB. Now this is how it should be – safety for all, no compromises.

The ASA 3.0 is also more advanced than any systems fitted onto existing Peroduas. The AEB’s operating range is now wider, and it can detect motorcycles (very important for markets like Malaysia) for the first time.

The top AV version will get additional features like Lane Keep Assist (LKA), Blind Spot Monitor, Rear Cross-Traffic Alert and Adaptive Cruise Control. Yes, that’s right, the D55L will get ACC, a feature commonly reserved only for high-end luxury cans no more than five years ago.

Together with LKA, Perodua says that the D55L has Level 2 semi-autonomous driving features, making it the cheapest car in Malaysia to have it, undercutting the X50 Flagship by a full RM30k.

There’s no Auto Parking either, but remember, this SUV is the size of a Myvi. If you can’t park it properly, then the fault is not the car’s, really.

Let’s move on to engines. It’s big news, for the D55L will be the first Perodua to get a turbocharged engine, specifically a 1.0 litre three-cylinder petrol mill. It’s likely that the engine will be that of the 1KR-VET variant that’s offered in Japan, which produces 98 PS and 140 Nm of torque. This, however, has yet to be confirmed. What’s certain is the fitment of a CVT – also a first for Perodua.

In terms of sheer output, that might not sound like much. In fact, it’s pretty similar to the Myvi 1.5, but the Daihatsu Rocky is also very light, tipping the scales at under 1,000 kg. So, technically speaking, it should be slightly faster than the Myvi. Will the Myvi still be “The King” with the D55L around, then?

Jokes aside, the 1KR-VET three-potter is basically a turbocharged version of the engine found in the Perodua Axia and Bezza. There’s no direct injection here, but at least it comes with a timing chain. That should keep some of you happy, if that’s your thing.

For colours, Perodua will offer five options – Glittering Silver, Granite Grey, Cobalt Blue, Pearl Diamond White, and Pearl Delima Red. That’s delima as in pomegranate in our mother tongue, which honestly is a cool Malaysian name. You can also have the white and red options with a trendy dual-tone black roof, but this is for the top AV model only.

So that pretty much sums it up. The features listed here are pretty much all the info we have on the Perodua D55L (or Ativa, if you will) for now. Perodua has already begun taking orders for the hot new SUV, and the official launch should take place sometime in March. The wait won’t be long! Over to you – what do you think of all this? Let us know what you think, below.

GALLERY: JDM Daihatsu Rocky

GALLERY: Daihatsu Rocky Sporty Style at TAS 2020

GALLERY: Daihatsu Rocky Modellista kit

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Jeremy on Feb 19, 2021 at 7:27 pm

Perodua Aqilah nama sedap… nanti bagi nama adik dia Zalikha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
    • Proud on Feb 19, 2021 at 8:45 pm

“Now, before you say that Perodua is simply rebadging Daihatsus again, that’s not exactly true. Perodua was involved in the designing process of the new SUV in Japan from the very beginning. There are no less than 30 Perodua employees based in Daihatsu’s design department in Japan, so if you see that the Daihatsu Rocky’s styling looks a bit similar to the Perodua Myvi, well, that’s no coincidence.”

Well done Perodua!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
      • Perodua = Pening Orang Dua kali with overpriced cars and overpriced servicing cost.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
      • Rakyat Malaysia on Feb 20, 2021 at 1:20 am

Well done our national car assembler!

• John Kecundang on Feb 19, 2021 at 10:30 pm

Habislah Proton X50!

• Casual reader on Feb 19, 2021 at 11:52 pm

Just a casual reader but I can clearly see a stark correlation between those hate-filled and vile comments in the 4 new proton launches and those near idolatry shipping in these 2 perodua articles.

I don’t really care about either brands but the extreme vileness coming from the perodua camp makes me hate that brand somehow. Neither can I fathom their fawning comments, I mean, what innovation does perodua really bring to the market? Nothing really. The world is moving towards electrification but what is perodua doing? Nothing. No hybrid, no EV. Their sensing tech are all pre-existing on the cars they rebadge so little, if any, reason to shout about.

Remove the protectionist taxes protecting perodua and we will see Toyota bringing these cars in directly without perodua involvement. Can perodua survive such a future? I doubt it but their existence is what keeping car prices high and we cannot get the fuller range of Toyota EV and hybrids. For us to get better cars, perodua must cease to exist.

• Celup King on Feb 20, 2021 at 12:32 am

Without Perodua we could get this car with Toyota badge for only RM 40,000. Better close down Perodualah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
  • Ahamad on Feb 19, 2021 at 7:34 pm

No point talking so much about this car. Still no 4wd version. My 20 year-old Kembara has 4wd and been enjoying countless off road trips.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
    • Ex VGM Staff on Feb 19, 2021 at 7:48 pm

Good choice bro! 20 year-old Kembara, that is one heck of a fun and reliable P2 car ownership experience you’ve got there. Syabass

• Congratulations to DNGA Ativa/D55L/Axeda

• Oh Ativa cinta hatiku
        Oh Ativa I said I love you
        Oh Ativa tolonglah aku
        Terima kujadi kekasihmu…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
      • Melania Rosmah on Feb 19, 2021 at 9:05 pm

Wahliao…it seems HAFRIZ is superloaded..he may end up buying this vehicle,after booking the X50,besides driving his Merc.
        Wah, paultan staff earning six figures while some 5 STAR hotel chefs are selling halal chap fan by the roadside,after Donald trump’s nightmare “YOU ARE FIRED”,due to covid.

• Tesla on Feb 19, 2021 at 7:55 pm

Nowadays, people lives in the city, not jungle.

• Chavez on Feb 19, 2021 at 8:12 pm

Many people still lives in Gua. Be understanding bhai.

• Trump Ajibkor on Feb 19, 2021 at 9:10 pm

Every new car launching has its own hardcore fanboys,whether 2 wheel or 4 wheel drive.
        Thats what democracy is about.People can choose.
        Even in North Korea,people can choose.Of course ,only those with sufficient income can buy cars there.

• mrmada36 on Feb 19, 2021 at 8:19 pm

The interior is a good deal for that price. The center display outperforms Toyota high end cars displays. Toyota should upgrade their displays.

• Perodua have definitely stepped up the game in providing AEB even on the very basic model with 6 airbags as standard with Lane Departure Warning! That’s impressive amount of Passive Safety features for the most basic model. Well done for that!

Perodua also provides customers the option for more bells and whistles for the top of the range model like Blind Spot Monitoring, Rear Cross Traffic Alert and Active Cruise Control!

Now that’s what I called “Geared Up” for their top of the range Driver Assist System! Well done Perodua.

• 4G63T DSM on Feb 19, 2021 at 8:58 pm

Well done Perodua for AEB across the range and radar cruise for the top trim.

Should be quite the good city runabout.

• Tz1234 on Feb 19, 2021 at 9:03 pm

Perodua make it right with the pricing game. Remember that our GDP per capita is not ‘high’. So the price it right will attract most car buyers from different price range. Axia, myvi, and now the Ativa will shift the potential buyer from Vios or city pools.
    Proton needs to step up the game for their lower range products if they want to become Malaysia no. 1 again.

• YB Albert on Feb 19, 2021 at 9:14 pm

Bring it on..2021…the more the merrier..the competition is getting hotter but the pie,mind you is getting smaller for those who are “sei pan pan”(not innovative enough).

• Calvin on Feb 19, 2021 at 10:13 pm

P2 did the masterstroke move.
      Yesterday, P1 relaunched 4 cars rm39k to 68k.

Then today P2 started booking for Ativa tebo.
      They announce the price rm63k to rm73k.
      But official launch must wait until March.
      Checkmate… #maslannasigoreng.jpg

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
      • Copy Paste on Feb 20, 2021 at 1:37 am

Copy paste: “Without Perodua we could get this car with Toyota badge for only RM 40,000. Better close down Perodualah.”

• tricycle on Feb 19, 2021 at 10:54 pm

If everything is true about the specs of this car (the Adaptive CC, small size turbo, interior of the Daihatsu.). Personally I think, this car would be a city car to have, and perhaps if it is stable enough, not a problem for a long drive on highway.

• Mazda HRV on Feb 19, 2021 at 11:02 pm

RM62-70+k for a A segment chassis with a turbocharged Axia engine? That’s pricey. Rather get a base Yaris. Overpriced for a “national” car

• normal_user on Feb 19, 2021 at 11:25 pm

Android Auto standard across the range, please.

• Khalil B. Morshidi on Feb 20, 2021 at 8:22 am

Elok juga jika di sertakan gear box 4×4

• autodriver (Member) on Feb 20, 2021 at 10:21 am

P2 finally got the first turbocharged petrol engine. With many popular brand comes with turbine the left over one is Toyota still using NA for its petrol variants (UMW no longer selling Harrier). Toyota call turbocharged is hassle for reliability and higher maintenance, in fact the truth is they are earning more profit over the less components NA as lower cost or production. Modern turbine is less hassle and maintenance free for the turbine kits.

If one have driven turbo they are very hard to drive small displacement NA car. Turbocharged car is not best for driving due to turbo lag and pushing (higher nm torque). But it is ideal for daily and highway drive while car remain good fuel consumption figure. The best driving sensation is higher displacement like 2500cc with 200ps for C segment or D segment car 3000cc with at least 230ps. However the higher the displacement the higher the road tax expenses and also higher fuel consumption. So if we can’t choose the big cc NA I will prefer small cc turbocharged.

If one used to drive 1.5T with 170ps it is hard to accept the power of 2.0 NA with 160ps.

• Avenger on Feb 20, 2021 at 12:13 pm

Correct bro, just enjoy our ICE cars while still can … NA, Tebo or not. until we forced to get EV cars baru nak mengidam heheh.. Our lives have been wrecked and perit enough by the powers. These little enjoyment we still have, syukurla my proton x50 1.5T with 170ps. Tengkiu gomen terbest!

• autodriver (Member) on Feb 20, 2021 at 10:56 am

The 4WD Toyota Raize (aka D55L) 1.0T 98ps 140nm century sprint is 9.6sec. If D55L is 2WD with lighter chassis it should performance below 9.5 sec. Maybe this figure is too optimistic for 98ps engine, a simple remap will easily get 110ps and it will definitely achieve below 10sec for 0-100. Camry 2.5NA feel embarrass as the pick up is slower than City RS and now slower than D55L.

Another thing Perodua has make it secret is whether this is 2WD or 4WD as other countries are getting 4WD version. If we have 4WD version and sold at RM 73k, it is a steal and freaking worthy.

• Does it come as a 4WD or AWD or merely 2WD?

• Ismile on Feb 20, 2021 at 8:24 pm

DCVT or CVT only, please be more specific. Tq.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Feb 20, 2021 at 8:37 pm

Perodua/Daihatsu calls it a D-CVT, a new type of CVT introduced along with the DNGA platform.

We will do an article on this soon.

• Lin Zongping on Feb 21, 2021 at 1:42 pm

Disappointed with Perodua pricing, This SUV should be Ringgit 55,000 to start off. Look, the Alza takes off at RM49,900 and has bigger engine capacity. This new SUV is only 1,000 cc and 3 cylinder engine which much smaller than the Alza. Unless the SUV has more superior interior finishes it is not going to be a hot cake.

• TP Leong on Feb 22, 2021 at 6:47 pm

Why would a person buy this Activa when you have Myvi which is more powerful with 4 cylinder and better fuel savings?
    SUV , is the car able to go anywhere? With AWD or 4WD? I think this car will be another Nautica soon. Why Japan is best selling? Because its 4WD.