FIRST LOOK: 2021 Toyota Fortuner 2.8 VRZ – RM203k

If you’re in the market for a new SUV, you’re likely spoilt for choice by now. A budget of RM200k opens you up to a plethora of options, including the facelifted Toyota Fortuner.

The good news this time around is that the range-topping 2.8 VRZ model gets a punchier turbodiesel engine. Like the Hilux Rogue, the four-cylinder mill offers 204 PS at 3,400 rpm and 500 Nm of torque from 1,600 rpm to 2,800 rpm. A six-speed automatic transmission is standard, as is a rear limited-slip differential.

Upgrades include a heavily revised front fascia, new dual-tone 18-inch alloy wheels, new LED tail lights, sequential LED turn indicators for the front and back, a very responsive touchscreen infotainment display, and Toyota Safety Sense.

TSS is exclusive only to the 2.8 VRZ variant, and includes Dynamic Radar Cruise Control (DRCC), Pre-Collision System (PCS), Lane Departure Alert (LDA) and Yaw Assist Function (YAF). Prices for the new Fortuner start from RM172k.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Amran on Apr 08, 2021 at 7:29 pm

Mahal gile! For same price better get superior quality RAV4 or topup rm50k can get Harrier, all of them mahal gile!

• 500Nm Jeep SUV on Apr 09, 2021 at 8:04 am

Powerful , reserved when you need it

• Bok Sim on Apr 09, 2021 at 10:06 am

Nice Review. I m consider as one of my potential family car. Thanks Paultan.org!

• I have this car but is 2.4vrz diesel
    If u want comfort this car is not suitable. It will be wallowing during undulating road a lot of bouncing

3rd of seat only for kids below 12 or if ur kid is tall not recommended

Power is ok. Fuel consumption acceptable 70++ liter can go about 600km

If u prefer comfort and handling better opt for a used Q7 price is around 250k for a 2016 car but maintenance is higher

This is my review

• Naik Angin on Apr 09, 2021 at 9:58 pm

Harga kereta asyik naik..sambil laa x merasa kereta luar..guna laa perodua dgn proton jer…hairan dgn malaysia..kereta pun nak mahal melampau..aku g australia dgn us kereta murah..paultan.org buat satu petisyen laa suruh kawal dan trun harga kereta…