Tesla gears up for Singapore debut – Toa Payoh service centre opens next month, showrooms in malls

We already know that Tesla is setting up shop in Singapore officially. Now, The Straits Times reports that Tesla Singapore’s main base and service centre will be in Toa Payoh. The building along Lorong 8 was formerly a Nissan dealership by Tan Chong Motor. ST says that the Tesla facility is set to open next month.

The report adds that while the Tesla Model 3 – the only Tesla model for sale in Singapore now – might be displayed at the Toa Payoh service centre, the EV specialist is looking at the model of “experience stores” located at shopping centres. The two malls mentioned are Raffles City and Jewel Changi Airport. Those familiar with American malls might have seen small Tesla showrooms there as well.

The report reveals that Tesla has appointed a country manager for Singapore. Frenchman Christopher Bousigues, 45, “has just arrived” and is currently serving his stay-home notice (quarantine). The self-confessed geek is a car enthusiast who enjoys track sessions. Previously with software firms SAP and Microsoft, Bousigues has lived and worked in 19 countries, and is fluent in five languages.

“I hope to bring my experience, from having worked in various markets and industries, to help Singapore in its Green Plan around mass adoption of electric vehicles,” said Bousigues, who has degrees in mechanical engineering and marketing.

Tesla’s sales portal for the republic went live in February. The estimated price of the Model 3 Standard Range Plus (SR+) rear-wheel drive is S$112,845 (RM348,910), while the Model 3 Performance with dual-motor all-wheel drive is listed as S$154,815 (RM478,650). These prices are excluding COE and options such as full self-driving capability. Where do these prices sit in the Singapore car market? More here.

The ST report quotes market watchers estimating that Tesla has between 200 and 500 confirmed orders to date. There’s certainly pent-up demand there for Elon Musk’s EVs, and we’re surprised Tesla didn’t enter earlier – Singapore seems like the kind of place that’s well-suited to the company and its products.

GALLERY: Tesla Model 3 AWD Long Range in Malaysia

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Thinking this thing on Jun 17, 2021 at 3:24 pm

Full self driving but Level 2 autonomous?

• Celup King on Jun 18, 2021 at 12:30 am

On one hand Tesla is promising customers their cars are self driving on the other hand they are telling it is not. A lot of promises but mediocre results, reminds me a certain Gagal faction.

• Makan bakuteh on Jun 19, 2021 at 10:00 am

Singaporean are staying at government flat and limited apartment with poor facilities. Macam mana nak charge. Malaysia ni most of people have few houses and mostly landed. Charge lah senang

• lol the country is rich enough they could upgrade charging facilities if required. its not to ur concern. talk about development, while in malaysia, dont even have incentive for hybrids and still euro 4 fuel.

• Zx mama on Jun 21, 2021 at 9:52 pm

Tesla shall come to malaysia lah. People here cAn just sapu the cars in 2 weeks. Put it at Singapore for wht, sales lambat volume so so small.

• Kacang soya JB on Jun 22, 2021 at 1:21 pm

Welcome Singaporean use tesla, next time no need to queue at JB petrol station getting the. Cheap Euro4 petrol to save their limited and hard earn money from the small land.

• Knm pte ltd on Jun 22, 2021 at 1:23 pm

Buy car must be self rich enough. Not the country rich. Rich what if people not rich. Apa rich neh?

• Mr Fakta on Jun 17, 2021 at 3:27 pm

Singapore might be well suited to Tesla, but Singapore is also a major O&G hub. They don’t want to send wrong signal by supporting electric car, that’s why they started late.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • Dinasaur Retirement on Jun 17, 2021 at 5:25 pm

Singapore trying to catchup Norway now.

Smaller land than Norway, not more population.
      With cheap Tesla. 2 years can achieve success? Let’s see let’s see

https://paultan.org/2021/01/06/electric-vehicles-outsold-ice-cars-in-norway-last-year/

• Game Changer on Jun 17, 2021 at 3:30 pm

When Tesla 3 is cheaper than Hyundai Elantra (Avante) 1.6NA Singapore.

• Tesla model 3 prices are excluded COE. Even without COE, they are already expensive than the Avante, which includes COE.

• Sad that we can only dream of such operations here. EV Companies like Tesla and China’s Nio only operate self owned dealerships and does not appoint local dealers, meaning unless AP is scrapped we will only see these cars as a grey import through people like Naza sold at a tremendously inflated price.

• Dr Strange on Jun 17, 2021 at 6:24 pm

You can get Tesla from greentech my. taxfree

• Calvin on Jun 18, 2021 at 12:36 am

Tesla is selling dual drive M3 at RM478k while the same here via AP is lower at RM450k. Is it really inflated? Maybe you meant in S’pore.

• The dual motor model 3 cost less than a 330i elsewhere in a non taxed world, now tell me how much is the 330i here in Malaysia, which by the way is subjected to the same excise duty just less SST only. Isn’t 450k overly inflated or what.

In SG relatively speaking a RWD model 3 is cheaper than a Toyota Camry there, go figure.

• Calvin on Jun 18, 2021 at 4:59 pm

In other non-taxed world, EV cars get govt rebates so forget about the prices there, it’s skewed. Cost wise after conversion a 330i is about the same here, so is it really overpriced? hmm…

In comparison an Axia in S’pore cost RM286k vastly more expensive than a Camry here, so is S’pore vastly overinflated or what? hmm….

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 17, 2021 at 7:19 pm

crazy island

• Zhong Liang Ong on Jun 17, 2021 at 10:43 pm

The Model 3 is not cheaper than the Avante.
    If it gets registered next month with the COE price of around S$60,000 (Category B), we’re looking at a price of around S$170,000 . Just a bit higher than the Camry sold by the official dealer, about S$30,000-S$40,000 less than a new 318i. Still a steal when you consider that the car has 300bhp available, but not that much of a steal.

Now if you waited a few years to buy a used Tesla Model 3, that’s another story.

• Hyundai ioniq EV sgd $ 210k
      Hyundai kona EV sgd $ 230k

318i is ICE, more expensive $ petrol and yet 40k$ more expensive for a low basic spec?
      The spec is like a used car.