2022 Proton Persona rendered with a sporty body kit, bonnet scoop and huge rear wing – like what you see?

The Proton Persona got its second facelift earlier this month, with notable changes to the exterior and list of equipment, joined by a streamlined variant line-up. Unlike its hatchback sibling, the B-segment sedan doesn’t get a new standout variant like the Iriz Active that is very distinctive from the others, but what if it did?

Well, rendering wiz Theophilus Chin thought it would be a good idea to create just such a vehicle in the virtual world, and the result is a sporty take on the Persona. The base car is obviously here, but as you can tell from the front, he grafted on the bumper from a Toyota GR Yaris for a more aggressive front fascia.

Accompanying the new face is a prominent bonnet scoop, while the flared fenders are adapted from the Iriz Active, albeit in body colour as seen in earlier renders. The latter is joined by lowered ride height as well as wheels and brakes lifted from Toyota’s hot hatch.

At the rear, a large rear wing, which looks like it came from a Subaru WRX STI, has grown out of the boot lid, while further down, the GR Yaris lends its dual exhaust tailpipes that flank a diffuser element. To complete the look, several areas like the front grille frame, side mirrors, headlamps, taillights, rocker panels and boot trim are finished in black, including the roof.

So, what do you think of these renders created by Theo? What would you change about it? Let us know your thoughts in the comments below.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• HentaiSensei on Aug 23, 2021 at 11:06 am

This is not GR Yaris….It’s Proton Imprezza WRX lol

• Celup King on Aug 23, 2021 at 11:18 am

Like a mosh pit between Persona, Iriz Active & Yaris GR

• azrai on Aug 23, 2021 at 11:40 am

Don’t like. This is surely Ah Bengised Persona. Awful, for real.

• No to proton on Aug 23, 2021 at 11:45 am

Front bumper is copied from Yaris GR, another China inspired product or work.

• Hairclip on Jun 17, 2022 at 11:05 pm

Yeah… Yaris is from China. I agree with you but when you say “China inspired product” I lost my respect to you.

• the problem with our local car scene (especially local car companies) is that our definition of sporty is bodykits and stickers instead of chassis and suspension etc that actually makes the car sporty to drive. those bodykits are only for show and are probably even aerodynamically inefficient

• Brian on Aug 24, 2021 at 8:32 am

The only ones that really attempted some real upgrades is Proton’s inhouse performance brand R3. With options of lowered shocks, bigger wheels, Stage 1 & Stage 2 tuning for campro, roll bars, and various other bits.

• Mawing on Aug 23, 2021 at 11:52 am

Nice.
    Sell the design to Ah Beng workshop to produce bodykit

• Jasonxgh on Aug 23, 2021 at 12:40 pm

Should sell well as upgrade for kapchai riders

• Haiya design also no use on Aug 23, 2021 at 1:20 pm

GR Yaris much? Come on make original design please… Anything you throw to current gen Persona will still look like a bar of soap. Bloated and funny looking. Proportions of this car is seriously ugly XD

• pleasant on Aug 24, 2021 at 12:13 am

I find the proportion, taillight, 3rd quarter view, above average, better than most of (typical hatch to sedan) conversion. Btw 17inch rim easily will change your perception

• Car lover on Aug 23, 2021 at 1:30 pm

An Proton WRX STI

• Kancil Hybrid on Aug 23, 2021 at 1:53 pm

Keahbengan melampau.

• Despite a blatant cut n paste… its fugly

• st3wp1d on Aug 23, 2021 at 3:02 pm

Another masterpiece from Theo. Sure sell like Pisang goreng panas, kemon P1!

• Los Lobos on Aug 23, 2021 at 7:03 pm

Bonnet scoop? Got intercooler in the engine bay?

Please, not fake scoops, vents, slits, etc.

• BOYRACER on Aug 23, 2021 at 7:40 pm

How about keep everything standard on terms of looks.Put some big brakes,big wheels maybe a tuned 1.6 turbo say 180bhp.debagded preferably.E28 M5 comes to mind

• GR yaris?? sigh

• Afeeq on Aug 23, 2021 at 9:33 pm

Looks good but only if there is something good under the hood – not a tiny anemic economy engine. Yes I know it’s it’s a render

• Nampak macam ribut, lari macam siput…

• Fikri Rahman on Aug 25, 2021 at 4:34 pm

Theophilus Chin semua design helok2 belaka.. credit to him

• hakim on Aug 26, 2021 at 12:08 pm

people who get mad clearly don’t watch the video. lol, why so serious, this is just some photoshop work, combining Iriz + Yaris gr bumper on Persona.

• Octopus on Sep 05, 2021 at 2:47 am

Wtf theoctopus chin ? Are you lost your mind ? Stupid design , the original is better. Hate to see that tyre size

• Yes Yes on Sep 06, 2023 at 4:46 pm

Haters gonna hate…. Im car salesman, if this is real sure can sell like pisang goreng panas$$$