2021 Toyota Corolla Cross 1.8V Review – this one’s it

Our first stint with the Toyota Corolla Cross took place a little over six months ago. At the time, we only spent the better part of two hours driving the entry-level 1.8G variant along the fringes of the state, which honestly wasn’t enough seat time to properly assess the car and provide you with the most meaningful insights.

When we learned of the 1.8V’s induction to UMW Toyota’s fleet, we had to give it a second go – that much is owed to you, our valued readers. This time, we spent close to a week with it, and let us tell you why it’s definitely worth the small premium over the 1.8G.

At RM129k, it only costs RM5,000 over the 1.8G

Just in terms of styling alone, the V already looks so much better than the G. Extras include bi-LED projector headlights, LED daytime running lights that double as turn indicators, larger 18-inch dual-tone alloy wheels, a nicer pair of LED combination tail lights, as well as a glass-covered front badge for the Toyota Safety Sense system.

These slightly premium touches really do elevate the look and feel of the crossover, but it’s still far from the best-looking one in its segment. We think the Taiwanese GR Sport variant and Japanese hybrid have a far more likeable front fascia, but this is what we’ll get for now. Like the 1.8G, it also gets a powered tailgate (with foot sensor), keyless entry system, and a 360-degree surround view camera.

Cabin appointments are pretty similar to the 1.8G

Save for a few additional buttons on the steering wheel for the ADAS system, the interior between the 1.8G and 1.8V is pretty much identical. There’s not much to get excited about, but what we really liked was how utterly breezy ingress and egress was.

The car sits at the perfect height, not too tall like full blown SUVs such as the Mazda CX-5, Honda CR-V and Proton X70, and not too low like a typical hatchback. This is especially beneficial for those with a limited range of mobility, plus the door apertures are wide enough for individuals to easily transition from wheelchairs or walkers, and vice versa.

While the cockpit may not reek of sophistication, it still feels quite solidly built. The steering wheel is almost identical to the one found in the Harrier, which feels premium to say the least. The only difference is the centre boss and bottom spoke design, but otherwise, the leather wrapping and switchgear tactility are top notch. All four windows also feature auto up-down functionality, a quality-of-life feature that somehow continues to elude most Honda cars, including the Accord.

During our first impressions drive, it was noted that the hard plastics used for the dashboard wasn’t done in good taste. While a soft touch material is still preferred, we do think the harder variety will be far more resistant to heat and UV exposure over, say, the next decade or two.

Leather seat upholstery with white contrast stitching is standard. The seats are plenty comfortable for long drives, although the front ones could use slightly better lower bolster support. We like the treatments done to the rear quarters – four cubby holes, twin centre air vents and 2.1A USB charging ports, two Isofix child seat anchors, and a 60:40 split configuration.

Now for the things that are not as nice. There is no electrochromic rear-view mirror nor LED map lights, but at least there are faint blue LED mood lighting along the doors. The nine-inch infotainment display is pleasantly responsive, but the overall user experience is a bit of a mixed bag.

To start, the 360-degree camera feed looks glaringly odd to the point of being useless, and there isn’t a dedicated “back” button that takes you back to the main screen, even after shifting into P. There is Apple CarPlay and Android Auto support, but you’ll have to plug your phone into the USB connection at the bottom right side of the display.

Yes, you’ll have to live with a dangling cable. In other markets, the port exists below the climate control console, which makes things that much tidier. Honda cars fare better in this regard, usually offering a lot more storage spaces along the centre tunnel. There’s no beating the Mazda CX-30‘s cockpit in terms of absolute build and perceived quality, but the upside is the Toyota is a tad more practical.

A six-speaker sound system is standard, but audio reproduction is mediocre at best. There’s only so much the custom equaliser can do to fix things.

Meanwhile, the 440 litres of boot space is class leading. It’s only slightly bigger than the Honda HR-V (437 litres), but the HR-V has magic seats, so it is definitely more practical if you’re always moving stuff instead of humans. Otherwise, the Corolla Cross is sufficient for most people.

TNGA is the real deal

As a daily urban runabout, the Corolla Cross is almost impossible to fault. It’s quite a bit bigger than the HR-V or Proton X50, yet it doesn’t feel intimidating to drive in and around old townships or city centres, where roads are narrow and parking lots are cramped. You won’t have to second guess your manoeuvres, too, assuming you’re competently spatially aware.

It’s also a very easy car to drive. The steering is light, the ride is comfortable, and the engine is very refined. In case you didn’t know, the 2ZR-FE 1.8 litre four-cylinder engine under the bonnet is the same one found in the Corolla sedan, developing 139 PS and 172 Nm of torque.

A continuously variable transmission (made by Aisin, maker of some of the best gearboxes in the world) is standard, and it has seven virtual ratios that very impressively mimics the gearshifts of a torque converter automatic. At low speeds, the engine feels very eager and responsive, a bit like the Myvi, but with more finesse and restraint.

That’s a good thing, because getting off the line feels easier, and the engine is silent for the most part. The numbers on paper may suggest some lethargy, but we don’t think it’s underpowered at all. In fact, it gets up to speed at a decent pace, and has enough “in-gear” grunt to swiftly overtake vehicles, even at 100 km/h.

After driving several Honda cars with Earth Dreams CVT, we find the Aisin CVT drone to be much more muted in comparison, so that was a pleasant surprise. As for the fuel consumption test, we managed an average of 6.7 litres per 100 km (or 15 km/l) on mixed driving conditions (mostly urban and extra urban), which is dang good considering that the car weighs 1.4 tonnes.

That puts it over 100 kg heavier than the HR-V, and though they both have a torsion beam rear suspension, the setup on the Corolla Cross feels better sorted and less primitive, if you will. Rebounds can at times feel stiff, but it’s nowhere near as crashy as the HR-V. Toyota aced the rear axle design here, and the fact that it rides on the stellar TNGA platform is a win for buyers.

Refinement is also very good – the 1.8V runs on 18-inch wheels wrapped with Michelin Primacy 4 tyres. Tyre roar on these are much less pronounced compared to the Bridgestone Alenzas on the 1.8G’s 17-inch hoops. Not much else in the way of noise are able to creep into the cabin, so this is probably class leading.

If the extra kit doesn’t justify the premium, then Toyota Safety Sense will

Over the course of our testing, the adaptive cruise control and lane centring assist worked flawlessly all the time. The steering, braking and acceleration assistance have a certain grace to it, without feeling alarmingly intrusive when kicking in. There’s a small amount of self-steering when cruising, but you’ll have to keep your hands on the wheel to prevent the system from being disabled.

It’s not Level 2 or semi-assisted self-driving yet, though. There’s no low speed follow function, and the lane tracing system isn’t the most advanced one yet. Otherwise, there’s autonomous emergency braking, seven airbags, tyre pressure monitoring system, automatic high beam assist, blind spot monitoring, and rear cross-traffic alert.

These are definitely nice add-ons over the 1.8G, which only get blind spot monitoring, rear cross-traffic alert, seven airbags, and 360-degree surround view camera.

Verdict

We don’t know what it is about the Corolla Cross, but there’s a strong sense of charm in the utility and ease of use that it offers. Personally, I kept looking for reasons to want to drive this car instead of the sedans at home. Call it ageing, but I really look forward to driving it every time – it’s just a great comfy cruiser.

The Corolla Cross’ arrival may be six years too late to take on the HR-V, but it’s no longer about fighting Honda. There is a real place for the Corolla Cross in this market. Some people find the CR-V, CX-5 and X70 too big and intimidating to drive around, and cars like the X50 or Subaru XV a touch too small for their liking. This is a solid middle ground.

The engine is responsive, it has a big boot, nice plush leather seats, a very refined cabin, and it’s the right size and height. It’s the little things that Toyota gets right, and we really do think it’s an easy car to recommend. Really, get the 1.8V over the 1.8G, because the small premium is just too good to pass on. As for the hybrid, well, let’s save that for another day.

Learn more: ,

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Looks good. Looking forward to see Corolla Cross Hybrid soon

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
    • Contradiction on Oct 22, 2021 at 11:17 pm

Pointless and poorly specced when compared to Corolla Altis sedan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 67
      • It doesn’t mean that Corolla Cross is already pointless and poorly specced. Corolla Altis and Corolla Cross specs are little different but there are something inside which you don’t see.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
        • PlainBS on Oct 23, 2021 at 11:11 pm

There is something inside CA that CC does not have, a EPB

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 27
          • Doobie bro on Oct 24, 2021 at 9:16 am

Specs baik, maintenance dan otr murah. Beli Corolla Cross jer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
          • JOACHIM on Oct 24, 2021 at 11:44 am

Corolla is all but name only spec wise it loses to sedan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 25
          • @JOACHIM
            Corolla Cross loses slightly but not poorly spec

• Lee yin, enough spending your time for pressing number of votes for green and red button. We know that Lee yin is from honda who keep pressing number of votes since 10 sept, don’t think that we don’t know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
        • Known her on Oct 25, 2021 at 11:31 am

Finally, now we know why, can see strange votes on the blog “Corolla Cross receives a different face in Japan”. Thanks for knowing that. I’m very sure that most of the readers are fully known who is Wong Lee Yin.
          She always like to defend her favorite brand but she lacks of basic knowledge, never googling and lacking of experience for driving other brands. She only thinks that she always correct and think she always the best person but everyone is wrong. But where is her prove? Is everyone are wrong? And why Wong Lee Yin has to ask for Honda Malaysia to use tactic against Yaris, when she is not admitting her truth? This is really strange. Is she using tactic or working hard to steal sales away from Toyota and thinking that she is real champion like evil witch? Answer is very obvious that most readers will definitely know.
          We also already knew that she will continue to hatred against other brands, even honda wins back from Toyota. And the year after, honda will win back from Proton, Mazda, Perodua and others.
          No wonder, more fans are slowly turning away from honda because of her arrogance, snobbish and lying. Oh yeah, even I don’t have comment while observing everyday, there are other things that what Wong Lee Yin have been doing till now, besides just thumbing up and down votes and there is one time, Wong Lee Yin also steal people name in the blog of “VIDEO REVIEW: 2021 Honda City V in Malaysia, RM87k”

• Berries on Oct 23, 2021 at 9:55 am

I’m also waiting

• Ravindran Senior on Oct 23, 2021 at 11:44 am

Everything in terms of looks..ok..except..except..the front grille…it looks horrendously ugly like a piranha’s big mouth gasping for air.
      Toyota Japan,do you have a shortage of car designers?
      Any graduate from auto designing can do a better job or “pinjam” our Chief designer from Protong also boleh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 60
      • Amran on Oct 24, 2021 at 11:54 am

Fully agree bruh. Wonder why the locals still not able to make one decent SUV after 100yrs… slack shameful Toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 26
        • Don’t you know that Toyota is now improving their design since changing to better platform and upgrading to high tech, like Camry, Corolla, Rav4 and so on. No all cars are perfect, as long as not ugly to the max.

• Toyota fan emotional memo on Oct 24, 2021 at 8:18 pm

Those senior designers are hopeless, will retire soon, you still have time on your side.Toyota should send their pool of young designers to school of creative design and creative thinking across the globe, Toyota own and jv a few of those from europe to oriental.They can learn how to make cheap car looks good and gorgeous. What’s the point to be the biggest automotive brand in the world with unlimited budget to invest in each generation, when your run of the mill cross suv looks like a cheap imitation of china suv 15-20 years ago?. Even now plenty successfull China brands hid and buried their first imitation suv to avoid badluck connotation and future embarrassment. sigh….so why Toyota keep walking on a thin ice lately, didn’t study those history and learn the lesson. Can someone give a slap to the head who approved this project please, I’m more emotional now…
      Doesn’t necessary mean when you own the world marketplace, people will just cincaing buy your cincaing design assyoubitch asshole sigh…
      Oh my Lord so embarrassing and definitely my eyes already hurt and maybe blind soon when I saw this cross2cemetery qualified to be in many youtube reviews as in here too, OMG their executives and designers looking like a proud baboon standing beside it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 19
      • Already retired for long time after old designers failed to design younger cars, that’s why toyota loses to honda. Toyota won’t be so stupid for keep designing ugly cars. Now is different, everything has changed and new toyota designs have improving for interior and exterior. Research & development is also one of the factor, includes for consumers demands new product and improved design

• Amran on Oct 24, 2021 at 10:34 pm

Toyota should send their designers to Proton and learn from X70 designers how to come out with a proper SUV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 23
        • pinnochio on Oct 26, 2021 at 5:04 pm

and may be u also want to tell your other (alternate universe) story that toyota copied proton’s engine design and made those engines for lotus elise, evora & exige

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
          • Toyota didn’t copied engine and designs from proton. They did their own design for most of the time like those engines for fuel cell, hybrid and electric.

• pinnochio on Oct 27, 2021 at 3:26 pm

of course u r right bcoz want to make it a point that amran’s belief that the x70 is purely proton’s design & should be learned by toyota is obviously from an alternate universe

• Roger on Oct 22, 2021 at 9:01 pm

Agreed! Cross is C segment, can compare with X70 and CRV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • i thought this corolla cross is already sold out and has 6-month long queue? why the review (publicity)?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • Seribu on Oct 22, 2021 at 9:15 pm

If umw bring camry, corolla and corolla cross as ckd, would be good seller. What about yaris gr-s

• Walker on Oct 22, 2021 at 9:23 pm

Aggressive

• Kiew Tee on Oct 22, 2021 at 9:56 pm

Its sedan brother is better. Larger LCD screen for meter panel, EPB, ACC at all speed, double-wishbone at the back, etc. Only thing I envy with this CCross is the USB charging ports at the back. Otherwise, very happy with my Corolla Altis. Ohh, the sedan’s ACC has better performance when using with OpenPilot. Traffic jam on highway was relaxing the other day.

• Ben Yap on Oct 22, 2021 at 10:01 pm

dinosaur engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 77
    • This engine power is good but for fuel economy

• Kee Toh on Oct 24, 2021 at 12:09 am

Corolla Cross also lacks of cabin sensor compared to the sedan. The cabin sensor though was poorly designed, not sure how to identify whether it is on or off.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 19
      • You mean includes temperature sensor? Every cars like Corolla Cross and Altis also come with cabin sensor.

• Piano on Oct 22, 2021 at 10:17 pm

Toyota designs getting better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 12
  • One of affordable premium crossover

• stick on Oct 22, 2021 at 11:27 pm

the jdm version is so much better looking than this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
  • Thanks! Already booked 1.8V, not while ago. Now still waiting to get my car.

• Pro Life on Oct 23, 2021 at 9:04 am

Good review Matthew. It is good to see more safer vehicles on the road in Malaysia and Toyota Corolla Cross is one of them.

• Shape on Oct 23, 2021 at 9:12 am

CH-R replacement is looks better

• Robin on Oct 23, 2021 at 9:24 am

Saw this vehicle in JB. Good value vehicle and fuel saving

• ah cow on Oct 24, 2021 at 11:17 pm

by seeing only know its good value and fuel saving…?!!! hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
  • Hunta on Oct 23, 2021 at 9:29 am

New style is so refreshing. Hybrid is launching nearer

• Boot space is huge

• Sam Loo (non-fake) on Oct 23, 2021 at 10:33 am

this car was designed by Thailand team. so good that even Japan also want to sell the same. unlike Avanza and Innova, TMC didnt bother so much

TODAY . TOMORROW . TOYOTA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • But Japan version has different front design…meaning Thailand design not good enough for Japs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • Truth on Oct 23, 2021 at 11:10 am

well done Toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Ferrari on Oct 23, 2021 at 11:18 am

Durable, comfort and easy maintenance

• Mr Cent-sible on Oct 23, 2021 at 1:00 pm

The front design looks grumpy and moody. It’s not beautiful. Why designer do such thing???

I hope it wont make the driver grumpy too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 55
    • 007123 on Oct 23, 2021 at 3:25 pm

Ya agree with your point. Looks like a product from 3rdtier design house. I won’t call it lazy, big brand like T did have big design budget to all out outdo their competitors through benchmarking but it didn’t happen. It’s a waste of money and manhours if they settle for this unispiring design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 49
  • Interior looks too boring and dull. The only reasons I chose CX-5 over this one!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 40
  • nazri on Oct 23, 2021 at 1:28 pm

Mazda cx30 looks much better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 34
  • David on Oct 23, 2021 at 3:26 pm

Good car. No doubt. Anyway its T brand that never let us down. But interior look dull and boring.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 26
  • This is also better buy than RAV4

• Baby KN on Oct 23, 2021 at 11:03 pm

Mix reaction: sad but fierce

• Dimensional on Oct 24, 2021 at 12:00 am

Nice

• Anand on Oct 24, 2021 at 10:03 am

When I saw the car on the road it was from behind…loved it..From the back it looks so awesome, sleaky sexy but the front was a big big disappointment….It’s like watching a lady’s sexy butt and it’s a ‘wow.’ with so much of excitement…But when you see the face..’yuk’…What a letdown!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 54
    • Sammy Burn on Oct 25, 2021 at 3:20 pm

Think new facelift for MY market. Face memang old and boring earlier like nearly all T cars.

• Salmon on Oct 25, 2021 at 9:23 pm

Hilux, Vios, Yaris, Fortuner, Innova – new facelift
        Camry, Corolla, Corolla Cross, Yaris GR, Supra – brand new

Face not old, not boring

• Take my money

• Bumper on Oct 25, 2021 at 9:18 am

Sorry Toyota, X70 or X50 is a better buy for us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 86
    • Well done Lee yin for pressing 30 green votes for this. I know Lee yin don’t support proton, Lee yin is honda navy for real.

• Known her on Oct 25, 2021 at 12:08 pm

Nearly two days after this review launch, this morning, Wong Lee Yin is still around and alive.
    Do take note that you need to beware of what Wong Lee Yin is doing. She was working from honda saleswoman. This blog is not alone, but I also saw her posting in other things but their authors already remove and blocking Wong Lee Yin from posting her again to prevent further hurting to all readers. She is coming back to stronger by liking and disliking votes. This is getting uglier when there are strange votes on this blog of “Corolla Cross receives a different face in Japan”. I’m very sure that most of the readers are fully known who is Wong Lee Yin. Never fall into the trap to her words, one day, you will find bad day, you will regret that you will know someone who will misled the readers.
    She always like to defend her favorite brand but she lacks of basic knowledge, never googling and lacking of experience for driving other brands. She only thinks that she always correct and think she always the best person but everyone is wrong. But where is her prove? Is everyone are wrong? And why Wong Lee Yin has to ask for Honda Malaysia to use tactic against Yaris, when she is not admitting her truth? This is really strange. Is she using tactic or working hard to steal sales away from Toyota and thinking that she is real champion like evil witch? Answer is too obvious that readers will definitely know.
    We also already know that she will continue to hatred against other brands, even honda wins back from Toyota. The year after, honda will win back from Proton, Mazda, Perodua and others. No wonder, more fans are slowly turning away from honda because of her arrogance, snobbish and lying. Oh yeah, even I don’t have comment while observing everyday, there are other things that what Wong Lee Yin has been doing, besides just thumbing up and down votes and one time, Wong Lee Yin also steal people name on this same blog of “VIDEO REVIEW: 2021 Honda City V in Malaysia, RM87k“
    Seriously, I agree with most of the opinions here and agree from video reviews. You don’t have to defend by saying such hatred words when you did not experience for driving Toyota, Perodua, Proton, Mazda others like Wong Lee Yin.

• Najib on Oct 26, 2021 at 11:44 am

Need a comparison between this and the Mazda CX-5 2.0

• Which will you choose: 1.8V Corolla Cross or Cross Hybrid? And why?

• already booked one lor