Toyota Corolla Cross 1.8V Video Review – RM129k

This is the moment many aspiring owners of the Toyota Corolla Cross have been waiting for – a review of the range-topping 1.8V variant. At RM129k, it’s only about RM5,000 more than the 1.8G, but packs quite a bit of extra kit.

That includes bi-LED projector headlights, LED daytime running lights, larger 18-inch dual-tone alloy wheels with Michelin Primacy 4 tyres, a nicer pair of LED combination tail lights, and Toyota Safety Sense system. Like the 1.8G, it also gets a powered tailgate (with foot sensor), keyless entry system, and a 360-degree surround view camera, so that’s nice.

In our review, we will take you through the things that we really liked about the car, and touch on other aspects that we feel could use some improvements. But all things considered, the Corolla Cross is a real solid choice, and truly has a place in the cutthroat sub-RM140k car market.

You may check out CarBase.my to take a closer look at its equipment and specifications, or compare it against many other vehicles of your choosing.

Learn more: ,

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Jonathan Khan on Oct 22, 2021 at 10:13 pm

The huge sofa comfort apart from good ride quality will keep the owner and passengers happy for the years to come. 15km/L will keep the owner always happy coming from thier previous car too.

The good plastic top dash is also what the TYT buyers want. Which it’s designed to last long with the same appearance and quality, with non visible fading nor melting.

• Ksatria on Oct 24, 2021 at 3:16 am

Fully agree bruh. Wonder why the locals still not able to make one decent SUV after 35yrs… slack shameful P1

• Contradiction on Oct 22, 2021 at 11:18 pm

Pointless and poorly specced when compared to Corolla Altis sedan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • Ex-DRB staff on Oct 23, 2021 at 6:17 am

Another amazing car from amazing carmaker, bravo Toyota! Like how Matthew rightly pointed out, a real solid car! High RV too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • autodriver (Member) on Oct 23, 2021 at 9:29 am

At price of RM 129k one would expect the car at least comes with electronic parking brake rather than the foot one. My neighbour got one new Toyota Cross and surprisingly the real car looks nicer than seeing it in photo. Hope Toyota will consider to put in EPB in face-lift next time.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Oct 23, 2021 at 1:41 pm

At 5k more, who would even consider poorer spec 1.8G version?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 23, 2021 at 9:45 pm

those who were desperate to buy a car got the low spec

• Mohamed Najib Haji Abdul Rahman on Oct 25, 2021 at 10:03 am

Looks appealing, mainly because its Toyota.

But the 2.0 CX-5 is almost same price though, which would be a better buy if comfort and reliability are the important factors?

Looking to upgrade from my Honda City.

• GenY AEB on Oct 25, 2021 at 5:35 pm

Balik kampung driver’s comfort best come from ACC.
      Once used, it’s always used for balik kampung. Zero-Fatigue Drive, save your right leg.