2022 Honda Civic in Malaysia – initial details leaked, 1.5 Turbo in E and RS variants, no more base 1.8 litre

Earlier this year, it was hinted that the 11th-generation Honda Civic would be making its appearance locally this year, if not as a full introduction, at least as a preview. The year is almost up, and you’d think that we won’t be seeing the FE this year.

However, leaked presentation images of the car popped up online yesterday, suggesting that something may be on the cards before the year is out. The product slides offer an overview of the variants that are supposedly coming our way – two variants are highlighted, and the first is a 1.5 litre turbo variant in E grade trim.

Specifications for it include 16-inch five double-spoke alloys, full LED headlights and DRLs as well as two new features, a smart clear wiper and an auto opening rear trunk lid. The last looks to be mechanical system, utilising a torsion spring to get the dampers to perform a self-rise action.

The other is the more exciting piece of news, coming in the form of a 1.5L RS. The grade dresses up the Civic with quite a bit of black exterior kit – aside from a headlight extension with a RS emblem, mentioned items in the particular shade include door handle covers, side mirror caps and rear spoiler. The variant also gets twin tail pipe finishers and will ride on 18-inch matte black wheels (which is an inch larger than that for the Thai-market RS).

Inside, the cabin will feature black leather/suede combination seats, black headliner and red contrast stitching on the steering wheel and gear knob as well as sporty aluminium pedals. There’s also mention of door lining illumination, which will be new to the Civic.

Like Thailand, Malaysia will also see a single powertrain choice for the new car – we’ve been told that the long-serving 1.8 litre naturally-aspirated i-VTEC four-cylinder base engine will no longer feature for the Civic.

No mention of tech details in the slides, but there should be very little deviation from the output of the 1.5 litre VTEC Turbo four-cylinder petrol engine seen on the Thailand and Indonesian-market models, with 178 PS at 6,000 rpm and 240 Nm of torque from 1,700 to 4,500 rpm on call. The mill is paired with a CVT.

The automaker’s Honda Sensing system isn’t highlighted in the slides, so it remains to be seen if, as it is in Thailand, the entire local model range will feature the suite of driver assistance kit, which includes autonomous emergency braking (AEB), adaptive cruise control, lane centring assist, lane keeping assist, automatic high beam and front departure alert.

GALLERY: Honda Civic FE (Thailand-market version)

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 24, 2021 at 1:27 pm

looks better than ketam seaweed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 30
  • Miss the futuristic civic fd2 cockpit

• ketam better and powerful than civic fe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
  • guest on Nov 24, 2021 at 1:38 pm

Back to 90s design

• Side body looks the same as Accord…..

• Farhan Jaafar on Nov 24, 2021 at 2:17 pm

Hatchback model please

• this is accord lah..not civic…

owait~

• Bridge on Nov 24, 2021 at 3:13 pm

Integra – beautiful
    Uncle civic – full

• Not sure why Honda is dead set on their LaneWatch system. It’s an added context-switch to have to look and process visually if something’s in your blind spot, vs. the in-mirror LED that is literally binary on/off.

The best combo is IMO an in-mirror LED blind spot monitoring system and a good 360 deg parking system.

• Bieight on Nov 24, 2021 at 3:37 pm

16 inch wheels…

• Ethan on Nov 25, 2021 at 2:28 pm

Depends on what the owner prefers. Some people prefer a more comfortable ride over better handling around corners.

• jalan kenangan '91 on Nov 24, 2021 at 3:58 pm

looks good with black rims…. I like!

• Prata on Nov 24, 2021 at 4:02 pm

Still CVT Gearbox

• eskladar on Nov 24, 2021 at 4:31 pm

Ugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Paul Arnab on Nov 24, 2021 at 7:43 pm

Too little too late. Everyone is getting the New FL Myvi. Hail to the king

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
  • broma on Nov 24, 2021 at 9:28 pm

Steering rack solved?

• trash on Nov 27, 2021 at 11:08 pm

Of course not, with all these stupid Malaysian buyers keep buying Honda do you think they care about fixing the problem?

• Avoiding product overlapped with City RS.

• Gabriel on Nov 25, 2021 at 9:10 am

Sad to hear that they will not offer non-turbo engine anymore. Having a honda turbo engine means that you need to have a lot of time and be flexible at it to get it serviced. Just imagine you want to go balik kampung or went for a holiday and then you suddenly being prompted to go and service your turbo engine. It is inconvenience. Having a turbo engine lost it’s novelty due to this. Not to mention the amount of money you need to fork out for those extra services.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • Ethan on Nov 25, 2021 at 2:30 pm

I’m curious because I don’t own one. Turbo engine usually takes how much more time to service?

• I own a turbo. Not much extra service needed la.. Im curious to know too…

• turborider on Nov 25, 2021 at 11:01 pm

This is definitely true, Honda Maintenance Minder is a nightmare, I had been using 2016 Civic TCP for 1 year and 8 months before I sold it.

In average, I need to go service center around 3 months plus/minus for servicing. In Odometer, it’s around 6,500KM to 7,000KM. For modern turbocharged engine, it’s too fast needed to get services.

BMW/Mercedes: 12,000KM service intervals
      Volkswagen: 15,000KM service intervals
      Volvo: 20,000KM service intervals

I rather get Honda Hybrid engine/NA than V-TEC Turbo engine due to too short service intervals

• KenZen on Dec 01, 2021 at 2:37 pm

After reading your post, I did some checking and it appears that they did have some initial issues with the 1.5T engine. And Honda Malaysia’s quick fix was to shorten the service interval.
        Frankly, I don’t believe that a turbo engine should go beyond 10,000km for the service interval because of our hot weather condition. Throughout the first 5 years of my GTI, I did a half cycle oil change outside at 7500 before going back to VW center for the 15000 change to maintain the warranty. After warranty, I kept to 10k cycle.
        I suspect that probably the Idemitsu synthetic compound is not good enough to handle our hot weather. VW uses BP, which is a horrible engine oil. Liqui Moly was used during my half cycle change and the engine felt more powerful, maintain lower engine temperature and less vibration when rev above 4000rpm. It always felt like a downgrade when it went back to BP at 15000. That’s how important a high grade synthetic engine oil is for a TC engine.

• KenZen on Nov 26, 2021 at 3:41 pm

Time and be flexible? I’ve been driving turbo charged cars for the last 15 years. So long as you make sure that you service the car on time (every 10k) and only use high grade silicon engine oil, they pose no issues whatsoever.
      I drove my previous 4G63 engined car for 6 years before I switched to my current VW that is going to be 9 years old. Both more than 200bhp, never have any turbine issues whatsoever. And I don’t shy away from 5-6000 rpm which means I don’t drive like a grandpa, in case you think I mother my cars. My next car is still going to have a turbo, with more than 350bhp.
      If you’re one of those lazy ones who don’t care if the car has done 20k and still don’t service the engine, STAY AWAY from a turbo car. That pretty much covers a large section of Audi, BMW, Mercedes, VW, Volvo and some Japanese makes. Oh, you can strike out X50 and X70 too!
      But if you are a true car lover and take good car of your car, a turbo charged car will spend similar time like an NA at the service center. Of course, there are some exceptions but caring for your car will always reduce incidents.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • so 90’s… the interior looks something like my dad’s Wira 1.6XLi =)) =))

• Jasvin on Nov 26, 2021 at 2:37 pm

Don’t think Honda Malaysia will bring Honda Civic hatchback but hoping they should bring the hatchback, if not might go for Mazda 3 liftback.

• KenZen on Nov 26, 2021 at 3:55 pm

After seeing the Hatchback Modulo version, this standard car just don’t cut it. The nose where the badge is half solid, half grill looks off.

If I were to consider a Civic, I will put my money on this: https://paultan.org/2021/06/24/2022-honda-civic-hatchback-modulo-bodykit-shown/