2022 Mk8 Volkswagen Golf GTI launched in Malaysia – 245 PS, 370 Nm, 2.0 TSI with DSG7, CKD, RM212k

Finally, the Mk8 Volkswagen Golf GTI has been launched in Malaysia. After two rounds of previews late last year (paddy field and indoors), the only missing piece of the puzzle has now been revealed by Volkswagen Passenger Cars Malaysia (VPCM) – the Pekan-assembled Golf GTI is priced at RM212,711 OTR with SST exemption, before insurance. VPCM includes five years of unlimited mileage warranty, three years of free maintenance and five years roadside assistance.

The previous Golf GTI, the Mk7.5, was launched here in 2019 for RM239,990, so this is a good price that’s surely down to local assembly. CKD for the Mk8 Golf is a big deal, especially for the GTI, which was only ever made in Germany and China. VPCM calls it a “historical milestone”.

Licking your lips already? Here’s what you’re getting for your RM212,711. The eighth generation of the hot hatch that started it all continues to be powered by an EA888 2.0L TSI engine, now making 245 PS and 370 Nm of torque from 1,600 to 4,300 rpm. That’s an increase of 15 PS and 20 Nm from the regular Mk7.5 GTI, and on par with the Performance Pack version of that car.

Of course, Malaysia gets the seven-speed DSG (wet) dual-clutch transmission instead of the available six-speed manual, and power goes to the front wheels, as it has always been for the GTI.

By the way, the 1.4L TSI engine of the Golf R-Line (order books open today, we have a separate piece for it) makes 150 PS and 250 Nm, so the GTI has a massive 95 PS and 120 Nm advantage, a big step up in the Golf performance ladder. It’s also the only Golf with the quicker DSG gearbox, now that the R-Line has gone 8AT. The GTI’s 0-100 km/h sprint time is 6.4 seconds (same as our Mk7.5 GTI) and top speed is 250 km/h.

Holding the car up are MacPherson struts at the front, multilink suspension at the rear, a front differential lock, XDS electronic differential lock and a sports suspension setup that’s 15 mm lower in ride height compared to the standard Golf. New for the Mk8 is a Vehicle Dynamics Manager control system that coordinates the operation of the diffs and DCC adaptive dampers. Bigger brake discs with red calipers, too.

Kit wise, the GTI gets LED Plus headlights (without the red strip to match the grille; that’s reserved for the higher spec IQ.Light matrix units), LED light bars that go all the way to the logo (not DRLs) and LED taillights, as well as a set of 18-inch Richmond alloys (225/40 Bridgestone Potenza S005).

GTI-specific cues include the trademark red strip on the grille and a honeycomb mesh for the lower grille. Note that the latter does not have the embedded five-point LED fog light option.

Besides the above, you can spot a GTI from the twin chrome exhaust pipes (unlike the R-Line, these are real), a slightly more pointy rear wing (difference is barely visible), and the rear GTI badge, which replaces the central Golf wording below the VW emblem. The GTI is as understated as performance hatchbacks come and it’s only the details that separate it from the already-sporty look of the R-Line.

Move inside and you’ll find a minimalist cabin for the Mk8 Golf. It’s all modern and digital – screens aside, the lighting controls and cluster between the central AC vents are touch sensitive, and the steering buttons are also capacitive.

Beside the 10.25-inch digital instrument panel is a 10-inch Discover Media touchscreen infotainment system with wireless Apple CarPlay and Android Auto, linked to seven speakers. The only knob you’ll find is for the wing mirrors; even the “gear knob” is nothing more than a tiny protrusion on the sloping centre console.

GTI-only goodies include perforated Vienna leather sport seats (automatic with lumbar and memory for the driver, leather is what buyers of a RM200k car expect here, so no tartan cloth), GTI-specific red gauges on the digital instrument cluster, red trim and GTI logo on the steering wheel (with shift paddles), red piping and stitching on the grey-black seats (not on the steering though) and honeycomb trim on the dashboard.

Click to enlarge pricelist

The kit list also includes voice command, 3D navigation, keyless entry with push start, triple-zone auto air con (includes rear vents with temp control and Air Care filter), an electronic parking brake with auto hold, tyre pressure loss indicator, ambient lighting (30 colours, five presets), auto-dimming rear-view mirror, heated wing mirrors and automatic headlamps/wipers. As for charging, there are two USB-C ports in front and two at the back.

As you’d expect, the cabin theme is all-black, including the pillars and headlining, broken up only by the grey panels on the seats and the sprinklings of red. As for exterior colours, the GTI can be had in five shades – Kings Red and Atlantic Blue (metallic), Moonstone Grey (solid) and Deep Black and Oryx White (pearl effect, no extra charge).

On the safety front, the GTI gets the usual six airbags, ABS and ESP. However, there’s zero driver assist tech and even basics like autonomous emergency braking (AEB) isn’t here. One thing of note is that there are Isofix points on the front passenger seat as well, not just the rear seats.

So, the latest Mk8 Golf GTI. The only downer here is safety kit, but perhaps hot hatch buyers are more forgiving in that department? Otherwise, it’s the same proven formula in new skin, with a cockpit that’s all in on digital. RM212k – what do you think?

GALLERY: 2022 Volkswagen Golf GTI Mk8

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Mikehighseas on Feb 16, 2022 at 8:17 pm

Drooling….even without the active safety features. Priced very nicely.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Feb 17, 2022 at 2:48 am

Yesssss, only 3 countries can build GTI and Malaysia is one of them this is all thanks to our hardworking abang-abangs in Pekan. After all, VW bosses admitted our locals are more efficient than Germans in Wolfsburg. If VW put so much trust onto our abang-abang workers to come here that shows the other Asean workers are all lazy, tidur, minum 8X a day. Asean makers should learn from our abang-abangs in Pekan how to be efficient in producing cars even better than Germans could do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 14
      • Angry Voters on Feb 17, 2022 at 11:20 am

Don’t let yourself be buttered up by any foreign company. If they can get a good profitable deal with local GLC, they can set up a local assembly plant where they just need the local workers to follow their work instructions to the letter like robots.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
      • Lets See on Feb 17, 2022 at 11:59 am

How many of the factory workers at Pekan are actually local citizens?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
        • Copy Paste on Feb 17, 2022 at 4:44 pm

Copy paste: “they can set up a local assembly plant where they just need the local workers”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
          • Lets See on Feb 17, 2022 at 8:01 pm

Since when you work for the factory’s HR dept? Local factories don’t necessarily mean that they hire only local workers.

• Copy Paste on Feb 17, 2022 at 11:37 pm

Copy paste: “Don’t let yourself be buttered up by any foreign company”

• Angry Voters on Feb 18, 2022 at 10:03 am

Good point by @Lets See. The local assembly operation is directly run by the local company according to the foreign company’s requirements. Whether local or foreign workers, it depends on their individual skills, not necessarily their individual nationality.

• Almost all workers are local

• Captain on Mar 01, 2022 at 12:46 am

Haha, dont forget the Spec ya, its heaven and earth comparison GTI CKD and CBU.

• jeffry on Mar 08, 2022 at 2:54 pm

too bad EA888 gen3 is still in there.
        NO EA888 EVO4 for malaysia

• autodriver (Member) on Feb 16, 2022 at 8:32 pm

I wondering WTH is VPCM thinking. None of your model equipped with AEB and mind you the freaking Myvi got AEB. I drove the B8 Passat and it is forgivable since the model launched 2016 back then. But HELLO it is 2022 now, still no AEB for new model even for the signature model like Golf? I installed the VW AEB module outside only cost RM 3k, why can’t you include this. Don’t tell people it is GTI driver don’t need much of driver safety assistance. Then you better take out the ABS also and let the driver Aku Brake Sendiri.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 35
    • Everyone just don’t buy their cars until VPCM is forced to do an update to the safety features. Unless you only use this car for track purposes, otherwise the omission of all the active safety features is unacceptable like Hafriz said. buuuuuu VPCM….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 21
      • Fillers on Feb 16, 2022 at 9:59 pm

Don’t worry VPCM will put ADAS soon

• ADASS and electric folding mirror jgn lupa ya VPCM….till then i’ll wait and guna lagi la my 2017 B8

• VPCM said that it is working to bring ADAS to its cars, but looks like it hasn’t made it to the Golf.

• Brian on Feb 17, 2022 at 2:24 am

If you don’t know the true purpose of this pocket rocket, better stick to your Myvi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
      • C’mon bro, pocket rocket or no, safety features are the future. Don’t tell me last time when they invented the safety belt you thought to yourself, “no I don’t think I’ll use it”?

• Brian on Feb 18, 2022 at 8:55 am

Don’t conflate between active safety & passive safety devices. Even F1 that mandates seatbelts do not have any form of active safety devices. Are you saying F1 is promoting unsafe driving? LOL!

• Are you equating 15 years of Karting training and then qualifying for FIA Super Licence experience to typical VW driver? Not saying that F1 is necessarily safe but everyday drivers are not the same. F1 is raced in a controlled, closed circuit with other similarly skilled drivers. AEB works by intervening when drivers lapse in concentration or can’t brake in time. This is in the real, open world where we try to prevent any accident if possible.

• Human drive car, not driven by car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • Drive your car, not let your car drive you.

• Zzzzzzzzzzz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 19
  • Looking good

• was dreaming the price would go down below 200k… ah… i keep dreaming…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • Still expensive lo. I thought it could be under 200k since all the auto driving systems have been cut..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • seancorr (Member) on Feb 16, 2022 at 9:44 pm

Well for a 200k car with hard plastic door cards which is similar to say….a Myvi is unacceptable. The Mk7 had a more upscale interior.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
  • vitable on Feb 16, 2022 at 10:34 pm

Faster than A200

• Design looks better than A200

• a sorry vw owner on Feb 17, 2022 at 12:40 am

journalists have been signing about the tremendous improvement VW has made in the past few years. How true are those comment? They will never know until they actually own one. VW dealers still deliver lousy after sales. Just look at how many dealers left out there. Awesome cars let down by horrible horrible horrible horrible after sales….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
    • autodriver (Member) on Feb 18, 2022 at 8:51 am

To be honest, I find the after sales service of VW had improved a lot compare to last time and at least better than Hxnda. Only concern is more and more SC closed down and VW owner find it difficult to service their vehicle.

For vehicle quality nowadays VW no longer apply the dry clutch DSG anymore, the gearbox problem for new model no longer apply. High engine oil consumption mostly on model before 2016 and now problem solved. The only thing I complain is the rubber seal not long lasting like Japanese, Korea and even for national brand. If park under the sun for long time less than 5 years the rubber may peel off like the door rubber seal.

• A VW owner since 2018. I have the same feeling. The after sales service is reasonably good, similar to Honda and Nissan. No issue with DSG and no major issue with the car since purchase.

• Lagard on Feb 17, 2022 at 9:13 am

Spicy car

• tricycle on Feb 17, 2022 at 9:29 am

Nice. Don’t worry about the safety kits. At least the price now is slightly cheaper.

As long you own a Germans, there are many 3rd party shop that can install those safety kits at reasonable price.

• VW Platform on Feb 17, 2022 at 1:46 pm

Never go wrong with Volkswagen

• Blind spot assist tak ada, barely accept..
    Fog light tak ada, ok they want to cut cost..
    Side mirror auto fold also tak ada, NMCH..
    Instead they put in heated seat, in Malaysia..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
    • Copy Paste on Feb 17, 2022 at 4:45 pm

Copy paste: “Nice. Don’t worry about the safety kits. At least the price now is slightly cheaper.”

• Jon G on Feb 17, 2022 at 2:21 pm

The rims… seroiusly?? Come on VW!

• VAG cars owner on Feb 17, 2022 at 2:22 pm

Disappointed at the price…
    Given the poverty specified car I was expecting it to be sub 180k which I would have taken it.
    Truly a shame with the decision to price it so high when so many features are removed and despite the savings from being CKD.
    Savings from the AP, additional duties and local sourced components was almost not taken into cosideration.
    Time will tell if VPCM made the right decision.
    For me I feel betrayed and will just wait and see on how Mercedes price the new CKD W206.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 17, 2022 at 2:30 pm

i would forgive the lack of active safety if they gave a manual

• Aero (Member) on Feb 17, 2022 at 3:26 pm

I think VPCM is on to something here by offering a warm (R-Line), hot (GTi) and halo (R) version of the Mk8 Golf in our market. VPCM did their homework, they know there’s a strong market case for high-performance sports cars in Malaysia. Local sales of the GR Yaris and Type R Civic is proof enough.

Also, it’s hard to believe Malaysia is the only market outside of Germany and China to locally produce the Golf GTi ! Certainly, a very commendable achievement for the team at VPCM. VW’s GTi branding is one of the oldest and most established in the world… naturally, VW’s head office in Germany would not have green-lit VPCM’s CKD GTi program had they not believed in its potential here. The same could be said for Porsche’s CKD ops in Kedah (first Porsche assembly line outside Europe), which may or may not have influenced VW’s internal planning (VW owns Porsche)…

For a reasonable RM212K (although I understand, some sacrifices were made), don’t be surprised if the Mk8 GTi explodes in popularity here over the next few years. The Mk8 GTi could be the new ‘rakyat’s hot hatch’, the new Satria GTi we’ve been waiting for ! And in another 7 years, it could be yours too for less than RM100k. Maintenance will likely be cheaper than older GTi Golfs sold here, thanks to local supply for certain parts from those CKD vendors, and R-Line CKD parts sharing as well. Win-win for everyone. Best of luck to VPCM !

• NO LSD on Feb 17, 2022 at 9:55 pm

This local Golf GTI is ANYTHING BUT HOT. I don’t care about them downgrading all of the technology and safety features, they have no relevance for track day use. But what cannot be forgiven is the lack of LSD. The Golf GTI overseas has an eLSD. This local GTI has “front differential lock” aka XDS which is inferior and useless for performance driving. The fact that it has no LSD means that it is not a serious performance car. Only for street racing beng that can only show off.

• autodriver (Member) on Feb 18, 2022 at 9:58 am

If not mistaken the front differential lock is called VAQ. “If the control module detects wheel slip at one of the front wheels, the plates are actuated to redistribute the drive torque from the wheel with the lower grip level to the wheel with the higher level”.

In fact this VAQ module is not shortage of LSD as it is machinism which is computer controlled instead of LSD which is pure machinism without computer controlled.

• rm212k buy a kosong car without enougj safety kit? No way! My ideal price is rm190k. No need to reply me if you do not agree. This price is my acceptable price. If you think it is worth to sell you higher is your matter.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • Chill dude. That one just one of their marketing technique for wow factor. Soon they will give disc/rebate.

• ahmadjohnson97 on Feb 20, 2022 at 8:51 pm

Of course, Malaysia gets the seven-speed DSG (wet) dual-clutch transmission instead of the available six-speed manual. Why Malaysia! Why!!!