Enhanced Touch ‘n Go Card – new RM10 card allows phone NFC reloads; balance still separate from eWallet

It appears that Touch ‘n Go is one step closer to offering users the ability to reload their physical cards from the Touch ‘n Go eWallet soon.

From screen-captured images of official Touch ‘n Go videos that have since been taken down, the new NFC (near field communication)-enabled card will be launched very soon, and the new product will be identifiable by an NFC icon at its upper right-hand-side corner. This means users will need to purchase a new card in order to make use of the new function.

Availability of the Enhanced Touch ‘n Go card will be directly from the eWallet mobile app at RM10, such as with the purchase of an RFID tag, and according to a screen-captured image of the order page, the price of the Enhanced Touch ‘n Go card excludes shipping fees.

Once the physical Enhanced Touch ‘n Go card has been received, the user will need to link the card to the eWallet, which allows the viewing of the card’s balance, as with the existing card, and additionally perform reloads. To do so, the new card will have to be held to the back on one’s NFC-compatible smartphone for five seconds. The now-hidden video also showed that the function will work on both iOS and Android devices.

The Touch ‘n Go eWallet app shown with the added NFC functionality for the new Enhanced Touch ‘n Go card (above; click to enlarge). At present, the only link between the physical card and the eWallet app is the PayDirect function (below)

The new card’s available balance will still be separate from the eWallet balance. When the new Enhanced Touch ‘n Go card is rolled out, it will offer users the ability to reload their physical cards without having to use a kiosk or service counter. This will be an added convenience as the physical TnG card is still used for parking and public transport, even if PayDirect can be used for highway toll charges.

In January, then-CEO of TNG Digital Ignatius Ong (who has stepped down from the position effective March 31, according to Advertising + Marketing Malaysia) revealed that the new version of the card said that users will be able to top up its balance via an NFC-enabled port through the eWallet mobile app, compared to the existing card that required visiting a dedicated kiosk or service counter offering reload services.

The idea was first brought to light by Touch ‘n Go in January 2021, and the updated card with the eWallet reloading capability was initially slated for roll-out by the end of last year.

At present, the only link between the physical, current Touch ‘n Go card and the eWallet app is the PayDirect function, where toll charges are first deducted from the eWallet balance instead of the balance on the linked Touch ‘n Go card. When the eWallet balance has been depleted, only then will the toll charges be deducted from the physical card, which can be prevented by enabling the auto-reload feature on the eWallet.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Good for this ancient system to be upgraded for topup via phone NFC. Even Sydney’s OPAL card do not have this function so well done to them, buuutttt….. we should be moving on from card based payment and maximise usage of eWallet QRPay and NFC pay transfer thru phone. Those still hankering for TNG card use are just as dinosaur as TNG card payment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
  • pomen on Apr 13, 2022 at 12:12 pm

rm35 for plastic RFID sticker, now rm10 for another card…wowww TNG really made money but the service is still SHIT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 11
    • You can choose not to use it if you don’t like you know. No need to get your panties in a twist.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 47
      • How long have u been living in malaysia? What other choices do we have if we decide to not use the touch n go card and its system? You’re either new to Malaysia or you’re another of those born stupid but has a big mouth.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 12
    • whynot on Apr 19, 2022 at 1:32 pm

Yah. Those big shots are indeeds making to billions from the public’s by extra! I fully agrees!

• You can choose not to use it if you don’t like you know. No need to get your panties in a twist.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 33
    • I wish it were that simple. One could also say the same thing, “don’t like then don’t use lah” during the days of bayar tunai kat tol. Look where that got us.

• Numbskull

• Long time ago without any phone everybody can preload using credit card. It is auto when it hit minimum limit…. it is also free. Do not why they stop but now they realize on how to capitalize from duit rakyat. Yeah…rakyat didahulukan…

• Helenesssssssssssssssss on Apr 13, 2022 at 6:53 pm

Why can’t the card use e wallet balance? Want us to park more money by having two accounts is it? I use touch n go card on my cars that does have RFID sticker, they can still deduct from my ewallet. This shows they can do it but greedy want to make money. Hope they will die

• tan32 on Apr 13, 2022 at 8:43 pm

Debit Card Paywave is a better alternative, which is already widely use

• Muhammad Irwan Hakim bin Suhaimi on Apr 14, 2022 at 4:52 am

Saya nak reload

• People who thinks this card is super fabulous need to wake up and realise this is from the monopolistic TNG company we’re talking about. Their goal is only to squeeze more money from us.

Why would you think NFC reload is fantastic? Why such an hassle still need to tap the card on something in order to reload? In fact, it’s ancient compared to direct cc reloads through the app. What about those ppl whose phones don’t have NFC feature?

Look at the 1 Utama app and card. Same type of card and tech. But they invested and upgraded their system so that we the consumers can reload the card directly through the app. No NFC bullshit. And compare that to what TNG is doing here? Wake up peeps. RM10 a card but multiply that by the millions, how much more money are you donating to TNG?

Paultan should write an editorial about this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • Good point about 1 Utama card reload via app. I too have reloaded the card with points earned and no need to tap the phone. My 1 Utama card is also fairly old, 5+ years at least.

A mall can do it while a bigger company could not.

• Does anyone know where to get the card? I cant seem to find it in my TnG app… or are we supposed to go to the kiosk to purchase one? Thanks in advance.

• KL Commuter on Apr 24, 2022 at 7:32 am

Our country really need laws that keep practical monopolies like TNG in check in terms of service quality, convenience etc. These companies need regulations to put the rakyat first over profits.