2022 Nissan Serena S-Hybrid facelift launched in Malaysia – now with AEB, priced from RM150k-RM163k

Nearly three years after the facelifted Nissan Serena went on sale in Japan, the car has finally landed in Malaysia. The refreshed MPV was launched in Mid Valley Megamall this morning, bringing some welcome updates to the C27 – particularly on the safety side.

Those improvements come with a sizeable hike in the prices, although they now include the sales and service tax (SST). As before, the Serena is available in two variants, both with the mild S-Hybrid powertrain – the Highway Star retails at RM149,888 on-the-road without insurance, while the Premium Highway Star with some additional accessories goes for RM162,888.

Compared to the previous model before the SST exemption, the new Serena is RM17,000 more expensive in Highway Star form and RM18,000 more as the Premium Highway Star (the latter is against the old two-tone package variant, which now comes standard). A five-year, unlimited-mileage warranty is included with the purchase, with early bird customers also getting five times free parts and labour for every alternate service.

No matter which version you go for, you get an unchanged MR20DD 2.0 litre direct-injected four-cylinder petrol engine, producing 150 PS at 6,000 rpm and 200 Nm of torque at 4,400 rpm. It’s mated to an Xtronic CVT and a 1.8 kW (2.6 PS) electric motor that provides 48 Nm of accelerative boost when needed, with drive sent to the front wheels. Combined fuel consumption is rated 14.2 km per litre on the NEDC cycle.

The exterior redesign is dominated by a distinctive full-height V-motion grille that stretches all the way down to the centre air intake – replete with chrome “dashes” that Nissan claims gives the car a jewel-like look. Lower down, the L-shaped inserts on the corners of the front bumper are larger and more aggressive, and these are repeated at the rear of the car.

The lamp units have also been revised – the split headlights come with a chrome instead of body-coloured strip, flowing neatly into the massive grille. They are also now bi-LED with new reflector and projector units, and they come with “eyebrow” LED positioning lights. Completing the look are unique LED tail lights (the brake lights are also now LED) that curve outwards, giving the rear end a wider look.

As before, the Serena comes with plain silver 15-inch alloy wheels as standard, with the Premium Highway Star gaining the same 16-inch rollers, now finished in black. The higher-spec model also gets a black roof as standard – it was optional before, and the Cashmere Gold paint was paired with a brown roof instead. Speaking of which, the colour options have shrunk to just four and include Brilliant White, Diamond Black, Tungsten Silver and Radiant Red, the last of which is exclusive to the Premium Highway Star.

Inside, revisions are limited to minor trim changes and new graphics for the seven-inch colour instrument display in the centre, although the segmented LED speedometer remains in front of the driver. The seven seats are still upholstered in black fabric as standard, but the Premium Highway Star gains quilted Nappa leather for the first time, available in either black or brown.

Elsewhere, the 6.75-inch infotainment touchscreen has been bumped up to a nine-inch unit on the Premium Highway Star, still with Apple CarPlay and Android Auto connectivity. That variant’s rear roof-mounted monitor has also grown in size from 10.1 inches to 11.6 inches.

Passengers continue to sit in sliding captain’s chairs on the second row and a three-abreast third-row bench (resulting in a 2-2-3 seating configuration) that tips up to fold; they plug into no fewer than seven USB ports (three in front). You also still get dual-zone automatic climate control – one zone for the front, the other for the second and third rows, the latter adjustable via the same ceiling-mounted control panel.

The rest of the standard equipment is mostly identical and includes keyless entry, push-button start, manually-adjustable Zero Gravity front and second-row seats, a 360-degree camera system with Moving Object Detection (MOD), six-speakers, hands-free power-sliding doors on either side and a manual tailgate with a separately-opening rear windscreen section. Auto-folding door mirrors have been added to the list.

Step up to the Premium Highway Star and you’ll continue to gain door visors, LED interior lighting and a “Tech On” mat for the second-row folding tray tables, along with new additions such as V-Kool window tint and front and rear dash cams. All the top spec’s extras are optional on the Highway Star except for the black roof, wheels, head unit and leather upholstery.

The aforementioned big step up in safety is the inclusion of driver assistance systems like autonomous emergency braking, lane departure warning, blind spot monitoring, rear cross traffic alert and a driver attention warning on all models. Malaysia remains one step behind Japan, losing out on the latter’s optional ProPilot semi-autonomous driving function – but hey, progress is still progress. Six airbags, stability control and second-row ISOFIX child seat anchors are still standard fitment.

The facelifted Nissan Serena S-Hybrid can be had with interest rates starting from 1.99% per annum with Edaran Tan Chong Motor’s (ETCM) Green Financing. Buyers can also place a booking online on the company’s Lazada store for a lower fee. Browse full specifications and equipment on CarBase.my.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Do not tell me the higher price is due to tax. Even before the tax exemption, highest spec is only rm140k+. You may say more gadgets but if you give me everything that all other luxury cars have and sell me higher price, even may still much cheaper than luxury cars, but you need to ask customers whether able to absorb it or not. Makaysia as low income salary but everything is so expensive! I know some stupid may compare with Singapore again. Before you comment, think about curreny coversion to USD. Our money almost like toilet paper! If want to compare with Singapore, ask ourself why NUS separated out from UM, now NUS becomes top U in Asia while UM like rubbish U. I am graduate from UM engineering but will definitely not send my kids to UM. Low std!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 23
    • Celup King on Jul 06, 2022 at 2:05 pm

As usual Tan Chong is late this round 3 years too late to introduce this facelift when this model is about to phase out in other markets.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
      • Infiniti on Jul 06, 2022 at 7:20 pm

Now Nissan is the best. But Tan Chong is not perfect as Nissan Japan but better than Honda Mesia

• suomynona on Jul 06, 2022 at 4:56 pm

Who melted the butt

• Lance on Jul 06, 2022 at 12:46 pm

Sadly, no e-power

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
    • But fuel consumption is good, even using same hybrid engine as Serena 2018

• People won’t care about haters on Jul 06, 2022 at 7:02 pm

They give you good offer but better safety but unsatisfied on what nissan already offer for you

• farghmee on Jul 07, 2022 at 9:45 am

yg ICE shy shy hybrid ni pon ada problem.
      masuk e-power lg pening nnt?

• Worth to buy:
    – AEB
    – BSM
    – RCTA
    – 360 camera
    – Lane Departure Warning

Now can buy Serena hybrid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • farghmee on Jul 06, 2022 at 3:03 pm

hold your horses mate. read owners’ experience in fb 1st.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 15
      • Complaining more but have you bought one?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
        • People won’t care about haters on Jul 06, 2022 at 6:50 pm

Haters will never own one but hatred too much

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
          • bla bla bla on Jul 07, 2022 at 7:48 am

join “NISSAN SERENA C27 malaysia” facebook group first. then we tembak there

• farghmee on Jul 07, 2022 at 9:49 am

hahahaha kamon la.
          hang salesman ka?

no need to buy to know.

btw, i’m not complaining. read my post above clearly.

• Even we do not buy one but our friends, colleagues, our neighbours, etc own one.

• NOT FCUKIGN worth it.. JOIN NISSAN SERENA C27 GROUP.. So many problems to so many people.. ABS COMPRESSER ABSORBER STEERING RACK.. and even my FCUKIGN HORN… YES PEOPLE MY HORN… SO LOUSY QUALITY.. I NEVER HEARD NEW CAR HORN ALSO KONG… BEWARE ABS COST 14K AIRCOND COMPRESSER 4K MAYBE… JOIN THE OWNER GROUP URSELF TO KNOW….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 21
      • People won’t care about haters on Jul 06, 2022 at 7:00 pm

The company knows it but at least they are trying to rectify issues. Not the one company who can’t able to rectify when more issues

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
        • farghmee on Jul 07, 2022 at 9:44 am

dah baca fb serena blum?

senyap sunyi bai salesman nissan dlm fb tu time org tanya pasal defects.
          aku ckp defect sbb kete baru pon ada problem major.

• Serena facelift has been available for viewing at showrooms for a few days already. Surprised paultan org did not jump on the opportunity to photograph display units at showrooms to have a comprehensive gallery available for the launch.

• Bieight8 on Jul 06, 2022 at 2:07 pm

3 years after it was launched in Japan….

• Over-night-fry-rice on Jul 06, 2022 at 4:00 pm

As usual, re-fry overnight rice, adding some fresh vege. The 16in rims.. coated black only. Not even bother to pick another pattern (Confirm, unless otherwise i’m wrong).

• Sohai on Jul 06, 2022 at 5:39 pm

I never understood the 7 seater configuration. I prefer the 8 seater as a family people mover. This is not an Alphard to ferry boss but family members. The center roll is the most spacious for a 3 seater vs the last roll.
    I would prefer to have choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • dellen on Jul 06, 2022 at 5:51 pm

i think some people who never intended to have family mpv think that its easier to access third row

• farghmee on Jul 07, 2022 at 10:32 am

as for serena c27 My 7seater, it is a lot easier.

due to captain seat 2nd row, the seat belt anchorage is at the seat not at the c-pillar. this setup enable easier ingress/egress.

on contrary, 3seater 2nd row normally has the anchorage at c-pillar. if 2nd row passengers have already buckled up, they need to unbuckle in order to give way for 3rd row passengers coming in.

and one nice thing regarding the 7seater captain seat 2nd row in serena c27 is: u can align the captain seat toward the center to give bigger way for 3rd row passengers.

oh am i complaining? hahahahha

• Khairul Azizul on Jul 07, 2022 at 10:17 pm

Im also c27 owner..seat configuration really suit with my family where im having 4 childrens while 2 of them still breastfeeding..easy access for my wife..

But when talked bout abs,steering rack, compressor and absorber also warranty claim issue..owned this car 1st later we smile together ..

• Kapchai on Jul 06, 2022 at 6:35 pm

Once you put baby chair, habis space.

All sit behind.. haha

• Sohail on Jul 23, 2022 at 11:58 am

it looks more like a 2-2-2.

the third row sitting 3, you are away from the headrest.

so, with 1no. baby seat – it can only sit 5 adults for adequate space.

• farghmee on Jul 07, 2022 at 9:42 am

c26 got 8 seater config., but not c27 My. c27 Jp got.

imo, c27 is a re-skinned c26: take a look at shape.

having said that..c26 8 seater 2nd row is small, as the middle seat can move fwd (to 1st row).

• Ruslan Bahari on Jul 09, 2022 at 1:03 pm

Almost all Japanese MPVs are merely reskins. Look at Estima, Vellfire and the rest. Nothing wrong with it.

• Infiniti on Jul 06, 2022 at 7:18 pm

Nissan is the best. Thank you Nissan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
  • Ahmad badri bin rozlan on Jul 07, 2022 at 7:21 pm

Worst car from current c27 owner. 4 years used change absorber n compressor 3rd time.

• The power to weight ratio is laughable

• the car is so heavy they dont even dare to state it in brochure or webpage. can you imagine such an important info was left out?

• go to serena c27 fb group and you’ll discover the common issues :
    compressor
    steering rack
    ABS

go figure.

Salesman can go fly kite. don’t busy body here.

• Kapchai on Jul 17, 2022 at 5:14 pm

at Japan, Nissan Serena only start at RM 98,500 /3070,000 yen for 2.0 CVT.

• Ramesh on Jul 17, 2022 at 12:35 pm

no ACC self driving? better buy Fortuner 2.4L 4X4, CX-8

Man’s car. not Soccer’s mom.

• RM 150K still with hard cheap plastic cover manual adjusted seat???

• seriously… price and specs are fair enough for a family car. but after sales is another story.

but people no need to argue. before you buy this nissan serena, please please just join the fb group NISSAN SERENA C27. you will find your answers there.

• apek oh on Jul 25, 2022 at 12:36 am

Usually they say protong make cheap af car, how bout tancong? Bring lousiness to Nissan brand in Msia n SEA.