2023 Toyota Vios – next-gen D92A sedan gets sporty looks, red dashboard, DNGA platform? August 9 debut

It has been previously indicated that the all-new Toyota Vios was set for an August debut, and now it has been confirmed that this is indeed the case – Toyota Thailand has just released a video teasing the new B-segment sedan, codenamed the D92A, and has revealed when the car will make its world debut; the wraps are set to come off on August 9.

The video clip also offers a glimpse of what to expect – a rakish-looking front, flanked by slim LED headlamps with L-shaped LED DRLs and anchored by what looks to be a prominently-sized lower grille. At the back, sequential turn indicators are highlighted.

Elsewhere, the sole interior shot depicts a striking red-coloured dashboard with a clean horizontal surface, on which the focal piece on the top end is a freestanding infotainment touchscreen central display, which is very Mazda-esque and – more recently – Civic-like in its portrayal. Meanwhile, that three-spoke steering design may look familiar – it’s also seen on the likes of the Toyota Raize, Daihatsu Rocky and yes, the Perodua Myvi.

No technical elements have been revealed, but it has been previously reported by Thai motoring site Autolifethailand that two engine options will be available for the car in the Kingdom, these being a 1.2 litre naturally aspirated four-cylinder petrol engine, in line with the country’s eco-car leanings, and a new 1.5 litre hybrid.

Details remain scarce about the latter, but the 1.5L hybrid powertrain could very well be the same one used in the JDM Toyota Aqua a.k.a. Prius c. Seen in that application is an Atkinson-cycle version of the latest 1.5L Dynamic Force three-cylinder engine, which makes 91 PS/120 Nm, which is combined with an 80 PS/141 Nm electric motor to deliver a total output of 116 PS. There’s also an E-Four version, which adds on a 5.3 PS/52 Nm rear motor to make it AWD.

As for the 1.2 litre NA, it will be very much a Thailand-only offering, with a 1.5 litre unit being the expected powertrain for markets elsewhere, including Malaysia. It has been said that the new Vios will sit on a Daihatsu New Global Architecture (DNGA) platform, which underpins models like the Perodua Ativa/Daihatsu Rocky/Toyota Raize as well as the Toyota Avanza/Toyota Veloz/Daihatsu Xenia. More on the all-new Vios when the time comes.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Piano on Jul 25, 2022 at 8:45 pm

I quite like this design. Way better than current gen

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 2
    • Dah Menang Semua on Jul 26, 2022 at 8:37 am

No eye see if DNGA-Vios still cannot win Honda City in sales volume. Hope the overall design not awkward like Almera laa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
    • Lets See on Jul 26, 2022 at 6:05 pm

Design looks good coz side profile roofline copies from Civic ketam. Toyotas by their own have never been pretty to look.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
      • People won’t care haters like you on Jul 26, 2022 at 9:05 pm

But at least better than honda third world country car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
      • sohai on Jul 26, 2022 at 11:07 pm

Habislah, nex-gen platform dah down-graded to 3rd world D , no longer a Toyota.

• Myvios on Jul 25, 2022 at 9:01 pm

Vios,
    Welcome back, with DNGA.

Sporty Premium Compact Sedan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 4
    • We Are Poor on Jul 25, 2022 at 9:56 pm

As expected, D92A Vios, D66B Vios Cross and D27A Veloz use THIRD WORLD Poverty DNGA-B platform while Yaris, Yaris Cross and Sienta use FIRST WORLD Atas TNGA-B platform.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 78
      • Take a look interior inside, it isn’t third world interior, even toyota also sells Toyota Raize with DNGA platform in Japan, is not even third world interior

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
      • N00bie on Jul 26, 2022 at 6:58 am

N00b,
        Raize JDM is DNGA -Top 10 @ Japan
        Toyota Yaris, JDM is TNGA- Top 10 @ Japan

TNGA begin with compact,
        DNGA make better space, only named for Daihatsu shared model.

DNGA Veloz is much larger
        TNGA Sienta, is small – 4.2m 7 seater.

• Santai on Jul 26, 2022 at 7:34 am

TNGA-B yaris cross not value for money,
        TNGA-C corolla cross, similar price, better.

Only GR Yaris mixed TNGA-B front, and TNGA-C rear achieved racing spec.

TNGA-B and DNGA-B, Sama saja.
        India Toyota Hyrder not using TNGA, but also get 1.5DF EV.

• sohai on Jul 26, 2022 at 9:34 am

100% agreed, nex gen will downgrade to 3rd world platform…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 24
        • Noobie on Jul 26, 2022 at 7:30 pm

N00b, you also can choose to pay $30,000/RM 133k+ for a full spec C segment Sedan.
          Even USA got sell Almari.

• FernCarl on Jul 26, 2022 at 10:08 am

Looks better than City

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
      • JasonX on Jul 26, 2022 at 12:20 pm

We ARE in a low cost region… You just realized that? Go work harder, so that people stop looking down at us as a lazy nation

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
    • Lul sporty look always, engine? Low hp low tork
      Redline everywhere, drive like turtle . Ah Beng’s car. Vios just a normal city car, no more than that. Handling rubbish, engine one of lowest in category mehhh. That called sport? Define SPORT!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 38
      • SUV,
        Sport Utility Vehicle.

Sport Shoes, got power anot?

This is Sport.

Racing, is different.
        Power doesn’t mean can win Race anyway.
        Racing – professional only do it @ circuit, go Sepang,

Don’t reckless speeding above regulated speed in Malaysia.

• Lul sporty look always, engine? Low hp low tork
      Redline everywhere, drive like turtle . Ah Beng’s car. Vios just a normal city car, no more than that. Handling rubbish, engine one of lowest in category mehhh. That called sport? Define SPORT!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 28
  • Aiman on Jul 25, 2022 at 9:15 pm

Can we expect 1.5l three cylinder dynamic force in gasoline and hybrid version from jdm yaris in next local vios? Hopefully wish come true.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 3
    • Dear Aiman on Jul 26, 2022 at 7:38 am

y? u wanna buy ah? lol talk only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 27
      • People won’t care about haters like you on Jul 26, 2022 at 9:03 pm

Get a life honda man. Just because honda city is already outdated lol!

• Will sell like hotcakes confirmed!

• Aeroheads on Jul 25, 2022 at 9:35 pm

The dashboard is more modern. Can spend time looking at it day in and day out will not get dissapointed. Cannot stand the current dashboard. Just so 80s.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • Haidi on Jul 25, 2022 at 10:19 pm

Wow… That interior is killing.

• Truth on Jul 25, 2022 at 10:35 pm

Daihatsu platform? What a shame

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 51
    • Isn’t shame. DNGA platform is not third world country

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • Mr. Sotong on Jul 26, 2022 at 8:50 am

What is shamefulabout Daihatsu platform? DNGA, TNGA are all developed and owned by pretty much the same people. One is for small to medium sized and the other is for medium to large. No big deal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • Ya, we should apply Ferrari platform on this car right ? Why don’t you send resume into Toyota and tell them

• Unknown on Jul 26, 2022 at 6:10 pm

But imagine paying Lambo prices and get Audi car.
        Or pay Ferrari prices and get a Lambretta.
        Facepalm
        Isn’t it better to be paying Proton prices and get Volvo level instead.

• Kosong on Jul 26, 2022 at 7:52 pm

Volvo is only comparable to Citroen, Peugeot, Renault and VW.
          Nothing too luxury, but makan minyak vehicles.

However, X50 X70 still not bad for it price.

• Unknown on Jul 26, 2022 at 6:08 pm

Pay Toyota prices for Daihatsu level lel. Better to pay Daihatsu prices for a Daihatsu car instead.

• seancorr on Jul 25, 2022 at 11:13 pm

Wow, with this I think the Vios is back at the top.

• ariffin on Jul 26, 2022 at 1:20 am

after brighten up the interior photo, seems like the aircond panel settings still the same with the current vios; only up and up/down, no front defogger. steering, gear shifters, the buttons are reuse from dnga-cars. aircond controls similar to jdm raize but the display is different, more ‘upmarket’. the interior really honor the dnfsedan concept car design. the center console and the fastback design looks like toyota mirai. hopefully they will offer white interior as well.

• Made in Rawang.

• Matchy on Jul 26, 2022 at 9:26 am

Waiting for the render from Theophilus “Rendering Wiz” Chin!

• hard to survive with current perodua alza. I know tgey are not in the same category but Malaysian never refer to category but only price, instead, all the while.

• Nice dashboard design. Hebat!

• Bystander on Jul 26, 2022 at 9:43 am

Sigh…no EPB I guess since they are hiding the handbrake in the video. Why would they show a blurry armrest if they have nice EPB/ABH buttons to show.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • now every cars in Malaysia are following X50 with red tone dashboard & interior hahahaha….

• FernCarl on Jul 26, 2022 at 10:10 am

Looks way better than city

• Humanity is gone on Jul 26, 2022 at 6:00 pm

Get a life, Toyota man. Not everything is about better than. I feel sad for people like you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
      • Why so smart on Jul 26, 2022 at 8:12 pm

Comparison is only necessary to buy car, you dun deserve telling people that. If wan stopid then so be it urself

• People won’t care about haters like you on Jul 26, 2022 at 9:02 pm

Lol, why are you so jealous, is it because honda city already outdated and now come here just to badmouth about toyota because vios looking good? I feed sad for you

• Look at who's the hater. Lol on Jul 27, 2022 at 6:26 pm

Did I say Toyota don’t look good? I was just pointing out how some people just hate other brands and show it. While another thinks he’s so smart.

I don’t need to be jealous because I drive German cars. Difference is, I don’t hate other brands like many of you do. Maybe because I’ve owned so many different makes. I still pay attention to cars that I won’t buy. That’s the difference mate, between car lovers and brand lovers. I still remember an old Fiat that gave me so much problems but I don’t hate that brand… I just won’t get another.

• He isn’t hating like what honda fanboys are do. When other brands are looking good, honda fanboys always feel very jealous, so they start to badmouth to other brands. But yet look, honda aftersales service is already failure, quality is also failure and spare parts for honda is also failure. Honda malaysia are also ripping off specs while giving such lousy safety system like base specs for small models like City and also HRV come with four airbags. So it is very pointless for honda fanboys badmouthing to other brands, when honda isn’t doing well.

• Choong Khim Fen on Jul 26, 2022 at 11:02 am

Hope when come to Malaysia is floating type no TV again ok Toyota Malaysia

• Dugong dah fully upgraded jadi dolphin

• suspenderman on Jul 26, 2022 at 12:56 pm

noticed the gear knob and the aircon graphics are identical to the ativa.

aircon controls most likely from the ativa with its own knobs.

• th ativa is based on a toyota so there no need to compare that same lol

• Interior looks awesome! Definitely best in class.
    Not so sure about the side profile though… the front looks a little too short.

• this is no world car.this is made by toyota for the 3rd world market..it was not even on sale in singapore

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
    • People won’t care about haters like you on Jul 26, 2022 at 9:04 pm

Honda is now look like third world country now

• Look at who's the hater. Lol on Jul 27, 2022 at 6:29 pm

Someone don’t like Toyota and you immediately bring Honda in? I applaud you, Honda hater. Don’t tell haters off and then bring your own hate into it.

• Honda fanboys are having their free time for poking to other brands until today

• Look at who's the hater. Lol on Jul 29, 2022 at 8:30 pm

Not exactly a fan but I support Honda more, because of how Toyota fanboys act. Exactly why I bought Mercedes-AMG instead of BMW M but i don’t go and bad mouth BMW. All these fanboy culture completely turns me off. So yeah, just stay in your hateful state. You know who you are because Honda is always in your mind. Lol

• We don’t hate any brands. At least toyota fanboys have improve and learnt their lessons after losing specs to honda. But except that honda fanboys have been poking to other brands when spec already fail, quality already fail, design already fail and spare parts also fail.

• Look at who's the haters. Lol on Jul 27, 2022 at 6:35 pm

There’s no single perfect car, which is why I have 3 in my house. And there are different type of range to cater for different wants. You call this a third world car? You obviously didn’t know that the same platform Yaris is being sold in first world countries. Try again mate.

• suspenderman on Jul 31, 2022 at 2:22 pm

loving the fastback look.

but i have a bad feeling proportion is still going to be an issue when they take the covers off and reveal a small wheel, hopefully not.

also, since the steering and the gear knobs are visually identical to the ativa’s, i wonder if its going to be made with the same plastics because certain plastic pieces on the ativa’s steering is pretty soft.

• Junkies otr on Aug 17, 2022 at 11:01 am

Dashboard design curi from mazda