Jaguar Land Rover Malaysia adds Robot Assistants to Ara Damansara showroom for contactless assistance

They are a regular sight at F&B establishments, serving you piping hot dishes fresh out of the kitchen, but now the robot invasion has moved on to car showrooms too! Jaguar Land Rover Malaysia has added two new robot assistants to its Ara Damansara showroom as part of a collaboration between JLRM and Secure Robotics, a company focusing on in-door service robots.

“As part of Jaguar Land Rover Malaysia’s digital transformation, the introduction of the robot marks the next step in raising the bar for customer experiences. Furthermore, as Malaysia transitions into the endemic stage, the robot also allows for customer interaction with a reduced risk of transmission. There are wide applications for technologically-driven autonomous services such as this and we look forward to exploring this further,” said Jeffrey Gan, Managing Director, Retail & Distribution, Sime Darby Motors Malaysia.

“In line with our strategy to reimagine the future, we strive to offer modern luxury through unique customer experiences. The partnership with Secure Robotics provides the opportunity to leverage on advanced technology. We are piloting the robots at our Ara Damansara showroom and aim to continue this collaborative journey to expand our capabilities and further elevate the automotive experience for our customers,” commented Syed Ahmad Muzri Syed Faiz, Managing Director of Jaguar Land Rover Malaysia.

The two robot assistants are equipped with wireless internet connectivity, laser radar sensors, GPS and voice, facial and image recognition. JLRM is also currently developing a digital refreshment order management programme, whereby customers will be able to review menus and place orders through a digital platform at a designated dining area.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ROTI CANAI on Aug 04, 2022 at 11:01 pm

too free as nobody stepping into their showrooms these days

• Go home. When I pay premium price for premium car, I’d expect to be treated like a elite human being. Why would you send robots? I would prefer to talk to humans with precautions taken rather than robots. If I really want contactless, I’d prefer to do everything online.
    For ‘contactless service’, 4S should provide free car delivery service : personnel from 4S comes to my house and get my car onto a flatbed and send to service center for service, then send the car back to me after sanitization.

• Sohai on Aug 04, 2022 at 11:17 pm

Only high volume retail brand like McDonald’s is suitable for such things. Is not like Land Rover is so busy that they can’t give a more personalize service to its customers. As a luxury brand, I really don’t want to go to a show room and get services by a robot.

• SmartConsumer on Aug 08, 2022 at 8:14 am

Jaguar and Land rover are one of the most unreliable cars on earth. Only fools will buy them. Pay premium to get premium headaches