How to pay for MBSJ parking in Subang Jaya’s two-hour parking lots (orange colour) with your phone

You might have seen them around if you travel around Subang Jaya, but now it’s official – MBSJ’s new two-hour parking lots have come into effect from September 1 2022.

The new two-hour parking lots are marked with an orange border and say “2 jam” in the middle of the lot. Other than the time limit, they are also more expensive to park in, priced at 50 sen for half an hour instead of 50 sen for an hour. If you park in one of these lots but pay the normal parking lot fee, you are deemed to have not paid for parking and will be liable to be fined. Here’s how to properly pay for the new two-hour lots in order to avoid getting fined.

Download the Smart Selangor parking app

Firstly you must download the Smart Selangor Parking or the Flexi Parking app. The other parking apps such as TnG does not support the new parking lots yet, though they may in the future.

Here are the links to the app:

Smart Selangor Parking on iOS App Store
Smart Selangor Parking on Google Play Store

Choose the “change box type” option

After you have set up the app with your car number plate and reloaded credits, it’s time to pay for parking. If you’re in MBSJ, you will notice the layout is slightly different.

If your number plate is in a green box, you’ve currently selected the normal parking lot. You have to press “Change box type” in order to select the two-hour parking box.

Select the “2-hour parking” box type

Once you press “Change box type”, you will be presented with these two choices.

Chose the 2-hour parking option.

Choose the length of parking you want – max 2 hours

You will see that the screen is now different – your car’s number plate should now be orange instead of green. This means the correct parking option has been selected.

You can choose to park from a choice of four blocks of 30 minutes so proceed to choose a time between 30 minutes up to 2 hours.

Confirm that you want to pay for parking

After you select the time you want to pay for, just press yes.

Double check your receipt!

Head to the receipts section to double confirm that you have indeed paid for the two-hour parking lot. If you’ve done it correctly, it will show RM1 per hour. That’s it, you can now go about your business and vacate the parking lot before the maximum of 2 hours are up.

Not paying the parking fee correctly will result in a compound fine of RM80 and the possible towing of your vehicle away, but MBSJ corporate and strategic management department deputy director Azfarizal Abdul Rashid said there will be no towing action at this initial stage.

In addition, there is a cooling-off period of an hour before motorists are allowed to re-park at any two-hour parking bays.

This covers all areas under the scheme, meaning that if a vehicle owner has occupied the full time limit at a two-hour parking bay in SS15, an hour must pass before parking in another two-hour limit bay, no matter if it was in USJ10, SS12 or any other zone.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Pendek on Sep 02, 2022 at 9:02 pm

No.1
    Download APP:
    Option 1 – Smart Selangor Parking APP
    Option 2 – Flexi Parking APP

TnG APP?
    does not support the new parking lots yet, though they may in the future.

• Kapten Amerika on Sep 03, 2022 at 10:40 am

Don’t download any Selangor made app! They are a identity harvester bot!

Just as Selangkah had used people’s ID to automatically book vaccination slots without their knowledge or consent, your identity could be used by them to garner phantom votes! Never trust these PH scoundrels!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 31
  • Aura89 on Sep 03, 2022 at 2:38 am

Half arsed system pushed to unsuspecting users and fully expecting them to fumble and make mistakes allowing themselves to kena fine equals more money to state coffers. Dei Pakatan! B4 you push ur dumb half arsed system to get more money from users, why not have a trial period and memantau first b4 you start fining people!

Follow Dr Wee example at least he give chance for us to make mistake and learn b4 fining.

This here is plain obvious a money grab scheme/scam!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 12
    • Imelda Rosmah in distress on Sep 03, 2022 at 10:37 am

Bradder,
      U know the meaning in Cantonese ” Chanfourtakeep” ?
      Rob while the fire is raging..doesnt seem like fiction.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 25
      • Ghani on Sep 04, 2022 at 5:15 pm

Brader you know what the internet slang for GTFO? We don’t need you PH bootlicker here justifying their/your stupidity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
  • ROTI CANAI on Sep 03, 2022 at 5:37 pm

as usual, i just dont bother to pay for parking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
    • UTurn M on Sep 05, 2022 at 9:25 am

No need to pay and never pay to lying thieving PH state gomen….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
    • Legenda Mat Kutip Chukai on Sep 05, 2022 at 10:23 am

apply oku card gets free parking for life

• sanid on Sep 06, 2022 at 12:18 pm

kalau betul OKU takpela, kalau tak, hidupla mcm org normal. jangan meminta, ini semua doa takut2 Tuhan makbulkan

• dodgeviper88 on Sep 04, 2022 at 12:31 am

Seriously who pays for public parking? Saman also saman only la. Only need to be careful if you park illegally or double park as clamping or tow away you have to pay the saman before release. But even clamping, if you good at lock picking then you also get a free clamp boot

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • dellen on Sep 04, 2022 at 10:36 am

i agree. its not as though those parking lots need any maintenance. why the hell should we pay for public parking. what a scam seriously.

• Its a way to avoid abused usage by some people. Imagine no need to pay anything, surely someone will make it as their personal parking spot, putting bucket or spouse as booking mark.

• Laikl on Sep 05, 2022 at 3:46 pm

Smart Selangor Apps don’t work well. Even tried to ask the Subang Jaya enforcement officer to help with my parking using my phone. Probably it’s IOS or something. Although selected 2hr parking lot but selection was still hourly( although orange). And when not!!… it will charge rm1.00 per hour… They seriously needs to look into the ‘bugs’…