2022 BMW X3 sDrive20i facelift review – is the RM297k base model good enough, or is it too slow or kosong?

The facelifted G01 BMW X3 sDrive20i was launched in February this year alongside the X3 xDrive30i and xDrive30e, starting from RM296,950 on-the-road without insurance, inclusive of a two-year unlimited mileage warranty. Opt for the five-year unlimited mileage warranty and five-year/100,000 km service package and the sDrive20i’s price tag is bumped up to RM315,800. All three variants are locally assembled (CKD) in Malaysia.

Like the X3 xDrive30i, the sDrive20i is powered by a B48 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine. Although it produces less power than the xDrive30i, it still gets a respectable 184 PS from 5,000 to 6,500 rpm and 300 Nm of torque from 1,350 to 4,000 rpm. The engine is paired with an eight-speed Steptronic automatic gearbox to drive the rear wheels, unlike the xDrive models which come with all-wheel drive. The sDrive20i’s 0-100 km/h sprint is done in 8.2 seconds, with a top speed of 215 km/h.

Aside from the M Sport body kit with sportier front and rear bumpers, the X3’s headlamps (with adaptive LED lighting) are 10 mm slimmer than before along with new daytime running light graphics. The kidney grille is also larger and joined with a single-piece frame that incorporates a front camera. It’s worth noting that all three variants of the facelifted X3 do not come with front fog lamps. Aside from the hexagonal-shaped exhaust tips, the taillights now feature a modelled pincer contour design for a more pronounced look.

Other noteworthy mentions for the exterior include the 19-inch M light alloy style 887 wheels wrapped in 245/50 profile Bridgestone Alenza run-flat tyres, M sport suspension, walk-away auto lock and unlock along with a hands-free powered tailgate.

Inside, standard equipment includes BMW’s Live Cockpit Plus system with a 5.1-inch multi-info display, a 10.25-inch touchscreen, an M Sport steering wheel, three USB-C and one USB-A charging ports, an auto brake hold, a three-zone climate control system, and a HiFi loudspeaker sound system. Upholstery options include Vernasca leather in Mocha or Black leather although the former is reserved for Alpine White or Carbon Black exterior colour options.

For driver aids, the X3 sDrive20i comes equipped with the Driving Assistant package for features such as autonomous emergency braking, lane departure warning, lane change warning and rear-cross traffic alert with brake intervention. Also offered is the Parking Assistant package with Reversing assistant and cruise control.

So, what do you think of this new facelift X3 sDrive20i? Is it sufficiently equipped? Would you choose the X3 over the Mercedes-Benz GLC and if so, which variant would you prefer to have? Do discuss below.

Pan Eu Jin

Pan Eu Jin is a firm believer that good things don’t come cheap, but cheap cars can be good. How a car makes you feel behind the wheel or as a passenger should be more important than the brand it represents.

• anonymous on Oct 14, 2022 at 2:36 pm

if you are considering an suv at this price point, do test the xc60 as well because their ‘base’ spec still comes with the full safety suite. but if you’re the type that die die have to buy bmw/merc then go ahead. still a good car just stripped of a lot of features (unfortunately).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 6
    • I agree. XC60 is incredibly well-equipped and IMO looks the most handsome out of the bunch, followed by the GLC with AMG line, and bum last is the X3 which just looks fat even with M sport kit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
    • Linda on Oct 14, 2022 at 3:48 pm

2023 is coming,
      this car is still equipped with the low spec passive cruise control.
      However, the same goes for the low spec BMW X3 xDrive30i M Sport (2022).

Performance wise is acceptable to it’s user –
      the car is not born for Racing Circuit.

• seancorr on Oct 14, 2022 at 3:48 pm

This might be your last chance to get a pure ICE SUV. BMW and Merc are slowly integrating their 48V systems and calling it mild hybrids. Still waiting to see how durable these new breed of vehicles are.

• B series engine are very very reliable, safe for coolant leaks if you dont do preventative maintenance. From the B48 in the f30 to the current b48 and b58.

• The tail lamp ganas sia

• why would anyone buy this the x70 has more feature and almost similar hp but half the price hahaha. stupid people

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 21
    • You’re definitely saying this because you can’t afford a BMW, Mercedes, or Volvo. Stop comparing a Proton to mainstream brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • REAL X70 OWNER WITH CAR STUCK AT WORKSHOP (FRUSTRATED) on Nov 09, 2022 at 9:26 pm

so if i buy a proton x70 you would assume im poor automatically? sheesh typical 3rd world mindset

• Wong Hen Seng on Jun 10, 2023 at 10:56 pm

Each car brand and model has been designed and engineered for different class and category of the people to fulfil their desire of requirements subjected to self defined and interpretation .

• This is copy ori 1:1

• Proton Fanboy on Nov 03, 2022 at 7:57 pm

Not worth the money. X50 can easily tapau this car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
    • some joe on Nov 23, 2022 at 4:29 pm

The exact same reason why people wearing rolex, iphone, it is a lifestyle. Berwang people don’t bother on the practicality, as long as they can show to the people around how berwang I am.

• My benchmark for 0-100 sprint is the civic turbo. A car with >2x the price still falls behind . Otherwise nothing much to pick on.