Toyota Veloz MPV launched in Malaysia to replace Avanza – upmarket Alza twin, RM20k more at RM95k

UMW Toyota Motor (UMWT) has launched the Toyota Veloz seven-seater MPV for Malaysia, with the Japanese brand now bringing the sister vehicle to the Perodua Alza at a higher positioning with pricing to match, as a single model variant priced at RM95,000 on-the-road without insurance.

Manufactured in Sungai Choh, Rawang, the Malaysian-market Veloz is one of four related models based on the Daihatsu New Global Architecture (DNGA) platform, the other three being the Avanza (for Indonesia), Daihatsu Xenia and locally, the aforementioned Perodua Alza. The shift to the new platform means a change to a transverse engined front-wheel-drive layout, compared to the RWD base of the previous Avanza.

Exterior dimensions for the Veloz are slightly larger than the Alza, measuring 4,475 mm long and 1,750 mm wide, or 50 mm longer and 20 mm wider than the Alza.

Key exterior differences on the Veloz for Malaysia in relation to the Perodua Alza begin with the LED daytime running lights, which are unique to the model for our market. Exterior kit consists of LED self-levelling headlamps with the ‘follow-me-home’ feature, along LED daytime running lights, the latter in a configuration unique to the Malaysian market, according to UMWT.

The rear end of the Veloz gets a full-width, three-dimensional tail lamp assembly, while the automatic-folding side exterior mirrors also feature foot lamps (puddle lamps) which switch on automatically. Atop the roof are low-profile roof rails, which are rated for a load capacity of up to 75 kg.

Powertrain comes courtesy of the 1,496 cc NR-VE inline four-cylinder petrol engine the produces 106 PS at 6,000 rpm and 138 Nm of torque at 4,200 rpm, driving the front wheels via a continuously variable transmission. This unit in the Veloz also offers the choice of manual input with seven virtual ratios. Three drive modes are offered; Power, Eco and Normal.

Rolling stock for the Malaysian-market Veloz is a set of 17-inch two-tone alloy wheels all-round, shod in 205/50 tyres. Ground clearance for the Veloz is 205 mm up to the central section of the exhaust muffler, or 190 mm up to the suspension hardware. This is 30 mm taller than the Alza, which stands at 160 mm of ground clearance.

Inside, the seven-seater cabin of the Veloz for Malaysia gets semi-leather upholstery along with soft-touch padding on interior panels, and select panels trimmed in a lighter shade contrast with darker hue of the seats for a two-tone cabin; the contrast in the Alza is with a darker combination of black and dark red. Ambient lighting in the Veloz is located along the door trim panels and centre console.

Over the Perodua Alza, the driver in the Toyota Veloz additionally gains telescopic reach adjustment for the steering column; the Alza is tilt-adjustable only.

Infotainment is via a nine-inch display panel with smartphone connectivity provided by Android Auto and Apple CarPlay; wired and wireless on both counts (the Alza in top AV form maxes out with wired Android Auto). Wireless charging is via a charging pad of the Qi 2.4 wireless standard; further mobile devices can be charged through three USB charging ports in the cabin of the Veloz. Also on are two 12-volt power sockets, one of which is located near the window for the third-row seats.

Cabin cooling is courtesy of an automatic air-conditioning system, while second- and third-row occupants benefit from the ceiling-mounted rear vents with its own fan control switch. Ferrying a thirsty bunch? There are some 15 drinks holders located throughout the cabin of the Veloz.

Safety equipment on the Veloz features the Toyota Safety Sense suite of advanced active safety kit, which consists of pre-collision system, lane departure warning, lane departure prevention and lane keeping control. These operate from a stereo camera setup.

In addition to the quartet of TSS active safety systems, the Veloz also gets adaptive cruise control, blind spot monitoring, rear cross-traffic alert, front departure alert, a 3D panoramic view monitor (PVM), auto brake hold, an electronic parking brake as well as adaptive driving beam headlights. Further safety systems for the Veloz includes six airbags, ABS, stability control, traction control and hill start control.

The Veloz also includes a dashcam, or digital video recorder (DVR) as standard, and a rear-facing camera unit can be additionally specified for an additional outlay of RM380.

Camera for 3D panoramic view monitor (above left) and stereo front cameras (above right); click to enlarge

Every purchase of the 2022 Toyota Veloz in Malaysia comes with the three-year subscription for the vehicle telematics system (VTS), which enables a command centre to locate the vehicle via GPS signal in the event it is stolen, and the relevant authorities will be informed for its retrieval.

Priced at RM95,000 on-the-road without insurance, the Toyota Veloz is covered by a five-year, unlimited-mileage warranty. The 2022 Toyota Veloz comes in a choice of five exterior colours; Red Metallic, Metallic Bluish Black, White, Blue Metallic and Silver Metallic, the final two being two-tone schemes which combine a black roof finish for a premium of RM1,300.

What do you think, dear readers – is the 2022 Toyota Veloz in Malaysia worth the RM20k premium it commands over the Alza with the extra equipment included? Let us know in the comments section.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Angry Birds on Oct 18, 2022 at 8:01 pm

Will go to the test drive soon

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • Worth Buying MPV
      – Reliable engine with
      – 8 Speed D-CVT
      – Cheaper maintenance cost
      – Toyota Safety Sense
      – Blind Spot Monitor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 15
      • Daihatsu Vios on Oct 18, 2022 at 9:26 pm

Pay 20K. Next time sell will get back
        No problem. Toyota badge more facey

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
        • Where is my Starbucks Machiatto,guards? on Oct 18, 2022 at 10:59 pm

Sir
          Toyota badge more facey.R u sure? At 95K ?
          Nobody give a damn or second look.
          Unless it is a Phantom Royce.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 17
          • Civic Turbo 2018 on Oct 19, 2022 at 7:47 am

He’s targeting the 60K Alza owners…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
          • Dah Menang Semua on Oct 19, 2022 at 2:26 pm

That extra 20K buys U…
            1/Integrated DayRunning light
            2/Toyota Telematics System
            3/Telescopic steering adju
            4/Ambient illumination
            5/Doorside foot lamps
            6/Door visors
            7/Roof rails
            8/Larger 17″ rims
            9/Qi wireless charging
            10/one “Veloz” badge with soft-padding

Alza (before GearUp) got extra these…
            1/Two memory AC settings
            2/PVM 360 steering button
            3/More comfy thicker tires
            4/Trunk release remote
            5/Saving of 20K

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
      • Roti john Reborn on Oct 18, 2022 at 10:24 pm

Habisla Proton Exora, cannot compete with Alza and Veloz anymore. Proton should just discontinue the Exora because the Exora is super outdated compared to its rivals. Better to rebadge Geely’s MPV instead of wasting money selling the Game Over Exora

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 17
        • “Better to rebadge Geely’s MPV instead of wasting money selling the Game Over Exora”

Your business logic is very interesting. If proton hire you, the company will go bankrupt within 6 months but hey, just keep dishing out new cars unnecessarily because why not right?

Proton don’t even need to have MPV in its portfolio now because the market favors SUV. But they still have the remaining unsold exora so why not just make extra profit out of it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
        • YB Kunta Kinte on Oct 19, 2022 at 10:48 am

PRoton fanboys always say that P2 rebadge and recycle the same thing, but Proton also do it with the Exora

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
        • Old is gold on Oct 25, 2022 at 2:42 am

Bosku, even exora are from zaman dinosour, this stupid old mpv still more comfortable than these alza/veloz especially on bumpy/harsh road due to proton unmatched suspension tuning you know ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
      • Telescopic steering got. Baik!!

• johnas on Oct 19, 2022 at 11:37 am

8 speed DCVT??

• sohai on Oct 18, 2022 at 8:35 pm

2022 models onwards Toyota b-segment & below no longer is a 1st world T , its a 3rd world D PoTwo now …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 19
      • Even DNGA models is actually low cost model, however, DNGA models is no longer as 3rd world country cars and look more like advanced tech car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • Logical Deduction on Oct 18, 2022 at 11:50 pm

I’d rather pay 20k more for the Toyota badge, but then if I’m paying that much, I’d rather get Proton X70 which is more value for money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 10
      • Raja Celup on Oct 19, 2022 at 12:00 pm

Proton X70 & X50 also RM20k more expensive than its original habitat price right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
        • Well somebody’s gotta pay for all the engineering and testing works done converting from LHD to RHD. Nobody paid you nothing to talk crap here right?

• Habislah HRV. Specs fail, aftersales fail, quality fail, design fail, HRV already too small although can’t compare with this but Veloz more space than HRV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
  • Should I cancel Rush and book for this Veloz

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 3
  • Seribu on Oct 18, 2022 at 8:04 pm

Wow!! Kind of my big MPV

• New Vios MPV on Oct 19, 2022 at 11:21 am

Its suits driver if carry many passengers, single lonely driver should considered vios instead.

• Piano on Oct 18, 2022 at 8:12 pm

Nice

• Piano on Oct 18, 2022 at 8:13 pm

Got ambient lightning too

• kai chai on Oct 18, 2022 at 8:32 pm

Happy shopping malaysians

• Bilal Labib on Oct 18, 2022 at 8:40 pm

Alza Lama : Toyota Passo Sette & Daihatsu Boon Luminas
    Alza Baru : Toyota Veloz, Daihatsu Xenia

• Marty on Oct 18, 2022 at 8:44 pm

Time to buy

• No auto dim rear view mirror, No roof head unit for rear passenger intertaiment like Indonesia spec

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
  • Hafiz, is the 2nd row seat as low as the Alza? Other than that, they should have kept the central locking at the center.

• they can’t put it there because the wireless qi charger is there

• Plenty of space below the air cond control. Probably because of cost saving because it was never implemented on any Toyota cars although Perodua has them on their cars. This way they can keep the same panel like other Veloz in the region.

• ROTI CANAI on Oct 18, 2022 at 9:10 pm

should do a full vs shootout with the alza

• Can you guys test the speakers?
    how does it sound compare to the Alza’s

• I miss Metramac on Oct 18, 2022 at 9:14 pm

D-CVT more smoother. Good pricing

• Nice car, lower than original Veloz.
    Got nice fold flat bed.

• seancorr on Oct 18, 2022 at 9:55 pm

Is it me or is the Veloz better specced than the Corolla Cross? Electronic parking brake way better than the foot operated parking brake and that wireless CarPlay and Android Auto is really good.

• Yes agreed. Why toyota put EPB in veloz but not in corolla cross and cheaper price?

• I wonder why nobody mentioned the missing 360 camera button at the steering wheel control? This makes our Alza AV the only one with full steering wheel buttons

• This is loaaadedds with features omg. But why the more expensive corolla cross didnt have all of this features? Cross ACC didnt have stop & go feature. Veloz can have EPB why cross cant? It is just so weird that the cross has to use foot brake. Even this veloz has ambient lighting inside

• Xpander gg on Oct 18, 2022 at 10:35 pm

How la xpander gonna fight this car…. Some more xpander new model not launching in malaysia. And overall dimension is the same as xpander except for height, looking forward to test drive veloz! If it really packs xpander’s comfort…. Mitsubishi can kiss goodbye to this crossover segment :)

• Alcios on Oct 18, 2022 at 10:40 pm

All in the alza waiting listed potential buyers come to talk big only. For Rm20k more atleast u say gives a 1.8 engine for this under power big car. Else for specs and badge and color only can’t really justify the big price gap. Alza vs veloz buyer ratio maybe 50:1.
    If no alza exist maybe can fight with the nobody want hrv 1.5na version lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • HRV also loses to Veloz already due to aftersales failure, spare parts failure, specs failure, design failure, design failure and etc. Even Alza is already better than HRV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
      • AppleTree on Oct 19, 2022 at 10:21 am

Not sure why you guys compare to HRV. 7 seaters vs 5 seaters?? HRV target market is young working adults and young family.

This Toyota on the other hand, if you offer it 10k below a HRV price to a single young adult, they will say you “otak ada gila ke?”.

Compare this with Xpander instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
        • Apple on Oct 19, 2022 at 10:49 am

Hr-v don’t have bed lounge. Even single young adult want good car rest, sometimes.

• Retired grabber on Oct 18, 2022 at 11:22 pm

Veloz or alza it just a underpower town use aunty car using similar engine as myvi or vios. Potential buyer buy alza mid spec jer lah safe rm20k+. Maybe vios potential buyer need settled down with small boot myvi or a segment bezza because of the huge 30∼40k price gap. But now r talking about almost the same thing rm20k differences, if veloz gives more powerful engine than maybe makesense.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 29
    • Keeenzeeer on Oct 19, 2022 at 7:33 am

20k for better spec’ed features that you won’t get with aftermarket toys aka you got it originally from the factory. Plus a T badge then veloz a no brainer, except you still want to be in p2 market bracket than go save your 20k and drive ur less 20k P badge

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • NoArgumentHere on Oct 20, 2022 at 8:14 am

Spotted with same comment with different username and the best argument he/she can come up with is these two, “Plus a T badge then veloz a no brainer” and “still want to be in p2 market bracket”.. lol.. in case you don’t remember, we were in a pandemic. 20k is a lot of money for most people. I tell you the specs that you said worth it, people can get better qualities in less than 20k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 28
        • Kanak on Oct 20, 2022 at 7:12 pm

Still P2 can’t beat Toyota in term of qualities when come to service, which I can tell you. Veloz have more but Alza don’t have. So think wisely

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
          • NoArgumentHere on Oct 21, 2022 at 8:46 am

Oh noo my comment got soo much downvote! loooll!! Spam-downvoting on ones comment because you don’t agree with them is the best you can do? And what’s with that comeback? “P2 can’t beat Toyota in term of qualities when come to service” is a speculation and “Veloz have more but Alza don’t have” is an assumption without any facts to backup that claim. Even if you know one SC is good, doesn’t mean you can vouch for all Toyota SCs in the world. Additionally, don’t count how many complaints Perodua SC got as your benchmark for quality since Perodua sold A LOT MORE CARS than Toyota.

Do yourself a favour and make a comprehensive comparison between both of the car. Point out which NECESSITIES that Veloz have where Alza don’t have. And please for your own sake, compare with Alza AV.. compare with Alza X or H variant only when you want to make yourself feel good.

P/s: As a bonus, are Toyota SCs in M’sia directly Toyota or just authorized SCs? Can they service other car brands other than Toyota? Especially when the other brand is their own sister brand, with same parts and all?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 30
          • Angsa on Oct 21, 2022 at 1:16 pm

@NoArgumentHere

– Study more specs what’s comparison between this and Alza. There are so many things on what Veloz have and Alza have. You need to read more news on comparison between Veloz and Alza, if you think Veloz is better than Alza is actually assumption but can’t trust the facts, believe yourself

Next:
            – Though both are from the same factory but aftersales for both brands are different
            – You can’t service Alza in Toyota Service Center, same can be said for Veloz also can’t be service from Perodua service center
            – It is understood that Alza have more sales than Veloz because Perodua is national brand but Toyota is imported brand and Alza have three variants while Veloz have one but those three variants for Alza specs are good but Alza AV isn’t as high spec because Veloz is already full spec. Doesn’t matter, the fact is that people will still prefer imported brand like Veloz even from same factory because of aftersales, quality and have more features

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
          • Angsa on Oct 21, 2022 at 1:19 pm

Can’t agree with you, is because you didn’t study more comparison between Veloz and Alza. Those knowledge people will do some more homework like more did today, not the people will straight away buy but regret that something don’t have

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
          • Angsa on Oct 21, 2022 at 1:23 pm

Veloz have:
            1/Integrated DayRunning light
            2/Toyota Telematics System
            3/Telescopic steering adju
            4/Ambient illumination
            5/Doorside foot lamps
            6/Door visors
            7/Roof rails
            8/Larger 17″ rims
            9/Qi wireless charging
            10/one “Veloz” badge with soft-padding
            11/wireless apple carplay and wireless androidauto
            12/ground clearance is higher than Alza
            13/more comfort than Alza

Those 13 features that Alza don’t have

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
          • NoArgumentHere on Oct 21, 2022 at 10:26 pm

Omg.. so all those 13 diff are NECESSITIES? I’m ashamed of myself. Wait a minute, so Toyota service are a lot better than Perodua? Does that mean both of them have different SOPs? And if Alza have some technical issue not among those 13 diff that you pointed out, Perodua will keep it to themselves without telling Toyota or vice versa? What about issues that require recalls? What kind of partnership is this?

Looks like I better cancel my Alza order and I’m going to wait for Proton X90 la if like this. Much less drama since Geely is not selling same car with 13 diff features.. sorry I mean necessities, right? Thanks for the insight.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 77
          • NoArgumentHere on Oct 22, 2022 at 8:58 am

1/Integrated DayRunning light – RM160

2/Toyota Telematics System – Free 3 years then pay-to-subscribe to use after? No thanks.

3/Telescopic steering adju – ok, you win

4/Ambient illumination – RM20-30

5/Doorside foot lamps – RM100

6/Door visors – Can get free from SA but hey, if someone have extra 20k, don’t want free mah. Buy at RM160 – that’s gear up; oem RM70 can get from shopee.

7/Roof rails – RM200 original Avanza/Xenia from Indonesian market

8/Larger 17″ rims – irrelevant, most will definitely purchase wider rim and sell the stock ones anyway.

9/Qi wireless charging – irrelevant, cause not everyone use but availaible at around RM60.

10/one “Veloz” badge with soft-padding – huh? I know most of the above are already unnecessary but this? lol!

11/wireless apple carplay and wireless androidauto – additional device priced between RM185-RM250 can attach to existing HU and voila! you got wireless!

12/ground clearance is higher than Alza – 30mm = 3cm = 1 inch, should rephrase that to “is slightly higher”. but yeah, you win. Although, if someone have extra 20k, they can install adjustable hi lo mah.

13/more comfort than Alza – omg! ya? you’ve been using both for how many years already to know that??

Sum up all of the above and it probably cost you maybe RM3k-RM5k.. that’s around 25% out of the difference in price so you still have RM15k extra ya?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 86
        • Dugung X on Jan 04, 2023 at 12:05 am

So many Toyota salesman here. Too free no sales whole day down vote comments.
          Only impatient sochai who cannot wait 9 Mth for Alza will pay 20k for d badge. Losers

• Telescopic steering got. Baik!!

• Habislah HRV. Specs fail, aftersales fail, quality fail, design fail, HRV already too small although can’t compare with this but Veloz more space than HRV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • apajadi on Nov 16, 2022 at 7:33 am

why you compare an SUV with an MPV… totally different class. one is soccer mom car, the other is sports utility car

• Good Spec:

1. 6 airbags.
    2. AEB
    3. BSM
    4. RCTA
    5. 360 Camera
    6. ACC Self Driving
    7. Adaptive LED Headlamps
    8. Fold Flat Seats Bed Style

• newme on Oct 19, 2022 at 8:53 am

Coming out from Perodua factory. Do expect the same crappy quality as the rest of recent Perodua models.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
  • Doorknob on Oct 19, 2022 at 8:53 am

Hi paultan. Later please check / do review:
    1) if veloz got better speaker quality than alza
    2) better soundproofing?
    3) compare maintenance cost and parts replacement cost.

Thanks!

• Questionnaire on Oct 19, 2022 at 9:38 am

I have some questions, hope Paultan.com can help to check and reply on this.

1. Is the Lane Keep function same like the Alza/Ativa playng ping pong on the road lines or is it really smooth keeping in the center of the lane?

2. Which of the headlights between Alza & Veloz are brighter / better? So far the Adaptive Lighting on the Ativa & Alza is great.

3. 2nd row middle seat also don’t have headrest?

4. Can the accessories on the Veloz be installed on the Alza specifically the roof rails and taller suspension system?

Will go to test drive this Veloz, will see if it can change my mind to cancel the long que booking on Alza.

• hey ATIVA and ALZA both come with Lane Departure Prevention (LDP) And Lane Keep Control (LKC)

LDP is the ping pong one which can still function if you are not using ACC.

LKC is the lane centering assist where the steering is automatically controlled to keep your car in the centre of the lane and can only be used together with ACC.

This Veloz also have LKC

• Kelisa 1.3 Turbo Owner on Oct 19, 2022 at 2:12 pm

they are probably using the same one as Alza’s. i wish they mentioned the specific details of the veloz TSS like perodua did with their PSDA. you need the Lane Tracing Assist / Lane Centering Assist for not having any pingpong during ACC. that one will actively adjust the steering to keep it centered in the lane instead of adjusting the steering when the car is about to drift off from the current lane. thats why its ping pong a lot. kinda annoyed with the ACC in my ativa.

but hey below RM80K ? i’m not complaining

• hey your ativa should also have the lane centering assist which they called as Lane Keep Control (LKC) basically it will control the steering for you inside the lane (No pingpong one). Have you try it?

Pingpong one is the Lane Departure Prevention (LDP)

• Questions on Oct 19, 2022 at 9:42 am

I have some questions, hope Paultan.com can help to check and reply on this.

1. Is the Lane Keep function same like the Alza/Ativa playng ping pong on the road lines or is it really smooth keeping in the center of the lane?

2. Which of the headlights between Alza & Veloz are brighter / better? So far the Adaptive Lighting on the Ativa & Alza is great.

3. 2nd row middle seat also don’t have headrest?

4. Can the accessories on the Veloz be installed on the Alza specifically the roof rails and taller suspension system?

Will go to test drive this Veloz, will see if it can change my mind to cancel the long que booking on Alza.

• Sohai on Oct 19, 2022 at 2:25 pm

I own the new alza. If i were to choose again, i will get the veloz. The hard plastic in Alza just eyesore, make worse by the dangling wired apple car play

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 14
    • SohaiReloadedVersion2.0 on Oct 19, 2022 at 7:31 pm

Do you expect to get a mercedes quality for a cheap rebadged car? Patient is virtue Sohai. Blame yourself for your inability to wait for Veloz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
      • Kanak on Oct 20, 2022 at 7:10 pm

You will regret more once alza don’t have. P2 service is standard but toyota service is premium and better. Better think twice

• Remus on Oct 20, 2022 at 1:20 pm

It turns out that the main reason why to get Veloz over Alza is because of “Eyesore” alone. Thanks for letting me know. Hopefully the extra 20k I pay will ease my eyesore a little.

• Now order car need to wait 5 to 9 month to get the car. Who say Malaysia people no money.

• Junkies otr on Oct 20, 2022 at 4:36 pm

8 speed with 2 pulleys n a belt?

• Mee USR on Oct 21, 2022 at 9:41 pm

RIP for those who bought Exora and HRV

• Beena on Oct 23, 2022 at 3:38 pm

Beautiful

• Awesome

• Mr hehe on Oct 26, 2022 at 8:32 am

I see some mention about the roof rail.
    If I want to pasang thule bicycle rack, do I need to pasang the thule rack holder? Or does roof rail make the side rack holder unnecessary?

Question two, if I do get alza, are the xenia/veloz roof rail compatible and easy to install on the alza?

• tapsoba on Oct 28, 2022 at 11:02 am

1. Can’t really tell without knowing the exact roof rack model but there’s a video on YT by and Indonesian where he install a rack on his Veloz. Maybe you can watch that to get some idea. YT channel: Cidek Adventure.

2. I did find a shopee seller from Indonesia selling “original” roof rail for xenia/avanza/veloz but there are no ratings yet and since Alza here is still new, I don’t think anyone had try it yet. There is another YT video also from Indo where they show Veloz roof rail disassembly. YT channel: RmD AutoBodyR

• Mr. Cpmboy on Nov 04, 2022 at 11:11 am

Veloz…nicey specs…gonna test it…then wait for the new honda brv….test it…then decide…

• iwouldbuythis on Nov 15, 2022 at 1:33 pm

I would get the Veloz over the Alza, simply for the TELESCOPIC Adjusting Steering wheels. More cars should have this!

• Mike Parayno on Nov 27, 2022 at 1:41 am

I will get veloz. No choice since no waiting list unlike 9 month waiting list for alza which I prefer for the value.

• zohn pilatus on Aug 06, 2023 at 10:35 am

TUNGGU BERAPA LAMA NAK DAPAT BILA KITA SUDAH BOOKING VELOZ PADA BULAN DECEMBER 2022

• Test drove Veloz today, and Alza soon after. They may say that these two are from the same plant etc, but Alza driving experience was waaay better, it just was quiet and soft. Veloz was loud, noisy and vibrating on the acc. pedal – all “thanks to” CVT, I just cut the test-drive short. Given the price gap, it’s a no brainer what to go for.