BYD Seal previewed in Malaysia – sleek single/dual-motor EV with up to 700 km range, Q4 2023 launch

The BYD Atto 3 is the star of the show at BYD’s brand launch, happening this weekend at Bandar Malaysia in KL. The electric SUV the first product for BYD SD Motors Malaysia (BYD SDM, under the Sime Darby Motors umbrella), but the new distributor won’t be stopping at that.

We’ve previously revealed that BYD SDM plans to bring in the Dolphin and Seal models from the Chinese EV specialist. The two electric cars with water creatures as names are being targeted for Q4 2023 and they’re being previewed at this event. In this post, we’ll take a closer look at the Seal.

In China, this sleek EV is called Seal, but it could probably get the Atto 4 name in some overseas markets, forming a range with the Atto 3. But unlike the 3, this ain’t no SUV – instead, it’s a four-door coupe type of sedan with a sloping roofline and short rear deck, not unlike the Honda Civic FC and BMW 4 Series Gran Coupe. Conveniently, the latter has an electric version called the i4, which we’ll compare to the Seal later.

If you look at this Seal’s dimensions, its 4,800 mm length and 1,875 mm width is just hairs away from the BMW i4‘s 4,783 mm and 1,852 mm. The BYD – a dedicated, ground-up EV – has a longer wheelbase though; at 2,920 mm, the distance between wheels is 64 mm longer. The Seal sits on the EV specialist’s latest e-platform 3.0, the third model to do so after the Dolphin and Atto 3/Yuan Plus. However, the Seal uses an 800V electrical architecture like posh EVs such as the Porsche Taycan and sexy Audi e-tron GT.

In China, there are four variants of the Seal. The RWD Elite and Premium have a single 201 hp motor driving the rear wheels and powered by a 61.4 kWh in-house Blade battery. Such equipped, the local CLTC range per charge is 550 km and 0-100 km/h acceleration takes 7.5 seconds.

A 308 hp motor is mated to a 82.5 kWh battery in the Long Range RWD, boosting range to 700 km. The 250 km gain over the base combo also comes with a better 0-100 km/h time, now at 5.9 seconds. The ultimate Seal is the Long Range AWD Performance. As the AWD in the name suggests, there are two motors here for a combined 523 hp and 0-100 km/h time in 3.8 seconds. The sole dual-motor variant’s range is 650 km.

The Seal is often described as a Tesla Model 3 rival. The Model 3 comes in Standard, Long Range and Performance variants, with the latter two equipped with dual-motor AWD. The Long Range AWD is probably the best balance between price and performance, with a claimed range of 576 km (Standard 437 km, Performance 506 km) and 0-100 km/h time of 4.2 seconds. The Performance does it in 3.1 seconds.

Meanwhile, the BMW i4 – in top M50 form with a 83.9 kWh battery – has two motors, AWD, total system output 544 PS and a 0-100 km/h time of 3.9 seconds. Range is 510 km on the WLTP cycle, which is 80 km less than the 590 km of the less-powerful eDrive40 version. As you can see, the Seal is very much in the same arena as the BMW i4 and Tesla Model 3, and is even ahead in some areas.

Since Tesla is not officially in Malaysia, we’ll look at the BMW i4 for pricing context. The i4 eDrive40 M Sport is priced at RM389,800 with BMW Malaysia’s extended warranty and service package, while the i4 M50 is yours for RM430,800.

In China, the BYD Seal starts from the equivalent of RM210k, but the Long Range RWD with the 700 km range goes for the equivalent of RM259k. Would BYD SDM be able to squeeze it in below the RM300k mark in Malaysia?

If so, we’d be looking at a great-looking EV with top-level specs at a relatively affordable price. Even if it’s priced above RM300k, the BYD Seal is well-placed to be the most affordable long-range EV in Malaysia when it arrives in Q4 2023. What do you think? Check out the other EVs mentioned here by clicking the links.

Again, the Seal is set to reach our shores in the final quarter of next year. For now, we have the Atto 3 SUV in 49.92 kWh Standard Range and 60.48 kWh Extended Range forms, priced at RM149,800 and RM167,800 respectively. The in-house Blade EV batteries are connected to a front-mounted electric motor rated at 204 PS/310 Nm and DC fast charging from 0-80% can be done in 45 minutes. Full details here.

VIDEO: BYD Seal Interior

GALLERY: BYD Seal and Dolphin EA1 previewed in Malaysia

GALLERY: BYD Seal

Learn more: ,

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• can't afford on Dec 08, 2022 at 2:05 pm

140k+, only T20 can afford. why so expensive? can’t gov sponsor and make it below 100k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 48
    • EVs are considered a luxury at the moment. Why subsidize someone else’s choice to go luxury? Our petrol so cheap, just keep using ICE or hybrid.

• Scion on Dec 29, 2022 at 10:40 am

IT is not subsidized. just incentive for people to change to EV. your cheap petrol. that is subsidized.

• The original comment mentioned “can’t gov sponsor and make it below 100k”, how is that not subsidizing? Keyword: “sponsor”

• Eco View on Jun 01, 2023 at 9:39 pm

Ev is not really luxury, it has zero emission, every country have green/eco plan to meet by certain year. I know Msia is not in good position. EV shld be at least tax free and regulated price w min profit margin on distributor. In order to move Msia up on our Green index scoring, the price of EV must be attractive and affordable, so the Carbon Emissions from vehicles can drop significantly

• You too cute on Dec 08, 2022 at 5:30 pm

Why people keep complaining? Price below 100k then ask for 50k . Price at 150k then ask for 100k. And if priced at 100k. The spec not good then complaint again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • Trollhunter on Dec 08, 2022 at 11:55 pm

Ukur baju di badan sendiri.

• Ah Lok on Dec 09, 2022 at 10:06 am

Ownself cnnt afford blame gov

• PH Supporter on Dec 09, 2022 at 4:56 pm

If b4 GE15 I would agree with you but this new gomen promises cheap EV so if this car is not affordable so we should blame new gomen for their failures.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
        • Uncle on Dec 30, 2022 at 7:50 pm

Be realistic. Gov change how many months only expect so much

• Look back now Oct 23, gov bring in cheap Tesla, all car price need to adjust

• Go work harder and make money rather than complain expensive, berapa lu mau, 30k?

• If can’t afford now, is ok just work harder and smarter, one day you will be able to afford it. So stop complaining, those T20 have worked their way up for it..

• sarawak sarawak on Dec 29, 2022 at 10:39 am

Why dont you up your skill level and earn more to afford it?

• practical on Dec 08, 2022 at 3:24 pm

imagine during festival you wanna balik kampung, stuck in highway for hours and running out of the battery.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • Anonymous on Dec 09, 2022 at 8:51 pm

Let’s look at the numbers. For an outside temperature of 38 Celcius the aircond may need up to 4kW of power. For a petrol car with 30% efficiency the aircond would consume 1.3l/hour. At 30% efficiency a 1.5 litre 4-cylinder would idle consuming about 1.7l/hr. So idling consumes 3 litres/hour. A full 40 litre tank would give you just over 13 hours of endurance.

An EV idles using 1kW, so with the aircond it may consume up to 5kW. For a 67 kWh battery pack it has an almost identical endurance to the petrol car.

So it depends on the battery pack size. A more fair comparison however would be if both have the same range. Assuming 800km range for the petrol car (20km/l), the closest equivalent BYD Seal (700km range) could still drive away after 13 hours stuck in traffic. Driven sensibly it would also be possible for the EV to have more range in reserve before it got in the traffic jam (EVs petrol-equivalent consumption is considerably lower).

• Sorry Naik Lorry on Dec 10, 2022 at 11:51 am

It’s not using power if it’s not moving. It’s EV.

• Why not use BRAIN on Dec 25, 2022 at 11:55 am

The systems and aircond operate using what then? Doa and tawakal?

• seancorr on Dec 08, 2022 at 3:46 pm

EVs are still generally a rich man’s toy.

• EVLimtk65 on Dec 08, 2022 at 3:58 pm

BYD Seal is targetting the Merc A Class, BMW 3 series, AUDI A4. Equivaklent Japanese Up Market ICE does not come close to Value for Money , Performance and Tech innovation. If Below RM250K it would sell well. BYD HAN would be an interesting option a High End segment EV.

• Why So Serious on Dec 08, 2022 at 4:28 pm

I will wait for BYD Walrus SUV b4 making comment.

• Bangkok on Dec 09, 2022 at 7:37 am

This is the highlight at the Thailand motor show ongoing now together with the Tesla Y come and see for yourself and one of this is going to dominate Thai market year 2023 between these two I feel the interior of the seal nicer more comfortable and spacious though the exterior of the Y looks sportier

• Enoch "Nucky" Thompson on Dec 09, 2022 at 8:32 am

It’s time Malaysians realize what they want is not necessarily what they need. If you are in the B40 & M40, stop dreaming about owning an EV or unaffordable vehicle. If you’re in the T20, you could just play your part helping your community in reducing poverty since you don’t really need an EV to get from Point A to Point B.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 19
  • Kancil Hybrid on Dec 09, 2022 at 9:36 am

Great car. Tahniah BYD and SDM.

• Ah Lok on Dec 09, 2022 at 10:06 am

Ownself cnnt afford blame gov

• Katheryne Wong on Dec 09, 2022 at 10:11 am

EV must price around myvi, or else EV will become too expensive to own by most people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • Truth on Aug 13, 2023 at 2:15 am

Only P2 is that dumb, it makes no business sense in catering to these loser markets. Don’t blame anyone if you haven’t worked hard enough in your life.

• Ir Annuar Awang. on Dec 11, 2022 at 10:07 am

How about Financing ? Sales and services plus warranty ?

• Holofanboi on Dec 11, 2022 at 3:16 pm

Im also perplexed on whole concept of EV pricing. I am currently a T6 (Not bragging, infact I am nowhere near the stereotypical concept of rich).

But from anecdotal experience and environment, most who are in T20 onwards would almost certainly push into the typical branded marques. ‘Moderate’ T20 onwards consider the Camry/Harrier as the ultimate ceiling on what they are willing to spend on cars. (Heck, I myself think the current Camry is obscenely expensive.)

So these days when I see unknown china brands selling EVs that can compete against premium brands, I really wonder if there is even a volume demand for a market like this…

Man I feel old.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • Not going to comment on the “I’m rich” humblebrag… but what you’re saying about BYD being one of the “unknown China brands selling EVs” is funny because BYD is by definition in the top 5 or top 3 depending on what you use to value a car company’s market cap. They’re only behind Tesla and Toyota in terms of raw market cap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • BYD mousedeer when coming, i need to replace my kelisa

• When ICE cars was expensive it was due to our country policy that made car prices astronomical locally BUT EV cars itself expensive yet plagued with range anxiety issues that’s worse than ICE issue with fuel prices as worst EV issues is not the pricing BUT rather range anxiety about your car’s battery going to depleted but next DC charging stations weren’t usually available or available but has different standard of charger’s type.In ICE you could get someone to get fuel for your cars BUT it’s different playground or game altogether with EV

• Hello! Tesla, toyota,bmw, Mercedes go back to sleep. BYD, NIO, LI AUTO, XPENG VERY POPULAR EV WORLD! TESLA buy battery from BYD. Hello wake up pls! See more news and share marketprice at BYD, NIO, LI AUTO. How richest china company and technology! Go see YouTube.

• Wai Hong Au on Jun 03, 2023 at 6:46 am

Does our local mechanics has the expertise to rectify if accidents occur?

• Ghazali on Oct 18, 2023 at 1:15 pm

Nice but I think the infra still under progress so maybe another 2 ~ 3 yrs more.