2023 Perodua Axia D74A open for booking – DNGA, 1.0L NA, D-CVT, LED DRL, digital meter, RM38.6-49.5k

The most significant car launch of the year is just around the corner now. The 2023 Perodua Axia is now open for booking, and we have the first official details of the all-new Daihatsu New Global Architecture (DNGA) model code-named D74A. It’s a ground-up new model, and there are many changes and surprises, but we’re going to kick off by apologising – sorry, no turbo.

The 2023 Axia will be powered by an “EEV engine with D-CVT.” That’s all that the official flyer mentions when it comes to the powertrain, and while there’s no explicit mention of the engine being naturally-aspirated, there’s no mention of turbo either, and such a big development would definitely merit a shout. We understand that the 1KR-VE 1.0L three-cylinder VVT-i engine with 67 hp/91 Nm has been carried over.

The big change is in the gearbox. Gone is the four-speed torque converter auto, and in comes the D-CVT gearbox that was first seen in the Ativa in March 2021, before the Myvi facelift made the 4AT to CVT switch later the same year.

D-CVT stands for Dual-Mode CVT, the world’s first split gear CVT system. Basically, the unit combines belt drive with a gear drive for improved fuel efficiency, acceleration feel and quietness.

Click to enlarge.

From rest to medium speeds, the D-CVT functions like any other CVT, with engine torque going through a torque converter (like Toyota and Honda CVTs; Proton’s Punch CVT uses a clutch pack) and into the input pulley, before being transferred to the output pulley via a belt and then to the wheels. At higher speeds, D-CVT shifts into its split mode, engaging the gear drive to provide more efficient power transmission (less energy loss), while the rotation to the belt drive is decreased significantly. More on the D-CVT here.

With the new gearbox, fuel consumption is now 25.3 km/l, or up to 27.4 km/l with the Eco Idle auto start-stop system. These claimed figures are in what P2 calls the Malaysian Driving Cycle (MDC), which supposedly follows local road conditions and driving patterns. By the way, in the Myvi facelift, FC was 5% better with the 4AT-CVT swap (engine was unchanged) while 0-100 km/h acceleration improved by a whopping 20%, so expect a more economical and faster new Axia.

This new 1.0L NA D-CVT combo is standard across the new Axia board, which has four variants – G, X, SE and AV. The latter two variants add on Eco Idle and Power mode (PWR button on the steering’s right spoke, as per the Ativa).

You can tell the SE and AV apart from the outside thanks to LED daytime running lights, housed in a sideways T-shaped trim, which reminds me of the pre-facelift G20 BMW 320i Sport. Yes, LED DRLs are now available on the Axia. LED headlamps are standard from the X onwards.

Click to enlarge.

The wing mirrors on all Axias are electric, but those on the SE/AV are auto retractable. Keyless entry is standard from the X onwards, and the graphic shows an electrostatic sensor, where just a touch will do instead of a button press. This is as per the Ativa and an upgrade from the Myvi’s black button.

Another feature highlight is the digital meter panel. The range-topping AV gets a 7.0-inch TFT instrument panel. That’s the same size as the MID in the Ativa and Alza, and the flyer shows a “3D ring” tachometer, so it’s probably the same unit coupled with a digital speedo. Also exclusive to the AV is a floating-style 9.0-inch display audio. Once again, that’s the same size as the Ativa’s and the graphics look similar as well. Every other variant gets a non-touchscreen radio.

Moving on, there are two levels of seats, divided between G/X and SE/AV. The cheaper variants get “standard” front seats and rear seats with “pillow headrests.” The higher end variants get “semi-bucket” front seats and “separate headrests” for the rear seats. As for upholstery, only the AV gets two-tone semi-leather covers. Solar and security window tint is reserved for the SE and AV.

These days, we kind of expect new Perodua models to have massively upgraded safety over previous versions, and the Axia doesn’t disappoint. The top variant will have six airbags (dual front, side and curtain), a big jump from its predecessor, which maxed out at two front airbags.

Perodua Smart Drive Assist (PSDA) is also available. Advanced Safety Assist (ASA, which includes autonomous emergency braking, AEB) made its debut in the 2019 Axia facelift, and it should also be available here – we’ll have to wait to see which variants get ASA. Meanwhile, VSC is standard across the board.

By the way, the PDSA umbrella also covers the “Driving Assist” pack, which has lane keeping functions, blind spot monitoring and adaptive cruise control – it remains to be seen if the new Axia has these semi-autonomous features in the AV, or will it be just ASA. In any case, it’s a lot of safety for the money, and this being a new DNGA product, expect five stars in the ASEAN NCAP crash test.

Finally, colours. The new Axia can be had in five shades – Granite Grey, Lava Red, Glittering Silver, Ivory White (solid) and the new Coral Blue. The latter is the launch hero colour for the D74A and it has hints of the pre-facelift G3 Myvi’s cheerful Peppermint Green.

Estimated prices are from RM38,600 for the G, RM40,000 for the X, RM44,000 for the SE and RM49,500 for the AV, all on-the-road without insurance. That’s higher than before, so you do pay more for a better product and the new features. For reference, the launch prices of the 2019 Axia facelift were RM34,990 for the GXtra with VSC and RM43,190 for the AV.

No mention of a cheap and kosong E spec, but perhaps P2 will come back to this variant later. We understand that the “driving school spec” has the lowest demand among all variants, so it’s the easiest to put on hold. Also not in the new line-up is the SUV-inspired Style variant; later, perhaps.

So, what do you think of the preliminary specs and features of the all-new Axia? Expect a raft of teasers from now till launch, which will most probably happen in mid-February. Stay tuned.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Ex Proton fanboi on Jan 31, 2023 at 9:50 am

Abeslah Proton, bungkuslah lepas ni.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 116 Thumb down 28
    • John Geli on Jan 31, 2023 at 10:53 am

Yup true easily 1 million units sales soon, clearly we rakyat Don’t Need Geely Anymore (DNGA) !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 20
      • ya don’t need geely only need Japanese hahaha still depends on other 80 percent of perodua car that are selling now is a rebadge toyota/daihatsu. yes the axia is also a rebadge of a daihatsu ayla.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 21
        • Mokmok on Jan 31, 2023 at 12:32 pm

Explain to me why it will be launched here and not elsewhere?

I’m sure you’ve heard the word mutual right?

• doesnt matter, dont need GEELY, you want good car go buy your MERC or BMW, we not rich like you

• are you sure this will be the same design as ayla?

• Sallahudin,Anwar,Hajiji(SAH) on Jan 31, 2023 at 12:15 pm

The only downside is the almost 40 grand price.Perodua..u r bent on maximising profits for so called upgrades .Now UMW n P2 go for premium pricing regardless u r struggling or not.Just pathetic P2 has no sense of “national service” ,just aim for record blockbuster profits.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 28
      • If you can’t afford 40k for new car just get a used one bro, still plenty good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
      • Raja Kamarul on Jan 31, 2023 at 2:38 pm

People like you is woe of the nation. Always wanting something cheap because it is “Malaysian” brand, because it is a “national car”.

First, it is a Perodua, which means, it is a rebadge licensing agreement. What does all this mean? Royalty needs to be paid to Daihatsu or Toyota. That is a fixed cost but impacted greatly by the forex movements.

Two, do you think all raw materials are sourced from Malaysia? Do you think all cost components are “Malaysian” and therefore cheaper? Even if it was 100% local raw materials, have you looked at tin or copper or rubber prices today?

Three, why must a Perodua or even a Proton be cheap? This mentality needs to be rid off if you want Malaysian companies to make profits that can result in higher taxes and pay for the common need. They should be allowed to make money based on what the market is willing to pay, which will be their manufacturing cost + their marketing cost + their overheads + their margins.

All you people want is a subsidy, and continue to live in a world where the prices are distorted due to subsidy. Our inflation numbers are all officially correct but take away subsidy and see what the real cost is. Someone has to pay. Who? The government pays for subsidy. Where do they get the money from? YOUR TAXES among others.

Grow up and live in the real world. If you can’t afford a brand new car, buy a cheaper used car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 25
        • Greedy MAA members on Jan 31, 2023 at 8:26 pm

Bradder,u writing a thesis? no need.This is a friendly forum of diverse ideas,shows u have not grown up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 27
          • Abg jago on Feb 01, 2023 at 8:07 am

Lol… Paultan comment section is anything but friendly.

• Didn’t rich people told gov to remove old car on road, so how do you fixed old car on road?

• bro cars are not for poor people, just use public transport and work harder instead of wasting your time here

• mriupai on Jan 31, 2023 at 9:25 pm

See the word proton hati panas.

• Celup King on Feb 01, 2023 at 11:41 am

P2 penipu scalper, in the past RM 50k can get you full spec Myvi. Now P2 downgraded buyers from Bsegment to Asegment. Shame on you for insulting buyers P2!

• footpandai on Feb 02, 2023 at 11:26 am

jual nasi lemak tepi jalan also scalper. dulu nasi lemak can get 50cent only. manyak scalper lag

• mrupai on Feb 03, 2023 at 2:09 pm

So new axia basically made in Japan , myvi mostly made in malaysia. Correct?

• boboiencem on Feb 07, 2023 at 10:34 am

Alaa, gelinya penjilat & pentaksub perodua. masuk kubur kebumi dgn kancil kau lah hanat

• Roti john on Jan 31, 2023 at 9:53 am

Just by looking at the brochure only can already know that Proton Saga will be completely Game Over. The DNGA Perodua Axia will dominate the market and wipe out Saga completely

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 36
    • Sohai on Jan 31, 2023 at 11:02 am

Saga is a sedan body shape, which still has its appeal to certain demographic of customers. It feels weird if you are a sale person running around in a small hatch

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 2
      • Sallahudin,Anwar,Hajiji(SAH) on Jan 31, 2023 at 12:18 pm

Saga is completely Jurassic.If it falls into the hands of the British top gear dude,he will hoist it to 100 feet n Crash it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 11
    • John Geli on Jan 31, 2023 at 11:04 am

Wait for new Bezza sedan it’s the final nail for Proton Saga & Persona coffins.

Once again the acronym rings true we Don’t Need Geely Anymore (DNGA) !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 11
    • YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 31, 2023 at 11:16 am

Last year also, Bezza outsold the Saga. ORoton fanboys always say their cars are the best, but sales show otherwise

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 13
      • Yo mum on Jan 31, 2023 at 2:28 pm

Bcuz too many noobs in our country

• kumkan on Jan 31, 2023 at 4:25 pm

Because most of the people buy car just to move, not to drive. If everyone is looking for a better car to drive certainly they won’t choose perodua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • Certainly u nver drive saga 19 onwrds and hve no clue how good its handling experience, but it doesnt mean im not impressed by wht axia bring to the table this time, its a compact car wth lots of new upgrde.

• RM40k for the base spec Axia? No thanks. Even previous gen Axia high end spec just RM44k.

• OwnerOf3PeroduaCars on Feb 01, 2023 at 1:00 pm

Nonsense, people will still buy Proton cars regardless. Not because it’s way better.. but because people tend to prove someone is wrong by doing the opposite of what other say.. but when you said the opposite like ‘better buy saga’, there are people who’ll do exactly that too.. there’s no control to that.

If anything, Perodua should’ve “game over-ed” Proton long time ago.. especially when they were in limbo but you can see for yourself that Proton have been doing well for these past few years so who in their right mind (as investors) would game over the brand?

I know this is just a troll comment but whatever.

• Korean Fan on Feb 01, 2023 at 3:21 pm

Nah… I will go for Saga anytime. Saga 44k full spec, Premium S. Much larger, bigger boot space. Most important, no crappy and dangerous auto start and stop.

• newme on Jan 31, 2023 at 10:10 am

“…while 0-100 km/h acceleration improved by a whopping 20%, so expect a more economical and faster new Axia.”

With this statement, people will launch the car/drag race every time they move and damaging the CVT in the process.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 6
  • Matchy on Jan 31, 2023 at 10:16 am

damn… getting more and more expensive.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 2
    • No more “New Axia from RM25k” marketing…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
    • Can’t blame your statement since it should be the most affordable new car in Malaysia. Wonder what next step Proton will make..

• tapsoba on Feb 01, 2023 at 2:14 pm

The next step is just to improve the Saga even more and stay with the current price bracket as they did before. Tell me what other sedan priced from 35k onwards whereby the top spec is 5k cheaper than this currently launched Axia AV?

• seancorr on Jan 31, 2023 at 3:50 pm

This applies to all cars sold around the world mate.

• Keyboard warrior on Jan 31, 2023 at 4:05 pm

This!! Literally all brand new cars on sales out there becoming more expensive. I don’t think Perodua can escape from this IF they want to

• newme on Jan 31, 2023 at 10:32 am

RM48K for the lowest spec? They really believe their own biz prowess.

Axia sales has been good before this was because of its price. When you are poor, you just want a simple car and not the 7″ screen, TFT mid or that good-for-nothing eco-idle. Worst is the RM48K have none of these.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 85
    • God please help this guy on Jan 31, 2023 at 10:49 am

I dont know where you get ur eyes, is either u need a pair of new eyes or specs

The selling price is FROM RM38k

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 1
    • ayamas on Jan 31, 2023 at 12:16 pm

I believe this in not eyes problem but absolutely idiot haha..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
  • DonkeyKong on Jan 31, 2023 at 10:44 am

The fact that Proton has to soldier on with the ancient Saga platform because newer Geely platforms are “too expensive” for them, while Perodua can deliver such a whopper based on a platform shared with their Japanese brethren, goes to show how delusional Geely is with their plan for Proton to be the number 3 automaker in Asia.

Proton should realize that the ching chong takeover has given them short term gains but not much long term prospects.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 9
    • Raja Celup on Jan 31, 2023 at 11:00 am

Proton now a successful dealership for Geely cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • Dr No on Jan 31, 2023 at 11:00 am

Proton should never exist in the first place

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 18
      • Haters gonna hate on Jan 31, 2023 at 11:18 am

U should exist on the wall instead, your parents made a wrong choice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 14
    • Chong Or Pei on Jan 31, 2023 at 11:05 am

And your definition of long term is as stupid as your name, eh? From those short term gains, Proton gets several things: trust, experience, exposure, new-tech. These are used to plan out the longer term.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
      • Jaguh Global on Jan 31, 2023 at 11:36 am

Using same logic Proton should gain much from Lotus too but ends up broke, technically bankrap and back to square one again as rebadge king.

Luckily got China simp willing to rescue this sohai. Ha ha ha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
        • jaguh pekan on Feb 01, 2023 at 2:20 pm

Don’t ever tarnish the “king” name. Perodua is always the king in sales qty, king of the road (well, now it’s kings since Ativa arrival) and most importantly, king of rebadge. As far as I know, Proton owners are always considered as GDT poor.

• Keyboard warrior on Jan 31, 2023 at 11:10 am

Proton should realize that soon when geely established their brand in Malaysia, geely will most likely dump Proton. That’s the day of Proton demise since they have nothing to offer since their original nameplate Saga, Persona, Exora, Iriz will be axed entirely

• Veneno on Jan 31, 2023 at 11:14 am

Geely only ambil kesempatan at Proton to enter Malaysia and other RHD market. They never bother to really give Proton the newest tech. Look at the engine, while they ditch the 1.5L 3 pot in their lineup in favor of 4 pot, Proton start assembling the 3 pot for their current and future models. Also, look at other brand under Geely – Volvo, Lotus, Lynk & Co, Zeekr, they’re busy with new cars with the latest techs while Proton is busy with the pre-facelift Haoyue. Geely also busy with creating new brands instead of giving what Proton need to be a competitive carmaker (Zeekr, Geometry, these two were born after Geely’s takeover of Proton but they both produce cars with latest techs than Proton) . What the hell. Proton should be bought by other carmakers instead of Geely. Perodua on the other hand, is given permission by Daihatsu to get involved in the development of these new vehicles (that’s what I heard of).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 9
      • suomynona on Jan 31, 2023 at 5:24 pm

Now to think of what today would’ve been like if Proton went under PSA..

• Okey, let me explained for you small brain, geely is not the owner of proton, whatever politician are saying. The truth is majority are the one who own proton (geely 49.9/ proton 50.1). Which means proton is still under DRB and not geely.

That’s why geely doesn’t care about proton and give them leftover. But proton desperate need geely tech. Problem is proton is same people are still in management, whatever geeky did, the old mentality is still there.

• Veneno on Feb 01, 2023 at 3:35 pm

I know about the ownership of Proton but still, being a company who own almost half of Proton’s share, Geely should be doing better with Proton. If Geely only being a collaborator or technical partner (Merc and Aston for example), I understand the situation of giving only a small portion of their techs to Proton. Btw, I agree about Proton’s lousy management, they have the aggressiveness level of a lazy house cat, not the tiger in their emblem.

• already abandon hope from proton, i dont mind getting japanese rebadged car, what i do mind made in getting chingchong rebadged car. even proton technician say the new SAGA has become bad after the chingchong takeover, not say they were great in the first place.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
      • Never heard of this, must be you cooking the rumours. So far, saga is the most cars sold by proton. It’s actually better than 2016 saga in every way

• AkooIm on Jan 31, 2023 at 10:56 am

P2… diam diam ubi suddenly launch new gen Axia…
    P1 X90 spyshot sana sini, test sana sini for years, when finally launch this new Axia already facelifted…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 3
    • Because the Axia no need test on road, terus pasang terus jual.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
  • need to wait for the sedan version..

• Jaguh Global on Jan 31, 2023 at 11:40 am

New Bezza Vios sedan will bring another million sales to Perodua.

Proton should sell its Shah Alam factory to Perodua to better cope with the huge gigantic demand for next 100 years.

• Keyboard warrior on Jan 31, 2023 at 11:14 am

Uhh. I missed the day when power folding mirrors is standard at 1.0G and above. That’s really important feature to me. Also, i might be only one who think the AV should have larger engine since it crossed RM45k bracket

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • 99% comment is about Proton. So many Perodua Salesman here?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
  • Expect next Myvi to have starting price of more than RM50k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • P1&P2 War on Jan 31, 2023 at 11:31 am

Very soon, P1 will MC(facelift,minor change,major change bla bla bla) their current models with all useless gimmick, MC MC MC.
    End of the day, P1 dealer and salesmen semua pun MC.

P2 collaborate with the right company in the beginning, hence their success story until now. P2 is not trying to be something great, but something everyone would need.
    Can’t say likewise for P1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • Jaguh Global on Jan 31, 2023 at 11:58 am

Search youtube video title Tun M: Why Proton can’t compete with Perodua.

Wonder no more. LOL! xoxoxo

• Collition gov voter on Jan 31, 2023 at 11:45 am

Pls ripe off national car company status if the company cant produce rakyat price car(RM25k) for malaysian.How this car can get so much subsidies from our gov (eev) n still sell expensive?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • Squid on Jan 31, 2023 at 3:14 pm

Common sense… RM25k = USD6k

What car can you get for USD6k anywhere in this world?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
      • anonymous on Jan 31, 2023 at 7:08 pm

cute, now convert salaries in Malaysia to USD as well please and see how they tally :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
        • Sigh... on Feb 01, 2023 at 2:33 pm

Hanya yg bod*h je main convert2. Beb*l tu jgn ditunjuk sgt bang sotong.

• First if all… 25k in older axia is axia kosong manual… They did not launch for axia kosong this time due to the sales data collected in the past… They know the axia kosong mostly sold to JPJ.
      You should comparing the same level car specs which the price bump is around 4k…

• kuli in limbo on Jan 31, 2023 at 12:17 pm

hai just wanna ask my monthly gross income is rm3k and after mandatory deduction is around rm2.6k so my Q is can i afford a full sprec bezza or axia 2023? i have no commitments other than my insurance which costs me rm250 per month (i am still living with my lovely parents). so i am left with rm2.4k to spend with. plss help onegai, i wanna buy my very first own car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • newme on Jan 31, 2023 at 12:46 pm

It depends on how much dp you will be paying.

• Easy calculation, your car should not exceed your annual salary so that it doesn’t turn into burden.

• Assuming you have a strict and disciplined spending, yes you can get this with your salary.

• not kuli in limbo on Jan 31, 2023 at 1:28 pm

axia if you prefer smaller car, easier to park, don’t fetch people/things often.
      bezza if it’s your only car, more versatility, more boot space = travel can carry things

both axia and bezza, same maintenance given small engine, same platform.

• You should not get a car price over your annual income. In your case, you can get a car which cost 32k or below.

• No need headache. X50 TGDI is your best choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
    • meladam on Jan 31, 2023 at 2:05 pm

buy house with cashback and use cashback to put 20% dp on ur new axia. rent out ur condo and if have extra, use to pay ur car

• Bosku it’s not necessary to aim full spec if you want a car for that money. I’m sure the lower spec new Axia is still a banger.

• Inspire on Jan 31, 2023 at 2:40 pm

Of course, you can.

A car loan is about RM550 per month for AV Spec Axia 2023. Consider RM1100/year for maintenance and service including oil change, tires, road tax etc. Quite Sup Sup Water for you actually to be frank. Although I will say wait for the new Bezza that has burid, in case you get married and have a kid next time. Or better boot space for travelling etc.

• Salesman

• Can can bro no issues

• mrupai on Jan 31, 2023 at 9:24 pm

Follow basic 33% rule of your income to avoid stress, Less than 33% of total income for car, < 33% house, and 33% for your other enjoyment and basic needs. When your income grow you can adapt and change it accordingly.

• kuli in limbo on Feb 01, 2023 at 10:08 am

thanks for the supportive & constructive comments, really appreciate it. i guess i’d opt for bezza as i love travelling n really need a fuel efficient & spacious car to carry my camping tent and whatnot. plus bezza is also suitable for urban driving. will save some money this year for the down payment and buy me a bezza in 2024 yeah :D

• Up to you... on Feb 01, 2023 at 2:45 pm

Buy used car brother, and if possible buy it with cash. If I in your shoes, I will NOT buy brand new car with that kind of net salary.

Save that money on others thing such as investment, and if you are bumis, exploit every possible opportunity while you still can.

My 2 cents opinion.

• kuli in limbo on Feb 02, 2023 at 2:19 pm

i’m short of cash at the moment so buying an used car with cash is definitely out of the question plus owning one means have to pay high maintenance cost. must got rosak here and there right.

• Kambi on Jan 31, 2023 at 12:34 pm

Excited, cancelling my sister booking of 2nd hand VW Polo, which only has 2 airbags and no VSC tin kosong.

• Keyboard warrior on Jan 31, 2023 at 4:35 pm

I wouldn’t call a VW tin kosong. I have rent VW Vento once, the door shut sounds really satisfying.

• Mr Mar on Jan 31, 2023 at 12:39 pm

SO HUGE PRICE JUMP! BETTER BUY SAGA AND IRIZ

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • Turboes on Jan 31, 2023 at 1:21 pm

First word i look for in the article is turbo. Big if true, like paultan reported before. But…hmm.

• Jengka on Jan 31, 2023 at 1:33 pm

Good FC, Good Space, High Spec.

Trade in my old low spec Jazz to this.
    Can retire with ease.

• Justice on Jan 31, 2023 at 1:41 pm

Substandard lousy perodua cars no matter what…daihatsu wannabe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • Looks interesting but the AV variant is too expensive
    RIP for low priced entry-level high spec car

• anonymous on Jan 31, 2023 at 2:29 pm

the fact that the most expensive variant is almost 50k is insane.

• Yo mum on Jan 31, 2023 at 2:33 pm

Bcuz too many noobs in our country

• Yo mum on Jan 31, 2023 at 2:34 pm

Who on earth going to pay 48k for 1.0litre engine??? And some morons think that it’s going to be any faster

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • l0ler on Jan 31, 2023 at 2:36 pm

The G0at of Miskin

• Keyboard warrior on Jan 31, 2023 at 3:53 pm

There are many T20 and M40 people out there bought this car.

• Sad new alza owner on Jan 31, 2023 at 3:49 pm

Even new axia get a DRL… What p2 doing with their new alza(DRL available only with gearup bodykit.. which look cheap).

• awek T20 on Jan 31, 2023 at 3:55 pm

memang usable, but if you drive this, alot of girls wont go out on dates with you, hahahhahahahhahahahhaa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
    • Keyboard warrior on Jan 31, 2023 at 4:32 pm

Then men should dump all the girls that looks down on them based on cars they own. Your own life is more important than dating regardless man or woman

• You're not Putih on Feb 02, 2023 at 5:12 pm

Sure maybe that works in a woke Western country, but for us Asians, you know dam well that is not how our culture and our women work.

• That type of cinggey only for TnG brother, behind you, they will Rfid with others. Don’t waste your f’kin hard earn money for mani exchange.

• You're not Putih on Feb 02, 2023 at 5:28 pm

Anything oso in Asia mani exchange here . No talk about TnG , RFID, even agli gerr want mani.

• kenot on Jan 31, 2023 at 4:45 pm

Perodua is very aggressive in introducing their new models. Meanwhile, Proton is still struggling to introduce the Geely rebadge model.

Don’t say it’s because of the left-hand drive conversion that caused it to be released late, since Geely is a big company and proton also has experience in producing left-hand drive vehicles.

If it’s due to a component problem, it’s certainly bad news for the buyer because the issue won’t go away.

• Axis is 3 cylinder, more vibration feeling inside car. Also tends to vibrate when reaching 110-120 kmh. Saga by is 4 cylinder, less vibration. Saga is more steady at 120-130 kmh. Axia more petrol savvy, faster pickup and easier in parking. Buy which is more suitable for you and don’t curse the other brand.

• Bonta-kun on Jan 31, 2023 at 5:58 pm

Turbo for a small car like Axia? No need lah! NA engine much better.

• Autodriver on Jan 31, 2023 at 6:35 pm

The engine output is let down but the chassis DNGA itself is already worth every penny you spent. It is cheapest DNGA /TNGA we can get in the market. Good stability and high rigidity body at price of RM 39k, worth it. The base model itself already great value of money and RM 50k is quite a joke as it is whopping RM 11k higher than base model.

• WanDeraman on Jan 31, 2023 at 6:38 pm

Banyak komen dari Srjkc sini tengok komen pun tau English macam lancho

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
    • Jaguh Global on Feb 01, 2023 at 9:22 am

Kena belajar Mandarin kalau nak beli sparepart Geely dari laman china Taobao, barang ori harga lagi murah dan gerenti ada stok tak perlu tunggu satu tahun sakit hati dengan Proton.

• Xoomie on Jan 31, 2023 at 8:25 pm

Kenapa semakin mahal… and price is close to myvi.. not worth it !!

• Kevin on Jan 31, 2023 at 8:47 pm

CVT transmission can be problematic after a few years.. and not as reliable as an automatic gearbox. A big mistake by car makers. Automatic transmission is a must. A cvt is a no no… Go read up on the pros and cons first.. then you decide. Don’t waste your money.

• mriupai on Jan 31, 2023 at 9:13 pm

Remember proton for dumb oil cooler hose – preve, no@delay spare parts, mostly thirsty engines, poor customer service? Remember this!

• nasi lemak on Jan 31, 2023 at 10:09 pm

dont understand how perodua launching a new axia at 38k and giving more feature and comfort people still can complain about it being expensive if you are complaining about a 38k car better just walk take public transport lol

• CamPro on Feb 01, 2023 at 12:16 am

I prefer to buy proton cars equipped with campro engine than this rubbish car. Piece of junk costing 38k for a base model.

• Junkies otr on Feb 01, 2023 at 6:48 am

Garbage cvt

• Phaser on Feb 01, 2023 at 10:23 am

I can understand the hyperbole as the Axia could make a run at being the best-selling car in Malaysia this year and it’s bringing loads of tech & specs to buyers in this segment.

But to call this “The most significant car launch of the year…” in your very first sentence when we are one month into 2023? Hmm…let it marinate a while bro.

• focus9912 on Feb 01, 2023 at 5:22 pm

27.4 km/l, is that on the NEDC or MDC test cycle? I feel like that is a bit unrealistic to be honest.

Actually, is there an explanation in regards Malaysia Driving Cycle, I seem to remember that during the Alza review, the NEDC was 18.9km/l while the MDC value was 22km/l. I know it is not a conspiracy but does it seem like the fuel economy value has started to be a bit inflated, especially considering the criticism that the NEDC test cycle is a bit too frugal when compared to the normal everyday driving, which make the MDC perhaps much more unrealistic?

• Perodua is Better on Feb 01, 2023 at 8:23 pm

In another article Paultan showed Perodua’s last year initiatives and this year’s new initiatives to improve the local suppliers’ capabilities, provide training and know-how to their dealers and suppliers, and also their employees. Perodua is genuine in their pursuit and has provided direct and indirect employment to locals. I wholeheartedly support Perodua. After P1 was sold to Geely we lost our engineering capabilities and talents. You won’t see RnD engineers hiring in large scale anymore. We could not design our dies and moulds from the scratch anymore as Geely imported the design and materials from China. If is Najib’s fault.

• angkol on Feb 03, 2023 at 3:26 pm

AV RM49k bagus ambik Myvi X. Beng*ng punya pricing

• betikkobis on Feb 03, 2023 at 5:33 pm

i dont care about features or advance technology, but this axia was very economy car for malaysian, 40k was expensive for this car and now this car going to hit 49k ? axia is not a cheap car anymore,with 1.0L engine what a play produa, PROTON do something please.

• Autodriver on Feb 08, 2023 at 3:11 pm

If RM40k is not cheap that mean you are not ready to drive a new car. Don’t complaint too much just work hard and one day you can afford a RM 80k without complain.

During my 20 I not afford a RM 50k car but at 35 I am owning a RM 200k car. Complaint won’t makes you success.

• Luckily no turbo, if not the owners will be toxic like ativa…

• Raccoon City on Feb 05, 2023 at 4:17 pm

Bro if the axia its now cost about Rm38K-RM49K than the upcoming Facelift Bezza would be hella expensive starting price would be RM39K i think.

• Too many macai perodua trying to sell expensive entry level car by mocking proton. Low mentality of perodua.

• Dugung X on Feb 08, 2023 at 3:38 pm

Entry level A-segment car don’t need all those fancy luxury gadgets. It should strive to maintain the low price point. WTF is perodua thinking? That said, its good also to reduce to number of cars on the road. The congestion is getting ridiculous these days.

• KingoftheRoad on Feb 08, 2023 at 3:47 pm

Money hungry perodua is crazy selling this A-segment with puny 1.0L engine car for 49k, when a B-segment Iriz 1.6L CVT only cost 48k. I guess they know got many sochai waterfish around for them to butcher.