Perodua Axia E manual to live on – first-gen MT still cheapest car in Malaysia; updated specs, price soon

2019 Perodua Axia E

The current-generation Perodua Axia E will continue to be produced and sold in order to meet the needs of the national carmaker’s customer base who are diverse in their requirements and income levels, the company announced in a presentation during the preview of the 2023 Axia.

As such, the national carmaker will continue to produce the E variant of the Axia to serve as the base offering for the range, thus continuing in its role and the most affordable car in the Malaysian market, says Perodua.

At the launch of the model’s 2019 update, the Axia E was priced at RM24,090, which continued to be the same as of the range-wide adjustment in July 2022, post-SST. Last month, the company revealed that the base variant is planned for release after Hari Raya Aidilfitri this year.

The ‘driving school spec’ entry-level variant, so-called for its affordability and thus adoption by driving schools, could turn out to be even more affordable. “I think the driving schools will like it – same car, good spec, maybe cheaper,” said Perodua president and CEO Datuk Seri Zainal Abidin Ahmad at the company’s 2023 outlook briefing at the end of last month.

The Axia E will carry on in a sole offering of manual transmission, says Perodua; in its current guise, this is paired with the 1KR-VE 1.0 litre VVT-i engine that makes 67 hp and 91 Nm of torque at 4,400 rpm. In the 2019 update for the Axia, this has been the only variant to come with the do-it-yourself gearbox, whereas all other variants have been automatic-only.

Launched today, the 2023 Axia brings the nameplate into its second generation, nearly a decade on since the model arrived in September 2014 to succeed the Viva.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• love this on Feb 14, 2023 at 10:54 am

looks like a good buy for rough use in the house hold. A car that is simple, cheap and economical. Great for quick trips to kedai makan, etc.

• dick-docker celebraties on Feb 14, 2023 at 11:57 am

P2 needs to revive Rusa, based on new toyota TownAce the baby alphard veilfire much greater demands from e-hailing, taxi, parcel delivery agent, movers, roadside f&b entrepreneurs. Not another new sedan or hatchback car…..

• Betul Jugak on Feb 14, 2023 at 1:34 pm

you’re right about the Rusa. It has been so long since we have a good, cheap, van-based car.

• Syaiful Nizam Hassan on Feb 16, 2023 at 7:32 am

Strongly agree that Rusa should be reproduced.

• Far H on Feb 18, 2023 at 2:04 pm

sadly they can’t because they transfer all commercial vehicle right to Daihatsu; you can still buy GranMax from them which basically the TownAce

• Or they could just rebadge the Daihatsu Thor. Me & colleagues drove in Japan, and we like them so much. Pity it never arrived here.

• Autodriver on Feb 14, 2023 at 11:17 am

No offend to the poor people, I dont think it is good idea to remain production line for old Perodua Axia E just to cater for the poor one.

There is no ABS and EBD, only 2 airbags for safety for the Axia E. And also people who only afford for Axia E is likley struggling to live a normal life. Should encourage them to take public transport and spend less on vehicle. If got family then buy a second hand car like Perodua Viva, Kenari, Kelisa, Hyundai i10 etc below RM 10k. Or first gen Myvi 1.3 AT is price about RM 13k. If possible pay in cash instead of installment as the old car always comes with higher interest rate.

I know some argue P2 should remain a cheapest new car as option for the poor people. There are many poor people stuck with the repayment of car loan. At the end their car got towed back and being blacklisted.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • I think Axia E is a good new car for poor people

Axia E have low safety but Viva & Myvi 1st gen have even worse safety.

Some poor person buying Axia E can be use it to drive grab after work. Viva / (Myvi 1st gen if older than 10yrs) cannot due to grab regulations.

Second hand car after do major things that will have to do at some point like overhaul engine, rebuild suspension for safety, respray to prevent rust will basically become same price as Axia E.

• welcome to KL on Feb 14, 2023 at 1:44 pm

I dont trust used cars anymore. kereta banjir, etc.
        all sorts of bad history nobody knows. test drive cant detect, but problem appear a few months later. no warranty. dont buy used car. buy refurbished from manufacturer (with warranty) is OK, but not from used car dealers.

• But the problem is , poor people won’t buy Axia E. But to buy used car at 5-7k ringgit.

• Autodriver on Feb 15, 2023 at 8:45 am

It is always hard to persuade the poor or B40 to not spend on vehicle while their earning is low. Imagine buying a car every month have to pay instalment and this hasn’t include maintenance, roadtax, insurance, tyre etc cost. I would advise buy a second hand car if possible by cash then budget a bit for car repair. After 2-3 years when earning grow only then buy a new car based on our capability.

There are hundreds of thousands if not million of people buying car beyond their financial capability. New car SA will try their best to get loan to customer eventhough the customer financial is very tight. After getting a new car they spend lesser on food, utility bills, no saving, less outing with family, kids not getting good treatment etc.

The problem of poor people are usually lack of financial awareness. Once they fall into huge debt it is hard for them to recover especially when forming a family. This burden not only to themselves but next generation also struggle as they unable to get a good education (tuition, learning languages etc) and extra skill (extra paid curriculum).

• car is a liability on Feb 15, 2023 at 10:56 am

Agreed! Many B40 people especially, they think as long bank approved their car loan, means they are financially able to afford a car! TCO means nothing to these group of people.

• detached on Feb 14, 2023 at 1:22 pm

please go down to the ground level and open your eyes. If I force myself to take public transport daily. It will be to take bus and also train to work. It isn’t cheap. It is more expensive than paying for petrol. 1-way trip costs me RM8, means daily RM16. spend money to go earn money. But this isnt even the problem. The true problem is that “last mile” problem. Even after taking bus, I cannot reach my office without walking 2km under the rain/sun. If i rent an electric scooter, it cost another rm5, 1 way.

• Rimau on Feb 14, 2023 at 7:17 pm

No need scooter, folding bike can do the job already.ask govt build super highway for bicycle.
        Overall save money.Got season pass train

• harihari on Feb 15, 2023 at 9:57 am

You try boarding the LRT or buses during morning rush hours. I can barely fit before the door closes. If I carry a folding bike, I think everyone would wanna beat me up.

• Autodriver on Feb 15, 2023 at 9:57 am

Taking public transport more costly? Rapid KL cost only RM 50 for unlimited ride. Driving car to work spend RM 10 but you need to pay for car instalment, insurance, tyre, wear and tear maintenance, parking and tolls etc. This is definitely more than taking public transport.

If your work and payout is justified to drive then no problem. The problem is if one earning not high but still wanna own a new car they can’t blame why they are poor. Why many people still prefer to drive to work, Malaysia petrol is cheap. We are the 2nd cheapest among the Southeast Asia, just behind Burnei. It is quite a joke that Msia is still seeking fuel saving car when a full tank of Merc only cost RM 150 meanwhile in Thailand it is whopping RM 300.

• driverauto on Feb 15, 2023 at 11:46 am

as in the recent news, that last mile problem is why public transport dont work for most people. you cant reach your home, or your workplace after taing public transport. how? You want your 70 year old mom and dad to walk 2-3km to bus stop in the rain and sun?

• Autodriver on Feb 16, 2023 at 8:24 pm

If you got travel to Japan you will know the truth. People always give highest appraisal to Japan public transport but in fact even in Tokyo slightly outside the city center people have to walk 1km or more from house to bus station or train station. The good thing is connectivity between different railway lines is superb but last mile you will still need to WALK. Like in Shinjuku station, it is so big from entrance to platform take almost 10 minutes or roughly 500m. In KL even if the bus stop is only 200m and LRT or MRT just 500m people still prefer driving. Because our petrol cheap, toll cheap and parking cheap. These factors indirectly encourage people to drive.

• long story on Feb 14, 2023 at 1:38 pm

You dont make a car to sell only to poor people. You make a car to make money. So your business can remain profitable. Do you really believe a business is making a car just to targeting the poor?

Anyway, I agree with your points about people who default on their loans and mortgages. But then again, these are usually the same group of people that has zero finance managing knowledge. I know of many people bordering on poverty, living in run-down houses, but yet they buy cars that they cant afford. They have this mentality that as long as the bank approves the loan, means they CAN afford. This is why there are many bankrupt people today.

• 4G63T DSM on Feb 14, 2023 at 2:57 pm

In all fairness, Perodua is probably not making money off the Axia E.

They used to sell the Kancil kosong spec more expensive than the Axia E, which is a much more substantial and modern car with airbags. Considering that was 26 years ago, inflation itself would have meant the Axia E is actually more expensive to build, but yet still sold cheaper than the kosong spec Kancil.

There is a place and market for the Axia E.

• Radius Abdullah on Feb 14, 2023 at 3:16 pm

I work in a factory. The engineers and managers drive average cars, but the factory operators all buy civics and HRV… So yes, it’s an education problem with malaysians. tak tau manage duit.

• TheMeow on Feb 15, 2023 at 4:06 pm

nah man. My brother has 2 nice cars that he use for special outings but he drove a besi buruk proton saga that its a/c broke ages ago & two of its doors already can’t open from the outside to work everyday. Lesson of this anecdotal story, what people drove to work has no bearing to how the real of their livimg situation looks like.

• used car dealer on Feb 14, 2023 at 2:16 pm

the problem with buying used car is the lack RELIABILITY.
      Imagine 1 week after collecting your used car, suddenly it stopped working while in traffic jams. Worst, previous owner dont keep maintenance history (or purposely hide it from you). Waste a lot of money to fix, and waste a lot of time. No car go work, etc.

• Autodriver on Feb 15, 2023 at 9:44 am

My brother bought a 15 years Altis 1.6 used car cost RM 15k 2 years ago and until now no problem except wear and tear. I believe even if buying a firt gen Myvi it is still quite reliable. Of course it need repair but not major like engine or gearbox problem.

If no money still insist to buy new car it mean you have problem in managing your own financial.

• wheregotpublictransport on Mar 08, 2023 at 8:56 pm

after reading many of your replies I can’t take any of your opinion seriously at all. you keep talking about use public transport like we are Singapore or Japan. tell me how efficient the public transport wherever state you live and is it the same every state ?

as for getting 2nd hand car which cost so much more than new car , unknown history (with recently alot of flood happen is a huge red flag) and also have no warranty ? you sound like salesman desperate for customer lol

• Eric K on Jun 17, 2023 at 2:56 pm

This fucker lives in an ivory tower.

• IwontTellUwhoMi on Feb 15, 2023 at 9:58 am

agreed, actually most of the Axia E buyer not poor people, most of them cash buyer & driving school. And this most affordable car in Malaysia not helping poor family to own a car but give chance for rich people to get the cheapest car to use in the household.

• Manualdriver on Mar 08, 2023 at 9:02 pm

agree , at my workplace some of the upper level staff that earn a comfy level wage which they can easily buy nice and fancy cars only get themselves this Axia E meanwhile those new young kids wage lower than me work not even 1 year already get themselves fancy cars. its all about mentality

• TheMeow on Feb 15, 2023 at 3:51 pm

Poor people generally don’t drive recklessly because they know they can’t afford to pay for the fixes nor replace parts due to increased wear & tear. All these safety feature in cars are a necessary for the so-called medium income people to be safe on the road because they are the ones that thought they are fast and furious characters. Let’s face it, you have no idea how human sociology works.

• Autodriver on Feb 16, 2023 at 8:32 pm

Poor people don’t drive fast??? Have you ever seen a Kancil 660 running at North South Highway at speed below 60km/h? The crash test is done at speed of 64km/h just in case you didn’t know. Go and take a look in news what kind of cars in accident mostly. It is not BMW, Honda but it rather a old and cheap car. It mean poor people do drive fast okay. And also safety features may help the driver not to bang on other. There are lots of poor people with high ego and always want to challenge those expensive cars. You don’t have any idea how human sociology works.

• Manualdriver on Mar 08, 2023 at 8:41 pm

just saying I know a lot of people who earn like double and triple my current wage which can easily get fancy cars yet they just get themselves this E variant just for daily commute to work because for them its good enough and for family too because living in the city kinda pointless buying expensive car as only means to go from point A to B.

if you say should encourage take public transport I don’t think Perodua can be PM and has any power in doing such thing as their main business is selling their product not amend policies for the country , and you talk about lack of safety in Axia E yet you encourage people to buy used older cars that has even poor safety and some might have unknown history? really?

• Matchy on Feb 14, 2023 at 11:28 am

Add in auto, then it will all good.

• Wong chee keong on Feb 14, 2023 at 11:46 am

Pasar pagi car

• ABS Plz on Feb 14, 2023 at 11:48 am

Most important update perodua need to put on this axia e manual is ABS brake. Already got airbag, and just add up ABS will be good enough.
    ABS and Airbag are 2 basic safety needed in every car now a days.

• enforcement on Feb 14, 2023 at 1:40 pm

local law requires minimum of 2 front airbags for all cars sold here. which is why that car above has it (terpaksa).

ABS currently not required by law.

• Halim on Feb 14, 2023 at 6:15 pm

Build Car people first…ABS should be a must

• Mr Mar on Feb 16, 2023 at 4:15 pm

Wont be surprised if this Axia kompang sell better than the DNGA G spec etc

• Pencinta axia on Feb 16, 2023 at 11:58 pm

Yes,love it’s… hopefully axia E MT..

• Junkies otr on Feb 21, 2023 at 7:02 am

Pls bring in more mt cars

• Bringbackmanual on May 05, 2023 at 9:10 am

Yes. Manufacturer should all have MT model for the customer to choose. In future maybe they just all go electric and no more ice. Less choices again.

• FIKI FITRI on Jun 17, 2023 at 6:21 pm

LON KERETA PRODUA AXIA