2023 Lexus RX 350 Luxury in Malaysia – 2.4T AWD with 279 PS and 430 Nm; AEB, ACC; priced from RM469k

Following its world debut in June last year, the fifth-generation Lexus RX will be open for booking in Malaysia starting from tomorrow (May 17, 2023) – an official launch will take place soon. The SUV is offered in a sole RX 350 Luxury variant retailing at RM468,888 on-the-road without insurance, inclusive of a five-year, unlimited-mileage warranty.

Now built on the GA-K version of the Toyota New Global Architecture (TNGA), the latest RX is 90 kg lighter than its predecessor and boasts a wheelbase of 2,850 mm (+60 mm). As for the other dimensions, the SUV maintains the same length of 4,890 mm, but is wider at 1,920 mm (+25 mm) and taller at 1,695 mm (+10 mm).

You’ll also notice the improved stance thanks to a centre of gravity that has been lowered by 15 mm as well as wider tracks front and rear. While the front overhang remains unchanged, the rear overhang has been reduced by 60 mm.

The RX boasts Lexus’ latest design language with a new spindle body design that features a seamless grille that blends in neatly with the raised bonnet. Other features seen at the front include slim tri-beam projector headlamps with boomerang-shaped LED daytime running lights that sit above the corner air curtains.

Along the sides, you’ll find prominent creases and a sloping roofline, the latter leading to a rakish window and pointed tailgate. Two distinctive cues that are carried over from the previous RX are the pinched C-pillars and floating roof look, while the rear gets wide-width taillights with the Lexus script set in the middle.

The RX also comes with aerodynamic elements such as flush windows and door mouldings, a fin on the bottom edge of the rear bumper as well as optimised undercovers (including a dimpled surface under the engine) so it cuts through the air as efficiently as possible.

Moving inside, the RX adopts the ‘Tazuna’ concept that refers to the perfect a Japanese term describing the perfect relationship between rider and horse. This driver-focused approach places all the controls within easy reach of the driver, including the 14-inch infotainment touchscreen that is slightly angled.

The touch-focused system is a welcome replacement for the previous Remote Touch interface and incorporates climate controls and various other vehicle functions. The system also comes with support for voice recognition commands, wired Android Auto and wireless Apple CarPlay. Other displays found inside the cabin include a digital instrument cluster as well as a head-up display.

On the powertrain side of things, the RX 350 gets a T24A-FTS 2.4 litre turbocharged four-cylinder petrol engine – also used in the latest NX – making 279 PS (275 hp) at 6,000 rpm and 430 Nm from 1,700 to 3,600 rpm. The mill, which has both direct and port injection (D-4ST), is paired with a Direct Shift eight-speed automatic transmission and an electronically-controlled full-time all-wheel drive system, allowing it to get from 0-100 km/h in 7.6 seconds.

For our market, Adaptive Variable Suspension (AVS) comes as standard to go along with the MacPherson front struts and five-arm multi-link rear setup. The AVS has two damping force modes (Normal and Sport) for the driver to choose from, along with three drive modes (Normal, Eco and Sport).

In terms of equipment, the RX 350 Luxury comes with 21-inch light-alloy wheels in a Hyper Chrome Metallic finish, e-Latch electronic door release, 64-colour ambient lighting, three-zone climate control with rear vents, powered front seats with memory function, powered 40:20:40 split-folding rear seats, all-seat ventilation and heating, a Qi wireless charger, a 12-speaker sound system, Active Noise Control (ANC) and a powered tailgate with hands-free access.

Meanwhile, the Lexus Safety System+ (LSS+) suite consists of Pre-Collision System (PCS), Dynamic Radar Cruise Control (DRCC) with stop and go function as well as Curve Speed Reduction, Lane Departure Alert (LDA), Lane Tracing Assist (LTA), Adaptive High-beam System (AHS) with BladeScan and Road Sign Assist (RSA). These are joined by a Blind Spot Monitor with Safe Exit Assist, Rear Traffic Cross Alert (RTCA) and a panoramic view monitor with 3D imagery.

The RX comes fully imported (CBU) from Japan and is available in five colours, namely Sonic Quartz, Sonic Iridium, Sonic Titanium, Graphite Black Glass Flake and Sonic Cooper – all paired with black semi-aniline leather and Black Ash open pore wood trim.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Holder on May 16, 2023 at 6:07 pm

But looks better than Mercedes GLC

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 2
    • digidigi on May 16, 2023 at 7:13 pm

good pricing fully import with full Adas, top reliability also, glc is just a joke… a junk actually

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
      • Mango on May 17, 2023 at 8:23 am

Agree. Quality for Mercedes is becoming a joke. Spare parts and aftersales for Mercedes is getting worst

• Civic Turbo 2018 on May 17, 2023 at 10:47 am

Doesn’t matter. Mainly for B40/M40 to envy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 19
          • Isaac on May 17, 2023 at 2:57 pm

You mean to say mercedes fanbois have always been badmouthing to other brands till today because mercedes fanbois are always too jealous for seeing other brands

Replying to Civic Turbo 2018

• One man one engine on May 17, 2023 at 5:44 pm

Most of Mercedes owners own other brands so we don’t badmouth as much as those who only own a single brand. Can’t say about fanbois since fans aren’t necessarily owners.

Those who buy Lexus only have 1 priority… extreme comfort and those in that category are generally the much older group. IS is for the younger group but it’s not sold here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
          • One man one engine

Cause you are really newcomer to this website or any other car blogs, so that’s why you don’t know what mercedes salesmen have been badmouthing all the time to many other brands. Even mercedes drivers otr have been so arrogant nowadays than those drivers who drives other brands

• Celup King on May 18, 2023 at 8:36 am

Testinggate dah setel ke blom?

• AutoFrenz (the original) on May 16, 2023 at 9:24 pm

This competes with gle and x5…lexus nx is in the same league with glc and x3…still blur meh…next time check your fact dont be a clown…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
      • Pocahontas on May 17, 2023 at 10:05 am

What he means is the new GLC is priced almost the same as this RX. Clown

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • pity that it didnt come with a panoramic sunroof. Otherwise it would have been a perfect car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 28
    • Say no to sunroofs on May 16, 2023 at 6:29 pm

It’s bloody hot here. you need sunroof for fk? Better take away the sunroof and swap for something else or reduce price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 8
      • My current car has a sunroof and i enjoy every minute of it. Not feeling hot at all. Maybe you have the low quality cover one thats why u feel hot.

I WILL FOREVER SAY YES TO A SUNROOF!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 45
        • Watel on May 17, 2023 at 8:39 am

When I syiok sendiri, I also very happy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
          • Ehhh? Saya yang enjoy my sunroof awak yang panas? I think your heart got problem cannot see someone else happy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
  • Holder on May 16, 2023 at 6:14 pm

Better than Mercedes GLE

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 6
    • Mango on May 17, 2023 at 8:24 am

Agree. Quality, service center and also spare part period for mercedes is becoming joke. Very bad to buy Mercedes

• Nice

• Micheal on May 16, 2023 at 6:51 pm

Full complete car. Bagus Lexus Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
    • Not complete cuz didnt have the premium sound system and also no panoramic sunroof

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
      • But at least better specs than mercedes models that almost like kosong spec, anyways

• The RX awd system is basically useless. If just a fwd with awd gimmick.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 49
    • eeeriz on May 17, 2023 at 8:13 am

If you want to compare to Subaru’s AWD, i have to agree with you. But for normal driving AWD will give you additional security and grip during wet conditions. But this won’t survive if you need to venture into forest or some wet muddy condition.

• It is Full time AWD like subaru

• almost half a million, with that power, and that interior.

really. just use half of the money and get a brand new toyota harrier.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
    • 2.0NA with the ridiculous 7” touchscreen?

• The prev generation harrier got this 2.4 turbo….that was a good deal until this new generation wt only NA came along …facepalm

• Audi guy on May 23, 2023 at 10:55 am

Bs, when got 2.4 turbo? 2.0 turbo 230hp, currently only lexus nx and rx have this engine. Dont know car dont tk

• Urchin on May 16, 2023 at 7:36 pm

More comfortable than Mercedes GLC and Mercedes GLE

• Peter Griffin of Quahog on May 16, 2023 at 7:43 pm

No need to buy Range Rover, this car has it all

• anonymous on May 16, 2023 at 7:44 pm

based on these pictures it doesn’t seem like the malaysian variant comes with the upgraded mark levinson speakers. what a shame.

• Yeahsure on May 16, 2023 at 8:13 pm

Might seem expensive.. But its fully imported rather than assembled in jalan gombak or whatnot.. And downright headache free compared to its Germany rivals… Fresh design as well.. No ugly pig nostrils.. Those who buy understand and not going with the flow…

• It’s a harrier.

• Nurul Izzah on May 16, 2023 at 9:21 pm

My dream car.

• That’s toyota dashcam….

• Keyboard warrior on May 16, 2023 at 10:05 pm

Again, STILL NO MARK LEVINSON PREMIUM AUDIO SYSTEM?!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
  • Lexus one of the better feel interior

• SuckMyTongue on May 16, 2023 at 11:14 pm

This is Ah Chong and Ah Kow luxury car heavy tinted and fake title on number plate.

• Katheryne Wong on May 17, 2023 at 12:19 am

I personally prefer Merc GLE or BMW X5. Lexus is just a rebadged Toyota and clearly overpriced.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
  • Beauty

• Naise full spec car.. even beemer and merc doesn’t have cruise control like lexus.. compare to beemer just add rm10k and u will get cbu car from japan plus full safety sense and reliability of a toyota

• ROTI CANAI on May 17, 2023 at 7:24 am

fantastic car. but the name of the colors is just pure stupidity.

Sonic Quartz, Sonic Iridium, Sonic Titanium, Graphite Black Glass Flake and Sonic Copper

aka
    White, Silver, Grey, Black and Bronze

btw is sonic copper not cooper

• YB Albert Albata Batu Bata on May 17, 2023 at 8:02 am

the dashcam is very identical…….

• eeeriz on May 17, 2023 at 8:12 am

Nice looking SUV, but do you really need to add 21″ rim? This will cost a bomb with the evergreen issues of potholes and uneven road in Msia. This car is definitely for have-have people who already bored with Mercs and BMW or even Audi and Volvos..

• Maybe on May 17, 2023 at 8:37 am

That colour itself justify the premium price.

• Mango on May 17, 2023 at 9:03 am

Better than Mercedes

• Bob_B78 on May 17, 2023 at 9:30 am

Exterior – Great
    Interior – a bit outdated
    Straight line performance – on paper puts on par with 190 HP X1 2.0 which is 200k cheaper. Makes one wonder why so much power but so mediocre performance

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Applgreen on May 17, 2023 at 9:54 am

No more mark levinson surround speakers?

• jdmcarlover07 on May 17, 2023 at 11:09 am

it appears that lexus malaysia is also following mbm steps because mbm only brought in one sole variant of GLC 300 4Matic and just like lexus over here just brought in one sole RX 350 Luxury variant so… dua kali lima

• Read a few comments about packaging so thought I’d help clear some stuff up. Firstly, the Mark Levinson speakers are an exclusive to any “L” series vehicles in Malaysia, the standard speakers that come with the car are very impressive and I do suggest to try them. Secondly the dashcam. Since it’s a TMC vehicle, it makes sense that UMW is the one here adding the dashcam to the CBU unit. Yes it may be the same as the Toyota cars, but it’s a dashcam… what are you expecting?

• 2.4 turbo only 280HP with half million price tag

• One of the best car compare to boring Mercedes

• Why no wireless android auto???!!!

• I don’t recommend you book the RX because u will never know when u will get it. Lexus Malaysia has a stupid and myopic policy that the salesmen has to sell X number of ES or Ux models before he will be allocated RX for his customer. So if u book with a saleman who has not been able to sell enough UX or Es, you will never get your RX!!

And for rm470k you cannot even choose the interior colours or order by specs.

I have cancelled my booking for the RX and waiting for the refund which has still not come after 2 months! No wonder Lexus Malaysia is doing so badly. I will soon be able to buy the new RX from recon and grey importers. Lexus Malaysia, instead of getting a bigger allotment from Japan to meet RX demand, they create stupid policies which penalises the customer. Its is most anti customer car company I have experienced.