BMW 5 Series G60 vs G30 – the new, larger sedan vs the previous generation – which design do you prefer?

BMW 5 Series G60 vs G30 – the new, larger sedan vs the previous generation – which design do you prefer?BMW 5 Series G60 vs G30 – the new, larger sedan vs the previous generation – which design do you prefer?

Here are some side-by-side shots of the new G60 BMW 5 Series, which made its world premiere yesterday night, and the sedan it will replace, the G30 5 Series. The seventh-generation G30 was unveiled back in a little under seven years ago in 2016, and the blue example you see here is the facelift that debut in May 2020, the G60’s immediate predecessor.

You can read all about the 2024 BMW 5 Series in our launch report, and this post is just to show you the new and the old (but it still feels quite new, doesn’t it, the G30 LCI) side-by-side. Off the bat, which do you prefer?

If this was an actual poll, we wouldn’t be surprised at the outcome – our money will be on many of you preferring the G30. Personally, it’s non-contest and we’re regressing – the G30 is perfect in balancing elegance and sportiness. Throw in the superb drive and it could even be one of the best cars in the world.

BMW 5 Series G60 vs G30 – the new, larger sedan vs the previous generation – which design do you prefer?BMW 5 Series G60 vs G30 – the new, larger sedan vs the previous generation – which design do you prefer?

But we’ve been here before, many times in fact. Each time BMW comes up with something new, car enthusiasts and BMW fans will pan the new one and extol the old one(s), bringing out their rose-tinted glasses (probably wine red-tinted, for BMW fans). “E30!” “E39 the best!”, surely you’ve heard all these before.

But as time passes, BMW will more often than not be proven right. Remember the initial reaction to the Bangle-era E60 5 Series? Even the iX, with that face and unconventional SUV proportions, is selling like hot cakes.

So, the new 5 Series, what do you think? We’ve chosen similar angles, but note that the G60 – at 5,060 mm long (yes, it’s over 5m now!) and 1,900 mm wide – the G60 is 97 mm longer and 32 mm wider than the G30. The new sedan is also 36 mm taller (1,515 mm) and its 2,995 mm wheelbase is 20 mm longer, which means that most of the newly-added length goes into the overhangs.

It’s not just overall height that’s up, but we can see that the front fascia is now taller. If you don’t like it, just be thankful that the 5 Series escapes the huge nostrils that we see on bigger models like the 7 Series and X7.

The sides of the G60 appear cleaner (flush door handles too), but without the G30’s strong crease of a tornado line and “hockey stick” (replaced by a gentle upward curve) to break up the visual mass, does the side profile look a tad tall?

At the back, the traditional BMW sedan tail lamps on the G30 has been slimmed down to almost a straight line, as previewed by the latest G70 7 Series. Also like the Seven is the badging – big 5, small variant number. Speaking of that, the big ‘5’ on the “Hoffmeister kink” is a new cue. Lastly, no visible exhaust pipes even on the ICE model.

As for the new interior, it’s a big shift from the G30’s familiar cockpit (which looks really old in comparison), but with zero surprises. The conjoined wide screen layout is as per the new 7 Series, but note that the screen and centre stack is angled towards the driver, as opposed to being flat on the limo. This continued tradition befits the Five’s status as a driver’s car, a nice touch also seen in the Perodua Axia. Just joking! Also, BMW’s longstanding joystick gear lever makes way for a stubby selector.

So, what do you think of the new G60 5 Series versus the G30? Which style do you prefer? Let us know. Check out our full launch report for everything you need to know about the new 5er.

GALLERY: G60 BMW i5 eDrive40

GALLERY: G30 BMW 530e M Sport LCI

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• New is better than G30

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 43
    • Civic Turbo 2018 on May 25, 2023 at 6:30 pm

Love the gasoline fumes in everywhere of the G30 (would have gone for more futuristic design if opt for an EV)

• Mr cruise on May 25, 2023 at 10:35 pm

G60 all the way

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
    • eeeriz on May 29, 2023 at 8:57 am

of course newer car is supposed to be better than the car it replaced. But aesthetically, G30 looks more handsome and meaner, this one G60 looks a bit soft and awkward.

• But one day, you will find differently that on why G60 is better than G30 while G30 is way dated than G60

• Peppa on May 25, 2023 at 11:52 am

The new one is basically larger 2 Series. Both BMW and Mercedes lost their way

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 24
    • Isaac on May 25, 2023 at 1:53 pm

Mercedes also lost their way but BMW nope, in terms of durable, design, tech and engine power

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 28
      • Peppa on May 25, 2023 at 2:37 pm

BMW durable? It is confirmed that BMWs fans are dumbfounded

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 26
        • Because you never owned BMW before. Anyways, if you drive Mercedes, you will know that weather is durable or not compare to BMW, heard from many said mercedes owners complaining about quality issues. You can’t simply blame bmw fans at all but people here are telling the truth and there are no jokes around

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 11
        • Kendo Ken on May 26, 2023 at 9:25 am

Truth is truth from not only me that I owned GLE450 but there are others already facing problems and regretted for driving mercedes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
      • Healther on May 25, 2023 at 9:46 pm

Agree! Mercedes is now stepping backwards while others have already moving forward

• Ben Yap on May 25, 2023 at 12:49 pm

looks are subjective… anytime better choose the G60 as it is a newer model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • Eddie on May 26, 2023 at 3:38 pm

Still has the Jinjang style. Maybe it was meant to be, for AhBeng. This one is for the Ahbeng who has upgraded from Petaling street LV to Thai street market LV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 22
      • Beacon on May 26, 2023 at 4:31 pm

Are you sure this G60 looks ah beng… It is confirmed that Mercedes fanboy is dumbfounded

• Isaac on May 26, 2023 at 5:12 pm

Mercedes fanbois are too jealous after seeing this car and other brands while people talks the truth. People also talks their truth about mercedes issues, but mercedes fanbois can’t accept and upset and very furious by people truth opinions

• Love new BMW 5 Series

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
  • seancorr on May 25, 2023 at 1:15 pm

The old one definitely looks better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 35
    • Healther on May 25, 2023 at 9:47 pm

New one is better because of more features and updated and better power

• ROTI CANAI on May 25, 2023 at 2:34 pm

none, bring back the e34

• jdmcarlover07 on May 25, 2023 at 3:22 pm

oh no they turned the good ol’ goat into a laughing goat

• Isaac on May 25, 2023 at 4:00 pm

Waiting for bmw haters aka mercedes fanboys to come here and talk bad about this brand or whatever other brands

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 22
  • Komen alternatif on May 25, 2023 at 4:53 pm

New car infront look like honda. Back side look like toyota. So for me not nice. Further more i dont want to be associates wt no acc car . I prefer merc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 20
    • Kendo Ken on May 26, 2023 at 9:24 am

Good luck about mercedes durability. I owned GLE450 but only power windows already solved but audio screen still lagging, steering rack still got problem, door panel still got sound, 48V still got issues, aircond always not working and some interior parts loosen which those can’t be solved till today. So better think twice before buying mercedes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 32
    • escalator on May 26, 2023 at 10:12 am

E class tailights…ewwww. E class almost removing all buttons unlike 5 series at least got some buttons

• Design didn’t use to matter as much anymore, when carmakers found out that people were willing to spend money on even the most polarising designs, they didn’t care as long as the sales volume kept pace. Their largest customer market (China) dictates the designs, not us bystanders.

• Obviously new is better

• DonkeyKong on May 25, 2023 at 9:34 pm

New generation of BMWs look like they’re designed for China’s taste. They will not look out of place next to China-made cars. Similar design language.

• Healther on May 25, 2023 at 9:46 pm

BMW have lesser problems than Mercedes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 34
  • Mr cruise on May 25, 2023 at 10:35 pm

G60 all the way

• Excitement and Amazing for G60 than G30. Bring it on!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • Kendo Ken on May 26, 2023 at 9:27 am

BMW have fixed quality compare to old BMW durability and better than now mercedes quality

• escalator on May 26, 2023 at 10:12 am

Better looking than E Class

• Dugung X on May 26, 2023 at 12:00 pm

G30 lci is the best looking and balance 5 series ever. The desirability is high compared to new souless G60. Interior of G30 is timeless classic and luxurious, and not dated at all. I hate ugly cheap looking huge screens that is not gonna last even 10 years

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
  • stick on May 26, 2023 at 12:34 pm

the new 5 headlamp is soooo fugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
  • MYLRowner on May 26, 2023 at 1:39 pm

Used to own an e39 530i, i still think its one of the besf looking beemer and i disliked e30. Haha

• 5 Series is always best looking from F series till today

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 16
  • klguy on May 26, 2023 at 2:15 pm

the rear looks more Toyotaistic

• Astra on May 26, 2023 at 2:34 pm

We are so exciting to see G60. G60 will be fun for everyone

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
  • Love to drive 5 Series. Anyways, I prefer G60 over G30

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 16
  • Pierre MOULIN on May 26, 2023 at 5:47 pm

The design of the G30 is more balanced, in my opinion, more elegant too, but a little less dynamic. The lack of a strong lines on the profile makes the new G60 look a little clumsy and accentuates its height. However, the new car’s huge wheel arches, the forward tilt of the windows and the headlights stretched out to the side give it a dynamic look. The rear lights of the G30 are massive and quickly replaced by the G60. The G60’s front end is more questionable. In my opinion, it lacks distinction and class. Finally, the dashboard of the G30 is immediately out of fashion compared to the G60. But watch out for the ergonomics! Just look at Mat Watson on youtube, trying to put cruise control into an IX. It’s a real pain, whereas it was child’s play with the steering wheel controls…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • the steering is properly designed! the new one looks so much nicer!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • kingx on May 31, 2023 at 4:02 pm

E32 750iL Length: 5029 mm
    G60 530i Length: 5060 mm

So the G60 5er is longer than the old E32 7er LWB but has much less rear legroom than the 5.0L v12 7? Did they become more inefficient in packaging or did designers fill the car with too much unnecessary gadgets.