Continuing on the topic of there not being enough public electric vehicle chargers to accommodate the ever increasing EV volume, investment, trade and industry minister Datuk Seri Johari Abdul Ghani said the government is looking into the possibility of including an additional charge on new EVs in order to specifically create a fund to build public chargers, Bernama reports.
“We may impose a levy on every EV sold and channel the proceeds to a dedicated fund to build public charging stations because we cannot rely solely on vehicle manufacturers or distributors to undertake such investments,” he said in parliament.
Reiterating what he said during the Proton eMas 7 PHEV CKD line-off ceremony last week, he said the government had granted exemptions on import duty, excise duty and sales tax for completely built-up (CBU) EVs for four years and forgone RM3.3 billion in tax, hoping that would spur automakers to help develop the charging infrastucture.
However, he said the investment in public charging infrastructure fell short of expectations. “After four years, when we looked at the availability of public charging stations, the investment from EV industry players was simply not there,” he said.
“We exempted them from the taxes because we saw potential for them to build public chargers. However, today we only have slightly more than 1,000 chargers available,” he said. He also repeated the point about asking his counterpart in China on the success of EV usage in the country. “I was told that China spent billions to build chargers. But if we want the government to do that here, we don’t have the money,” he stated.

After all the MITITALKCOCK, u still think the people will believe all this “AYAM JANTAN” jokes?! Proof everyone wrong if u finally do it…. then v will revisit this post!
Where got zero tax??? For example China selling price vs Media selling price, XPENG G6 China selling RM105,000 but Mesia selling RM158,000 (evidence of 50% gomen tax). And now CKD (taxed) ALSO SELLING SAME PRICE RM158,000 . Confirm zero tax is not true.
Red Tape Red Tape Red Tape Red Tape Red Tape Red Tape Red Tape Red Tape Red Tape Red Tape
Gov will have infinitely more red tape, then what private charging operators go through already
Hahahaha….put levy on EV, will only discourage ppl to adopt EV which will increase govt spending for fuel subsidy…..dah kalah 2 state election, i dont think today or future govt will risk on reducing fuel subsidy…..so apa mau komplen bila govt fund has to be used for fuel subsidy, korang juga yg takut kalah kat ballot box…hahahahaha
MITI minister is from BN though… not from PH. But people still vote for BN, means people still support MITI minister. Mind the facts
Should put PH minister
Minister of MITI is from BN….. mind the facts
Ghani is from UMNO which won by a landslide in both Johor and Negri state elections. If UMNO wins GE, we will see more of him and his “brilliant” ideas.
if umno performs well in next GE , Pekan MP will become PM12 , Jho Low will receive pardon , and another round of 2mdb
we don’t have the money –> LOL
sebab nak bagi gaji timbalan exco ramai-ramai. Tahniah
This traitor needs to be hanged.
“We may impose a levy on every EV sold and channel the proceeds to a dedicated fund to build public charging stations because we cannot rely solely on vehicle manufacturers or distributors to undertake such investments,”
What I read is; additional taxes on EV and they will take a cut from it to put into their own pockets.
PETRONAS 2 in the making :
Electronas Boogaloo
As I said many time, DO NOT BUY EV, IF U BUY U SOHAI. Why??? EVIDENCE By compare oversea car price , EV CAR in MESIA NO TAX IS TIPU RAKYAT, the rm60k EV CAR PRICE IN CHINA selling RM120k in MESIA. Even at as claimed no tax condition, the Car price is much expensive than Petro car, meaning claimed no tax but actual tax more than Petrol car tax. PLS CONTINUE BUY PETRO CAR AND CKAIM BACK YOUR TAX MONEY FROM PETROL
SUBSIDY. If u buy EV U TAX money just missing
Where is all the money from import duties, excise duties being used? We literally been collecting high taxes for vehicle for 40 years. Why impose new levy’s when your margins from P1 & P2 are FAT. Why not urged these national carmakers to invest in charging infrastructure, rather than waste millions on EV projects that dont sell? Absolutely shameful to use “billions of ringgit lost due to tax free holiday” as an excuse when those money is the rakyats. Us paying your inflated taxes are not your right to collect in the first place.
What a joke
Johari recently lapar ke
What is this BS. Increase public charging and let them be under-utilised? Who’s gonna foot the bill of under-utilised charges? Just make the B40 & lower M40 could afford an EV, that’s about 70% of citizens who can’t feel the economic prosperity of this country (according to research director of Institut Penyelidikan Khazanah). Then public charging would increase by itself. Not a rocket science brada. Levy just to hinder people from buying EV and protecting crony businesses. You’re an endless open book every time you open your mouth.
Many EV users charge at home.. Is there clear data on the number of chargers needed.
Penyatuan Melayu Islam: 10/10
Pembangunan Ekonomi Negara: 0/10
Choose la…
this is the quality of our MITI minister? You dont solve under development of chargers by restricting EV car sales. It’s just basic logic 101. You need to create the demand, then the supply will follow. No wonder Malaysia is so weak behind Brunei and Singapore. because we got poorly educated Ministers making all these illogical decisions.
our ministers are not stupid. They are smart enough to knit these excuses to line their own pockets with wealth, at the expense of the Rakyat. the stupid ones are the majority of Rakyat, which continues to believe all the propaganda and excuses from the ministers. SHAME!
I guess we should include levy for ICE cars so we can use it to built more petrol stations.
i know where is this going… put a levy on EV, setup a new company i.e 1EV then sapu the money.
MITI please learn to think for the Rakyat. Your CIF rm200k or 180kw does not help people increase adoption.
China have new rules to protect their people and recycling problem.
5 years or 100,000 km: At least 82% retention
8 years or 160,000 km: At least 75% retention
10 years or 200,000 km: At least 70% retention
These will ensure the rakyat save more in the long run, feel security and confidence.
Can’t do it? Then, step down from MITI.
Local players like Proton have been selling their EVs like hot cakes but you didn’t impose it on them to build more chargers.
Failure in planning, protecting a few deep pockets, and this is what happens.
Punish the rakyat that spend monies to buy new EV car that safe on fuel and directly help government reduce fuel subsidy? What is the logic coming from? Those that do good to the society, environment and government are punished to pay more?
Why MITI is not using the tax collected from fuel hungry ICE to fund public chargers and accelerate EV growth?
Why rakyat keep putting people like this in the government?
let me answer your question, us educated fellows are not the ones putting them there, the uneducated majority bunch are. but we are the ones suffering because those kampung bunch may never change their 35 years old wira and never go onto highway in their whole lowly lives, so those geniuses will always come out with brilliant ideas like this to rob us because we do not support them.
TNB is the sole electricity supplier in Malaysia. The current situation is, private investors set up the charging station and buy electricity from TNB and sell to end user earning a small different between the rates. In rural area or non-popular spot, private investor will not invest because they do not see any profit.
I wonder why the government never get TNB to set up any/more charging station. With TNB apps, they can even link it together, scan and charge using TNB apps or even monthly billing. This is just my opinion.
Ok, we let people buy for ICE cars and government subsidizes more petrol. Oh wait, our goal is to reduce this subsidy. Wake up people and see that JoGhani is UMNO through and through. You have already seen him control MediaPrima, you know what he’s capable of.
Really the worst Minister of MITI….not only he is killing the EV Industry for his own benefits. Tht’s the reason this current government fails.
Rata2 ckp menteri2 dan politician2 Malaysia bodoh piang. Tapi x tanya siapa yg bodoh undi mereka?
Sbb mereka tahu rakyat Malaysia ni senang diperbodohkan. X percaya? Blh lihat sendiri kenyataan2 drpd menteri2 dan politician2 ni.
Baik drpd blok kerajaan dan pembangkang sama sahaja, sedaya upaya nak bodohkan rakyat.
Yg rakyat masih lagi lena nak bercakar sesama sendiri macam masuk neraka jika x geng. Nak tanya apa anda dapat?
= Tambah cukai utk EV.
Hahahahaha