Malaysia’s investment, trade and industry ministry (MITI) is currently exploring the best ways to implement a proposed EV levy to support the construction of more public chargers nationwide, Bernama reports.
“We did not say that we will impose the proposed EV levy on the public. We are still looking at the most appropriate mechanism. However, if those costs are imposed on manufacturers, they will ultimately pass them on to consumers.
“The question is at what level the charges should be set, how much they will amount to, and how much longer the government can continue providing subsidies,” MITI minister Datuk Seri Johari Abdul Ghani told reporters at RHB Bank’s ‘RHB Progress Series 2026’ conference today, adding that the government has provided numerous subsidies and must also build charging infrastructure.
“All these involve the cost of electricity, gas, coal and other inputs. This needs to be understood. Many people fail to appreciate the broader picture because they only see one side of the issue,” he said, adding that the government must consider the bigger picture to ensure EV-ICE co-existence.
“Malaysia also remains reliant on gas and coal-fired electricity generation. As such, the development of the EV ecosystem must take into account the cost of electricity supply and the infrastructure required.
“The government is also operating under a fiscal deficit. When we are running a deficit, how are we going to fund it? Where will the money come from? One option is to impose a levy on vehicle manufacturers. However, if manufacturers are charged, they will ultimately pass the additional costs on to consumers,” said Johari.
Yesterday, the minister said in parliament: “We may impose a levy on every EV sold and channel the proceeds into a dedicated fund to build public charging stations because we cannot rely solely on vehicle manufacturers or distributors to undertake such investments.”
“I was told that China spent billions to build chargers. But if we want the government to do that here, we don’t have the money,” he stated then.

Government should not fund EV infrastructure… Government already give incentive to bring in EVs. So now it is up to the EV supplier to build up EV infrastructure to sustain their sales… please don’t make this mistake to say EV charger infrastructure is Government responsibility… for ICE vehicles, government never build any petrol station ok !!!
Petrol station sells in huge volume.
EV chargers, some may misuse charging station to park their cars blocking others from using it.
How petrol stations can sells in huge volume? By having huge number of ICE car on the road. This no rocket science. By increasing EV adoption, charger operator would be incentivised to build more charging stations that such problem could become obscure. Those charger operators don’t need funding if incentives is there, which is “more EV on the road”. This minister is talking BS. He’s just protecting his cronies businesses.
The government might not have subsidized the construction of petrol stations but they definitely did subsidize the fuels that they sell. It is through this mechanism that they got more petrol stations to get built, because the government boosted the demand. You can’t do that with electricity because it’s used in many other days, therefore the infrastructure might need some help getting off the ground. That being said, if the government’s decision leads to a drop in adoption, the infrastructure would never get built, and subsidies there would just be wasting money. I think they’re barking up the wrong tree. Boosting adoption will ultimately give private sector incentives to build the infrastructure.
Pusing & Spin… Please use your brain, if you have one…
If the EV levy is not imposed on the consumer, it will be on the car manufacturer. Car manufacturer will then slowly and quietly pass the cost back to consumer on their next “Official” reason to reprice (e.g., new facelift, new model, new variant)
Exactly
Well done to the father of the Indonesian and Thailand BEV industry. Last time Thailand is the Detroit of SEA, now Indonesia and Thailand are now on their way to become of the Shenzhen of SEA!
In the future when our neighbors has transitioned to BEVs thanks to orange man, we cannot export P1 and P2 cars because there is no more demand for ICE in those countries!
But protecting tax revenue lebih penting!
Exactly… Where does all our tax money go in the 1st place. They tax for each and every goods we buy frm the shelf and yet it’s not enough to build our nations infrastructure. Mind boggling……..
if u dunno how to do, better keep quiet la…
better then keep coming up with ridiculous ideas that sure with have back slash from public, then just try to uturn your own words..
If we stop subsidizing petrol and diesel the government will then have the money to build charging infrastructure….
U turn here and there. Anwar and ph and being sabotaged kaokao
The biggest roadblock for EV infrastructure in Malaysia is this guy
make new fund then sakau for your niece and nephews
If not the Public,
Not the Manufacturers, siapa lagi
U pun tahu jugak LOL
End up comes back to the rakyat jugak..
Ghani is from UMNO which won by a landslide in both Johor and Negri state elections. If UMNO wins GE, we will see more of him and his “brilliant” ideas.
You cannot appoint a umno warlord as ministers as they have personal business interest and will always find a way to screw the public.
I did not read the full article but from the title alone I already knew it’s a stupid statement from this Johari dude.
“…. Did not say it would be imposed on PUBLIC…” LOL
Yes you will impose it on car manufacturers but those additional levy/cost will be passes to whom? There is no way the car company will absorb all those cost alone. Consumers will be the end user and cost will be pass along.
In simple term, the ev car price will INCREASE even more than it should be ! A GREAT PLAN INDEED .. Please, just vote this guy out next time. More bs than doing the actual work. Both as minister and MP
baguslah protek proton dan perodua, hanya kafir yang tak sokong jenama tempatan
why is everything about religion to your type?
because in malaysian religion permeated into every aspect of life, industry , social , politics.
because this type made loud noise at 615am every morning to wake up sleeping neighbours.
use the taxes and levies collected, as they were supposed to be used in the first place
Hey guys I’m taxing you EV adopter wannabes extra because I wanna build charging stations, I wanna build it because no one else wanna build. Why no one else wanna build charging stations you ask ahhhh? It’s because like, utilisation is low, yes yes I am fully aware la I know utilisation low means no one uses it cos.. Cos the people don’t know what they supposed to want la. So we tax you a bit bit, then use a bit bit bit of the tax to build chargers, bam then you forced to use it lo, cos you already paid for it. Does this logic feel right?
Oh yeah… you guys not using petrol subsidy is your problem bro. Thanks for nothing.
– Someone in MITI, probably.
What is happening? Nowadays do business no need capital investment injection? Example open new coffee shop ZUS, investment you pay , profit I sweep all. Where is the common sense nowadays miniskirt??? Further, the claim NO TAX is not true, we did compare market OTR selling price same model at China & Mesia, for example Xpeng G6 China selling RM105k but Mesia selling RM158k , there is 50% tax. from price increase. CBU NO TAX SELL RM158k, later on CKD AFTER TAX ALSO SELL RM158k. ( u think yourself, still believe CBU NO TAX ???)
Why is MITI concerned about EV charging? Shouldn’t it be local authorities and TNB that is attending to it?
create the demand, then the EV chargers will automatically grow. simple economics 101, stupid. why umno ministers all never went to school ???
Govt shouldn’t be in the driver’s seat when it comes to market forces. Set the stage and cut the bureaucracy red tape. Local govt, more agencies wanting an “interest” and raises investment costs. The only “business friendly” is towards GLCs run by ex govt servants or cronies. Self inflicted BS
Cut gasoline subsidies gradually and you’d be able to accomplish two things at the same time:
1. improve the economics for EV adoption
2. reduce the deficit
Do something like a gradual phase out of the subsidies. Increase the gasoline prices by 10 cents every year until it reacher price parity with the global average. It’ll take us at least 20 years to get to parity at that pace. If we give ourselves 20 years to come to terms with reality and still can’t accept it, I think the problem is with the people and not the government. The deficit is spent on sustaining the status quo and not advancing, I think that’s the most anti growth mentality I can think of.
The excuse for slowing EV adoption based on Malaysia still heavily relying on coal and gas is just evidence for lack of political will. The money saved on subsidizing gasoline can also go into larger scale deployment of solar, storage, and other energy forms, which will cut reliance on foreign energy and stabilize energy prices in the long term. And grid scale storage doesn’t only consist of lithium or sodium chemical batteries. Fly-wheels and pumped hydro works as well. The combination of all of them would allow for cleaner energy mix while cutting dependence. Encouraging these industry to come to existence would foster job growth rather than limiting it. Rejecting minor short term pain and forgoing long term gains would just kill off any chance our nation would grow. This mentality only fosters dependency that will ultimately bound all of us to failure.
Loved your explanation.
However the subsidy was created by PMX for Sabah elections and then the Johor elections.
They self-inflict and then they cry to the Heavens it is our fault for using the subsidy.
there are more than 20 CPOs and some are so small that they don’t have enough funding. Government should look into M&A and will all the resources pulled, they can take on bigger scales.