I will have failed if road fatalities go up in 5 years: Loke

Transport minister Anthony Loke has said that he will have failed as a minister if road fatalities continue to increase at the end of his five-year mandate. Speaking to Astro Awani, he stressed the importance of lowering the death toll in Malaysia, adding that it was for the wellbeing of the people.

“In 2017, the number of road fatalities was 6,740 people. That means an average of 19 people die on the roads every day, and that number has to decrease,” he said. “At the end of these five years, if that number does not decrease, then I would have failed. I would be too embarrassed to remain a minister. That’s why I have made it my mission, my responsibility, to reduce the number of fatal accidents.”

Loke said that the government needs to employ stricter enforcement as well as a “carrot and stick” approach, providing incentives to encourage safer driving. One of the initiatives being looked into is a discount on insurance premiums if drivers do not incur summonses throughout the year. “I have discussed this scheme with a number of insurance companies, and we hope to implement it in the next few months,” he said.

The issue of the Automatic Enforcement System (AES) was also raised, with Loke saying that the government’s decision to continue with the controversial programme is not a U-turn on Pakatan Harapan’s stance before the general election. “We began our stricter enforcement not to trap drivers and collect the money; instead, we want to educate drivers so that they don’t go over the speed limit.

“So there’s no such thing as a U-turn on this issue. If we remove all AES [cameras] we will not have a means of effective traffic enforcement. There will surely be many accidents that would happen if there were no cameras, where drivers would speed up and so on. I was against the privatisation of AES, in which summonses would be paid to a private company, that was what I did not agree on,” he said.

Last year, the government wiped out four million AES summonses worth RM605 million as a gesture of goodwill as it geared up to take over operation of the system. However, it then installed stricter enforcement of the system on September 1 that did away with discounts or exceptions.

“Since September, the ministry found that the number of summonses fell. It means that road users feared summonses and were more aware, reducing the number of road accidents and especially the number of fatal accidents,” Loke said.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Dong gor on Feb 15, 2019 at 7:26 pm

5 yrs also change minister d la.. Ahdui. Put the check point in 2020 ma. 2 yrs from now if work can see results d.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
    • Suhaimi on Feb 17, 2019 at 10:24 am

Loke has done in 9 months more than the previous corrupted Government has done in 60 years.

Go for it Loke!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 58
      • Johny on Feb 17, 2019 at 9:52 pm

What he done? Just tukar nama lor..

• Korean Fan on Feb 18, 2019 at 2:37 am

Yeah. Like installing addition few AES and reduce the speed by 10kmh. Other than that go around MRT (build by previous government) and give announcement in Airasia plane. What else?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 14
        • John Doe on Feb 18, 2019 at 11:18 am

APs is a good start. But it seems he has completely forgotten. Typical syndrome within the party.

• east slum on Feb 18, 2019 at 5:32 pm

Anthony statement will instigate those oppos purposely push up road fatalities. To prove Loke wrong & make him failed.

• John Doe on Feb 18, 2019 at 11:17 am

IF he is executing things in less than 9 months it shows how careless the he is in planning and implementation. These are all previous projects under research and planning. He merely brought forward all the deadlines and implement it. To proof my point, AES.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Feb 17, 2019 at 6:53 pm

You are a total flop since day one…you are more interested in selling number plates…

• Greasemonkey on Feb 19, 2019 at 10:27 am

Hoping all you butthurt sore loser will vote us again ma…

• Yeah, without telling the truth that road fatalities have been going down for many years. His KPI is way too easy lor, he shud quit if road fatality go up by even 1 life compared to previous year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 9
    • Suhaimi on Feb 17, 2019 at 10:25 am

At least this Loke work hard and not interested in money.

Old Ministers always ask 10% share from any highway made!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 36
      • Calvin on Feb 17, 2019 at 5:47 pm

Old ministers ask money from those who have money. This Loke only knows how to demand money from the rakyat! Give us back those old ministers!

• Yup. Loki has makan far more in 9 months that all his predecessors did in 60 years! Go for it Loki!!!

• Hafiz Hisham on Feb 18, 2019 at 12:00 am

As John said, it was coming down the paste few years. This is the hard work of previous Transport Ministers and previous gomen. Loke only knows to work hard at tumpang glamour of previous Transport Ministers. How shameful for his staff to come here and claimed it was his efforts.

• John Doe on Feb 18, 2019 at 11:20 am

Exactly my point earlier!
          All only know how to hangat hangat kipas own rear end.

• autodriver (Member) on Feb 18, 2019 at 8:08 am

“His KPI is way too easy”? Did you know EVERY SINGLE year the new register vehicles are about 600,000 units, give it discount with contra of 50% of old car elimated there will still about 300,000 units increase every year. Lets say each of this vehicle carry ONLY ONE person there is 300,000 chances of fatalities. Do you think it is EASY now?

• Safety First on Feb 18, 2019 at 9:42 am

Read the gist lah! Loke here talk about fatalities. With more newer cars on the road with better safety than cars of the past, it isn’t too difficult to lower deathrates by virtually doing NOTHING. By right Loke should have pledged to reduce accident rates, but there’s the rub: he can’t do it. Not unless he changes the mentality of the road users and that certainly takes much more effort and more time than 5 years. Is he willing to do that? From his promise, it doesn’t seem like it. He is going for the short-term goals which isn’t his “hard work” at all!

I think John managed to catch that flaw in his mission, his responsibility. So to speak. Safety first, above all should come from mentality and willingness to do, not just talk.

• Anonymous on Feb 15, 2019 at 8:08 pm

Forget 5 years… Anthony Loke is already on the verge of FAILING…! SG-JB RTS project is still not moving…! Projected to start operating by 2024 but NO progress whatsoever since PH took over Govt. Minister is keeping mum on the matter and not doing his job. What th F*#K is the matter with you…??!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
    • Optimus on Feb 18, 2019 at 12:09 am

Make sense to send traffic offenders to perform community work at mortuaries. Handle road fatalities cases , for awareness…

• Those project are not in-charge by him, he is just doing his own-job, crossover his job always get scold by u guys, even doing his own job also u want scold? U think those project handle by him?

• Truckers on Feb 18, 2019 at 9:45 am

Dei! His is the TRANSPORT MINISTER, not just a ROAD & HIGHWAY MINISTER. Public TRANSPORT is also under his purview. Get your facts right!

• Anonymous on Feb 18, 2019 at 5:56 pm

What are you on about…? Don’t be a dunce…! Anthony Loke is Transport Minister…. he has to oversee everything related to transportation. After GE he and the govt says commited to the implementation of SG-JB RTS. It would be able to move 10k commuters in an hour… drastically reducing the congestion at the causeway. But absolutely nothing has been done. No progress what so ever after 8 months in govt…!

• Sense on Feb 15, 2019 at 8:12 pm

o_0 More AES = more people sudden brake and sunday drivers= more congestion = more frustrated and pissed driver = more reckless overtaking and driving = more accident.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 10
    • You are right

• papa got big neck gomo on Feb 18, 2019 at 12:27 pm

AES still not that surprising though. Abang polis with mobile speedtracking device on “70/80” speed limit stretch of highway did triggered many emergency brake though.

• redpilled on Feb 18, 2019 at 1:49 pm

why the need to sudden brake? just cruise at max limit je lah. end of story. ini tak, nampak je speed trap teru s slow down to 70kmh, in right lane lagi. apahal?

• Phaser on Feb 15, 2019 at 8:34 pm

rindu Liow…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
  • Sohai on Feb 15, 2019 at 8:43 pm

P-Hariharitipu, if to Educate pls cancel collect money instead of practice deduct point on driving license.

• uturn on Feb 15, 2019 at 8:45 pm

phui

• Aniki Tan on Feb 15, 2019 at 8:58 pm

Lower down fatalities is not just focu on speeding.
    You need to know the “No Motorcycle” signboard has been there for years and yet no one care about it. If really lower down the fatalities rate, please ask the police traffic to enforce the law rather than keep hiding for summon to get their sales target…

• basherlogic on Feb 15, 2019 at 9:14 pm

Loki, why u lagak pandai wipeout my AES saman?
    U tell me, how to reinstate saman so i can pay

• ABPBH on Feb 15, 2019 at 9:33 pm

Mr. Anthony Loke , 2018 Best Minister Award

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 17
  • Pak cik on Feb 16, 2019 at 6:23 am

Five years? LOL, in second year you already failed !

• autodriver (Member) on Feb 18, 2019 at 8:01 am

He failed in 2nd year? Can you put any example he done it wrong in past 9 months?

• Copy Paste on Feb 18, 2019 at 9:48 am

This: https://paultan.org/2019/01/30/reckless-drivers-the-cause-of-congestion-accidents-during-festive-season-not-toll-discounts-baru-bian/

• Copy Paste on Feb 18, 2019 at 9:50 am

And this: https://paultan.org/2018/11/15/pre-sept-1-aes-summonses-worth-rm605mil-erased/

• Copy Paste on Feb 18, 2019 at 9:51 am

And this: https://paultan.org/2018/09/06/traffic-offences-tripled-during-aes-grace-period-loke/

None before him has failed so bad as he did.

• taboogen on Feb 18, 2019 at 10:58 am

example.. hard to give example since he did none..only thing i can think off is, letting traffic offenders go for free when he said AES no need to pay.. now regret need to put more AES.. i think many PH minister they open mouth first then they start using their brain

• John Doe on Feb 18, 2019 at 11:21 am

Refer to his manifesto.

• Anonymous on Feb 18, 2019 at 6:01 pm

You want example…? SG-JB RTS is not moving… not even an inch. Right after GE, Anthony Loke as Transport Minister said govt is committed to ensure RTS is implemented on time. SG minister says M’sia has missed many milestone in progressing forward. This way targeted 2024 operational will not be met.

Anthony Loke not doing his job.

• Mr Meme for stupidity on Feb 18, 2019 at 9:43 am

Hi pak tua, mcm mana “he failed in his 2nd year” when PH havent taken over the gomen for more than 1year. I buat kiraan math 1+1+1 pon tak sampai jugak 0+9mths = 24mths

• Copy Paste on Feb 18, 2019 at 12:12 pm

Copy paste: https://paultan.org/2018/09/06/traffic-offences-tripled-during-aes-grace-period-loke/

• What happened to those lesen terbang owners? You said you have the list? Who are those insiders? Have they been brought to court? Name and shame them. If that alone can be done i would say you have done a great job as a first term minister

• U turn loke on Feb 16, 2019 at 7:41 am

U turn

• To keep your position safe, please shut down Perodua. The data shows that the death of car accidents in Malaysia continues to rise because of the purchase of unsafe Saga, Axia, Myvi and Alza.

• John Papagomo on Feb 17, 2019 at 11:28 am

Saga is made by Proton. So you want to shut down P1 also? Ohwai!

• You are a good man Anthony but you cant change a Bolehlander….hence you should not say you have failed etc.

The only way a Bolehlander will change is for example; beat the traffic light, we destroy your car. Cause accident with no deaths; we destroy your car and jail you for 50 years etc

Will the govt do that?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Can’t disagree with anything that was stated in this article.

The key driver to make any of this effective is all about enforcement. Get much more traffic police out onto the roads, enforce all the road rules, then watch the number of deaths on the roads slowly decrease.

Get to it Mr. Loke, you have my support.

• alldisc on Feb 16, 2019 at 10:39 am

AES is ok. But how BN awarded the contract to a crony company and awarded hundreds of millions ringgit to purchase 200 cameras – that is just too much and wrong. And it should have been handled by the JPJ itself. Or at least MoT. Not by a third party contractor company

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
    • redpilled on Feb 17, 2019 at 11:34 am

the purchase, installation, running and maintenance of the cameras + other hard/softwares and collection were at 0 cost for the gomen la. company kept a pecentage of collection for the above mentioned items and gomen collects the split and tax from the company.

know your facts, dont be a dupe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • Okay. Now please tell us, when installing more cameras on highways needs sponsorship from PLUS, how is the government going to increase the number of cameras in the country to 1000 more? These cost a few hundred million. Are all of them going to be donated by someone?

Or the government wants to use tax payers’ money to pay for the system? Tax payers who do not commit traffic violations pay and wait an indefinite period for the cost to be fully borne by violators? When the money can be used for things that have more direct positive impact on their lives. Is this what should be the case?

• YB Kunta Kinte on Feb 16, 2019 at 10:57 am

Fatalities and Accidents are caused mainly by people with no experience on the road.

Do you know there are officially 4 million motorist on our roads without LESEN? This is shocking because, officially, there are only 10 million motorist on our roads.

This means 1 in every 2.5 road users are illegal and incompetent to drive. No wonder accidents and fatalities are so high. Highest in Asia.

20 years ago, there were only 20,000 NO LESEN motorist on our roads. But because of corruption and duit kopi culture (ie whenever polis or JPJ tangkap, offender is immediately released after giving duit kopi), the figure slowly ballooned from 20,000 to 4 million in 20 yrs

So until we get rid of corruption and duit kopi culture and clean up our roads of the 4 million NO LESEN motorist, we will see accidents and deaths on the increase.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • autodriver (Member) on Feb 18, 2019 at 8:27 am

For the past 60 years ruled under BN made all these happened. I hope the new government will enforce strict rule on police force, JPJ and relevant authories in zero corruption and work harder. Be honest I have never seen patrol police car move around at night and mid night, if there were patrol cars move around I believe the chances of illegal racing will definitely reduce.

About the fatalities majority is motorist, most of them were rode dangerously such as ran the red light, james bond style maneuver, without license, under age, took off helmet etc. All these were man-made mistakes rather than reckless from other road users. Enforcement on the road should be prioritize follow by proper education spread to public.

• redpilled on Feb 18, 2019 at 2:03 pm

you wonder why very little ronda? you go ask nearest balai and find out if they have enough cars or not in the first place.
        the nearest balai to my house has to cover +- 30 square km with just two, thats right, two wajas.
        so stop assuming and start asking.

• Ben Yap on Feb 16, 2019 at 11:21 am

The moment u wrote off the AES summons, you already failed.

• redpilled on Feb 16, 2019 at 11:42 am

I have to admit, this guy has done 100X more in 7 months than the last fellow.

Thank you Loke for your hard work. We like your MY100 and MY50 Travel cards.

Thank you for caring for us students.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
  • Sohai on Feb 16, 2019 at 2:52 pm

YB if you are rradinf, Transport ministry is not just about issue summons and improve road safety statistics… important no doubt, but not your full portfolio.

Transport, is the lifeblood of doing business. Please spend effort studying how transport can better contribute to economic, be it more efficient ports, cheaper transportations for business etc. Figure out the transportation requirements for foreigners and tourist too…

Revamp the way our driving schools and license exam, then you will see a better quality batch of young drivers coming through.

• salgoodguy on Feb 16, 2019 at 7:11 pm

Hahaha haha… and hahaha again.. to myself

• I’m willing to give Loke the benefit of the doubt. Even though he has gone back on his words. Politician’s ego is just as high no matter whichever way you look at. They will not admit they screw you on their promises.

Of all those in the cabinet, he and Gobind of Information Ministry are basically the only performing ministers. The rest are just talking in circles, still doing studies and figuring out what to do or whatever stuffs that are so predictable these days, including the prime minister himself, who’s only concern is keeping his small party afloat.

Good luck ah Loke.

• Nikolai on Feb 16, 2019 at 8:26 pm

You want to reduce fatalities?

Simple.

Make autonomous emergency braking mandatory on new vehicles. You can’t always count on drivers to discipline themselves, so enforce something that’ll intervene for them instead.

• Very missed touch of DS Liow Tiong Lai..

• Why what has he done?

• Darren on Feb 18, 2019 at 7:25 pm

He didn’t trumpet his fanfare horn on the efforts of others. He did his job quietly which was why he got so many brickbats.

• encourage also discount on high cc car roadtax if no accident involved as most higher cc cars has better spec compared with same model with less cc (base model).

• papa got big neck gomo on Feb 18, 2019 at 12:23 pm

yup keep on distort the market by charging high tax on safer and better equipped car models and force consumers to buy less equipped vehicle won’t help.

• Saladin on Feb 18, 2019 at 11:18 am

U want to redice fatalities u go for no 1 fatalities. Motorcycle. Why no 1, no lesen, no disiplin. How to solve. Compund the motorcycle. No lesen compound until got lesen. Brake traffic rules compound 3 month. Imagine the road without this species better for everybody.