Legendary Japanese Sports Cars

This will be a two-part installment, where first I will talk about the previous incarnations of these sports cars, and later I will introduce to you the new versions coming up soon.

Toyota Supra

The last we’ve seen from Toyota is the Toyota Supra back in 1993. This MKIV Supra was the 4th in it’s generation and it was powered by an in-line 6 cylinder engine in N/A or twin-turbocharged forms. The N/A made 225ps and the turbocharged monster made 280hp. The cars were rear-wheel drive.

Nissan Skyline

This was the last R34 Skyline. The GT-R version of the car was powered by an in-line six cylinder 2.6 litre engine. It had 6 throttles and twin turbochargers. Yes, the venerable RB26DETT. Due to Japan’s regulations, the engine made 280hp but with a simple ECU swap more power could be unleashed easily. The car comes a special all-wheel-drive system that works in rear wheel drive but kicks into all-wheel-drive whenever there’s slip detected.

Honda NSX

The Honda NSX is absolutely orgasmic to drive. The car is powered by a mid-engined 3.2 litre VTEC V6 engine that is pretty tame at low revs but goes crazy past 6000rpm all the way up to a screamnig 8500rpm. The NSX originally featured a 3.0 VTEC V6 engine making 265bhp. Then in February 1998, Honda introduced a new 3.2 litre engine with 277bhp, mated to a six-speed manual gearbox. 0-100 takes you 5.7sec.

These monsters have been around for a very long time now. Only the Honda/Acura NSX was being manufactured up till recently when production was stopped.

But they DO have replacements. Otherwise it would be a waste of it’s manufacturer’s F1 involvement (except for Nissan) wouldn’t it? Stay tuned.

UPDATE: I am blogging about these 3 cars because later I want to blog about the 3 replacements for these 3 cars. Doesn’t mean the other Japanese sports cars are not ‘legendary’ :P

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Eviltofu on Jul 29, 2005 at 7:43 pm

NSX…. burns rubber (rears) like no tomorrow and handling honed by Senna…*sniff*

• Geesh Paul…RX7? Ford Cougar? Nismo? i think there is a number of them…

• Ford Cougar is Japanese meh?

I am blogging about these 3 cars because later I want to blog about the 3 replacements for these 3 cars. Doesn't mean the other Japanese sports cars are not 'legendary' :P

• Cool paul…even not blogging them in details..sharing their photos would be something satisfactory..kekeke

• abu: I might go into details later. I had to rush this post out because some of my readers have been complaining my blog has become boring because of all this Proton-AP stuff.

• SEE FU on Jul 29, 2005 at 10:00 pm

Dear Paul,

Good job! Why not include Mitsubishi Eclipse and Spyder?

Check this website too :http://www.mitsubishicars.com/MMSA/jsp/index.jsp

I like the new Eclipse with 263hp V6 engine 3.8L Front wheel drive.

• No issue Paul…Well they are not boring of the AP saga…just that its became a 'hot yam' where its too hot to handle by 1 individual minister thus its being thrown here and there…once there's another updates or unveil of more secret…they will never shout boring but instead chanting "we want more ~~~"

• AlexC on Jul 30, 2005 at 12:07 am

Woowooowooo… my dream car supra… still a dream, cant afford even one second hand one yet… but would be more than enough to get more details about it… btw, i've seen some prototype of supra some time ago, kinda looks like lamborghini diablo… true???

• karheng on Jul 30, 2005 at 12:41 am

i've seen the R35 for quite some time now. It doesn't give the same aura as the R34 but is sleeker compared to it. More of, look at it from far and it looks tame, but go nearer and u see a beast being unleashed with every closer step.

As for the NSX, I'm yet to hear of a replacement. This is an excellent choice of a supercar as it probably is one or/of the best mid engined car(s) ever to come out from Japan.

As for the Supra, it is what I call a tiger hidden under sheep's skin. It is one of the fiercest cars i've ever came across and the TT version will just haunt you similar to how a 360 will come and pounce you from behind. Another excellent choice of a car.

By the way, I think these 3 are legendary because they have a certain identity and has some form of engineering excellence which separates them from the rest of the Japanese supercars, the other 2 being Evos and Imprezas which are in the class of their own.

Great read!

• DOG THE WAN on Jul 30, 2005 at 3:54 am

Paul, I want "My First Lotus" to be shown here too. Please get more history of LOTUS legendary! Cheers!

• hokkien lang. on Jul 30, 2005 at 9:00 am

HUAHHH……………….. droooling only like AlexC said can't afford even that was 2nd hand……. drooling… drooling….

• The 5 Kings will never age in our heart… … LONG LiVE the Supra, Skyline GT-R, NSX, RX-7 and the GTO… Not Forgetting the 300ZX Fairlady(the Queen??)… There will nvr be a replacement for u all in my heart

• mahagurusia on Jul 30, 2005 at 8:23 pm

Paul, there is a replacement for supra???!!! I am eyeing a low milage last batch 1998 3.0 twin turbo. When is the newbie coming out?

• sinleong on Jul 30, 2005 at 9:17 pm

These cars make me wanna scream!!!!! :)

• narrowband on Aug 01, 2005 at 9:56 pm

One may wonder, given that these cars are so legendary on their own, can they ever be replaced? IMHO, these cars became 'legendary' partly because they've no 'all-new replacement models' to replace them. Instead, their engines are always updated, esp with the wide availability of crazy after-market mods. These cars, if there has been any 'new models' introduced in previous years, were mostly subtle styling changes. And the rest of the updates were under the hood. To me, there can only be one Supra, or NSX. I can't imagine a new Supra, with totally different shape and size altogether.

• Gonzalo on Oct 08, 2005 at 1:31 pm

I have the money to buy one of those cars, but I can't decide to buy a Nissan Skyline GT-R, Toyota Supra or Subaru Impreza WRX STi!!

• yeah, the supra is definitely a torque crazy beast…both in NA form and the Twin Turbo…. I've tried an auto NA supra MKIV, and though its specs may be humble compared to the TT, you just HAVE to try flooring the thing out of a corner!!!! i emphasize HAVE coz there's seriously nothing else like it…its tame when u want it to be, but push it to the lower gear, progressively accelerate and the car gives a controllable amount of slip that puts a freakin' big smile on your face…i guess with the TT, its best not to do so hehe

Straight line acceleration is sweet…though revs aren't that high, the nose still pulls up….yep, its a dream car for me…trying to save up to get one…apparently quite a number of MKIV Supras are up for sale…though mostly are 93 models upgraded with 97 parts…

.oh yeah, 1JZ's and 2JZ's work well on mid 90's E class mercs.

• justin on Oct 15, 2005 at 8:27 am

hey wats up nice cars nice nice but they cant even touch my prelude 99' it is fully loaded got the two 15" subs and and 2 500 watt amps and more a costom layout with the neon lights its black and has yellow neon lights in the trunk, under the hood and under the car oh well i have to go im still at school (17 yrs old)

• fuk ya Im going to get this car

• waqas on Oct 27, 2005 at 4:00 am

yo da shit is off da hook

• Peter Parker on Nov 18, 2005 at 6:49 am

wuts the prrice 4 that car

• Peter Parker on Nov 18, 2005 at 6:49 am

wuts the prrice 4 that car?

• CMK3890 on Dec 07, 2005 at 11:29 am

sick supra. where can i get one?

• tractor on Jan 05, 2006 at 12:31 am

i have see the next generation supra in some web portal. To be honest i think l more like the old supra that this new supra.the design for the new generation supra look ugly. but the new genaration supra will be a supercar from toyota.because you know la…. they will upgrade the engine,for sure they will use the F1 technology.

• Nathan on Jan 05, 2006 at 1:23 am

i was a former lowrider but when i saw what a skyline was,and what it can do good bye hydros hello tuners.

• hodgy on Jan 08, 2006 at 5:50 am

hey sweet supra, but der is no beatin da custon flared abflug kit an carbon spoiler, is 2 die 4! an i died! i own such a car, soon enuf im upgraging the turbos an NOS injection, dem al i need is stronger brake calipers an discs an u will al b seeing me ripping up 9 or 10 second quarter miles!

nice blog tho!

• Julius on Mar 04, 2009 at 9:42 pm

actually when the time that i see this legendary i thought that this is the right car deserving for me. I can say that this car was right for me because it sad to say that the tall dark and handsome guy like me will only buy a chip car. And i conclude that after this few i am going to buy one of this cars.

• Umair Upal on Mar 07, 2009 at 9:23 pm

Hi,

This is wonderful car. actually when the time that i see this legendary i thought that this is the right car deserving for me. I can say that this car was right for me because it sad to say that the tall dark and handsome guy like me will only buy a chip car. And i conclude that after this few i am going to buy one of this cars.

• well then, aint this the most steriotypical list of all time.